OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Sun eclipse
News

Solar eclipse projects 'ring of fire' across Asia, Pacific
By the CNN Wire Staff (CNN) -- The shadow of the moon started sweeping across the globe from Hong Kong to the Texas Panhandle as a rare annular solar eclipse began Monday morning in Asia. The sun appeared as a thin ring behind the moon to people in a ...

Arizona tribes talk significance of solar eclipse
His grandfather called him down from the tree, saying it was time to go inside their home on the Navajo reservation and wait while the sun died and was reborn. There was going to be a solar eclipse. Whitethorne wanted nothing more than to eat, ...

Preparing For Annular Solar Eclipse
Abdel Baset al-Megrahi was convictedMore >> Arianna Bennett Channel 2 News This Sunday you have a chance to see an extremely rare phenomenon: a full annular eclipse. It is a solar eclipse that is only visible to North America about once everyMore ...

Rare solar eclipse arrives in Utah
SALT LAKE CITY (ABC 4 News) - A solar eclipse arrived in Utah Sunday night, giving people a rare chance to see the moon almost completely block out the sun. Hundreds of people gathered at the Clark Planetarium at the Gateway in Salt Lake City to watch ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

marioanzuoni #solareclipse #pasadena http://t.co/HP21ULhV

Oka_un RT @yanobekenji: 君は見てたんだ・・。 http://t.co/mMAiMteB

hiroshi7861 金環日食。うまく撮れました!感動! #solareclipse #eclipse #sun #sky #cloud #landscape #iphone #iphoneography #iphoneonly #ins http://t.co/i7DAP7e3

NoNeedForVision RT @evelynrises: Being an idiot and directly looking at the sun. #Eclipse

OmarAbdElSalm RT @Gsquare86: The earth, sun, and moon are aligned , make a wish #Eclipse happens only every 26,000 years

toshiyuki555 annular solar eclipse-0628 #PHOTO #PENTAX #SUN #金環日蝕 > http://t.co/fMdf1g9q

ehfexmedia With the Nu Moon that aligned with the Sun and the Earth causing a Solar Eclipse, Ehfex Media will be giving away... http://t.co/3RQWPgxx

christienicole1 At work tonight, we all thought the sun was extremely blinding...and now I know why thanks to the massive amount of solar eclipse tweets.

bohemboy RT @DoctorSplatter: Whoa, the sun went dark all of a sudden. Has Ming the Merciless begun his attack on Earth? #Eclipse

amy_dearest @vXamador lol I saw some also that I was like ugh ok dats just the sun. And I saw some really creative ass ways to see the eclipse.

passdoors RT @barbaylive: GMT– 700 Solar Eclipse Sun Moon 20 May 2012 5 30 pm EDT California USA 830 pm Ontario,Canada: Image ht @theideagirl http://t.co/4ZfqhHa5

TVBoyMeetsWorld Sun Moon Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 850 pm EDT Area 51 RENO USA Scotty Degenhardt. May 21… http://t.co/BKoTi9iY

deeeemmgee_ Seeing The Eclipse Today Was Pretty Sick.! My Sun Glasses Really Came In Handy (x

kayyliaa_ perfect sundayy...the sun was outt, the eclipse was amazing & the beach was beautifull

ashleypricyla "@LatinoKidProbs: Don't stare directly at the sun during an eclipse, porque te vas a poner ciego. #LatinoKidProblems" #urbanlegends

Discussions

Will the full sun eclipse 7/11/2010 tigger the methane bubble explosion over the gulf oil gusher? by betotron Q: BP IS PREDICTING THIS FOR A MONTH NOW

A: Nice one Betotron. You sure got everybody excited with that one. I love it when a plan (or joke) comes together

How is an annular eclipse of the sun different from a solar eclipse? by Q:

A: in an annular eclipse, the moon is closer to it's apogee and appears smaller so it does not cover the sun's disk completely. since the moon is gradually moving away from the earth, eventually there will be nothing but annular eclipses. enjoy them while you can!

If the sun is so huge then how can the moon eclipse over it...? by Q: I know that the sun is way bigger than the moon and the moon is closer to Earth, but when the moon passes the sun in an eclipse, shouldn't it be like a small dot over the sun, seen from Earth? Why does the whole moon look like it's covering the sun, which is HUGE? Even from earth, the sun still shines really bright and it is big in comparison to the moon.

Why do you go blind when you look at a solar eclipse and not when you look at the sun? by The Developer Q: Why do you go blind when you look at a solar eclipse and not when you look at the sun?

A: The visible light from the normal sun is enough to cause pain if you look at it, so most people don't. The light during a 90% or so eclispe is low enough that the pain doesn't occur, so people can stare at it for a long time, But the ultraviolet light that causes eye damage is still intense enough during the eclipse to burn your retina.

how einstein wanted to prove the relativity theory with a sun eclipse? by Roberto W Q:

A: Hi Roberto! Before Einstein, scientists were convinced that the force of gravity had no effect on light. Gravity should have affected only matter. In his General Theory of Relativity, Einstein predicted that gravity was not merely a force pulling on matter. He showed that gravity would warp the very fabric of space itself, making even light bend its path. One way to test this would be to observe the position of stars during a total eclipse of the sun. If a star happened to be lined up very close to the solar disc, its position should appear to be shifted slightly away from normal due to the intense solar gravity bending its light rays. During a 1919 solar eclipse, astronomers proved Einstein right. Or thought they did! It turns out that their own techniques permitted error to creep in. Einstein was right, but it was not until later that this was demonstrated conclusively.

How is an annular eclipse of the sun different from a total eclipse? by Q:

A: An annular eclipse is when the Moon doesn't cover the entire disk of the Sun. The Moon is not in a perfectly circular orbit around the Earth. It varies its distance from between 350k km and 400k km. When the Moon is in New Moon phase, and at one of the nodes, we can get a solar eclipse. If this happens as the Moon is at the closer value of 350k km distance, the Moon appears larger in our sky, and obscures the entire solar disk. This is a total eclipse. If the event happens when the Moon is at the farther distance, of 400k km, then the Moon leave a ring of the Sun, not able to obscure it completely. This is an annular eclipse. The Moon's plane of orbit is 5% off and a bit wobbly compared the Earth's plane of orbit around the Sun. Thus, we don't get eclipses every month. But it is predictable, according to the Saros Cycle, of a little over 18 years. Similar issues occur with lunar eclipses. I hope this helps! Yahoo annular eclipse videos http://video.search.yahoo.com/search/video?p=annular+eclipse http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annular_eclipse#Types

When is the next Total Eclipse of the Sun, or The next Solar Eclipse? by Q: Okay, so there's a Lunar Eclipse tonight, and I was just wondering, when was the last Solar Eclipse or Total Eclipse of the Sun? Also when is the next one? Oh! Sorry, in the United States. Thanks in advance (:

A: You can find it on this website http://www.buzzle.com/articles/solar-eclipse2011.html Well the one above is actually just for the year 2011 sorry here's the one for the United States I had to read a poetry book in high school by Wislawa Szymborska and there was a particularly lovely poem about an eclipse that she experienced in Washington and i remember there was a date at the bottom of it about the next one. August 21, 2017: Sweeps a 70-mile-wide path across the United States, moving across Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, Nebraska, Missouri, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, and South Carolina

Is it safe to take a picture of the eclipse as long as I don't look through the lens or at the sun? by Q: My camera has the digital screen on the back, so if I just look at that will I be safe? Also, if you can, please tell me how the eclipse will harm peoples eyes. I have no idea how a shaded sun could possibly blind you, but I'm not taking any risks. Please hurry, the eclipse is happening really soon.

Is Stephanie Meyer going to re write New Moon and Eclipse, in Edwards POV Like she is doing with Midnight Sun? by Joe'sWifeyForLife<3 Q: Ok I got to thinking about the whole Twilight series and I got a question. If Stephanie Meyer is going to basically re write Twilight with Midnight Sun is she going to do the same thing with New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn?

A: No...she's said New Moon would be boring from Edward's POV... But she has said there may be other books written from other character's POV... And yes...Midnight Sun is going to be published. She states that on her webpage.

Why is it called a lunar eclipse when the sun’s light is obscured by the earth on the moon? by Q: When the sun's light is obscured by the moon on earth it is called a solar eclipse, no? So, the way an eclipse is named is determined by where the shadow is cast onto one celestial body by another?

A: Yep. I see why your asking. To get a better sense of it: the earth's shadow falls upon the moon and "eclipses" it, so it is referred to as a lunar eclipse (the moon is the thing eclipsed and the earth is causing the eclipse). Got it, now? :) Yes, it is called a "solar eclipse" b/c from OUR perspective, the sun is "eclipsed". It is looked at from the perspective of your location (Earth) and the thing that is being eclipsed (the moon or the sun). Does that clear it up better?

How often does a total eclipse of the sun happen, so I can go to the place it's going to happen next? by Q: I heard it's predictable to the point you can take a vacation to where it's going to happen next. Will it be in my life time and how do I figure out where it will occur? Thank you so much and I apologize for 3 questions in a row.

A: There are, on average, about 7 total solar eclipses per decade. Here is a link to the maps. Click on one of the links just below "Contemporary Solar Eclipse Paths". It looks like one in August 2017 crosses the U.S.A; you have a bit more than six years to get ready. The very next total eclipse is Nov 13/14, 2012. You will have to go to northern Australia, or better yet, the Pacific ocean, to see it. I would expect some cruise ships are accepting reservations.

Atheists, isn't it amazing how the moon is placed exactly to totally eclipse the sun? by Q: I'm watching happening right now. OK it's not a total eclipse right now, but that's not the point.

How is it that the moon is just the right size and distance from the earth and sun to create an eclipse? by MyCowsCanFly© Q: If the moon was a different size or a different distance would there be an eclipse? It would seem the density of the moon is important in answering this question. If it were more dense, it's distance would be different. Would that mean there would be no eclipse? Why just the right density, size, and distance? As a wiseman once said, "hmmmm."

A: Cosmic coincidence!

What planets other than Earth can experience an eclipse of the sun???? by David V Q: What planets other than Earth can experience an eclipse of the sun???????

A: To experience a solar eclipse you need a moon with a similar angular diameter orbiting the planet. Mercury and Venus, having no moon(s) therefore can't experience solar eclipses. Mars has two moons (Phobos and Deimos), but they are way to small to completely obscure the sun. Partial eclipses are possible, though. On Jupiter, five of the many moons are large enough to obscure the solar disc: Amalthea, Io, Europa, Ganymede and Callisto. The others are too small or too far away from Jupiter, so like on Mars, they only partially obscure the sunlight, in a process called Transit. The moons of Saturn, Neptune or Uranus are either too small or far away for occultations. Pluto isn't considered a planet anymore, but its largest moon Charon is way larger in the sky than the sun; solar eclipses are possible (and relatively common) here.

Why does the moon fit almost perfectly over the sun during an eclipse? by . Q: What I'm asking is, what caused it to be the right size and shape to fit like that? Look at this picture: http://www.flickr.com/photos/cb/49242786/ There's got to be a better explanation that chance. Please try to stick to scientific theories.

A: Well, chance *is* the correct answer... as the moon was originally MUCH close to Earth, and would regulary eclipse the sun completely; as it's moved out (and continues to move away), we now see both as about the same size. (it varies a bit, depending on where Earth is in it's orbit about the sun, and the moon in it's orbit about the Earth) In a few million years, the moon will appear smaller than the sun.

someone once told me that in order to be born on a day of an eclipse, your sun and SN have to be conjunct? by Gemmi MC Q: I was born on a day of the a total eclipse of the sun. but my sun is 19 degrees, the SN was 9. and at the time when the eclipse was exact...the sun was even farther away from south node. so this must not be true? what conditions must be true of a solar eclipse? how about a lunar one? oh excuse me** has to be conjunct one of the nodes... north or south sorry i td'd you when link didn't work. thought you were faking me out :P lol

A: This site is a pretty good one to explain a complex question. I think most will find the animations good even, if you don't want to read it all. http://www.astrologyclub.org/articles/nodes/nodes.htm

Is it dangerous to point a digital camera at the sun or solar eclipse? by A Q: can i take pictures of it?

A: Pointing a digital camera at the Sun for more than a fraction of a second will almost certainly damage its sensor. As with any way of viewing or photographing the Sun, you must use a proper solar filter.

is it true: both Venus traveling across the sun & a solar eclipse will occur in 2012? by Q: and the only place you can view these events in the western hemisphere is on a remote island off Chile. the History channel show says that Venus crossing the sun is rare. How rare is it? how often does it occur? it(venus) occurs 200 days before Dec 21, 2012. ok, so are transits of Venus viewable everywhere? or just on this remote island off the coast of Chile?

A: Venus crosses the Sun 4 times in 243 years. The last such occasion was in 2004 and the next will be in 2012. After that it will be necessary to wait until 2117. Solar eclipses occur every year, so there's nothing unusual about there being one in the same year as a transit of Venus. If you're talking about Apocalypse Island on the History Channel, then true to form, there are some lies involved. The remote island mentioned was one of the Juan Fernandez Islands but the track of the total eclipse makes no landfall across the Pacific Ocean and misses these islands by about 200 miles. Of course, the partial eclipse can be seen across a wide area of the Pacific Ocean, not just one small island. The transit of Venus is on June 5th - 6th. The date 200 days before December 21st is June 4th. And what's important about the number 200 anyway? These History Channel 'documentaries' usually involve exaggeration, sensationalism and plain lies and this one is no different. [Later:] During a transit, Venus is visible as a black dot in front of the Sun. Anyone who can see the Sun can see the transit. Since the transit of 2012 lasts about 6 hours, it will be visible over about three-quarters of the Earth's surface: http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/transit/venus/Map2012-1.GIF

What can be expected when a total eclipse falls within 3 degrees of your sun sign? by Wife2Pisces & Mom2VirgoNCancer Q: This may we have a total solar eclipse taking place at 0 degrees 21. On May 20/21. My natal chart puts my sun at 1 degree 32. in the 3rd house. My birth data is May 23, 1979........2:17 AM......Southampton, New York. USA. How will this total solar eclipse effect me?

A: Dear One, According to Western Astrology and D12 chart, Eclipse is occurring at 28 degree of Pisces. It is a partial Solar Eclipse.Therefore, it may not have heavy effect like a total Solar Eclipse; still it holds much importance because it is occurring closer to Aries Point, this Eclipse will be in conjunction with Asteroid Ceres,widely known as Earth Mother.I also were born on May 25,1970 But You may have unexpected gains.You may participate in some large groups or organizations. It is also a favourable time to begin new friendships. If you already working with larger organizations, may be benefited on the career front.You will be able to find positive changes in family relations. It is best time to sort out unresolved issues.

why does the sun always look big during an eclipse? by Q: In pictures on the internet, the sun always looks like 3 times bigger than usual when the moon is in front of it. As a matter of fact, the moon looks abnormally large, too. I was just wondering becuase I was planning on seeing the partial eclipse tonight here in central Arkansas. (and yes, it will be visible from here)

A: It doesn't. The pictures are magnified on purpose so you can see them better. Plus there is an effect often called the Moon Illusion, where the full Moon looks larger when it rises. This is an optical illusion but it works on the Sun too. So when you look at the setting Sun it looks larger. And the eclipse will be seen at sunset for you in Arkansas.

How does the moon goes behind the sun? Lunar Eclipse? by Q: just wondering because the earth is not that near the sun. and if we were that near we'll burn up

A: It doesn't.

Why does the sun total eclipse occur? by zinger Q: Recently the sun was nearly blocked out by the moon in our area. I was inform it was because of the moon. Why was that?

A: What is an eclipse of the Sun? What causes eclipses and why? How often do eclipses happen and when is the next eclipse of the Sun? You'll learn the answers to these questions and more in MrEclipse's primer on solar eclipses. Before we find more about the eclipses of the Sun, we need to first talk about the Moon. The Moon is a cold, rocky body about 2,160 miles (3,476 km) in diameter. It has no light of its own but shines by sunlight reflected from its surface. The Moon orbits Earth about once every 29 and a half days. As it circles our planet, the changing position of the Moon with respect to the Sun causes our natural satellite to cycle through a series of phases: New, New Crescent, First Quarter, Waxing Gibbous, Full, Waning Gibbous, Last Quarter, Old Crescent and back to New again. Phases of theMoon. The phase known as New Moon can not actually be seen because the illuminated side of the Moon is then pointed away from Earth. The rest of the phases are familiar to all of us as the Moon cycles through them month after month. Did you realize that the word month is derived from the Moon's 29.5 day period? To many early civilizations, the Moon's monthly cycle was an important tool for measuring the passage of time. In fact many calendars are synchronized to the phases of the Moon. The Hebrew, Muslem and Chinese calendars are all lunar calendars. The New Moon phase is uniquely recognized as the beginning of each calendar month just as it is the beginning on the Moon's monthly cycle. When the Moon is New, it rises and sets with the Sun because it lies very close to the Sun in the sky. Although we cannot see the Moon during New Moon phase, it has a very special significance with regard to eclipses. Basic Geometry of the Sun, Moon and Earth During an Eclipse of the Sun An eclipse of the Sun (or solar eclipse) can only occur at New Moon when the Moon passes between Earth and Sun. If the Moon's shadow happens to fall upon Earth's surface at that time, we see some portion of the Sun's disk covered or 'eclipsed' by the Moon. Since New Moon occurs every 29 1/2 days, you might think that we should have a solar eclipse about once a month. Unfortunately, this doesn't happen because the Moon's orbit around Earth is tilted 5 degrees to Earth's orbit around the Sun. As a result, the Moon's shadow usually misses Earth as it passes above or below our planet at New Moon. At least twice a year, the geometry lines up just right so that some part of the Moon's shadow falls on Earth's surface and an eclipse of the Sun is seen from that region. The Moon's shadow actually has two parts: Penumbra - Faint outer shadow; partial eclipses are seen from within this shadow. Umbra- Dark inner shadow; total eclipses are seen from within this shadow. When only the Moon's penumbral shadow strikes Earth, we see a partial eclipse of the Sun from that region. Partial eclipses are dangerous to look at because the un-eclipsed part of the Sun is still very bright. You must use special filters or a home-made pinhole projector to safely watch a partial eclipse of the Sun (see: Eclipses & Eye Safety). However, if the Moon's dark umbral shadow sweeps across Earth's surface, then a total eclipse of the Sun is seen (see figure below). The track of the Moon's shadow across Earth's surface is called the Path of Totality. It is typically 10,000 miles long but only 100 miles or so wide. In order to see the Sun totally eclipsed by the Moon, you must be in the path of totality. Total Solar Eclipse and the Path of Totality The total phase of a solar eclipse is very brief. It rarely lasts more than several minutes. Nevertheless, it is considered to be one of the most awe inspiring spectacles in all of nature. The sky takes on an eerie twilight as the Sun's bright face is replaced by the black disk of the Moon. Surrounding the Moon is a beautiful gossemer halo. This is the Sun's spectacular solar corona, a super heated plasma two million degrees in temperature. The corona can only be seen during the few brief minutes of totality. To witness such an event is a singularly memorable experience which cannot be conveyed adequately through words or photographs. Nevertheless, you can read more about the Experience of Totality in the first chapter of Totality - Eclipses of the Sun. Of course, an eclipse of the Sun presents a tempting target to photograph. Learn all about Solar Eclipse Photography in chapter twelve of Totality - Eclipses of the Sun. For more photographs taken during previous solar eclipses, be sure to visit the Solar Eclipse Photo Gallery. It's also possible to capture a solar eclipse using a video camcorder. The most recent total solar eclipse occurred on August 11, 1999 and was visible from Europe and the Middle East. Fred Espenak traveled to Turkey to witness the event. You can see a collection of his photographs at 1999 Eclipse in Turkey. An earlier total eclipse occurred on February 26, 1998 and was visible from the Caribbean. A Brief Report on the 1998 Eclipse describes the eclipse experience with words and photos. 1999 eclipse sequence This nine image sequence captures the essence of the last total solar eclipse of the Millennium. The central image of totality is a composite from 22 separate negatives which were combined via computer to closely resemble the naked eye appearance of the solar corona. Total Solar Eclipse of 1999 Aug 11 (Lake Hazar, Turkey) Photo (c)1999 by Fred Espenak Unfortunately, not every eclipse of the Sun is a total eclipse. Sometimes, the Moon is too small to cover the entire Sun's disk. To understand why, we need to talk about the Moon's orbit around Earth. That orbit is not perfectly round but is rather oval or elliptical in shape. As the Moon orbits our planet, it's distance varies from 221,000 to 252,000 miles. This 13% variation in the Moon's distance makes the Moon's apparent size in our sky vary by the same amount. When the Moon is on the near side of its orbit, the Moon appears larger than the Sun. If an eclipse occurs at that time, it will be a total eclipse. However, if an eclipse occurs while the Moon is on the far side of its orbit, the Moon appears smaller than the Sun and can't completely cover it. Looking down from space, we would see that the Moon's umbral shadow is not long enough to reach Earth. Instead, the 'antumbral' or negative shadow reaches Earth. The track of the antumbra is called the path of annularity. If you are within this path, you will see an eclipse where a ring or 'annulus' of bright sunlight surrounds the Moon at the maximum phase. Annular eclipses are also dangerous to look directly with the naked eye. You must use the same precautions needed for safely viewing a partial eclipse of the Sun (see: Eclipses & Eye Safety). Annular Solar Eclipse and the Path of Annularity Annularity can last as long as a dozen minutes, but is more typically about half that length. Since the annular phase is so bright, the Sun's gorgeous corona remains hidden from view. But annular eclipses are still quite interesting to watch. You can read all about the recent annular eclipse of February 16, 1999 which was visible from western Australia. More annular eclipse photos are posted at Solar Eclipse Photo Gallery. 1999 annular eclipse sequence This seven image sequence covers the entire 2.5 hour long annular eclipse of Feb 16, 1999. Annular Solar Eclipse of 1999 Feb 16 (Greenough, Australia) Photo (c)1999 by Fred Espenak Eclipse Frequency and Future Eclipses During the six Millennium period 2000 BC to AD 4000, Earth will experience 14,263 solar eclipses as follows: All Eclipses = 14263 = 100.0% Partial (P) = 5029 = 35.3% Annular (A) = 4699 = 32.9% Total (T) = 3797 = 26.6% Hybrid1(H) = 738 = 5.2% 2Hybrid eclipses are also known as annular/total eclipses. Such an eclipse is both total and annular along different sections of its umbral path. The table below lists every solar eclipse from 2001 through 2008. Click on the eclipse Date to see a map of the eclipse. The Eclipse Magnitude is the fraction on the Sun's diameter covered by the Moon at greatest eclipse. For magnitudes greater than 1.0, it is a total eclipse. The Central Duration is the duration of either the total or annular phase of the eclipse.

How often does the earth eclipse the sun from the moon's point of view? by Q: How frequently does this happen, if ever?

A: When the Earth eclipses the sun from the moon's point of view, then the moon is in the Earth's shadow. We call this a lunar eclipse. Over the period from 2000 BC to 3000 AD, there are 12,064 lunar eclipses (including partial eclipses). That works out to an average of close to one every 105 days (3.5 months). Total eclipses happen on average once every 151 days (5 months). The time interval between eclipses can be 1, 5, or 6 months.

What will happen if I look at the sun, during an eclipse? by Jean L Q: I just wanna know, because some people say that, the sun will burn down your eyes and you'll go blind. But others say that you will recieve superpower(CRAZY I KNOW)!!! what do you think, BTW the next eclipse will be on the 1st of august, 2008:D!!

A: Superpower? These are the same people who put razor blades in apples at Halloween. I'd like to meet someone telling that to another person. You should not look directly at an eclipse when any portion of the photosphere is visible. It will not blind you instantly but it is bad for your eyes. Since the apparent light isn't as great, you might be able to look at it longer than you would when it is not partially blocked. This can result in damage that you may not be able to feel while you are looking at it. During totality, you can look at it directly. But stop looking as soon as the sun peeks out. Many people believe you shouldn't look at a solar eclipse during totality. This is wrong. It is harmless. The sun can't hurt you through the moon, and its chromosphere doesn't cause any damage, either. Edit: Much of what you hear about the dangers of eclipses is hype. Even news programs exaggerate it. Any method that you would use to look at the full sun will be okay. Still, caution is advised and safe methods should be researched.

Did you see the partial sun eclipse? by Q: I did. With my own eyes! I know I should've bought those solar sunglasses but I couldn't resist not looking at the sun when the eclipse happened. It was a bit dark and the sun was more than 50% covered. LOL @ Hal

Atheists, don't you find it strange that the Moon blocks the Sun perfectly in a total solar eclipse? by Wayne Q: I've just finished watching a science documentary and I was shocked to learn how rare in the universe a total solar eclipse is. On Earth we are extremely lucky that the Moon is just the right distance from the Sun for it to cover it perfectly in a total solar eclipse. As soon as I learned that fact I knew God was the reason. There's no way it was a coincidence. Atheists, don't you find it strange? Surely the truth is staring you right in the face and you are looking the other way?

A: No, I don't. Don't you find it strange that you are the perfect idiot? God must have planned it that way. There's no way it was a coincidence. ADDENDUM How strange is it that we can see total eclipses of other stars on most any night? All you need is a telescope and point it at the edge of our very own moon. A miracle! Moron.

How much of the sun will be covered during an eclipse on mars? by Annaa:* Q: for my science project. How much of the sun will be covered (by a moon) during an eclipse on mars? Thanks everyone! (:

A: Mars doesn't get eclipses. It gets transits like we get transits of Venus and Mercury across the Sun. Here is a transit of Venus photographed from the Earth. You can do it at home with a telescope and a solar filter and have a camera looking though it instead of your eyes. It's a bit wobbly but you can see Venus getting closer to the edge of the Sun. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgvwjQVCqYc Eclipse means all covered up and blocked out but the satellites of Mars are too small to do that when they go in front of the Sun. We get a partial eclipse of the Sun sometimes but we call it that because the Moon looks big enough to make a total eclipse when it goes right across the Sun but if it looked much smaller and couldn't block out the Sun it would be called a transit instead of an eclipse. Sometimes the Moon is further away than normal when it goes across the Sun and then it can't cover all of the Sun and it's called an annular eclipse. We used the word eclipse for it because the Moon can really eclipse the Sun at times and the times it doesn't are named from proper eclipses instead of transits. If you stand on Mars you'd see the Sun about two thirds as big as you see it from Earth because Mars is about one and a half times further from the Sun than we are. Only the Earth has a Moon. The Moon is the name of the Earth's natural satellite. It's a proper name which is why a capital letter is used. Other planets have satellites. Mars has got two tiny satellites called Phobos and Deimos. Phobos is the biggest and closest one. It's 22 Km across and 9000 Km from Mars so it looks very small from Mars and only blocks out 25% of the Sun's disc when it transits the Sun. Deimos is only half as big, 12 Km across and 23 000 Km from Mars so it looks even smaller than Phobos. When it goes across the Sun it cuts out less than 1% of the Sun's disc. You wouldn't notice the light from the Sun getting dimmer when Deimos was going across it. If you weren't looking you wouldn't know it was happening On Earth we're very lucky because the Moon looks about the same size as the Sun so we get total eclipses sometimes. Everywhere goes dark for a few minutes and we can see the Sun's corona. On Mars you wouldn't see a total eclipse at all. Just a little black speck going across the Sun sometimes if you look carefully and sometimes about a quarter of the Sun getting blocked out. Naming the Moon....and Sun http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090914131139AAPeKln . . . . http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100422100106AAB9aAm . . .

We shouldnot see the sun with NakedEye.Is this the only reason for advising us not to see sun during eclipse? by ThulasiDharan Q: Or are there any special things that happen during the solar eclipse so that we shouldnot see the sun with naked eye during eclipse? In brief, my question is "what are the reasons for advising not to see the sun during eclipse?"

A: Yeah, it's only because it's never a good idea to look toward the sun. Nothing special happens during an eclipse, it doesn't give off extra gamma rays or anything.

does the eclipse of the sun or moon has any effects on our sun or moon signs? by Elia Q: as i know sun eclipse can impact on animals behaviour does that mean that it has the same effect on our signs? 1st August will be sun eclipse . what is happen to those who born during sun or moon eclipse?

A: yes, the eclipse can be favourable for some signs whereas unfavourable for others depending on the day it falls or what sign it's in etc...

is it more dangerous to stare at a partial eclipse or the bare naked sun? by ZUrdo Q: Obviously both, but I just want to know why the sun's rays are more intense during a partial eclipse? or are the uv rays just as intense as the bare naked sun?

A: they're the same. an important issue during a partial eclipse is that ppl have been told something is going on (or the sunlight looks funny), so they try to look at the sun to see what's going on, stare longer than is healthy, and hurt their eyes. the eclipse has to be pretty deep to see anything other than dazzle without solar filters, and only the few seconds either side of totality are safe for naked-eye viewing. why do these questions keep coming up? do it right and the sun is a fascinating object. get it wrong and you will hurt yourself. what you need to do is well documented.

How is looking at a Solar Eclipse different from looking at the sun? by John S Q: I can usually see the sun with no problem with my sun glasses on and if it's near the side of my point of view. Is there any difference in seeing the Solar Eclipse in that same way?

A: Looking directly at the sun is always dangerous, but most people are only dumb enough to do it during an eclipse. The only time when looking at an eclipse is more dangerous than looking at the sun is the last second of totality. During totality, you pupils dilate; so when the first thin sliver of the sun reappears, you see it with pupils wide open. That's when most eye injuries occur during an eclipse.

How often does the sun eclipse happen? by Q:

A: It really depends on the place on Earth we are talking about. But in average - once in several years.

i have taken a photograph of eclipse sun with sony dsc model.will it spoil the camera?it is showing pink line by Sri Harsha Q: on in the middle of viewer.what happened? i have kept a x ray film infront of lens. can it be repaired?

A: If you were not using a solar filter of some kind, you may have burned out the center of your cameras sensor. Tell us more about how you attempted to shoot the sun. It will give us a better idea of what you may have done to your camera. I am sure it can be repaired, but at what cost? Who told you that X-Ray film would protect your cameras sensor? The special filters made for this purpose filter out light in equal proportions and only allow transmission of 0.001% or less of the light to penetrate into the lens and eventually the film or sensor. http://www.rainbowsymphonystore.com/solar-filter-50mmblack.html http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/objects/sun/3304056.html

If the moon orbits the Sun then isn't there a Solar eclipse everyday when the moon passes in-front of the sun? by zetsu74 Q: The moon goes around the earth and the earth goes around the sun. If the moon travels in-front of the sun everyday there should be an eclipse everyday right?

A: If they were always in the same plane, which they aren't and if the moon was always the same distance from earth and earth the same distance from the sun, which they aren't, then what you ask would hold, but not with all that in effect.

When did eclipse occur next with the same sun-moon-Earth geometry? by Q: A total eclipse of the sun was visible from Canada on July 10, 1972. When did eclipse occur next with the same sun-moon-Earth geometry? From what part of Earth was it total?

Is it just coincidence that the moon covers the sun almost perfectly during and eclipse? by Q: How come that during an eclipse the moon covers the sun almost perfectly? or why do we perceive it that way?

A: Right now, the sun and moon appear to be the same size in the sky. While the sun is slightly larger, the difference is unprecievable to the human eye. The moon was once much closer to the Earth, and has been moving away at about 4 cm/year. When you consider the grand scheme of things, though, it might be a coincidence that the solar eclipse becomes possible just as we are gaining so much knowledge of the universe. Another interesting note, in about 50 years, the moon will appear to be too small to create an eclipse.

How much would it cost to put a sun roof in a 2010 Mitsubishi Eclipse? by nick Q: I would like to know how much it would cost to put in a sun roof in a 2010 eclipse.

A: After market sunroofs are not a good idea. They never last and when you take the car to the dealer they will tell you they don't work on them and go to the place that installed it. If you're lucky the installer will still be in business. The other thing is that there are support braces in the factory installed sunroof models that are not in your car and cutting a big hole in the roof weakens the whole unibody. Sell the car and buy one with the factory sunroof if you can't do without one.

Surely it can't be sheer coincidence that our moon forms a perfect eclipse with the sun, any explanations? by Q: I fail to believe that its just sheer coincidence that our moon situated on Goldilocks planet can perform a perfect solar eclipse (the only one in our solar system) and yet uniquely also support life. Could it be a scientific or spiritual indicator of life on a planet as it shows the planet right distance away from the sun and providing the other conditions are right could potentially support life.

A: Um. Bad example. The vast majority of solar eclipses are partial eclipse. Coming in second place are annular eclipses. The lowest percentage, are total eclipses. Let's ignore partial eclipses, and focus on the other two, because that is the heart of your question. The Earth orbits the Sun in an elliptical orbit, with the Sun located at one focci of that ellipse (Kepler's First Law). This means, that sometimes the Earth is closer to the Sun, than at other times. *That* means, that the Sun's apparent diameter changes, depending on where we are in our orbit. The Moon orbits the Earth in an elliptical orbit, with the Earth located at one focci (Kepler, yet again). Guess where this is leading. So, sometimes, you have the Earth-Sun distance just right, and the Earth-Moon distance just right, so that the disc of the Moon covers the disc of the Sun perfectly, creating a total solar eclipse. Unfortunately, your question has come thousands of years too late. If you would have asked this in, say, 50,000 BC, it would be tough to argue, because every eclipse would show totality. However, the Moon has been drifting away from the Earth (about 3cm per year, average distance) since its formation (look up tidal dragging), which means, that these days... the Moon only really causes a total solar eclipse when the Earth is near aphelion (farthest distance from the Sun) or the Moon is near perigee (closest approach to Earth) or both, while hitting one of the nodes. Basically, the disc of the Moon doesn't cover the complete disc of the Sun as frequently as it used to, and this occurrence will be less frequent in the future as well. So really, it really is just a matter of coincidence, that you were born recently, and not 1,000,000 years ago or 1,000,000 years in the future, where perfect total solar eclipses would have a much different frequency.

Whats the best profession for an aquarian monkey, 16/02/1980. On a full moon eclipse, aqua sun& moon, Lib risi? by Q: I am born on a full moon eclipse, 1st day of the chinese new year. Aquarian sun and moon and libra rising. I am wondering if anyone knows anything about all this that can advise me on a suitable, harmonic career avenue or some suggestions at what I would be good at ????????? Born @ 9,55pm in Sydney Australia.

A: I'm an aquarian monkey and I'm still looking for the answer for that! All I can tell you is that my favorite subjects were always history of art, archeology, sociology... The best job I had was selling museum inspired jewelry pieces (at an actual museum shop) and I enjoy making jewelry and selling it myself....

How comes we can't look directly at the eclipse of the sun? by Khalil J Q: How comes we can't look directly at an eclipse of the sun if the sun is covered?

A: the sun may be blocked, whether partially or totally, but it light still reaches us, especially in the corona,which will be entirely visible,especially in a total eclipse....THAT WILL BURN YOUR EYES!

What kind of eclipse is it when the Sun passes between the Moon and the Earth? by Bill W 【ツ】 Q: solar eclipse - moon between sun and earth lunar eclipse - earth between sun and moon ???? eclipse - sun between moon and earth??? Thanks

Total eclipse of the sun and your birthday? by isayiamiam Q: What are the mathematical odds that in your lifetime a total eclipse of the sun will happen on your birthday? I am just curious. My birthday is July 22 and there will be a total eclipse of the sun that will be visible in Shanghai, China on July 22, 2009.

A: Solar eclipses happen on average every 18 months or so. Assuming an average age of 80 years this would mean 53 solar eclipses in your lifetime. As no day should be more likely than any other this gives odds of around 1 in 7. Unless, of course, you were born on Feb 29th.

Why is my eclipse / sun catfish trying to escape? by Mew Q: I have an eclipse / sun catfish (Horabagrus brachysoma) that I just recently moved to a 55 gallon tank. Last night, he started trying to escape, jumping and splashing continued all night. When we turn the lights off now, he tries jumping out a few times before retreating to his cave. What could be causing him to do this??

A: check the water parameters in the tank, erratic behaviour can be a sign of water quality problems.

Is it merely a coincidence that the moon is just the right size to cover up the sun during an eclipse? by David S Q: If it were smaller or larger, we would not be able to observe the sun during an eclipse.

A: Hi David! It is just a coincidence. It's not true, though, that we would have no eclipses if things were otherwise. As luck would have it, the moon is about 1/400th the diameter of the sun, but also 1/400th as far away. It's just the right size to cover the sun fully during a total solar eclipse. Even if the moon were significantly larger or smaller, however, we would still have eclipses, although they would not be the sublime spectacles we on earth enjoy. Mars, for instance, has solar eclipses. Its larger moon, Phobos, is the right size and distance to produce annular eclipses on Mars. Phobos appears 3/4 the diameter of the sun, leaving a wide band of light around Phobos during eclipses. If our moon were significantly larger or closer, total eclipses would last much longer than they do, such as more than an hour of totality. That's the way it actually is on the moon itself, which sees total eclipses of the sun anytime we have a total or partial eclipse of the moon. A total eclipse of the sun, as seen from the moon, lasts over two hours under ideal conditions. Moon viewers miss the delicate corona, but they do get to see the "ring of fire" around the black circle of the earth as red light streams through our atmosphere. (The blue light is refracted; that's why the sky is blue and moon people see red during an eclipse.) Our geometry is right for the sorts of eclipse that we're used to, but other kinds are possible, even without the coincidence of the size and distance of our moon. By the way, Creationists who seek to apply the 1/400 coincidence as evidence in support of their belief should be mindful that this providential (pardon the pun) bit of good fortune has only existed in our epoch. Those living 600 million years from now will no longer be able to see total eclipses of the sun because the moon will have moved too far away. Of course, I expect that Creationists will merely turn this fact on its head and assert that their claim is doubly proved. Not only is the moon exactly the right size and distance, they might say, but it's been put just where it is purely for OUR viewing pleasure, not for that of generations 600 million years in the future! (giggles)

How long ago was the last total sun eclipse? by tigerhood2005 Q: I just wanted to know.

A: The last total solar eclipse was on 1st August 2008, visible in Northern Canada, the Arctic and Siberia. The next will be on 22nd July 2009, visible in the Far East and Pacific Ocean

Can you look at the Sun with eclipse glasses? by Q: When you are wearing eclipse glasses, can you only look at the sun during an eclipse or can you use them to view the sun at any time? Also if you look at the sun through a telescope, will the eclipse glasses allow you to look into the telescope or will you still need a solar filter?

A: Eclipse glasses do work well, but only for looking at the sun without other optical aid (such as telescopes or binoculars). If you want to use a telescope, or similar, you will need to place a filter in front of the telescope.

I want to make the sun( A picture of an eclipse) rotate like the sun? by Steve B Q: I'm trying to make an intro to a video, and I have a picture of an eclipse. Is it possible to make the eclipse sun INSIDE the picture of the eclipse look like it rotates a bit? I have Sony Vegas, Adobe After Effects, and Adobe Photoshop. You can leave an answer here or give me your Instant Messaging username so I can IM you. Thank you.

A: That's animation, what you describe. One would model a sphere and texture it with the light and/or photo. The pros charge like $100 per second of rendered computer file -- and believe me, they earn it. You might look at Xara3D software. Evaluate if it renders out to .targa, .gif file format, quicktime... I know those formats import into Adobe Premiere (is After Effects a latest and greatest Premiere? I've never used it). But, spinning logos, incredible camera angles.... that sort of stuff is CGI, aka computer animation.

what can i use insted of sun eclipse glasses? by karim35us Q: where can i get sun eclipse in egypt?

A: Take a piece of glass. Burn a candle. Place the glass slightly above the flame. The smoke of the candle will darken one side of the glass. Make sure that the glass is suffeciently darkned. Now look the sun. It is perfectly safe. I have personally used it many times.

Where do I get sun/moon eclipse software with map? by Wicax Q: There are a lot of astronomical programs to calculate when sun/moon eclipse will happen. But it's hard to find the free software with map (where the eclipse happen). Can u help me?

A: I don't know of any software that maps eclipses, but you don't really need any. It's much easier to look up eclipses and maps online, at NASA: http://sunearth.gsfc.nasa.gov/eclipse/eclipse.html

What is the alignment of the earth, moon, and sun during a solar eclipse? by Q: What is the alignment of the earth, moon, and sun during a solar eclipse? Sun, earth, moon Earth, sun, moon Earth, moon, sun Moon, sun, earth

A: Earth,Moon,Sun

Images
Videos
The Solar Eclipse In Varanasi - Wonders of the Solar System - Series 1 Episode 1 Preview - BBC Two May 2012 Solar Eclipse - Where, When and How To VIew it | Video Solar Eclipse This Weekend Will Be First Like it Since 1994 Viewing a Solar Eclipse ANNULAR SOLAR ECLIPSE FROM CHINA TO CALIF TO TEXAS 5/20/2012 VID 1 OF ? Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 Astrology Solar Eclipse Educational Video LIVE Solar eclipse Q&BA hangout TOTAL Annular Solar Eclipse May 20-21 2012 RAW INFO Solar Eclipse Viewer ScienceCasts: Solar Eclipse in the USA ECLIPSE LIVE FROM FUJIYAMA by SOLAR POWER Solar Eclipse Over The USA - May 20, 2012 - NASA Meteor Shower and a Solar Eclipse - May 2012 Skywatching Video 5/20/2012 -- Solar eclipse today -- Western states CA UT NV AZ NM = good viewing Annular Solar Eclipse 20 May 2012 EPIC Solar Eclipse Release Date Information! [MUST WATCH!] MAY 20,2012 SOLAR ECLIPSE/CHICAGO NATO SUMMIT MEETING ( ZIP CODE 60606 ) PLANS TO EVACUATE? Annular Solar Eclipse Coming May 20, 2012 Ring of Fire Solar Eclipse/ Lights up the Sky for NATO Summit on 20th of May! (May 19, 2012) May 20,2012 Annular Eclipse Explainer Coming Solar Eclipse/Blood Moon/ Transit of Venus signicant to Mayans! (Add on video/May 2, 2012) Ask Dirk: Viewing The Solar Eclipse ANNULAR SOLAR ECLIPSE: A 'Ring of Fire' USA This Spring (May 20th, 2012). Solar Eclipse for May into June 2012 with Lee Weller Cosmo Biologist talking to Sean Caulfield Solar Eclipse Update for California on May 20, 2012 Severe Solar Eclipse Warning for California on May 20, 2012 Live Universe Show - Annular Solar Eclipse / Transit of Venus Simple safe way to view solar eclipse.MOV HD - Solar Eclipse over Los Angeles Live in HD - 5.20.2012 Annular solar eclipse of May 20, 2012 'Ring Of Fire' Annular Solar Eclipse - May 20, 2012 (Tokyo, Japan) 日食 Sun, Moon & Pleiades Light Activation - Solar Eclipse on May 20th, 2012 Annular Solar Eclipse - May 20th 2012 - USA Albuquerque, New Mexico Ring of Fire Solar Eclipse on May 20, 2012 - Visible in US May 20 Solar Eclipse Preview: San Diego Solar Eclipse at Zero Degrees of Gemini - Stay Open, Get excited! Video of partial solar eclipse seen around the world on January 4, 2011 Annular Solar Eclipse of May 2012 in Japan Annular Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 Ring of Fire Total Eclipse Earth Eclipse galaxy drake moon Partial Solar Eclipse May 20th 2012 Los Angeles Solar Eclipse : Ring of Fire Lights up the Sky for NATO Summit on 20th of May (May 18, 2012) SOLAR ECLIPSE Ring Moon Sun Northern CA California USA May 20 2012 Annular Solar Eclipse (Saitama, Japan) May 21st, 2012 The May 20th 2012 Annular Solar Eclipse. Great Earthquake Possible May 20/ Ring Of Fire Solar Eclipse and Nostradamus Quatrain Match solar eclipse 2012 May 20th Solar Eclipse ~ Reboot the Grid Solar Eclipse point of view from San Bernardino, CA on May 20, 2012 Solar Eclipse - May 20, 2012
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-06 14:39:35