OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
The Bible History Channel
News

The Bible Mini-Series Debuted Tonight on The History Channel
The highly anticipated mini-series, The Bible, debuted on the History Channel in what is sure to be one of the networks highest rated shows in years. What started out as the subject of a casual conversation over tea four years ago, has turned into a 20 ...

God's Word, the Greatly Abridged Version
Mr. Burnett and his wife, Roma Downey, gave themselves a chance to tackle the ultimate make-me-believe-it challenge when they decided to produce “The Bible,” a 10-hour dramatization that begins on Sunday on History. Instead of embracing this challenge, ...

'The Bible' TV show headed to History Channel
In a 10-part miniseries, airing on The History Channel beginning March 3, the couple told Fox they aimed to retell the stories of the Bible in a way that appeals to a young audience. “It really is family programming,” Burnett said. “It's for young. It ...

TV tonight: Part one of the mini-series “The Bible” on History Channel
The series will air every Sunday night for the next five weeks on History Channel, with the final part appropriately airing on Easter. Roma Downey and her husband Mark Burnett are the Hollywood power couple behind the making of “The Bible.”.

submit to reddit

Real-time

ButtersBZ "The Bible" on History Channel... #Oxymoron

JenALambert good review of The Bible on the History Channel http://t.co/31NZco8Imc

Youu_DontSayy #NW the bible x history channel

pjferg6 The Bible miniseries on the History channel was purdy cool:-)

shelbyanne008 Watched The Bible on the history channel #sogood 👌❤

kinkyymamacita watching the history channel illustration of the Bible

BIZLATLV1 @michaelbush29 Yup, watching The Bible on history channel. It's pretty action packed.

j1984ramirez The bible on history channel is pretty good.

marmar_86 The history channel doing it right with The Bible. I'm loving it

mooregarrett nothing on the history channel is going to matter except for Vikings and The Bible. sorry boutcha Swamp People and Pawn Stars.

channingmallin I STILL can't get over how amazing The Bible on The History channel was! Woah! Our God is CRAZY cool! #thebible #ninjaangel

luckiecharm_ I keep on hearing about this Bible story on the History Channel. Too bad I don't have cable.

Taylorlewis1216 The Bible on the history channel..AMAZING! ! How blessed are we!! Not for a moment will our God forsake us! #walkbyfaithnotbysight

TellyBums 'The Bible,' 10-Hour History Channel Series From Roma Downey And Mark Burnett, To Premiere Sunday ... ... ... .... http://t.co/THMYERotkr

TheJohnBradley @eddieizzard so the history channel's bible series also thinks Noah should be Scottish. You are slowly rewriting history.

Discussions

How many books were removed from the Holy Bible people read today? by Shane Q: How many books did the original bible have ? and why were they removed ? If they were God inspired, how could there have been any mistakes ?

A: None are removed from the original canon...........> If you are referring to the 14 books that the Catholics had taught from since around 380AD and were officially "added" in at the council of Trent in 1564, which was simply a response from the Catholic church to the reformation............> If you notice, most Catholics dont even know that it was 14 books....most of them think it was just 6.....> Most Catholics and frankly Protestants as well do not know their church history. They only know what they have seen on the History channel or something like that...........<>

How would a young-earth creationist explain the discovery of gold mines that are 150,000 years old? by Uncle C Wayne T Q: ---- source: The History Channel - "Ancient Aliens"

A: They reason backwards, darling - they believe the Bible is true, so unless a fact agrees with what they say the Bible says, it's obviously not true. I can't make my brain work that way and would feel like an idiot if I ever used that kind of reasoning, but they don't seem to have a problem arguing backwards from their conclusion. (((Uncle)))

What archaeological findings have there been that prove or disprove something in the Bible? by meowlax Q: I am currently working on a paper critiquing a speech and I've been looking for reliable sources for info on any physical evidence that either proves or disproves ANYTHING in the Bible. If you could give me some reliable sources that would be great, or if you could even just provide something from your own knowledge and I could look into it and pick up the research from there that would be great! thank you in advance!

A: A good example of how the Bible is fiction, yet still contains some facts, is to compare the bible to Harry Potter. Harry Potter is fiction... We all know this... BUT *Harry Potter takes place in England... Which is a real place... *Harry Potter lives in a house, watches the nightly news on tv, drives around in a car, visits the London Zoo... *The book makes reference to the Prime Minister... Which we know is a 'Real' person. *The book talks about how there are people in the United States, Russia, and specifically mentions the existence of many many actual countries which exist around the world... 10,000 years from now, if those people found the Harry Potter series, they may think that people 'back then' could fly on brooms and make people die with a magic word because "The book contains so much evidence for it really taking place... Look here! It takes place in an ancient city called "London", which we KNOW from archaeological evidence existed!" Don't mistake the inclusion of some true facts in a fictional story as evidence for the non-fiction status of the book as a whole. That is a logical fallacy that only further distorts your quest to show the bible as an "Accurate Historical Document". ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Did a historical Jesus exist? No one has the slightest physical evidence to support a historical Jesus; no artifacts, dwelling, works of carpentry, or self-written manuscripts. All claims about Jesus derive from writings of other people. There occurs no contemporary Roman record that shows Pontius Pilate executing a man named Jesus. Devastating to historians, there occurs not a single contemporary writing that mentions Jesus. All documents about Jesus got written well after the life of the alleged Jesus from either: unknown authors, people who had never met an earthly Jesus, or from fraudulent, mythical or allegorical writings. Although one can argue that many of these writings come from fraud or interpolations, I will use the information and dates to show that even if these sources did not come from interpolations, they could still not serve as reliable evidence for a historical Jesus, simply because all sources derive from hearsay accounts. Hearsay means information derived from other people rather than on a witness' own knowledge. Courts of law do not generally allow hearsay as testimony, and nor does honest modern scholarship. Hearsay provides no proof or good evidence, and therefore, we should dismiss it. Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ GoogleVideo Search for "The History Channel + The Bible" http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=The+History+Channel+the+bible&emb=0&aq=f# Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ GoogleVideo Search for "National Geographic + The Bible" http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=National+Geographic+The+Bible&emb=0&aq=o# Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Biblical Archaeology http://www.badarchaeology.net/biblical/index.php Biblical Archaeology, which has been described as excavation with a trowel in one hand and a Bible in the other, is a specialised branch of archaeology that often seems to ignore the rules and standards required of real archaeology. Conducted for the most part, by people with an explicitly religious agenda (usually Christian or Jewish), it is a battleground between fundamentalist zeal and evidence-based scholarship in which religious, ethnic and national identities are contested and defined. Our concerns are well expressed by Eric Cline (of George Washington University in Washington, D.C.) writing in the Boston Globe on 30th Sept 2007. His article is entitled: Raiders of the Faux Ark. Why ‘Biblical Archaeology’? To an outsider, the very term appears contradictory, at least in the way its practitioners use it. Why not settle for ‘Middle Eastern Archaeology’? The answer, we suspect, is that the sub-discipline wants to dismiss any sceptical notion that archaeology and the Bible don’t mesh and that one undermines the authority of the other. They would much rather use archaeology to back up the stories presented in the Bible as a means of bolstering the faith of waverers. If we can’t find evidence for Solomon’s glorious empire, it must be that we’re not interpreting the archaeological data correctly and that a big discovery is just around the corner (the “Jehoash inscription’ leaps to mind in this context). If contemporary Roman documents don’t mention Jesus of Nazareth, why here’s an ossuary that belongs to James, his brother… It’s all very much centred around contentious objects, poorly-dated sites and great interpretative leaps that the non-religious may find astounding. In this section, we look at some of the claims and counter-claims in this very active field of discourse. Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ The ‘evidence’ used by Bad Archaeologists http://www.badarchaeology.net/data/index.php It might be assumed that if one wishes to challenge mainstream accounts of the past, one would use the same sorts of evidence as mainstream scholars. This is rarely the case. By and large, Bad Archaeologists do not cite excavation reports, catalogues of artefact types, studies of monument classes or the sites and monuments records of places. Perhaps they find the amount of detail overwhelming. Perhaps they do not understand the technical jargon used by their authors. Perhaps they believe that the answers to the questions they pose are not to be found in these minutiae because their questions are too big. Perhaps. But there is a suspicion that they simply cannot be bothered to read this mass of literature, written by experts for experts. To read it would require gaining that level of expertise, which is one of the characteristics of mainstream archaeologists that Bad Archaeologists find so regrettable: they are hidebound, working with scraps of pottery, fitting their petty details into an overall structure that can (just about) accommodate them. No, gaining that sort of expertise is not for them. Instead, they prefer to cut what they see as the Gordian knot of scholarship and bypass all those tedious years of study to go straight for the fundamentals. In their view, if the basic premises of archaeology are wrong, then everything built upon those premises is wrong. Whether or not they actually understand those premises is another matter. Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Penn & Teller: Season 2 Episode 11 - "The Bible: Fact Or Fiction?": http://www.tv-links.cc/redir4.php?l=aHR0cDovL3d3dy5saXZlbGVhay5jb20vdmlldz9pPTAwOV8xMTk4MDg1NjMw Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Penn & Teller: Season 3 Episode 9 - "Signs From Heaven" http://www.tv-links.cc/redir4.php?l=aHR0cDovL3d3dy5mcmVlLXR2LXZpZGVvLW9ubGluZS5pbmZvL3BsYXllci9tZWdhdmlkZW8ucGhwP2lkPUtYSUpTMkFQ Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Diners report seeing Virgin Mary in food griddle http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090501/ap_on_fe_st/odd_griddle_virgin_mary Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Penn & Teller: Season 3 Episode – “Holier Than Thou” Part 1 of 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_GnogRZHi8 Part 2 of 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FDPpgQhuKAs Part 3 of 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xu3ilgK6MKQ Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Penn & Teller: Near Death Experiences: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvxFXkv7L24 Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ The problem with anecdotes http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPqerbz8KDc&feature=channel_page Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Anecdotes: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anecdotes Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Open-mindedness http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T69TOuqaqXI&feature=channel_page Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ The Superstitious Pigeon http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f15PNrk94kg&feature=channel_page Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Skewed views of science http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-h9XntsSEro&feature=channel Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Why Won’t God Heal Amputees? Text: http://whywontgodhealamputees.com/god5.htm Short Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3VAEYEG53w Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ God Is Imaginary: 50 simple proofs http://www.godisimaginary.com/ Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Delusion: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delusion ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ JUST BECAUSE YOU DON'T LIKE SOMETHING DOESN'T MAKE IT A VIOLATION OF THE GUIDELINES OF YAHOO! ANSWERS. Links are not a violation of the guidelines of Yahoo! Answers... LONG ANSWERS are not a violation of the guidelines of Yahoo! Answers! Please READ THE Guidelines... http://answers.yahoo.com/info/community_guidelines.php Let us have a quick look at the guidelines of Yahoo! Answers: Be courteous, Be a good citizen, Cite your sources, Ask clearly, Categorize correctly, No venting, ranting or using hate speech, No chatting or otherwise violating the question-and-answer format, No being mean or obscene, No exploiting the community, No cheating, No violating of the law, No behaving maliciously, No misusing Answers, Don’t do harm, Age restriction of 13+. Nope… Haven’t violated a goddamned one of them! ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸ ¸๑•*´`*♥❤♥*´`*•๑¸

Religion and Spirituality peoples, what is the Demoniac ? by Nadia R. Q: I hear on History Channel this word.

A: That is a human being possessed by the devil or demons, Jesus cast them out of a man in the bible and sent them into the hogs[2000 of them] they ran into the sea and drowned, they had rather be dead than possessed by demons. The person calling Jesus one had better take heed, lest he is guilty of blasphemy, that occurred in the bible concerning the holy spirit, I would be afraid to say such things. Better repent to the lord.

What is your opinion on the Ancient Astronaut(Alien) Theory? by That Guy Q: Watched a special on this theory couple nights ago via history channel. Is this total bull crap, or do they actually present plausible claims? If you've never heard anything about this theory, please keep comments to yourself. I'm trying to draw up some intelligent feed back and would appreciate stupid comments not be used.

A: In Genesis it says, "The Sons of God married the daughters of men". The Book of Enoch is all about these extraterrestrials. It says that these "Nephalim" were condemned for giving Mankind writing and science. Gheorghe Rakoczy left old books, carbon dated to be 10,000 years old, in a cellar of his castle, which indicate that the Old Ones genetically engineered Cro Magnon Man from Neanderthal Man, an animal. Extraterrestrials in our galaxy later came and genetically engineered Homo Sapiens from Cro Magnon Man (the Anakim).Those with enough Cro Magnon genetics instinctually know how to increase the percentage of their brain use: It is said that Jesus "descended into Hell and on the third day arose from the dead". Crucifixion forces what is called today "holotropic breathing". Dr. Stanislav Grof replaced LSD with holotropic breathing. LSD awakens brain use beyond the normal 10% by blocking the inhibitory neurons. Holotropic breathing, and other muscarinic nervous system stimulations, awaken the brain by overriding the inhibitory neurons. The neurons of the parasympathetic nervous system are called "muscarinic" for their stimuilation overriding the inhibitory neurons like the hallucinary drug muscarine. The major plexuses are called "chakras" in yoga. Stimulation, called "kundalini" in yoga, spreads in any particular nervous system. In the case of the muscarinic nervous system the stimulation spreads to the brain and there awakens more than 10% brain use. The biggest muscarinic nerve is the vagus nerve. It doesn't pass through the spine, but, its main trunk emerges from the brain in the roof of the nasopharynx. Advanced yogins have cut the ligature that holds their tongues down so they can put their tongues up the back of their noses. This act is called the "khechari mudra", in English, the "fig gesture". This act causes so much vagal stimulation that the heart stops by vagal syncope. The yogin can then stay in suspended animation for any chosen length of time and voluntarily withdraw his tongue to "resurrect". The blood stays oxygenated during the khechari mudra. Houdini did this in some of his feats. But, with the "water board" of the Gitmo Baptism, the intent is to fill the nasopharynx with water, enough just to put the candidate for initiation into what Dr. Stanislav Grof called "perinatal matrix three. Large doses of LSD were used for the same purpose in the "Clockwork Orange" treatment. Is there any other Hell? Very often those who resurrected from what seemed to witnesses as death, had a homeopathic reaction from death such that the brain woke up with more than its normal 10% use, so that, this actually "hyperlife" state was called, the world of the dead, the Underworld, Hell, etc. The mind is very powerful to materialize its visualizations as reality in the Underworld. Can anyone control all their thoughts? Things go wrong. as soon as the candidate wishes he were someone else, "zap" he body switches into that someone else, where he no longer has the more than 10% brain use, and is weak again. But, he doesn't belong in anyone elses body, so, as soon as that body sleeps or dies, it's into another body he goes. And, on and on and on, going backward and forward in time in body after body, into everyone he has ever seen, for about a hundred years duration. This was called the "aioniu amartematos", an aeon of failure", in the original Greek Bible, translated into English "etenrnal damnation". But, Jesus Christ, being God, body switched into everyone who ever was or ever will be, and on every probability timeline. That's why He is always in you and I. This is real. The awakened brain accesses the multidimensional universe that people with only 10% brain use are unaware of. It doesn't have to be that extreme. Perinatal matrix one is euphoric. In perinatal matrix two, the "Knowledge of Good and Evil", as one goes into this fifth dimensional direction, the brain gets more and more powerful to travel in the sixth dimension to the probability timelines corresponding to imagination. Dr. Stanislav Grof, in his "Adventure of Self Discovery" said that this was the real sacrament of Baptism, but, it was also what Adam and Eve did with each other, "eating" the fruit of the Knowledge of Good and Evil" that constituted the "original sin" so that the Cathars made this thier sacrament of "Unbaptism". Other related stimulations are condemned as "witchcraft", called in the Koran "blowing on knots". It's all how far you go that determines its arbitrary worth to various classes of society. It has been the most suppressed secret in the world. Dr. Grof is the first to get away with making it somewhat public. But, every Christian has the right to understand the crucifixion. It must be common public knowledge for justice.

Why should religious translations matter at all? by Joe V Q: If God is trying to talk to English speaking people he wouldn't talk in Hebrew. I assume that whatever is in our particular Bible or Quran or ... whatever would be exactly what God wanted us to hear. Why do human languages come into play at all? What about the bible codes you hear about on the History Channel? They have to be done in Hebrew. Why Hebrew? Coudln't God have figured out some Bible codes that are translated to King James Version?

A: because people do not speak in hebrew and greek so the word is translated to the language of the people. The bible codes are in hebrew because the original text in the old testament is written in hebrew and the new testament in greek. The bible codes may not be real.

Is it a sin to have the woman on top during sex? by Azanppl<3 Q: Before i get started, I over heard this from a documentary on the history channel and second from my teacher. Is it true according to the Old Testament, it is a sin to have the woman on top during sex because the man is always suppose to be in control. If it is which can u back it upp what bible version, verse, etc. I really find this intriguing

A: The Bible doesn't say anything about personal preferences in how married couples make love. It only says this. Hebrews 13:4 Marriage is honorable among all, and the bed undefiled; but fornicators and adulterers God will judge. It could be that people have added a man made tradition that you heard about on the history channel. I know that in the church in Rome they have done things like that - hence the term "missionary position" in regards to how a man and a woman should procreate in marriage. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Missionary_position Although the Bible does not mention sexual positions, from the 6th to 16th centuries, Church authorities taught that intercourse should be face-to-face, man-on-top, primarily because they believed that semen flows with gravity, leading to conception. Exceptions were made for couples dealing with illness, obesity, or pregnancy. The medieval Catholic Church observed that animals copulated in the ventro-dorsal ("doggy style") position, and concluded that it was unnatural to humans. According to John Bancroft's Human Sexuality and Its Problems, Thomas Aquinas believed that crimes against nature included intercourse in "unnatural" positions, with the missionary position being considered the only natural one.[15] Benjamin Shepard wrote: "for Aquinas, any sexual act other than missionary position intercourse – man on top of woman – was assumed to be a sin of irrational gratification, of lust." Protestants did not communicate proper sex positions, and the Catholic Church eventually abandoned its discourse on the topic. Simon Hardy wrote that the missionary position was used to distinguish "bestial and civilized sex." Others who held that missionary was the only permitted position included Alexander of Hales and the author of De secretis mulierum[clarification needed], who suggested that nonstandard positions might result in birth defects.[19] Ruth Mazo Karras states that William Peraldus' treatise Summa de virtutibus et vitiis distinguished between sins against nature that were "according to the substance" (intercourse other than vaginal) and "according to the manner, as when a woman mounts."[20] Nicholas Venette's 1770s-era sex manual praised the missionary position as the "common posture...which is most allowable and most voluptuous." Numerous sources have reported that in the United States, some states had outlawed positions other than missionary between husband and wife, or will grant a divorce to a woman whose husband makes love to her in another position. While many states formerly outlawed oral sex, anal sex, buggery, or other "unnatural" acts, no US law has banned ventro-dorsal heterosexual sex, or specified which partner needed to be on top.

Do you guys think the world will end on December 21, 2012? by livelaughlove Q: I saw a program on the History Channel recently and everyone in my school is also talking about it. I think it's a hoax. What do you guys think?

A: It's more than a hoax, it's a fraud. Everything you have read, seen or heard about this is wrong or a direct lie. 1. The Mayan calendar does not end, it works in cycles just like ours. 2. The Mayans made no predictions about anything, except for seasons, solstices, full moons and eclipses, pretty much like we do, this sort of thing is fairly easy to do if you keep records and can do straight forward arithmetic. 3. The prediction that something big would happen in 2012 was invented maybe 20 years ago by a man called Jose Arguelles, he is a former LSD user, an astrologer and has claimed to be the re-incarnation of a Mayan priest among other nutty things. 4. Since then a lot of other nuts and frauds have jumped on his bandwagon including the persistent drug user and now dead Terence McKenna who "predicted" the future by taking drugs and by tossing coins. 5. Some say that the planets will line up. They won't. It would not mean anything if they did. They said exactly the same thing about the year 2000 which is another time the world was supposed to end. Back in the late 1950s a lot of the planets did almost line up and nobody noticed anything. 6. Some talk about galactic alignments of this or that. Most of these are not true, and the only one that is nearly right was closest in 1998. Nobody noticed anything. This does not worry the character behind it though. But I don't think he says the world is going to end either. 7. Planets X and Nibiru are invisible, have no size, have no mass and Nibiru can pass through the inner solar system repeatedly without affecting anything. In other words, they don't exist. X was invented by Nancy Lieder who claimed she was told about it by aliens who abducted her and now hears voices in her head. Nibiru was cooked up by Zecharia Sitchin who invented it to sell books about aliens invading the Earth in ancient times and creating humans as slaves. He said it won't be back till after 2085. 8. There will be no pole shifts. Nancy Lieder claimed that planet X would cause a magnetic pole shift in 2003, but since it didn't happen she postponed planet X to 2012 to fit in with Arguelles ideas. Other people have invented solar flares and other things so they can have a pole shift. Solar flares cannot cause a magnetic pole shift on Earth, their magnetic fields are too weak by large factors. 9. Other predictions about the Sun are false or wrong. The next peak in solar activity is expected in the early - middle of 2013, not 2012 and the latest measurements show that the expected peak will be about average or even lower than average. Peaks in solar activity happen every 11 years. The worst that happens is that powers supplies can be cut in a few places for a few hours and some radio communications are disrupted. 10. Despite what some people say, there are no predictions about 2012 in the Bible, Nostradamus or any other old books. These are straight lies. 11. There is no force that can cause a sudden shift in the geographic poles. 12. There are no large asteroids or comets that are likely to hit the Earth in 2012. 13 The Institute for Human Continuity is owned by Sony pictures and is intended to promote the movie '2012'. It has no actual reality. The 2012 movie is based on Nancy Lieder's failed 2003 predictions. 14. The whole thing is either crazies raving or some others trying to make a few dollars by frightening some people into buying worthless junk or selling garbage shows to TV networks. 15. Most of the people worried about this are under 16. I do not know any adult that gives this material any consideration at all. They know it's garbage. See these sites "abhota" and "2012hoax.org"

Plainly speaking, why do so many people believe so many unfounded things? by Pi Q: The conspiracy business is a multibillion dollar industry continuously fueled by books, films, seminars, talk shows; they’ve even ruined my favorite channel: the History Channel. Why is there such a demand for this junk? What is wrong with regular history and regular science? Aren’t those exciting enough? I do hope they do away with all of this as soon as the world government is properly in place. Your thoughts?

A: Good one-with the world government reference.That has been a major conspiracy theory for many decades if not longer. They also go after the Bible too. Nothing but conjecture. We need Joe Friday types running that channel, "Just the facts".

How can 8,000 demons inhabit a man at once? by Arthur Q: If any of you ever seen the documentary of the history channel, history channel international. Called Exorcism: driving out the devil, it shows a story of a 20 year old young man that was said to have 8,000 demons. How is that possible? I can see 7 demons, but 8,000 that's a enormous number of demons.

A: Because one demon from the rank of the rulers of the darkness of this world; or the third rank mentioned in Ephesians 6:12, lets the lesser demons in according to what could be opened in the person's life. Many times demons are grouped together to bring maximum destruction to the person possessed, and when another door can be opened in the person's life, another demon can enter in. The man with the Legion in the bible had at least 2000 demons, and only 1 was the ruling demon in charge of the others. Now imagine the Antichrist soon to come, who will be totally possessed by Satan, and have all the other demons at his command, and you will see the need to be a Christian. The main reason is to have a personal relationship with God through Jesus Christ, and have eternal life. Romans 10:8-10 is how to have eternal life.

Anyone watch The Exodus Decoded on the History Channel? by SwiftKill Q: My girlfriend is a blind faith church goer, i tend to be more practical.. Even so much as to over analyze situations. After watching 'The Exodus Decoded' on the history channel i found myself questioning my faith even more so. Anyone else happen to catch this documentary? If so, what were your thoughts?

A: I'm a devout non-believer. I believe natural events explain everything so I was really excited to see this. My 'theory' has always been that Bible stories have a shred of proof but were passed down verbally for so long that it's natural for events to have been distorted. I.E.- There's a story called 'Gilgamesh' that's very similiar to the Noah's Ark story-it's in the same area but was recorded a thousand years earlier by a different culture/society. Archeologists have found evidence of huge floods in every country but none at the same moment in history. The Mayans/Aztecs also have a flood story and their creation story is similiar to the Egyptian version. Back to the 'Exodus' story-I rolled my eyes when he claimed 'God' manipulated nature to do all these things. If you'll notice, for a large part of the OT, God insists he's the only God the Hebrews/Israelites should worship. He never says he's the only one. When his 'chosen' ones go to battle/war, the others are identified by their race-not as people he has anything to do with. In the Abraham story, when God is supposedly telling the Pharaoh to let Abrahams wife back to Abraham, at no point does he tell the Pharaoh to start denying the Egyptian pantheon and start worshipping him. So, I see the Bible as a collection of stories that were recorded from that particular culture's viewpoint. Much like Egypt has their own tales about Egyptians-not about what the Vikings were up to. I'm kinda/sorta reading this book called 'The Jesus Mysteries'. I love, love, love it. I don't think it would offend your gf but you'd know better so you might want to try it first. It explains the similarities between pagan myths, Gnosticism and the Christianity we're familiar with. I've got the attention span of a gnat-that's the only reason I haven't finished it. It's not a story and it has a lot of info about what was considered sacred at the time.

About the book of Revelation and the coming of God? by Jaden Q: Well I'm 16 and I was just watching the history channel right now about the book of Revelation in the Bible and it kind of gave me the chills with the anti Christ. But I know that humans can't predict when God is coming, but when God does come, is he going to take his followers with him and leave his non-believers on earth to suffer? Whats going to happen to earth? How can you tell who the anti-Christ is? More info on this question would be good ( I'm just confused ) thanks!

A: This is not a B&A question. Bible scholars, believers and folks who don't believe the bible all disagree on what precisely Revelation is all about. My main advice to you is to talk to a youth pastor about the book of Revelation. don't just ask here. Also, if you are not experienced at reading the Bible, don't read the end first. Read the Gospel of John first, and use study guides or ask a pastor for help is you have questions.

Who thinks Jesus Christ would have hated stock investors? by Leon Rockefeller Q: I was watching the history channel a couple months ago and they were talking about when he entered Jeruosolm(cant spell it just sound it out). They were quoting the bible word for word on Jesus at his most violent and maddest time when he saw people gambling. They sounded like people who invest in stocks everyone yelling their bids, then Jesus screamed and fliped the gambling table in anger. Stock investing is basically gambling so who thinks Jesus would be disappointed in stock investors.

A: Interesting question. I think capitalism in General might be against Jesus' teaching. I can't say for sure, but it's based on the greed of human nature. Not that I dislike capitalism, I'm all for it, but Jesus might disagree with me. Investing is not necessarily the same as gambling though.

What do serious Bible Thumpers think of the more historical look at the Bible? by UnfaithFull Q: Like what is showing now on the History Channel. "Banned from the Bible" is on now, at least where I am. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Banned_from_the_Bible

A: Sorry, I can't taken anyone seriously that uses wikipedia as a source. With that being said, I'll look for that show on the History Channel, I'm sure it will be worth watching.

Are there any Documentaries on The Book of Enoch? by kungfu Kristen Q: I want to learn and I wanted to know if you know any tv shows (preferably Discovery or history channel) that have a documentary on it? I know theres stuff on youtube and whatever, But I'd rather have one full length documentary from history or Discovery. I like their format and how they go into explaining it piece by piece.

A: Found one. I find the history channel to be VERY unreliable (unfortunate: it used to not be that way), but I could find one from no better source http://www.history.com/videos/book-of-enoch-excluded-from-the-bible#book-of-enoch-excluded-from-the-bible - Jim

Christians, do you agree nothing in the Bible has ever been proven wrong? by The Right Path Q: The Exodus has even been proven to be true because the history channel did a special on it and found that a volcanic eruption caused the plagues of Egypt.

A: Yes.

Did anyone hear about the world endiing in 2012? by indrep33 Q: I know this may sound crazy and far fetched and people have been saying these things for centuries, but I was looking at the History Channel( or maybe it was the Discovery Channel), and it said that special codes in a bible predicited September 11, The War in Iraq, and the Washington Sniper almost to a T, but that no one paid any attention to the clues. Now, it says that an asteroid will hit the and destroy the Earth in 2012( though I hope its not before my birthday). This may sound crazy, but could it possibly be another Noah's Ark, except with a explosion instead of a flooding?

A: Get with the program,the world sticks around until I say otherwise.I was thinking more like 2033,but we'll see how you all act until then,maybe i'll change my mind.

How does this fit in with peoples religious views? by Josh Q: Ancient Alien Theroy. Ancient aliens or ancient astronauts have visited earth, and this contact is connected with the orgins or development with human cultures, technologies, and religions. A common variant of the idea include proposals that deities from, most if not all, religions are actually extraterrestrials, and their technologies were taken as evidence of their divine status. The orgin of many religions are interpreted as reactions to encounters with an alien race. Humans considered the technology of aliens to be supernatural and the aliens themselves to be god. The oral and written traditions of most religions contains references to alien visitors in the way of descriptions of star and vehicular objects travelling through air and space. (One such is Ezekiels revelation in the Old Testament as a detailed spacecraft landing.) In the Biblical Old Testament, the Book of Ezekiel tells of a flying object seen as a fiery whirlwind which when descended to the ground gave the appearance of being made of metal. It is described among other things as a wheel within a wheel containing four occupants, "living creatures" whose likeness was that of man. The passage goes on to say that wherever the wheels went the creatures went, and when the living creatures were lifted up the wheels were lifted up. How do the artifacts and evidence support this theroy rather than a belief of a supernatrual being? There's to many artifacts that support the theroy because of the misinterpretation of technologies and people coming from the sky by the ancient man from which they have never seen. Is it possible that we formed religion because of this? Check youtube (history channel ancient aliens) for some views to begin your research. Watch full length episodes.

A: Adventists both teach and proclaim the everlasting Gospel worldwide and keep the Biblical Sabbath(Saturday) day Holy(Exodus 20:8-11)."Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it Holy." The Sabbath begins sundown Friday and ends sundown Saturday." Sabbath School begin at 9:30am. Worship begin at 11:00am every Saturday. God's true Church believes that Jesus is God. God's true Church believes in the Trinity. God's true Church believes in the death of Christ on the Cross. God's true Church will uphold the Moral Law(Ten Commandments) God's true Church will Baptize by Immersion not Sprinkling. God's true Church will not eat Unclean Foods(Pork, Catfish, etc.) God's true Church will be a Worldwide Church preaching the message of Christ. God's true Church will teach Biblical literal six day Creation. NO Evolution. God's true Church will have the gift of Prophecy. God's true Church will preach Salvation by grace through faith in Jesus Christ. God's true Church will stand against Sexual Immorality. Homosexuality, Adultery and Fornication are Sins. God's true Church will preach against Strong drink. Alcohol is not allowed. (Proverbs 20:1). Remember God's true last day Church will not be a popular Church. Most people will attack God's Biblical Church with vigilance. Satan himself will attack God's Church(Revelation 14:12) Truth crushed to the ground will always rise to the top. Seventh-day Adventist web-site: http://www.adventist.org/beliefs Sabbath information site: http://www.sabbathtruth.com Find an Adventist Church near you: http://www.adventistdirectory.org Free Sermons/Online Bible Studies: http://www.amazingfacts.org http://www.the-ten-commandments.org

Is the prophecy of the bible being fulfilled? by stunnin Q: I saw the history channel on armageddon saying that before the final battle the people who were going to be in the kingdom of god to avoid the suffering and pain would begin to slowly disappear and fade away,is it happening? are good people dying lately?

A: You really do not have a clue as to what the Bible is about, do you?

Where in hell do suicides specifically go? by vertidiger_08 Q: I've heard on history channel - and as well movie references - that people who committ suicide go to hell -- more specifically the 7th Circle of Hell. Can someone please shed a light on this?

A: Genesis 2:7 And the LORD God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul. GEN. 7.. DUST TO DUST.. YOU GO TO GRAVE AT DEATH ALL EVERYONE UNTIL FINAL JUDGMENT 7 Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it. Ecc. 12. 7. http://www.topical-bible-studies.org/33-0001.htm Ecc. 9.5. ....5 For the living know that they shall die: but the dead know not any thing, www.bibleexplained.com/poetry/eccle/ec09.htm - Hell/ is the grave. In Greek Hades, in Hebrew/ Sheol / NO BURNING HELL IN TRUE GREEK SEPTUAGINT OR TORAH http://www.bibletruthkeys.com/Is%20There%20a%20Place%20Called%20Hell.htm NO SEVEN CIRCLES OF HELL ARE FROM THE DIVINE COMEDY ( LOL ) TRUE .. NOT IN BIBLE :) DANTE'S INFERNOhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Divine_Comedy#The_Circles_of_Hell} 7th CIRCLE OF HELL IS IN DANTE'S INFERNO FOR VIOLENT SINS :) CIRCLES 5/ 6/7/ FOR VIOLENT SINS/ and 8/9 FOR MALICIOUS SINS ( AH DONT WORRY THE GOOD PONTIFF THREW OUT LIMBO THAT NEVER WAS :) LOL LOL Divine Comedy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopediaAllegorically, the Inferno represents the Christian soul seeing sin for what it ... main divisions of Dante's Hell: Upper Hell (the first 5 Circles) for the ... 6 and 7 for the violent sins; and Circles 8 and 9 for the malicious sins. ... en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Divine_Comedy - IN BIBLE IN REVELATIONS WE RISE AT FINAL JUDGEMENT AND GO TO OUR REWARDS OR CONDEMNATIONS..( FOR CORRECTION) NO ONE KNOWS FOR HOW LONG HOWEVER,, JUDAISM ,CHRITIANITY/ ISLAM BELIEVE THIS TOO ( IN REVELATIONS) FROM A GREEK ORTHDOOX FIRST CHRISTIAN OF THE GREEK SEPUAGINT BIBLE WHO IS NOT SCARED OF DANTE'S INFERNO OR BURNING HELL THAT IS NOT THERE JESUS CAME TO GIVE US ZOE Though He Were DeadJesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that ..... "He that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: and ... If you believe in Jesus, though you are not only wrong, but dead, yet shall you live. ... www.spurgeon.org/sermons/1799.htm - 44k IC XC NIKA

Who was the first man on earth?Everybody knows-adam,but who is the first woman on earth-can you help me solve? by Avan Q: I saw on history channel one late night.As i like shows like 'a haunting'etc.i tuned ont history and they said that the first man on earth had two wives .he left the first one.she haunts all children.Can you help by telling me the names of both the wives?

A: Read the Bible. It was Eve. Adam did not have two wives.

Have you heard that there is no Egyptian history of enslaving the Jews? by cosaxteacher Q: I had seen a show on the HIstory channel where they said that no Egyptian records of enslaving of the Jews, even though the Egyptians were really fanatical about keeping records. I know the Bible and my Christian upbringing says they were slaves, but what do you think about it? Do you think it is "dramaticized" in the Bible, or is it just that we haven't discovered the documentation or it was destroyed?

A: While those who point out that the Egyptians would not have recorded the escape of several thousand slaves in a their own semi-historical documents have a point, it should also be pointed out that there would be other evidence pointing to a mass exodus and to the other events associated with such an exodus. There is no such evidence. There is no record of the plagues - either written or evidence of a sudden mass die-off of people and/or animals or a famine in the time period usually associated with the exodus. There is no secondary evidence of a sudden need to replace missing workers after they had departed. There is no evidence of slavery in Egypt on the scale suggested in the Biblical texts. While prisoners of war were taken and given as slaves and raids were occasionally conducted to obtain slaves, slavery was not all that prevalent in ancient Egypt. There is no circumstantial mention of military activity or other activity associated with an exodus in non-royal written sources. While the Egyptians certainly wouldn't have wanted to publicize their "embarrassment" the enemies of Egypt certainly would have and no contemporary kingdom has records relating to an "exodus" nor to the plagues - all of which would have been of interest to neighboring kingdoms. The Exodus question has been around for a very long time. Pretty much opinion falls in one of a few camps - 1) the Bible is infallible and we just haven't found the evidence 2) the Bible is totally bogus 3) the Bible is a document like any other, was never intended as a historical source, and contains useful information about the past, but must be regarded critically. Camp 3 (and this is a VERY simplified version) would suggest that while there may have been groups of people living in Egypt who later became the people of Israel - the Jews, in other words, they weren't slaves. They left either after a change in politics made things difficult for them or for other reasons and headed to Canaan. The slavery/Exodus story occurs primarily as a way of elaborating the past shared history of a group of people and as part of the justification for the conquest of Canaan.

Do you believe that the bible is a retelling of other more ancient religions and mythologies? by michael Q: History channel had a show about the connection between ancient egyptian mythology and the bible.

A: I believe The Bible in its original documents is the inspired Word of God, the written record of His supernatural revelation of Himself to man, absolute in its authority, complete in its revelation, final in its content, and without any errors in its statements. (II Timothy 3:16; John 10:35; Psalms 89:34; Hebrews 6:18; II Peter 3:16)

Isn't there a document from around the time of Christ that gives a different story of the virgin Mary? by your_kewl Q: I was just wondering, I am not Christian but I remember hearing from some where (maybe the history channel) of a script of some kind that gave a different story of Mary, specifically of her not being a virgin. If so what is it called? I know there are a lot of scripts Christians seem to ignore and its interesting to read about them.

A: www.amazingfacts.org www.adventist.org Keep the Law under Grace. The Moral Law(Ten Commandments) was given to Israel in trust for all mankind. It has never been abrogated but ia as unchangeable as its author, being based on our essential relationships to Him and our fellow men, and it is of perpetual and universal obligation(Matthew 5:17-20). Exodus 20:8 "REMEMBER THE SABBATH(Saturday) DAY, TO KEEP IT HOLY." Jesus observed the Sabbath day of his own people. It was his custom to keep the Sabbath day Holy(Luke 4:16). The Great Teacher never intimated that the Sabbath was a ceremonial ordinance or exclusive to the Jewish people. The Sabbath was given to all mankind. It is evident that Christ did not change the Sabbath in the New Testament. Nor did he set the seventh-day of the week aside. Nowhere in the Bible is it stated that worship should be changed from Saturday to Sunday. The Bible declares that we should keep Holy the Sabbath Day.

are the seven deadly sins really sins or just temptations that lead to sin? by girllaxer Q: so i was just watching the seven deadly sins on the history channel and i learned that the seven deadly sins were not considered sins until the catholic Church said so. if it isn't in the bible how is it a sin. aren't these "sins" just temptations that lead to sins.

A: They're written by man as deadly sins, but they're also written on our hearts as wrongful actions, too. So it's really not about what Pope Gregory says or what the Bible says, it's about what's universally accepted as moral, what's right and wrong.

What do you think about the seven signs of the apocalypse? by BellaG Q: I just watched a special on the history channel about the seven signs of the apocalypse and was wondering what others thought.

A: WOW those sound like some bitter people whos been answering so far. Personally I think they ARE happening now. Not back to back but diffently graduately. Might take decades or centuries but the Mayans and every other thing saying that SOMETHING is going to happen in 2012 means something. I mean look at the floor. It is in just about every culture that was around back them. Stories of it exist everywhere. So it HAD to have happned at some point in time on SOME scale. maybe not the whole world BUT diffently the WHOLE WORLD as THEY knew it back then. So The Bible tells us HOW the world will end and the Mayans tells us WHEN sooooo for all those nay sayers where will YOU be if it DOES end? I dont think the WORLD will end but surely SOME changes... earthquakes... solar distruption... stuff like that. The weather is getting worse and worse every year. So the EARTH ISSSS heating up. thats not good.

Religious people; Do you really believe what your church has said about Mary Magdalene? by Imagine No Religion Q: Is it possible that Mary Magdalene was really an apostle and not what the church has claimed her to be? I'm currently watching the History Channel and several people have suggested that she WAS one of jesus's apostle and that there even was a book called the gospel of Mary but it was never included in the bible. Your thoughts?

A: There is a book called the Gospel of Mary. You can buy it or check it out from the library easily. I have it. It's much more empowering to women than the stuff that DID make it into the collection known as the "bible", so of course the church left it out. Some of the modern churches aren't much better in the misogyny department and for some odd reason no one wants to re-examine why some writings were chosen and why some were not, so it's not like they advertise that fact. It's almost as if some of them think their deity said "those other writings - yeah, I inspired them too, but I lied. Pay no mind." so they won't even study those writings. Kind of sad, really. :-( In my own faith we read everything we can get our hands on about our ancestors and our culture and our deities to better understand .... well, our own culture and faith. Doesn't matter to us WHO wrote them as we don't consider our writings to be THE word of the deities or infallible, as some christians do the bible. We were given brains for a reason, ya know, and blind acceptance was not the reason.

Where can I find Banned books of the Bible? by Tha Princess Q: There was something about this on the history channel the other day, anyone know where I can find these books online and read them. Much thanks. P.S. I don't want to hear "don't read them" or "they aren't God's true word", just tell me where I can find them online and leave me in peace.

A: either borrow or buy a catholic bible, the 6 books are in there plus the readings from daniel and esther. tobit judith maccabees 1&2 wisdom sirach or ecclesiasticus baruch

what year did the catholic church make priests celibate? by Tom Q: i know at first priests were allowed to marry and have sex. i remember seeing on the history channel that a specific pope decided it was not cool and made it illegal to the clergy. in what year did this happen? which pope?

A: Some priests and bishops were celibate from day one, like Saint Paul. The celibate clergy did not come into full bloom until about 1000 C.E. But there were many married priests, bishops, and popes before this time. Priests, religious brothers and religious sisters (nuns) as part of their vocation choose not to marry following: + The practice recommended in the Bible + The example of Jesus Christ, John the Baptist, and the Apostle Paul. +++ Scripture +++ + In Matthew 19:12, Jesus says, "Some are incapable of marriage because they were born so; some, because they were made so by others; some, because they have renounced marriage for the sake of the kingdom of heaven. Whoever can accept this ought to accept it." Jesus says celibacy is a gift from God and whoever can bear it should bear it. Jesus praises and recommends celibacy for full time ministers in the Church. Because celibacy is a gift from God, those who criticize the Church's practice of celibacy are criticizing God and this wonderful gift He bestows on His chosen ones. + In Matthew 19:29, Jesus says, "And everyone who has given up houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or lands for the sake of my name will receive a hundred times more, and will inherit eternal life." Whoever gives up children for the sake of His name will receive a hundred times more and will inherit eternal life. Jesus praises celibacy when it is done for the sake of His kingdom. + Matthew 22:30 - Jesus explains, "At the resurrection they neither marry nor are given in marriage but are like the angels in heaven." In heaven there are no marriages. To bring about Jesus' kingdom on earth, priests live the heavenly consecration to God by not taking a wife in marriage. This way, priests are able to focus exclusively on the spiritual family, and not have any additional pressures of the biological family (which is for the vocation of marriage). This also makes it easier for priests to be transferred to different parishes where they are most needed without having to worry about the impact of their transfer on wife and children. + In 1 Corinthians 7:1, Paul writes, "It is a good thing for a man not to touch a woman." This is the choice that the Catholic priests of the Roman rite freely make. + Then in 1 Corinthians 7:7, Paul says, "Indeed, I wish everyone to be as I am." Paul acknowledges that celibacy is a gift from God and wishes that all were celibate like he is. + In 1 Corinthians 7:27, Paul writes, "Are you free of a wife? Then do not look for a wife." Paul teaches men that they should not seek marriage. In Paul’s opinion, marriage introduces worldly temptations that can interfere with one’s relationship with God, specifically regarding those who will become full time ministers in the Church. + In 1 Corinthians 7:32-33, Paul teaches, "I should like you to be free of anxieties. An unmarried man is anxious about the things of the Lord, how he may please the Lord. But a married man is anxious about the things of the world, how he may please his wife." And in verse 38, "So then, the one who marries his virgin does well; the one who does not marry her will do better." Paul recommends celibacy for full time ministers in the Church so that they are able to focus entirely upon God and building up His kingdom. He “who refrains from marriage will do better.” See also 1 Timothy 5:9-12 2 Timothy 2:3-4 Revelation 14:4 Isaiah 56:3-7 Jeremiah 16:1-4 +++ Scriptural Examples +++ Biblical role models of a celibate clergy came from John the Baptist, Jesus, and the Apostle Paul. John the Baptist and Jesus are both believed to have been celibate for their entire lives. Some scholars believe that the example of the Essenes influenced either or both Jesus and John the Baptist in their celibacy. WWJD? What would Jesus do? Jesus did not marry. The Apostle Paul is explicit about his celibacy (see 1 Cor. 7). There is also evidence in the gospel of Matthew for the practice of celibacy among at least some early Christians, in the famous passage about becoming “eunuchs for the sake of the kingdom of heaven” (Matt. 19:12). The concept took many twists and turns over the years and will probably take a few more before Christ returns in glory. A priest is "married" to the Church. Some people think that a priest who takes his duties seriously cannot take proper care of a wife and family. With love in Christ.

What is the name of the 12 angels that blow horns every world catastrophe? by ITALIA Q: like one of the 12 angels blows a horn after a world catastrophe. for ex. 9/11/01 one of the 12 blew a horn. and once we have done all 12 the world will end (i just heard about it on the history channel and apparently that is what the bible said) and apparently were on 11. HELP

A: if its true which i doubt Bye everyone

Why were certain stories banned from the Bible? by XO Till i overdose Q: I'm watching the History Channel & the show is called Banned From the Bible it seems to tell a lot of interesting things left out of the New Testament!

A: Politics and personal preferences. Out of the 20+ original gospels they just voted their favourite 4 into the NT and declared it the word of God. They simply picked the ones that suited their purposes.

Is part of the Bible based on ancient alien stories? by Q: History Channel had a show about the ancient Sumerians. These were the people from present day Iraq who are widely credited with laying the foundations of human civilization. Their holy book has many similar stories to the Old Testament, including the flood story. But the Sumerian creation story says the first man was named Adama, and that he was created by Aliens for slave labor. My question is: Do you think the Bible copied this name? Or is it just a coincidence?

A: No! The bible is true.

Can anyone explain to me, What the Bible Code is and how it works? by HippiexChild Q: Could anyone tell me how they use this code? I want to check the validity of this show on the history channel. I'm a Christian for sure, As it is told in the Bible many will try to decieve.. This includes science... But I always ask questions. I believe in it is Human Nature to question logic and reason. But anything i'm 100% sure about in the Bible, I follow.

A: If you mean the Da Vinchi code, it is folklore, a crackpot theory. I believe it has to do with converting the letters of the Bible into numbers and summing the numbers of versus. The code I believe in is for symbols, that remain constant in the Bible. For example 7 is a number of completeness and perfection. Six is the number of human imperfection, because one less than 7. Saying something 3 times means very much, as in holy holy holy Lord. So the number 666 is extreme imperfection. It symbolizes an evil individual but also a position of evil, the head of a corrupt system. I hope this helps.

How is the world going to end according to Roman Catholics? by Karina P Q: im watching The Anti Christ on history channel but dont know which things are in the Roman Catholic Bible?I mean like is the devil going to come like a fake savior or what? thanks.

A: Roman Catholics use the same bible as other Christians, genius.

What do you think about the 2012 doomsday predictions? by Mz. B Q: I just watched a show on the History Channel (I think) about the 2012 Doomsday predictions. I had never even heard of such a prediction outside of the Bible, but the show did list several sources for the reasoning behind the demise of the Earth around that time. I am most interested in the Scientific basis for the theory. It stated in that program that in the year 2012 that the Earth and Sun will be at the center of the Milky Way, and will cross over the universe's "equator" and, this change will force the Earth to change the magnetic polarity of our North and South Poles. (North pole will register South, and visa versa). This monumental change would create widespread havock on our planet. Causing worldwide mass extinctions, volcano's, and earthquakes. (They stated that the planet has in fact changed its magnetic polarity before, 800 million years ago). It was an eye opening program to watch. Any thoughts?! I forgot to mention, that in the program they said that by the Sun and Earth ( and I guess the rest of our Solor System etc.) crossing over this galactic equator, It will cause the sun to have extreme solor storms that emit much more radiation, destroying more of our satalllites. In fact, scientific predictions, ( and warnings) say 2012 will be an active solor year. Who really knows what will happen when the sun crosses over. Lets keep in mind that whatever effects the sun, ultimately effects us here on Earth. Thanks for your thoughts! Yeah, I guess that you have to believe that the center is going to be reached/crossed in or around 2012, to make the prediction even possible. Thanks! : )

A: To begin, the History Channel show did not say that "...Earth and Sun will be at the center of the Milky Way..." The center of the galaxy is 25,000 light years away from Earth, so it would take at least 25,000 years for us to get there even if we could move at the speed of light, which we can't. You also said that the TV show said that "...will cross over the universe's "equator" and, this change will force the Earth to change the magnetic polarity of our North and South Poles..." You probably meant the equator of our *galaxy,* not the universe. Even so, there's no scientific basis in the silly assumption that crossing the galactic equator is going to do anything to Earth. The doomsday prophecy that's sprouted from the Mayan calendar is just so much nonsense. 2012 is nothing more than the end of the current Mayan calendar, no more or less.

How many that are at YA right now believe in the Prophecies of Revelation or Apocalypse? by almaciga Q: I am watching the History Channel and they are having a special or marathon on these prophecies. I am wondering how many of you believe that God exist and that he will bring rewards to those who do good and a curse or malediction on those who do not. If you can include in your answer your political party it will help. Thank you for all your answers.

A: I just finished a three and a half month study about eschatology. If you truly believe that rewards are brought about our own "good" deeds then you need to reread the Gospels, Letters, and Revelation. There is nothing we can do to gain any reward. My political party has nothing to do with your question but suffice it to say I am anti this president. BTW, do not use the History Channel to attempt to understand Revelation. They spoke to a man who knows more about the prophecies of the Bible in his little pinkie than ANY of the scholars History uses, David Hocking. Revelation chapter 4-19 is all about what happens to the Jews during the period of the tribulation. Those who turn to Christ are just minor players in Revelation. God will be using the tribulation to complete ALL the OT prophecies regarding Israel. I can do nothing to earn entrance into heaven. The only way to gain entrance is to believe in Jesus. Jesus is the only way into heaven. Would you please email me for further information regarding the end times. My email is [email protected]

What time does the series "The Bible" air on the History channel? by Min Hyo Kwon Q: What time does the series "The Bible" air on the History channel?

Spiritually speaking, what happened to the History Channel? by My science is tight. Q: It used to be awesome- a little WW2 heavy for my taste but there were great shows on there, now it's all these lame shows about antiques and restoration and how you can use the bible to prove aliens have been here since ancient times...and it's not even called the History Channel anymore- it's just History. Where did they go wrong?

A: I think shows on TLC influenced the switch over, as their reality series are all very similar to TLC shows. I too miss the good old days when you could turn it on and you'd know you were gonna see some documentary/documentary series. Now you are more likely to see American Pickers or that restoration show. Then instead of historical stuff the documentary series are all on nostradamus, aliens, religious issues, or conspiracy theories. Very rare to see a good documentary on social/political/military events that are widely accepted on that channel these days. They have two other channels though- military and international. I don't have the money to bump my cable up so I've never seen them but I assume they probably have the kind of stuff History used to show.

Have you ever been scared in the dark thinking of the devil and his demons? by Mike Z Q: I have gotten scared alone when I watch something scary on the History Channel about the bible or about the devil and his demons. Have you ever felt the presence of these demons? I sure do at times and man its so scarey I can hardly move. Is this normal to be afraid, why do I feel this way?

A: mabey you have a demon. even metaphorically- this is a symbol that you are betraying your conscience. if you believe in god then you need to confess. if your not religious then you need to stop doing what you know is wrong. most sociopaths believe that they have a demon. A sociopath knows the difference between right and wrong and knowingly chooses to do the wrong thing. ie. welcoming your demon is the wrong thing to do.

How do Dinosaurs fit into the Lord creating the world? by Q: While watching History Channel's Bible, End of the Worlds and Dinosaur special, I'm confused as to how dinosaurs fit into the Lord creating the world. Did Dinosaurs really exists? Did God create them?

A: God created the world in six days, but six days to God is not the same thing as six days to man. We do not know how God defines 6 days at all, Because God is God he can manipulate and alter time to fit his meaning however he wants. Therefore it is completely acceptable to believe that the 6 days of God are the equivalent to the 4.5 billion man years of the Earth. They are not imcompatible concepts. Having said this dinosaurs still exist and we call them birds. If you want to know more truth I suggest you research Christian astrology http://www.mazzaroth.com/ChapterEight/MillOfTime.htm

What was the name of the Secret group John the Baptist was part of? by dadofjalen Q: I once watched a program on discovery or the history channel (it was probably "mysteries of the bible" but I am not completely sure) a number of years ago and it talked in detail about Jesus and John the Baptist and that John the Baptist either headed or was part of a secret religious sect. A group of radicals if you will, I have searched on line for information of this supposed group but can find no reference to it. Does anyone know of this group?

A: It's not really a good idea to trust the History Channel or the Discovery Channel for things like that. You probably shouldn't trust random sources on the internet a whole lot either. But since you asked, St. John the Baptist was most likely influenced by the Essenes (a sect of extremist, aesthetic, elitist, fatalistic, etc. Jewish radicals), as was Jesus of Nazareth. These guys were even more extreme than the Pharisees and Saducees. That's not to say John was a part of that group, nor was Jesus, but some of the things both of them said seem to be in response to the teachings of the Essenes, and Holy Baptism was most likely influenced by the specific way the Essenes practiced Mikvah. It's possible that John may have been influenced by the Zealots as well.

Why do History Channel and Nat Geo tend to give Christianity based programs? by Guppy Q: You never see anything about other religions, by the way. Around certain holidays (Palm Sunday, Good Friday, Easter, Christmas, etc) they tend to show a lot of Christianity based programs. I can understand programs about religion, how it affected history, how they were made, etc but these are quite literally just talking about God, Jesus, dooms day, Satan, Jesus' family, etc. History Channel International doesn't give anything Christianity based. Just History Channel..

A: It is Satan's way of misleading people. Quotes from the bible show Satan is the ruler of this world (John 12:31) Now there is a judging of this world; now the ruler of this world will be cast out. (John 14:30) I shall not speak much with YOU anymore, for the ruler of the world is coming. And he has no hold on me, (Ephesians 2:2) in which YOU at one time walked according to the system of things of this world, according to the ruler of the authority of the air, the spirit that now operates in the sons of disobedience. However this scripture proves with out a doubt; (Matthew 4:8-9) Again the Devil took him along to an unusually high mountain, and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their glory, 9 and he said to him: “All these things I will give you if you fall down and do an act of worship to me.” Jesus did not say you are a liar - he said in verse 10 - Then Jesus said to him: “Go away, Satan! For it is written, ‘It is Jehovah your God you must worship, and it is to him alone you must render sacred service.’” Jesus said "It is written". Written where? Jesus was referring to ; (Deuteronomy 10:20) “Jehovah your God you should fear. Him you should serve, and to him you should cling, and by his name you should make sworn statements. (Deuteronomy 5:9) You must not bow down to them or be led to serve them, because I Jehovah your God am a God exacting exclusive devotion, bringing punishment for the error of fathers upon sons and upon the third generation and upon the fourth generation, in the case of those who hate me; (Joshua 24:14) “And now fear Jehovah and serve him in faultlessness and in truth, and remove the gods that YOUR forefathers served on the other side of the River and in Egypt, and serve Jehovah. AND - most programming on the History Channel is NOT accurate to the bibles standpoint. The verses above are proof enough that Jesus is not God, but God's Son, and THC and NatGeo say the Jesus is God. Plus they really put current secular spin on all the details when these accounts were written form our benefit the way God wanted it portrayed. (2 Timothy 3:16) All Scripture is inspired of God and beneficial for teaching, for reproving, for setting things straight, for disciplining in righteousness, (Romans 15:4) For all the things that were written aforetime were written for our instruction, that through our endurance and through the comfort from the Scriptures we might have hope.

Can anyone recommend books about missing stories from the Bible, and Lilith? by cjmommy08 Q: I watched "Banned from the Bible" on the History Channel last night and it's peaked my interest. Has anyone read any books on this? There is also the book "Banned from the Bible" but I'm just wondering if there's anything that is more like a commentary on this. Also, I've never even heard of Lilith before until my mom's boyfriend was talking about her one day. Can anyone recommend reading material on this? Thanks.

A: Here's one that talks about a lot of what you're asking about.

What song is on the History Channel Commercial for 2013? by Soupdog Q: On the History Channel(shows:Pawn Stars, swamp people, bamazon etc.) There is a commercial for new shows coming in 2013 like "Thie Bible" and "Vikings" and i want to know the song that they play during that commercial? I know the song says: welcome to the new age'. You will probably only know what i am talking about if you watch the History Channel.

A: "Radioactive" by Imagine Dragons

Should my brother believe in the History's Channel documentary on 2012 and Nostradamus? by Ivan C Q: It just aired tonight and he is being very paranoid, but I tell him he has nothing to worry about because Nostradamus' predictions were VERY vague and he shouldn't fall into the Mayan Calendar theory either because on studying their culture and history one would see that they never said anything about the world ending. The only thing left that i have no knowledge on is the "Bible Code", which i find absurd, and the Galactic Alignment. Should i worry about the latter? Should we really take the History Channel seriously on their Armageddon week?

A: I have my own predictions for the end of 2012. This involves many books being sent for pulp, clips being removed from YouTube, websites vanishing without trace, videos being scrapped and people wanting their money back from those who claimed that something big and perhaps nasty would happen around 21 - 23 December. Of course the dissatisfied customers will not get refunds, the people running this hoax are the slimy sort who don't give refunds on shoddy goods and certainly not on the lies they have been peddling for a few years now. Another prediction is that those who have websites prophesying disaster in December 2012 will deny utterly in 2013 that they had such a site. When faced with archived copies of their site they will deny it was theirs. What are a few more lies when they have told so many already? A further prediction is that the same sort of garbage will be revived for some date a few years after 2012. I'm guessing some time between 2015 and 2025 for the next end of the world scam, most likely between 2018 and 2023. By that time there will me a new crop of 14 year olds to frighten and another crop of foolish adults to waste their money on books and videos or join some ghastly religious cult. Disaster in 2012 is delusion, lies, fraud for money and superstition. If you see this on the History Channel, you should realise that the History Channel does not care what lies and garbage it transmits, just so long as people watch it and the commericials with it.

Is the History Channel becoming more religious? by rabble rouser Q: I've noticed that the History Channel has been airing a few shows lately that boldly refer to Jesus' life as a historical reference point... On a show this afternoon, they had a guy reciting a story from the bible (in his own words) and the caption under him said "Historian" NOT "Biblical Historian" or "Theologan" which is what he actually was being on the show... I'm not interested in debating whether its right or wrong - we all have our opinions - I'm really just wondering which side of this issue the History Channel is on?

A: I was wondering about that and I was also wondering if religious communities are sponsoring/paying for the programmes, so the Channel puts them on because they're cheaper than other programmes? Why not look at the credits next time one of them is on air?

Atheists, did you know that the history channel has already proven God's existence? by Science Debunker Q: Now, we Christians have not only one, but two proven undeniable sources for the irrefutable proof of God. The Bible and now the History Channel. Christians - 2 Atheists - 0

A: It's funny how all of the " proven undeniable sources for the irrefutable proof of God" get refuted.

What song is on the History Channel Commercial? by Soupdog Q: On the History Channel(shows:Pawn Stars, swamp people, bamazon etc.) There is a commercial for new shows coming in 2013 like "Thie Bible" and "Vikings" and i want to know the song that they play during that commercial? I know the song says: welcome to the new age'. You will probably only know what i am talking about if you watch the History Channel.

A: I think you can contact them

Does anyone know of a book that describes the Bible like on the History Channel? by Amber W Q: I'm not trying to be funny at all. When I watch stories on the History & Discovery Channel I love the way they explain the stories from the Bible. Is there a book that describes it in this way but include the entire bible?

A: The History Channel is very unreliable when it comes to the Holy Bible. You can get a set of DVDs called "Drive Thru History" that is both factual and interesting. Dave Stotts the host is funny. http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=drive+thru+history&tag=googhydr-20&index=aps&hvadid=4389460965&ref=pd_sl_5e0e3e12x_b

What are your thoughts of History Channel's "Banned from the Bible" series during the holiday season? by Bourne4good Q: History Channel aires the series, "Banned from the Bible" occasionally throughout the year. The series looks at scriptures, and verses, and questions and criticizes specific christian beliefs. The series has been on television over the past couple days, ironically during Christmas season. Some consider it innapropriate, while others insist on airing the series especially during the holiday season, to provoke thoughts on the subject. What do you think?

A: I think it would very interesting any time of the year. When would be more suitable? Halloween? Easter? Thanksgiving Day? Hanukkah? We must remember that every that watches television does not share the same beliefs as we do and we must respect that.

Images
Videos
THE BIBLE - Extended Look Banned from the Bible - History Channel Ancient Discoveries: Lost Science of the Bible (History Channel) The Bible Unearthed (History Channel version 2009) Banned From the Bible II - History Channel Banned From the Bible I - The History Channel 01 of 12 Who Wrote the Bible? - History Channel (Part 6 of 12) Who Wrote the Bible? - History Channel (Part 9 of 12) Who Wrote the Bible? - History Channel (Part 5 of 12) Who Wrote the Bible? - History Channel (Part 7 of 12) Banned From The Bible II - The History Channel 04 of 12 Banned From the Bible I - The History Channel 03 of 12 Who Wrote the Bible? - History Channel (Part 3 of 12) Who Wrote the Bible? - History Channel (Part 10 of 12) Banned From The Bible II - The History Channel 12 of 12 Banned From the Bible I - The History Channel (12 of 12) Banned From the Bible I - The History Channel (11 of 12) Banned From the Bible I - The History Channel (2 of 12) Banned From the Bible I - The History Channel (6 of 12) Banned from the Bible: Secrets of the Apostles (History Channel) Banned From the Bible I - The History Channel 4/12 The Bible Trailer - History Channel ANCIENT DISCOVERIES Lost science of the bible THE BIBLE - Official Trailer (Spanish Subtitles) Decoding the Past - UFOs in the Bible Who Wrote the Bible? - History Channel (Part 8 of 12) The Bible Series - Episode 1 - Part 1 [HD] 03.03.2013 (History Channel) THE HISTORY CHANNEL forgets the blacks in the BIBLE series 1a The BIBLE History Channel part 1 The BIBLE History Channel - Inaccurate The Bible Series - Episode 1 - Part 4 [HD] 03.03.2013 (History Channel) Premier of the Bible on History Channel Review The Antichrist 2-5 History Channel. HQ Official Introduction of The Bible Series By Mark Barnett and Roma Downey Actor Favorite Bible Verses - The Bible Series Angels - The Bible Series CeeLo Green - 'Mary Did You Know' [The Bible Clip] [HST] UFO Files - UFOs in the Bible-1.avi Conquest - Warriors of the Bible Rahab - The Bible Series Anunnaki & Gods in the Bible (Part 1 of 3) Joshua - The Bible Series Bathsheba - The Bible Series The Bible | Roma Downey | Mark Burnett | 1230 | 3 Conquest - Warriors of the Bible [Part 1/3] Anunnaki & Gods in the Bible (Part 2 of 3) THE HISTORY CHANNEL 'INSIDE ISLAM' 3/9 Conquest - Warriors of the Bible [Part 3/3] Anunnaki & Gods in the Bible (Part 3 of 3) The Bible Series Soundtrack - Faith
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-05 16:06:39