OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Sun storm
News

Sun fires off 2 huge solar flares, could impact weather on Earth
March 6, 2012: NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory captures the sun as it unleashed an X5.4-class solar flare at 7:04 pm EST. The flare appears as the bright spot in the upper left.NASA/SD A massive solar storm is due to arrive at Earth early Thursday, ...

Biggest solar storm in years races toward Earth
Click here Biggest solar storm in years races toward Earth Published: March 8, 2012 3:22 AM By The Associated Press SETH BORENSTEIN (AP Science Writer) (AP) -- The largest solar storm in five years was due to arrive on Earth early Thursday, ...

Biggest solar storm in years races toward Earth
Photo: NASA / AP WASHINGTON (AP) — Earth's magnetic field is about to be shaken like a snow globe by the largest solar storm in five years. After hurtling through space for a day and a half, a massive cloud of charged particles is due to arrive early ...

Solar storm headed toward Earth
An impressive solar flare is heading toward Earth and could disrupt power grids, GPS and aeroplane flights. Forecasters at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Space Weather Prediction Centre said the sun erupted on Tuesday evening and ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

connect Earth is currently being battered by storm of charged particles from the Sun,BBC News Fears of disruption http://t.co/ftvOrqbM #solar storm

SpiderGian A Solar Storm is coming, caused buy Sun Flares. Reminds me of The Maze Runner. it's scary and fun at the same time hahaha

hwsoh RT @the_bosnian: Biggest solar storm in years hits the Earth...I need the sun 2 behave in the 2nd & 3rd week of April!! @hoongchai http://t.co/84WdAVRB

cjjmccray "It's a clear harbinger that the Sun is waking up," - it's been asleep all this time? Aaaaagh! http://t.co/20oyuSR6 /via @guardianscience

cookyh @CarolynEd1 [email protected]: Bizarre that solar storm having an effect http://t.co/K0GdQan2 #sun is the source of my power!”

Chris_Corky RT @BBCNews: "Sun spewed out coronal mass ejection" which will hit earth as solar storm - US Nat Oceanic & Atmospheric Adminstration http://t.co/Mmg5bqBE

ForwardSlashA Here comes the sun: solar storm heading for Earth, communications disruptions expected - http://t.co/eVtIlqZT via @addthis

Jonny0528 Strong solar storm to Earth expected today!!! 2012 END of the world ???? Damn u sun though u were our friend

Clay_57 RT @BBCWorld: "Sun spewed out coronal mass ejection" which will hit earth as solar storm - US Nat Oceanic & Atmospheric Adminstration http://t.co/4om6Zien

vicortia The sun looks... super bright. Does it have to do with the solar storm?

ookii RT @BBCWorld: "Sun spewed out coronal mass ejection" which will hit earth as solar storm - US Nat Oceanic & Atmospheric Adminstration http://t.co/4om6Zien

NellCantanti RT @BBCWorld: "Sun spewed out coronal mass ejection" which will hit earth as solar storm - US Nat Oceanic & Atmospheric Adminstration http://t.co/4om6Zien

hrdone Huge Solar Storm Heads to Earth: The largest solar storm in years will hit Earth 'right on… http://t.co/fW7VHWUU

SheenaDarji RT @BBCNews: "Sun spewed out coronal mass ejection" which will hit earth as solar storm - US Nat Oceanic & Atmospheric Adminstration http://t.co/Mmg5bqBE

AnadosD RT @latimes: Massive solar flare ripples sun's surface; storms speed to Earth http://t.co/PAVK75Yk

Discussions

snow storm worries for sat. and sun.? by Q: ok i live in upper ulster county and were supposed to get a snow storm on fri. and might carry on threw sat. sat and sun r my bday party and i am going to the mall,indoor swimming pool ,my hse,restraunt,and icce skating do think ppl will show up wen we get 4-8 inches of snow? hope so thx

A: You see, when people ask questions, they hope in receiving the answers that they want to hear, but deep inside they want that one person who'll tell the truth no matter how much it hurts. As far as your situation goes, the snow might delay some people from coming. Of course you can see who your "real" friends are by the ones who make an extra effort to come whether it's 8 inches of snow or 8 feet of snow. But then again you can't tell from that because maybe those same "real" friends can't come because of driving conditions etc and might receive notice from their parents not to go because it might be an safety hazard. Anyway, I hope the best with you and your party and that the snow don't carry over too much into the weekend.

cleaning in between window and storm window when you can't take off the storm window.? by Jean S Q: Is there any way to clean between the window and storm window without taking off the storm window? Would a steam cleaner work to get the dirt and grime from in between the two? They also put a sun film on the storm window and it is bubbling. I am trying to find an easy way to clean these windows. Any ideas?

A: yeah that stinks...besides to repair and/or remove the storm window which by the way becomes a fire hazard should anything happen. careful if they have used the sun-blocking film you have to use a solution of warm water and plain soap... no vinegar or ammonia.

My sun roof was open during a rain storm..is my car gonna stink? by mondoman Q: ok so i NEVER ever use my sunroof and it figures the one night i do i forget to close it and it rained all day the next day...i have leather seats and i wiped the down, but the moisture is pretty bad in my car. is it going to mold up and stink (in regards to the carpet and cloth areas)? should i just wait for the sun which is about two days away and let it dry out? or is there something i should do?...take it to a detail shop or something? any advice would be great thanks!

A: take dry towels put a few layers on the seat you are sitting in, blot up as much water in the carpet and side panels if necessary but try to get as much water out of the carpet with towels, if you push down with some force, the water will wick into the dry towel, then fill up the tank with super unleaded chevron, to help clean out any engine deposits, and take off on the freeway for a good long 4 or 8 hour (preferable) drive with the heater blasting on the floor level, and one window open a few inches, this will dry the car very well, and stop any mold, do not wait for the sun, drive a nice long hot drive as soon as possible, and it will minimize any moisture damage to the interior. So when the sun does come out, its mostly done, geed luck, (some car details park the car and let it run next to the shop with the heater on for an hour ar two sometimes) best of luck

how far is the nasa satellite from the sun? by Q: nasa took pictures of a sun storm so how far is the satellite situated from the sun

A: The satellite is orbiting the Earth, therefore it is about 150 million kilometres from the Sun..

is the sun going to affect earth in anyway soon? by Thomas J Q: beacuse it seems a bit strange with all these sun storms we are getting in space.

A: The Sun affects the Earth every single moment of every single day. Been doing it for about 4.6 billion years (give or take a few million). The magnitude of those effects change, as the Sun goes through the solar cycle. We get light and heat, UV radiation, etc. from the sun all the time on at least half the planet. The other half is shielded from the sun by the Earth itself -- we call it "night".

[Urgent]- If there's a snow storm is the sun won't shine or come up? by Q: lolz.. okay my friend and i we're arguing about it. >.<;; any answers will be greatly appreciated. i know its a kind of silly question.. *sigh* but yeah thank you so much in advance~ have a nice day guys~ :)) lolz i will.. tomorrow.. its 12:29am here >.<;

A: Amazing what you do not understand about the solar system. The sun always shines and a snowstorm on earth only affects the earth and never the sun.

does anyone know 5 coordinates of tropical storm fay after sun 8/17? by Leon D Q: if you don't know the cords but know of a website that has them,it would be greatly appreciated

A: You can go here to see the history of Fay: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/archive/2008/FAY.shtml? Probably the easiest place to find the coordinates are under the discussion header. Each one has the initial position.

What does the irish proverb "Face the Sun, but turn your back to the storm" mean? by Q:

A: It means keep a positive outlook. Look to the good things and ignore the bad things.

Land of Sun, Land of Moon, and Land of Storm in Japanese? by Q: I need these words to be translated as soon as possible, please. I am grateful for your help, everyone! Please and Thank you!

A: I'm assuming you mean "land" as in a realm or kingdom, like, "The Land of Oz." Some background information would have helped a bit. Land of Sun = "Taiyou no Kuni" 太陽の国 Land of Moon = "Tsuki no Kuni" 月の国 Land of Storm = "Arashi no Kuni" 嵐の国 I'm sure the other person who answered is Japanese, but I'm a little doubtful of the English comprehension. Those are semantically off because that's not the correct 'land,' and the word order is backwards. Those mean something like "Sun of the ground," etc.

How to remove sun-baked plastic film from 3-yr. old storm door? by imaeb1 Q: 3-yr. old storm dorm came factory sealed in plastic film. We left the film on thinking it would protect the white-painted finish...WRONG! After 3 year's exposure to heat/sun, the plastic shrunk, cracked and looks like crackle glass. Goof-Off does not work, nor does hair dryer/razor. 100% acetone does a poor job as well as pressure washing. Any other thoughts out there?

A: i had to remove film from s sky light i used a blow drier and a razor blade make sure its not a heat gun as it gets too hot

Does any one know where to download Sun Storm by Mac Lethal for free NOT Lime Wire or Myspace can u guys ...? by D Q: give me LINK OR a WEBSITE PLEASE i really like this song MEMBER for FREE!!!! ----Thanx

A: ares.com

Is there any relationship between lack of sun storms and last satellite aimed at it? by Mister2-15-2 Q: Did anyone check the dates to see if one speck of junk could have an effect on biggest chemical reaction know moderately well?

A: No. This is a documented and normal low cycle of the sun. It goes about every 11 years. It will change. There are even 2 sunspots on the sun today. There haven't been any for a long time.

What's the best wall and ceiling covering for a 3-seasons sun room with no heat? by Q: My house has an unfinished sun room (storm doors, windows, and studs/joists only), and I would like to finish it off this spring. What kind of wall/ceiling covering is best for that purpose? Drywall won't work, because it will crack in the winter with the cold, and in the summer with the humidity.

Sun Storm (Is My Poem Any Good?)? by Taylor J Q: This is a poem i wrote about my uncle who passed away last year.... Though memories never fade, sometimes loved ones fall, Through the bad and through the good, there was love we always saw. I ask you lord please, to mend our broken hearts, and please lord do it soon, 'cause this is tearing us apart. Even though we went through a tragedy, we have to stick together, Through the good and through the bad, through the rainy and stormy weather. No matter what you do lord, please heal us through our pain, Others my stand in sunshine, but we, stand in rain. I say this because, no one likes rainy days, And for a while in our hearts, it will rain every day. But the lord is helping we write this, and telling me what to say, Because he is always right beside us, leading us the way. Through the tragedy and tears, there is one thing that was shown, God didn't want him on earth anymore, because he was calling him home. Yes i'm talking about the lords home, in the great heavens above, He was a great person, and he we will always love. Even though we might not agree, with what the lord has done, We need to leave this rain, we need to find the sun. Rest In Peace to Kevin Glenna, and all the things he's done, We might still stand in rain, but now he stands in the sun. (Dear Uncle, I miss you alot, and to end this I will say, Till I see your smile, it will be a while, but I will see it again someday.) Thanks for reading :)

A: so touching and beautiful

Does the mankind have to be afraid of the recent sun storms ? by Brian L Q: Is the sun in the process to become into a giant red? Right now?

A: No, they have occurred for billions of years.

does sudden hot sun mean there is a storm coming? by Q: does sudden hot sun mean a storm is coming

A: No

y'all it's like 70 degrees, are we having another Sun Spot Storm? by Q: Sun Spots Storms are causing the High temperature and it is a naturally occurring event and also humans and like Carbon and stuff have nothing to do with it.

A: Amazing, just amazing.... *facepalm* IMHO

will there be a sun storm tonight? and what would be the effect of it? by Q: im just wandering

Sun in Libra, Moon in Capricorn guys have good temper or are they just hiding a storm underneath? by ⅭⅬΛⅰR Ξ Q: They seem laid back, easy going (not pushy like Leo), with a good temper and seldom get angry. Is their their true character or are they hiding some deeper emotions like Pisces does?

A: I'm not sure about the moon sign, but most Libra Suns I know are very very calm, I'm sure they do get mad once in a while, after all, we're all humans. I'm not sure weather they are hiding something or not, but I do know they can be manipulative, but overall they have more good traits than bad and I do think that most of the time, they are just naturally calm, they are natural peace keeper and they are very easy going, that's true.

Will all of the sun's current weak activity lead to pent up rage which will result in a solar storm? by Flunkee Q: Roger, i am referring to the solar storm of 1859. If that happened today, it might not affect other life on the planet but it will certainly affect us as we are totally dependent on electricity.

A: That isn't how it works, and "solar storm" is an ill-defined term. If you mean, specifically like 1859, then that's possible at any time. The coming solar maximum looks like it's running a bit late, and apparently it looks like being a bit of a fizzer.

What's the best job/professional if solar storm strikes earth for 2 years? by Tom Q: As I am now a software developer, if earth get stroke by Sun Storm and we lose electricity power for 2 years, what I am gonna do?

A: Umm. No. No we don't. A repeat of the 1859 Carrington event might leave some regions without power for days. Even events like the one which took down Quebec's power grid back in 1989 are QUITE rare, and the power was back on in 9 hours. The only reason it went down in the first place was because a safety system mistook the geomagnetic current which a line to the James Bay Hydroelectric project had acquired for a short-circuit (eg as if a line fell in lake, for instance). We just had a major coronal mass ejection (aka 'solar storm') this week. DID YOU EVEN NOTICE?

Could a strong magnetic storm CME from the sun cause mass starvation in 1st world nations? by Q: I heard it will because we depend on technology too much and the meek shall inherit the earth

A: not necessarily mass starvation but a CME from the sun that is predicted to occur during 2013 that could damage satellites and technology here on earth

Has effect of Sun Storms on Earth climate been explored? by Mister2-15-2 Q: On day X during the year point Y on Earth can receive SE amount of sun energy depending on atmospheric conditions and no solar storms. Just for this question lets say atmospheric conditions are the same. The only variable will be solar storms. Have they ever estimated that during strongest category of Solar Storm point Y can receive same amount of SE as day X? Forgot about ozone layer just for this question make it same all the time.

A: We do know that there are other causes of global warming besides greenhouse gases. As late as 9 July 2007 I have seen web articles on the work of Canadian climatologist Tim Patterson who says the sun drives the earth's climate changes and that the current warming is part of a 1500 year cycle in the sun's irradiance. Can there be other causes? Could climate change like the weather itself in an unpredictable chaotic manner? Are there things we don't know about the climate change on earth? Indeed there are.

So there's going to be a sun/solar storm and now I'm worried about 2012 again..? by נєѕѕ Q: I asked a question about the solar storm on the astronomy section and someone said this is how the Mayans predicted our world will end in 2012. Is that true? I'm really scared about 2012..

A: It's all BS. people predict that the world will end like every year. and besides Mayans aren't like gods or something they are just people...how would they know? only god knows and trust me 2012 is just a hoax and a way to make money (e.g movie).

i left the sun roof of my car open during a storm that lasted a few days. What kind of damage can I expect... by Belleza A Q: and what can i do to dry my car properly. are there any safety cocerns i should have? this is a ford focus 2006, automatic trasmition.

A: Depending on how much water got in and how long you let it sit you will have a mold problem. The sure way to fix the problem is to replace the carpet and seats if they got wet but this will be very expensive. You can try a detail shop that steam cleans the entire interior but they might not garantee no mold with water damage

What is the movie in which the world ends by some sun storms? by Q: In the movie this small girl predicts all the fatal disasters in the next 50 years , in a piece of paper. 50 years later a boy from her own school gets the piece of paper. Lately this boy and another girl are taken by some aliens to another planet quite like planet Earth , shortly before the sun storms destroy the entire human civilization and planet Earth. What is this movie's name? Can anyone help?

A: Well, ..., I think you might be looking for the film entitled: "Knowing"

How bad will todays radiation storm effect us? by Q: I heard at around 9 or 11 we are getting hit with a sun storm, worst one since May 2005. How bad will this effect us?

A: You'll be fine. It will not affect any human at all whatsoever. It will probably just knock out some satellites temporarily. The only reason that would concern the general public is if you use a GPS a lot. Other than that, the people in Europe and Asia may get a nice light show from the Aurora Borealis.

What is this massive vast sun storm gonna do to us? by Q: i know yall aint happy to hear another question bout the end of the world but theres this sun storm happening and other blah stuff like in 2026 this comet gon come and hit earth badly and this planet X thingy gon remove our atmosphere n stuff. ok these all coming from nasa site so im guessing its true so r we all gonna die in 2012, i know ppl think this stuff is hooplah but the sun storm is actually true i researched on it and its threatening earth so were gon die right.

A: "the sun storm is actually true" No it's not. Anybody claiming to have a prediction of a particular solar storm is lying, since individual solar storms aren't predictable. It's like hurricane season. We know when the season is, and we might even be able to say something about how severe a season will be. But what would you say if somebody told you about a massive predicted hurricane on a particular day in 2012? A massive solar storm hit earth Sep. 28. Whatever happened to you on Sep. 28, that's what to expect from a "massive solar storm". "i researched on it" Apparently not using any site actually written by solar scientists, such as this one. http://solarscience.msfc.nasa.gov/predict.shtml The peak of solar activity is expected to be in mid-2013, and it's expected to be the quietest peak in a century.

scared!! sun storm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!? by Sabrina L Q: ok so theres like a sun storm or something like wat can happen to us people? im so scared im only 13! well im going to arizona on june 17-july 5 or so and can the flight be dangerous because of the sun storm? plz help me alot is going through my mind and im so confused!!!! thank you very much! Sabrina http://news.yahoo.com/s/space/20100609/sc_space/moreactivesunmeansnastysolarstormsahead

A: read and learn... http://www.spaceweather.com/ have a great trip!!... stop being scared... nothing is happening that doesn't happen all the time, anyways.....

Does the sun still shine during a packet storm? by Business M Q: And if a hundred PC's are chatting on a bus, should the driver pull over until they settle down? And if a Vampire Connector gets on the bus, will a stake thru it's heart suffice?

A: The sun may or may not shine during a packet storm. Pulling over is likely to agitate the PCs even more. How did a Vampire connector get on the bus?

How do you say "After the storm comes the sun" in gaelic? by Q:

A: It depends on which Gaelic language you want. In Irish- After the storm, comes the sun = Tar éis an stoirm, tagann an ghrian It'll be different if you want Scots or Manx.

sun storm in 2012??? is it true? by Doll Q: ok i just read that in 2012 it's gonna be a sun storm. i have been so scared about 2012 lately so this made me even more afraid. they said it would be completely dark and that we're not going to see anything. i'm so scared is this true? please tell me i need to know :'(

A: Let me look into my crystal ball (which is just as good as anyone else's)... ... looking... ... still looking... ... Nope, ain't gonna happen. Oh there will be flares from time to time, but nothing out of the ordenary or outside the normal 12 year or so cycles.

Mac Lethal - Sun Storm Instrumental? by John A Q: where can i find a Mac Lethal - Sun Storm Instrumental free dl?

A: Try these http://www.dilandau.com/download_music/mac-lethal-sun-storm-1.html http://beemp3.com/index.php?q=mac+lethal+sunstorm Buy it for 99 cents --> http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/sun-storm-amended-single/id278119245

Questions on sun storm? Confused.? by fresh_and_flii Q: I have been reading information on the Sun storm that NASA and others say is going to be happening in 2012. I understand that it could cause months or more, of trouble for electronics. I am kind of confused though. One, will shutting off or putting satellites in "sleep mode" for awhile actually lessen the damage? Two, Does the sun storm, start to build up then just happen, or build up and happen and last for a few days? And three, how does a sun storm affect the water, and sewage exatcly? Thank you! I am relaxed, just curious is all.

A: NASA doesn't say this. Do you want to know what NASA says about sun storms? http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/IOTD/view.php?id=42646 January 2010, a small sun storm photographed by a NASA spacecraft. Don't buy the 2012 nonsense, it is just for scaring idiots. Sun storms or CMEs happen every year, but are happening more often and at higher intensity during the solar maximum, a phase of increased solar activity, that repeats every 11.5 years. A sun storm is a short and sudden event: It builds up as magnetic fields in the corona of the sun form beautiful plasma arcs, and happen when the magnetic fields "reconnect": The magnetic field lines of two separate magnetic fields join and release a lot of energy, which catapults the hot plasma into space. We can't predict accurately when this will happen, because the suns magnetic field is VERY chaotic. But once a spacecraft sees the reconnection event and the ejected CME, it can predict in which direction the CME travels. If it goes in the direction of Earth, the first and most powerful particles need just 16 minutes before they reach Earth. a solar storm lasts itself only for a few minutes, about one hour later there is only the normal solar wind here. But the solar storm triggers a geomagnetic storm in the magnetic field of Earth, that affects power lines and pipelines, and can last for a few hours. Neither the sun storm, now the geomagnetic storm affect water or sewage directly, but remember that both systems require electricity for driving pumps, which means that if you get a black out, the water will also fail. You don't need a solar storm for this to happen. Just some bad luck with a transformer fire is enough. The damage of geomagnetic storms is not that huge actually, what makes the damage huge is that many expensive and important things depend on electricity, and in many countries of the world, the network that transports electricity is in a pretty bad shape and can easily be damaged by the additional electricity that a geomagnetic storm induces in the lines. That is not so much a problem with the sun storms, that happened all the time in Earths history, but a problem with saving money on maintenance for an infrastructure, that your life literally depends on. When a sun storm in 2001 caused a huge black out in Canada and the USA, the same sun storm caused only tiny damage in northern Sweden, that had been completely repaired after 2 hours. This is partially because of the shorter length of the overland lines in Sweden, but also because Sweden has a more modern infrastructure, that is reacting faster to switch from overloaded lines to intact lines, before the damage can propagate. Many critical parts of the power switching systems in the USA are almost a century old. Switching satellites to sleep mode does not automatically reduce the damage itself, but makes it simpler to recover from the damage. The sleep mode also means that all rotations of the satellite are stopped and the solar arrays moved into an orientation that keeps them into the sun light as long as possible, making it simpler to restart them, even if they loose battery power in the storm or need a complex repair of the computers before they can resume normal operations.

Do we have to worry about the Solar Storm that happened on the sun? by Q: I just heard about the solar storm and it got me scared a little and I want to know if it will affect the earth badly or will everything will be normal.

A: 50 years ago it really didn't affect us much because we had no where near the satellite that we have in orbit around the earth now. There is a chance that our satellite communications could be disrupted with all the solar storms that are going to be happening for i think the next decade.

Is there a magnetic-storm from the Sun in Southern California now? by MDV Q: I heard this from some of my friends, is it true?

A: When the result of a solar magnetic storm hits the Earth (solar flare or coronal mass ejection) we see the aurora borealis (northern lights). This map updates every 5 min showing the current location of northern lights on the Earth. As you can see, no, there's nothing in California. http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/pmap/pmapN.html

What taxes should be enacted due to the large solar storm in the sun that is about to commence? by what did i do to deserve this Q:

A: Taxes on actors and on global warming activists, solar panels, wind farms and hybrid cars. That's all I can think of.

If I have 800 pounds of ammonium nitrate that got wet in a storm,is it advisable to leave it in the sun to dry? by Guywhostartsriots Q: I am a keen gardener and some of my ammonium nitrate got wet during a storm, I left it in a sun room in my house to dry a bit...will it dry sufficiently??

A: why/how did you get 800 lbs of ammonium nitrate? and for gardening sure you're not a terrorist? i work in a lab and we have trouble getting a few hundred grams. i know some old farmers that still have some in storage, but you can't just buy that stuff anymore for home use...especially since the whole Oklahoma City bombing thing.

Why is the sun out during a storm? by [email protected] Q: This is happening now. There is a severe thunderstorm(lightning,loud thunder, and penny sized hail and winds of 45 mph), and the sun is shining! Why is the sun out during this?

A: Because there are not any clouds between you and the sun. Any other tough questions?

Will the sun storm effect the earth a lot? by Q: This year's sun storm

A: not so much ... see below

how close will earth be near sun storm 2012? by 15murad Q: i heard that a sun storm will happen 2012 will the earth burn or will it be close to the sun when a sun storm happens

A: There has been a couple of "solar storms" (properly called coronal mass ejections) this year. Did you even notice? That's what they're like.

did you hear about the sun storm? by Iguessthisisthelongestscreenname Q: i ve read about it like 2 weeks ago but i think its all a lie...so is "the sun storm" a real thing?

A: umm...idk..its sounds fake....but it could be real!!!

What makes it so humid after a rain storm and the sun comes out? by Regenerated Q: I mean like..after it rains for maybe like 45 minutes. The sun comes out, and it gets real hot (more hotter than usual). Is there a particular reason?

A: There are two measures of humidity: absolute humidity is the amount of water vapour in the air, relative humidity is the amount of water vapour in the air expressed as a percentage of what the air could hold at given temperature. When the relative humidity reaches 100% it rains. After the rain relative humidity might be quite high but without cooling effect of the rain.

What time will the sun solar storm hit us? by Stephen G Q: There was a medium-sized solar flare on the Sun yesterday which should be reaching us tomorrow. http://www.spaceweather.com/ You can see if it's causing aurora at this site in real-time. http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/pmap/pmapN.html This says it will hit us at 1.13 ut what time is 1.13UT time if you live in North Carolina

A: UT is Universal Time - it is the number of hours, minutes, and seconds which have elapsed since midnight in the Greenwich time zone (Greenwich, England). There are lots of conversion charts around (probably find several on google). UT is 4 hours ahead of Eastern Daylight Time. So 1:13 UT would be 9:13 pm the previous evening in North Carolina. You may want to do some reading about solar flares - a solar flare is NOT a solar storm. Flares don't actually leave the sun, they simply increase the amount of ionized particles in the solar wind that interact with our magnetosphere.

Can this sun storm harm medical devices? by Q: I'm a lit bit worried about this because my sis have an operation now.

A: You have been through numerous other solar flares, much worse than this one. Do you remember the last big one?

Why is it when the sun shines on the underside of a storm cloud, the base of the cloud appears darker? by RHCP FAN Q: I have always noticed when looking at a storm cloud, the sun make the underside appear darker. Why?

A: Ok this is a good question. Let me give it shot. For the sun to see the underside of a storm cloud it must be at a very low elevation in which case most of the blue light will be scattered out by Rayleigh scattering before the longer wavelengths reach the bottom of the cloud. These longer wavelengths will be affected by Mie scattering of the water droplets of the cloud base which means these wavelenghts will experience forward scattering will scatters most of the radiance in the direction of the cloud base. This results in very little reflection from the base of the cloud and so it appears darker.

Sun spot storm: How does that affect earth? by Hedley Q: In 2010, 2011, or 2012 they are saying there is going to be a very severe sun spot storm, I want to know how exactly is that going to effect us and our climate?

A: There is no such thing like a "sun spot storm". Please pay more attention to the quality of the media you use for education, because you risk ending up being as stupid as the media. And like always, don't use such weasel words, like "they say"... we don't know who they are, so please either gives us a name or we have to assume you mean the international union of professional idiots. Around sunspots, you can have solar flares and coronal mass ejections (CME), which in turn can cause geomagnetic storms when they interact with the magnetic field of Earth. Such geomagnetic storms can happen ANYTIME at ANY intensity, but you have a higher chance for strong CMEs during solar maximum. The earliest warning before such a storm is just 16 minutes before it reaches Earth - so any warning of such storms years ahead is nonsense and should not be taken serious. The next solar maximum is in 2013, and it will be weaker in intensity than the solar maximum of 2001. Such solar maximums repeat about every 11 years. The strongest recorded geomagnetic storm in history happened 1859, the last really strong geomagnetic storm happened in 1989. It mostly affects human technology, like telephone or power lines and pipelines, and cause stronger radiation levels for long distance flights in polar regions. It is not directly harmful for lifeforms and has almost no effect on the climate - even the generally higher power output of the sun during a solar maximum has almost no effect on the climate. You won't get a warmer summer during a solar maximum, and you are not safe from sunburns during a solar minimum.

Is the sun magnetic storm gonnahit earth? by Q: I heard on tv that sun gonna release some magnetic storm. If the storm hit earth, what will happen? Is my phone gonna destroy? Is it like emp shockwave?

A: It's hitting Earth right now. That's the reason why the Aurora Borealis is visible much further south than is normal. It may cause some interference with satellite communications and radio/TV reception but no big deal. If you notice your phone melting let us know

Is the sun magnetic storm gonna hit earth? by Q: I heard on tv that sun gonna release some magnetic storm. If the storm hit earth, what will happen? Is my phone gonna destroy? Is it like emp shockwave?

A: The Suns magnetic storm ended on wednesday. No need to worry unless you on the ISS. It may just interfere with your signal but on the other hand, we get the amazing Aurora Borriallis

Could a sun storm be devastating to us? by bulldogboy81292 Q: I was watching a documentary on the National Geographic channel called Cosmic Fire. It was talking about the sun storm of 1859 and was then talking about one hitting us now. Even though I felt a bit of scaremongering, it kept saying how all electricity would be out and that the power grids will explode. What are your thoughts on this.

A: This has been hugely exaggerated by TV channels out to get ratings. The telecommunications and power generation industries are well aware of the problems and have long ago taken action to protect the integrity of their systems in the event of increased solar activity which, incidentally, is not currently expected.

Images
Videos
Solar Storm Eruption: Coronal Mass Ejection Headed for Earth GLOBAL ALERT: Geomagnetic Solar Storm In Progress - X5-Class Flare Hits Earth on March 8th, 2012! NASA | The Truth about 2012 - Solar Storms Naruto SUN Storm Generations - PS3 / X360 - 'Jinchuriki' VS 'Leaf Higher-ups' Raw Video: Timelapse of Solar Storm Light Show Powerful Solar Storm Sets Off Amazing Northern Lights Show Mac Lethal - Sun Storm Naruto SUN Storm Generations - PS3 / X360 - 'New Hokage's group' VS 'Best friends' Naruto SUN Storm Generations - PS3 / X360 - 'Duo of Fate' VS 'Dangerous Characters'' Massive geomagnetic solar storm to hit Earth Super Solar Storm on This Week @NASA Huge Solar Storm Hits the Earth Solar Storms Solar storm, most powerful flares since 2005 Solar Storm = Aurora Borealis / Northern Lights ~ November 28 - 29, 2011 Giant Solar Storm May Hit Earth by 2020 NASA: Solar Storm 2012-2013 - pt 1 NASA | Biggest Solar Storm Since 2003 Power of Sun & Solar storm X1,7 - class solar flare 2012 NASA Solar Storm Late January 2012 ... (+ trying out *Possible* New Format) Solar Storms: 5 Reasons to Care Right Now | Discovery News Breaking News - 'Space Hurricane: Huge Solar Storm Is Pounding Earth Now 1/24/12 Solar Storm Warning & Pt-4 of Governor Ventura Solar Storm Warning & Pt-1 of Governor Ventura Massive Solar Storm Hits Earth NASA | Spacecraft Track Solar Storms From Sun To Earth 1/23/2012 Strongest solar storm since 2005 hitting Earth Solar Storms: Expect one per month as solar maximum approaches Huge Solar Storm Triggers Auroras - 2012 Noorderlicht Solar Storms issues you don't like to know about and some hope! Strongest Solar Storm Since 2005 Headed to Earth Solar Storm, Flares & CME's will be a serious threat in 2012 (History Channel) Incoming CME and G2 SOLAR STORM SPECIAL ALERT! X-Class Solar Storm Inbound 03-07-2012 Solar Storm Warning & Pt-6 of Governor Ventura 11/27/2011 -- CME Solar storm on the way -- several links to monitor situation Nasa Warns Of Super Solar Storm 2012 Big solar storm on January 23, 2012 seen by NASA's SOHO Massive Solar Storms Solar Storm / Major Ed Dames - Sun 'KillShots' First Solar Storm of 2012 Update on the Sun's Solar storms that are impacting the Earth right now! (11/13/2011) Strongest Solar storm since 2005 hits Earth Solar Storm WARNING - Earthquakes Volcanoes Tornadoes LIGHTNING! Solar Storm Warning 11 12/2/2011 -- Magnetosphere under pressure -- unknown solar storm? Or is it EARTH ITSELF?! NASA Warns Public of Once In A Lifetime Solar Storm Coming!.flv Solar Storm Warning 12 PART6-2012-Sun-Storm-Shift (HD) Nasa Warns Of Super Solar Storm 2012 - 2013 & Andromeda - Doc
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-02 15:12:12