OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Summer solstice 2012
News

Summer solstice 2012 arrives much smoother than the longest day ...
The summer solstice usually arrives June 21, but this year is an exception.

Summer Solstice 2012 Hits with Extreme Heat
The first day of summer, known as the summer solstice, begins at around 7 p.m. tonight. The weather in the capital region will be extremely hot according to a ...

Summer solstice is signal for summer camp packing frenzy
Summer solstice is the first day of the rest of your summer – and kids headed to camp start thinking how to squeeze into the two-piece bathing suits and past the ...

The 2012 Summer Solstice
Wednesday was the first official day of summer and the longest day of the year.

submit to reddit

Real-time

BikramWestshore Rajashree talks about how amazing this event is - imagine the energy!!? http://t.co/MMKntAz3

argillic Happy summer solstice! For your inner hippie, here is an article on Stonehenge: http://t.co/rr0yQpqr

SanciaKeira Stonehenge Solstice 2012 Awesome! Rain and the high summer fresh energy A new time The Wiltshire breezes cleanse all Deep healing 4 all : )

notinmy Summer solstice http://t.co/UlBtvoOL by @lemead

irish_america RT @fhayesmccoy: Fires lighting and music in Dingle town for the #summer solstice. Ar dheis Dé go raibh anam Con Durham, píobaire. http://t.co/qAl0ahHJ

kathrynschulz Summer solstice photos, via @in_focus: http://t.co/WbIlWp7c That Times Square yoga shot is ... anthropological.

jennifertokyo スゴイ!! RT @WSJ: 4,000 people gathered in Times Square yesterday for yoga classes to celebrate the Summer Solstice. http://t.co/PmK1LIqj

careyz RT @tordotcom: Science fiction and fantasy artist pick their favorite artistic representations of summer in this solstice celebration! http://t.co/cxjV1ChE

mahcd RT @WSJ: 4,000 people gathered in Times Square yesterday for yoga classes to celebrate the Summer Solstice. http://t.co/y9UqYpQk

TheSecurityGirl How are you spending your Summer Solstice 2012? http://t.co/7hvzZnzk

hle123 RT #Win up to $50 Amazon or PayPal in the #SummerSolstice #Giveaway Hop! @TheLuckyLadybug (Ends 6/24 -- Open WORLDWIDE) http://t.co/JMhwUbt9

lionelsnod RT @BrendanCarroll7: ✵✵Coming soon: Summer Solstice Free eBooks Multiple Authors! ✵✵http://t.co/42HaZyRZ

MissingLynxx #Win a gorgeous @Vodaswim swimsuit of your choice on @MissingLynxx blog #summersolstice http://t.co/3952wrT2

AkashaMeriamen Summer Solstice 2012 :How Can You Benefit From It? http://t.co/SmKRBeCa

BJRueli RT @WSJ: 4,000 people gathered in Times Square yesterday for yoga classes to celebrate the Summer Solstice. http://t.co/y9UqYpQk

Discussions

If, according to 2 Tess 2, it says that we should not be deceived, should we? by Q: be deceived by the Winter Solstice of 2012, and all the hype which shall accompany its run up, even the great inferno in the London's Summer? If the Law-less (let the reader understand) One is due to appear in 2020, why then should we not feel like any other day when October 21st comes, and when 11:11:12 or 08/12/12 or any other date comes around? Now you might say to me: No one knows the time or the date, but I say to you: Except the Creator, not even the Word or the messengers, but, no matter is ever done until it is first revealed to the Almighty's servant and prophets. But don't listen to my mere breaths - Listen to the Word. It says: The Law-less One MUST COME FIRST. So, if the Law-less One has not as yet been revealed, have you any cause to worry, no matter what you hear and see? Isn't is all to get you to fear and doubt? Shouldn't a Warrior stand his ground in battle, soldier?

A: This is not theory, see what the Bible says: http://soeverythinghappened.blogspot.com/2011/05/lords-day-new-heaven-and-new-earth.html

Former Apollo astronaut on ET life, 2012, Erich von Daniken's Chariots of the Gods,&Revelations~all connected? by Matt N Q: Just a crackpot theory I can't help but imagine in the back of my mind. Basically, the book Erich von Daniken's Chariots of the Gods is about his theory that most/all references to God(s) in ancient/biblical times were, in fact, alien lifeforms being portrayed by, shall we say, "unmodernized" human beings. The 2012 theory, to anyone who happens to briefly catch a moment of the History channel, whether by channel surfing or otherwise (seeing as to how that is mostly ALL that crazy channel ever seems to have on it nowadays), should know it involves an ancient Mayan calander all of a sudden ending on the winter solstice of the year 2012, which signifies great cultural change, and/or the end of the world. Usually (but not ALWAYS) the channel will follow the airing of this particular "feel good movie of the summer" with some show discussing the book of revalations in the bible/ the torah/ some kind of apocalyptic senario... And then, just today, watching CNN, I happened to notice the little scrolling news bullitin basically saying a professional Aeronautical scientist has come out of the closet about alien life with the headline: Former Apollo astronaut: Man not alone in universe. If you are familiar with just a couple of these theories/stories, and then factor in what seems to be a current upheaval of cultural turmoil throughout the world (as supposedly predicted in most religions' end of days scenario), then hopefully you can understand why a perfectly sane individual would have such insane thoughts...lol. I DO in fact believe in God (the Jewish one, that is), however, I also believe that the government is lying about what we DO or DO NOT know about alien life/UFOs. I'm not one of those wackos who think that God is an alien, simply b/c of the fact that some "other" higher power would have had to create "him." I also do not buy into ANY cultures "End of the World" scenario, and I strongly think that if/when the world ends, it will be by the hands of human beings...and that to actually believe in these type of theories is what will inevitably CAUSE the end of the world to occur. For example, b/c USA is primarily Christian, and in the Christian book of Revelations, the "war to end all wars," ie Armageddon, will follow a period of world peace. I think that just b/c of that ONE IDEA our country is ignorantly AFRAID of world peace, as are other countries. And on the other side of the spectrum, people who are under the impression they are gonna die soon (based on my observations of people anyway), would just as soon wrecklessly throw fast food trash out the window of their Hummer raping the environment or rock 'n roll every night and party every day. ANYWAY, as you can probably tell, I could go on and on about this. Even after all of own firmly held beliefs, I still cannot help but ponder the possibility of "what if...?" And that's why I turn to you, the extraterrestrials of cyberspace... What do you think?

A: The Chariot of the gods stuff is GREAT! I love it and can't believe why everyone hasn't heard of it, BUT the records kept by the Sumerians were probably corrupted. I don't believe that they told the whole truth. I think for sure that these people had technology way in advance of what we have today but the whole alien thing is hotly debated between people that are familiar with Sumerian legend. I myself believe that many civilizations have existed on earth for millions of years and that technology may in fact be cyclical in the sense that great cataclysms have destroyed the entire surface of the earth. I heard once that people have been on earth for BILLIONS of years and it was a fascinating idea that I don't quite understand. I really like Michael Tsarion who talks about Daniken's and many other authors findings. He has the most information put together in my opinion. I also like Sitchins, Jordan Maxwell and Bill Cooper. I don't think British Shorthair quite understands how evidence works and scientific theory as a whole. The idea that we evolved from apes is completely unfounded by a HUGE unexplained margin. I believe in evolution but also think that humans were engineered. Also the engineering marvels of the ancient world surpass what we can do today by another huge unexplained margin. The evidence adds up in Daniken's favor if you have EVER looked at it.

Tricky question Please only answer if you know.? by lisa f Q: where can you see Jupiter during the summer solstice in the year of 2012? The only hint I have is that this place is an island. Thanks for the help!

A: If Jupiter can be seen from Earth at all, then it can be seen from a large part of the Earth (except for clouds). There's nothing special about the solstice times, as far as seeing Jupiter is concerned. So it is a mistake to think that it can be seen only from some special place. I'm going to assume you mean the June 20th solstice in 2012. At that time, Jupiter will be 28 degrees from the Sun, in the morning sky. Mostly, we need the sun to be below the horizon by 15 degrees to see Jupiter clearly, so that gives us 13 degrees sunwards and 90 degrees anti-sunwards, for a total of 103 degrees out of 360. Jupiter will be visible from 29% of the Earth at the time of the solstice. That covers a lot of continental land, as well as 1000's of islands, and lot of ocean.

What does this mean horoscope june 2012 leo? by Q: This is a bellwether month, Leo. Doorways open into your future and reveal what lies ahead. The action starts when the farseeing Sagittarius Full Moon Eclipse on June 4 polarizes your 5th House of Love, bringing personal change into the moment. This eclipse's connection to romantic Venus and physical Mars can create both dissent and excitement in relationships.Bountiful Jupiter enters flighty Gemini and your 11th House of Long-Term Goals on June 11, another sign of your eagerness to leave the past behind. The lighthearted Gemini New Moon on June 19 allows you to entertain possibilities without being tied to any them.June 24 marks the beginning of a protracted process of transformation that could alter your life in ways you cannot yet imagine. This is the day when revolutionary Uranus and evolutionary Pluto align for the first of seven profound squares -- a series that concludes in 2015. Pay close attention to your diet and exercise program, because Pluto in your 6th House of Health and Work will require you to improve your lifestyle.However, maintaining your well-being is challenging if you're also asked to assume more responsibilities on the job. Unpredictable Uranus in your 9th House of Future Vision indicates your dissatisfaction with the status quo and can precipitate events that wrench you out of your complacency by confronting you with new philosophies, religious beliefs, and political ideas.On June 11, fleet-footed Mercury's anxious aspects to the long lasting Uranus-Pluto square trigger you to take a cold hard look at the choices you must make in the coming months and years. The magnitude of the looming changes begins to dawn on you when the Sun uncomfortably reactivates this square on June 29.Keep in Mind this MonthKeep an open mind about modifying your daily routine. Even small improvements can have a positive impact on your health.Key Dates for LeoJun 11 - 13: No Pain, No GainYou can see deeply into the future when farsighted Jupiter enters inquisitive Gemini and your 11th House of Dreams and Wishes on June 11. But your intentions have consequences as Mercury in your 12th House of Destiny squares reckless Uranus and opposes unforgiving Pluto. Choose your words carefully to ameliorate an unpleasant situation and ease the struggle between you and a co-worker when Mercury forms a friendly trine to Chiron the Healer on June 12. Although the tension is likely to settle down quickly, the Sun's trine to persistent Saturn on the 13th indicates that this battle is not over for long.SUPER NOVA DAYSJun 19 - 20: Actions Speak Louder Than WordsIt's time to make your feelings known on June 19 -- even if you're not completely ready -- because the New Moon is in changeable Gemini and your 11th House of Groups, indicating a shift in your relationships to friends and associates. Remember that unexpressed emotions can fuel resentment. A hard Mercury-Saturn square on June 20 makes communication even more strained. However, this is also the Summer Solstice, the day that the Sun enters receptive Cancer and your 12th House of Privacy, giving you permission to take care of your own needs and keep your thoughts to yourself. Although you may not have much to say, your behavior reveals what you are withholding as interactive Mercury forms a collaborative sextile with bold Mars on the 21st.

A: 2 points.

Is 2012 something to worry over? by 123456 Q: December 21 - 11:11 UTC. Winter Solstice in the Northern Hemisphere, Summer Solstice in the Southern Hemisphere.[5] I dont understand is this something to worry? I also had a dream an I knew nothing about Solar flares at the time you can see what I dreamed about on my questions http://www.universetoday.com/2008/06/21/2012-no-killer-solar-flare/ lol brant ... nothing to worry about in 2012 nothing at all BUT IN 2013 ITS YOUR ASS nice one

A: It is not (unless you feel that the beginning of winter -- or summer in the Southern hemisphere -- is something to fear). There exists a "Big 2012 Hoax" created by charlatans who want to make money selling books and videos to scared people (they invented the scare to create the demand for their books). The same charlatans had invented Planet X for the end-of-the-world of June 2003. They had a book for sale on how to survive the passage of Planet X (tsunamis, etc.). The date itself comes from another book seller who claimed (back in the late 1980s, early 1990s) the the Mayan calendar ends. It does not end, it merely passes a round figure. 2012.12.20 = 12.19.19.17.19 2012.12.21 = 13.00.00.00.00 2012.12.22 = 13.00.00.00.01 and so on. The charlatans of the Big 2012 Hoax are the ones who linked the [fake] end-of-the-Mayan-calendar to the [fake] Mayan-prediction-of-the-end-of-the-world. Mind you, the fact that the Mayan calendar has a round figure on the day of the winter solstice is probably not a coincidence. In their common calendar, that day was their New Years Day. Obviously, when they set up their day-count calendar, they fixed it so that the important round figure (the number 13 was important) falls on their New Year's Day. The same way that we went from 1999 to 2000 on our New Year's Day (January 1), not in the middle of February. So there: if you worry about New Year's Days in general, then that would be another one to worry about. --- The solar flare scare was used in (yet another) Hollywood end-of-the-world movie called "Knowing". The next Hollywood end-of-the-world movie is called "2012" (even if it uses the June 2003 end-of-the-world hoax). With so many hoaxes and Hollywood end-of-the-world movies (all fiction, of course), it is becoming difficult to keep the hoaxes from getting mixed up.

A question about 2012? by Mr. Gumbo Q: Ok so i was reading about and i was looking into events that would occur not involving the apocolypstic and i found that it is a leap year, at 11:11 am, which is exactly when the earth is supposed to end, there will be a summer solstice. do you think this could have anything to do with the end of the world?

A: All that's happened is that the cranks who think the world will end on 21st December 2012 have decided that the moment of the solstice is the time for it to happen (based on absolutely zero evidence). So they consulted the U.S. Naval Observatory website (or something similar) found out that the solstice was at 11:11 and declared the end of the world for that moment. However, this solstice will pass (as do all the others) unnoticed by everyone except pagan sun-worshippers. Any claimed connection with ancient prophecies is an invention by the crackpots.

Do Milankovic Cycles relate to the procession of equinoxes in regards to the mayan calender? by stuccohound Q: The mayans considered procession and the orbit of venus to be central to time cycles. Consider that on June 6? 2004 there was a transit of venus. This is close the summer solstice...max tilt north pole... On Dec 26 of the Indian ocean tsunami occured..near winter solstice (max tilt s. pole) What gravitational effects does venus have on earth. Next transit June 2012. Do transits change the angle of earths tilt? Can a transit pull the earth slightly closer to the sun? THANKS

A: Venus passes between Earth and Sun every 19 months, but doesn't usually transit across the face of the Sun. The gravitational pull of Venus is dependent on its distance, not whether it happens to cross the face of the Sun. This gravitational pull, in any case, is far too weak to alter the tilt of the Earth's axis.

What event will exactly take place on December 21, 2012? by lonelyspirit Q: I have come to understand that on December 21, 2012, the axis of earth rotation will make an alignment with the axis about which the Milky Way revolves. I understand that the movement of the tilted axis around which the earth rotates is 23.5 degrees which creates the 4 seasons. And this angle never changes during the years, but what changes is the polar star due to the wobbling of the earth causing the movement of the seasons through the years and changes in the polar star. Now Polaris is the Polar star. One whole revolution for the earth to return to the current state takes 25,800 years. This means that in approximately 13,000 years the summer solstice will start on December 21 instead of June 21. My question is: Why will the earth come to its doom and total destruction if the two axes of revolutions, namely, the earth and the Milky Way Galaxy align together? If some one understands this expected event differently will you please please explain what exactly is going to take place? Thank you!

A: The (northern hemisphere) summer solstice will stay on or about June 21st and the winter solstice December 21st because the Gregorian calendar is designed to keep them there. All that will happen in 13,000 years time is that our current summer stars will have become winter stars and vice versa. The Earth's axis is currently tilted at about 63º to the axis about which the Milky Way revolves.The 25,800 year movement (precession) of the Earth's axis will cause this angle to increase to about 83º in a few thousand years, then it will decrease again but the two axes will never be parallel or perpendicular in the forseeable future. This is completely unimportant anyway - rather like claiming there some significance in the fact that the pen on my desk is parallel to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Absolutely nothing is going to happen. It all comes from the confused minds of a bunch of crackpots who have no knowledge of astronomy. Take no notice of crank doomsday websites.

END OF THE WORLD??? well maybe not...? by Q: Okay so Ive been doing a lot of research about the Mayan long date calender ending on the summer solstice of 2012 (21.12.12) , and so far half of what ive read is religious fire and brimstone, the other half seems to consist of mainly conspiracy theory's and the such. It seems to me that the world wont necessarily "END", however the possibility of a major event that will effect humanity as a whole is an interesting one, What are your views on this?

A: I guess you missed the part in your research that the Mayan calendar doesn't actually end on 12/21/2012, but is currently calculated out to the year 4772 AD (and that is not the actual end of the calendar). There is no scientific evidence to support any of the ridiculous claims that anything unusual will occur in 2012. "Major events" have occurred almost every year that have affected humanity one way or another: - the Japan tsunami this year - the Haiti earthquake in 2010 - Hurricane Katrina in 2005 - 9/11 in 2001 - the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 - Apollo 11 in 1969 - the assassination of JFK in 1963 - Pearl Harbour in 1941 - the Great Crash in 1929 - the discovery of any number of things throughout the centuries

Are the rumors true about December 21, 2012? by ▐▀▀▼▀▀▌ ►Yoyo◄ ▐▄▄▲▄▄▌ Q: Okay I am really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, scared - Is it true that on December 21, 2012 there will be a Winter Solstice in the Northern Hemisphere & Summer Solstice in the Southern Hemisphere? I'm scared.

A: Yes, there's going to be a great shortage of dunce caps after that day, when nothing happens.

My view on 2012/ End of the world... What is yours? by Q: Just hear me out please. I think on December 21, 2012, the winter solstice, there will be snow flurries and a little sun, later in the day. It will dawn brisk and cool with a slight rise in temperatures as the day progresses. Mind you, this should only be taken into account in the Northern Hemisphere as in the Southern Hemisphere, the Summer Solstice will begin. This is also the longest day of the year for those in the south. The end of the world will end on January 1st 4,500,002,012. The sun will finally have aged and neared its lifespan and will grow to beyond the orbit of the earth. Whether our evolved offspring will be around is yet to be seen.

A: Up until your date I agree. It will be on July 11th, 4,500,002,013. Now I think we should go to war against each other because you and I have a different idea on that.

I need some help from some Druids? by Q: Hello! I am doing my textiles GCSE starting from now and ending next year. We were given a design brief about cultures and for mine I choose to study the Druid culture as I find it a very interesting and inspiring world. I hope to design and make a dress inspired by the druid culture to be worn to summer solstice 2012. Not being familiar with this culture at all and not knowing anyone else who is I am a bit stuck as to choosing a client. So this is where I need the help! I need to find a someone that takes part in druidary to help me out a bit. It would involve remaining in contact via email till about this time next year. It would involve being interviewed about the garment that I am making and giving me feedback on my drawings. Preferably female over 20 but anyone with knowledge would be perfect! It would help me out so much and I would be so grateful for any help that I could possibly get! If you have a pointers into which direction to look in for people that will help me that would also be appreciated. Thank you very much Kat

A: From Wikipedia, the free encyclopediaJump to: navigation, search For other uses, see Druid (disambiguation). "Two druids", 19th-century engraving based on a 1719 illustration by Bernard de Montfaucon.[1]Series on Celtic mythology Celtic polytheism Celtic deities (list) Gaelic mythology Irish mythology Scottish mythology Hebridean mythology Tuatha Dé Danann Mythological Cycle Ulster Cycle Fenian Cycle Brythonic mythology British Iron Age religion British mythology Welsh mythology Breton mythology Mabinogion Book of Taliesin Trioedd Ynys Prydein Religious vocations Druids · Bards · Vates Festivals Samhain, Calan Gaeaf Imbolc, Gŵyl Fair Beltane, Calan Mai Lughnasadh, Calan Awst Index of related articles This box: view · talk · edit A druid was a member of the priestly class in Britain, Ireland, and Gaul, and possibly other parts of Celtic western Europe, during the Iron Age. Very little is currently known about the ancient druids as they left no written accounts about themselves, and the only evidence of them are a few descriptions left by Greek and Roman authors, and stories created by later medieval Irish writers.[2] While archaeological evidence has been uncovered pertaining to the religious practices of the Iron Age people, "not one single artefact or image has been unearthed that can undoubtedly be connected with the ancient Druids."[3] Various recurring themes emerge in a number of the Greco-Roman accounts of the druids, including that they performed human sacrifice, believed in a form of reincarnation, and that they held a high position in Gaulish society. Next to nothing is known about their cultic practice, except for the ritual of oak and mistletoe as described by Pliny the Elder. The earliest known reference to the druids dates to 200 BCE, although the oldest actual description comes from the Roman military general Julius Caesar in his Commentarii de Bello Gallico (50s BCE). Later Greco-Roman writers also described the druids, including Cicero,[4] Tacitus[5] and Pliny the Elder.[6] Following the invasion of Gaul by the Roman Empire, druidism was suppressed by the Roman government under the 1st-century emperors Tiberius and Claudius, and it disappeared from the written record by the 2nd century, although there were likely later survivals in the British Isles. Jesus saves. Romans 10:9

In the movie "2012", is the information given by the character played by Woody Harrelson correct? by claptic Q: Just curious... I have heard of the 25,600 year cycle that marks the importance of Dec. 21, 2012 and have even heard that this same event or alignment actually happens 4 times during that period only on spring equinox, summer solstice, fall equinox, then winter solstice respectively. Woody brought a new number or cycle into the picture. He said this event takes place only every 490,000 years (approximately... cannot remember exactly how many years he said). What was he talking about?

A: In 2012 he said there would be an alignment of the planets which only happens every 640,000 years. This is fiction. There will be no such alignment. The 25,800 year precession cycle is also relatively unimportant. All it means is that the Earth's axis is leaning the same way it did 25,800 years ago. It has no effect on anything away from the vicinity of the Earth. The axis, the equinoxes and solstices can line up with stars, galaxies, black holes or the Starship Enterprise and it would mean nothing more than the pen on my desk lining up with the Eiffel Tower.

How do you think our Winter Solstice (Whole days as I like to call them) will be after 2012's summer? by Jung Prada G Q: "On the sun, the solar maximum of Solar Cycle 24 in the 11-year sunspot cycle is forecast to occur. Solar Cycle 24 is regarded to have commenced January 2008, and on average will reach its peak of maximal sunspot activity around 2012. The period between successive solar maxima averages 11 years (the Schwabe cycle), and the previous solar maximum of Solar Cycle 23 occurred in 2000–2002.[14] During the solar maximum the sun's magnetic poles will reverse.[15]" I'm young and haven't experienced (or have been this aware of the psychological impacts of seasonal, cosmic changes) the past Winter Solstices as much as the old folks have...just curious though how the end of this 11-year cycle will be for the winters following (safely assuming that this is a cycle that occurs ad infinitum). Generalized information casts a wider audience (incessant need to marry rituals with empires = culture and science / natural philosophy). Language, as a social construction, needs to be 'laid' out to everyone, so to speak. Anyway, you can check the sources on Wikipedia for more credibility if it is in question. But I trust our democracy, our discourse is continually being pioneered by pioneers. Sir, is the winter solstice before (or after) the Solar max more...contemporary breaking (I guess put in this sense, the most Whole Winter within the past 11 years would be after the Solar Max i.e. December 21st, 2013?)

A: The progress of the 11 year solar cycle is only detectable by scientific instrumentation. It is not apparent to the average person. Therefore, there should be no psychological impact. The next solar maximum is expected in 2013, not 2012: http://solarscience.msfc.nasa.gov/images/ssn_predict_l.gif

Would someone define summer solstice? by Q: Me and my fiance are trying to plan our wedding. He came up with the idea of the day that has the longest daylight. Is this the summer solstice? What day of 2012 stay daylight the longest at night?

A: Being married on the Summer Solstice would mean a June Wedding. The word "solstice" means "sun stands still." Then the direct rays of the sun at local noon have stopped moving north and begins to move back toward the equator. It is the longest day (daylight) of the year. North of the Arctic circle, the sun would shine throughout the normally nighttime hours. In the Northern Hemisphere, summer solstice begins on June 20, 2012 at 7:09 P.M. EDT. This is the official beginning of Summer. There are other phrases that describe the changes in the sun's angle. Winter Solstice: Longest night time. Shortest day time. It is the beginning of Winter. Vernal Equinox. Time at the beginning of Spring when day time and night time are equal length. Autumnal Equinox Time at the beginning of Autumn when day time and night time are equal length.

What is the sunlight difference between the 2011 and 2012 summer solstice? by Q: Will there be more or less sunlight on either day? Also, is there a trend of summer solstices becoming longer or shorter, if just by seconds? Or is it always the same every year? Thanks! I don't mean noticeably different. I mean shorter or longer by a few seconds or whatever.

Images
Videos
Summer Solstice Moved Up Thanks to Leap Year Summer Solstice: The Heat Is On Thousands of people do yoga in Times Square New York to mark summer solstice Summer Solstice 20 June 2012 Summer Solstice 2012 - Tommy Rosen Summer Solstice & World Liberation Meditation 2012 Part II - Solar Eclipse May 20th 2012; Summer Solstice/Astrological Events Summer Solstice June 20 2012 Message from Catalyst Yogi: Summer Solstice 2012 Summer Solstice 2012 Summer Solstice, 2012 New Moon/Summer Solstice~June 19.20 2012~Embrace the Fae Realm & Grandfather Sun Summer Solstice 2012 A Time Without Form A Message from Kia Miller - 3HO Summer Solstice 2012 2012 SUMMER SOLSTICE RETREAT FOR WOMEN A Message from Siri Gian Kaur - Summer Solstice 2012 Summer Solstice 2012 - HD Simrit Kaur Concert Opens Summer Solstice 2012! Summer Solstice Celebration - June 16, 2012 SouLodge Summer Solstice 2012 Alvin Keels Presents Jazz Summer Solstice 2012 Summer Solstice 2012 Feel the Magic Summer Solstice in New Mexico 2012 Panzumo Summer Solstice Ensemble 2012 Promo Video Summer Solstice Angelic Reading 2012 Gemini New Moon June 2012: Summer Solstice Horoscope astrology Summer Solstice June 2012 Alexander Gottwald San Pedro Ceremony 'Recognize the Other' Summer Solstice 2012 class.mov Panzumo Summer Solstice 2012 Invite Stonehenge 2012 Sunrise at 4am - Summer Solstice - 20th - 21st July 2012. June 2012 Summer Solstice Blessings from Ireland Angry Birds Seasons Piglantis Theme (Summer Solstice 2012) (HD) MAXXY PIN - SUMMER SOLSTICE RIDDIM MEGAMIX - JUNE 2012 Stikeman Elliott LLP Barristers & Solicitors Protest Summer Solstice 2012 MAQ06016.MP4 Yoga on the Beach ... Summer Solstice 2012 Fremont summer solstice parade 2012 001.AVI Summer Solstice Riddim Mix [June 2012] Nellz Productions Indiegogo San Pedro Summer Solstice english Stonehenge summer solstice 2012 Summer Solstice Organic Superfood Garden Tour - June 20 2012 Interdimensional cloud shifting. Summer Solstice 2012. TBAG . Summer Solstice Swimsuit Ride 2012 The SUN Huge Solar Flare Up (From January 2012) Happy SUMMER SOLSTICE June 20 Stonehenge Summer Solstice 2012 JEMINEYE - LIVE YOUR LIFE - SUMMER SOLSTICE RIDDIM - NELLZ PRODUCTIONS - JUNE 2012 TAROT READING: SUMMER SOLSTICE, 2012 Summer Solstice 2012.mov FALLOUT FORECAST: 2 ALL AUSPICIOUS SUMMER SOLSTICE 21.06.2012 MARIANO SILVA SUMMER SOLSTICE 2012 PROMO Summer Solstice 2012
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-03 14:37:46