OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Stan Musial
News

Cardinals Hall of Famer Stan Musial Dies at Age 92
Stan Musial, the St. Louis Cardinals star with the corkscrew stance and too many batting records to fit on his Hall of Fame plaque, died Saturday. He was 92. Stan the Man was so revered in St. Louis that he has two statues outside Busch Stadium — one ...

Eye on Photos: The great Stan Musial
Eye on Photos: The great Stan Musial. By Dayn Perry | Blogger. 09:06 PM ET January 19, 2013. The luminous Stan Musial died on Saturday at the age of 92. So let's remember "Baseball's Perfect Knight" with some timeless images .

Cardinals say Hall of Famer Stan Musial dies at the age of 92
... Jan 20, 2013 1:00 AM UTC. Cardinals say Hall of Famer Stan Musial dies at the age of 92. By Associated Press. more. All Share Services. Topics: From the Wires, News. ST. LOUIS (AP) — Cardinals say Hall of Famer Stan Musial dies at the age of 92 ...

Stan 'The Man' Musial Dead At Age 92
Stan Musial, a giant in the St. Louis community and the baseball world for more than half a century, died Saturday at his home in Ladue. "Stan the Man passed peacefully at home at 5:45 pm tonight of natural causes. Life will never be the same without ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

kylieee96 RIP Stan Musial. #StanTheMan

BrettJohnson9 RT @BaseballHall: In memory of Stan Musial. http://t.co/LshvedX5

TJamesJustice RT @PujolsFive: My prayers are with the Musial family tonight. I will cherish my friendship with Stan for a long as I live. Rest in Peace.

BrookeHenson85 RT @mattholliday7: Sad to hear about Stan the Man, it's an honor to wear the same uniform. Prayers to the Musial family

jasoncharette2 @RogerLodge7 stan musial dead at 92

damico2414 RT @NotHawk: I'M NOT SAYING STAN MUSIAL SUCKED, I'M JUST SAYING HE WAS NO RICO PETROCELLI IS ALL.

ndrwpng RT @thejoshhamilton: So sorry to hear about Stan 'the Man' Musial. Prayers for his family #legend

Tony_CortesXIX RT @A_Baseball_Life: Wow the baseball nation lost a great player today! Rest in peace Stan "The Man" Musial. http://t.co/EltD0Udg

JayMcCadams RT @JoeyBats19: Thoughts and prayers with the families of Stan Musial and Earl Weaver, two greats in the @MLB baseball family...

KingDyl2016 RIP Stan "the man" Musial #rip#bestcardinalever#stan#6#theman http://t.co/OX2br6Hp

brady_langdon RIP Stan "The Man" Musial. Great Cardinal and great hero to our city and town. Your records, heart, and impact will always be remembered ...

BKenyonSID RT @espn: 3,630 hits, 24-time All Star, 3 World Series rings … One of the all-time greats. Stan “The Man” Musial -> http://t.co/S7SayRE5

TaylorBonniwell RT @Baseball_Ways: R.I.P Stan The Man Musial.

oakAsfan24 RT @Brava10: Wow, Stan Musial has died. RIP to one of the greats.

cbjackson1 RT @FSMidwest: Baseball lost it's perfect knight with the passing of #STANTHEMAN --> http://t.co/uTsm12S5

Discussions

Who are the most underrated and overrated players of all time? by None1 Q: Who do you think are the most underrated and overrated players in MLB history and why? Go ind depth as possible please. BQ: What are your all-overrated/underrated teams?

A: Most Underrated players in my book are- Tris Speaker, Eddie Collins, Stan Musial, Kid Nichols, Charlie Radbourne, Jim Kaat, Eddie Mathews, Roger Connor, Fergie Jenkins(outside Chicago), Fred McGriff, WIllie Stargell, Chirsty Mathewson and Martin Dhigo. Most Overrated- Whitey Ford, Lou Brock, Mike Schmidt, Will Clark, Dizzy Dean, and most of the Big Red Machine. Overrated Teams- 1976 Reds, 1996 Yankees, 1997 Marlins, 1991 Twins, 1957 Yankees, 2011 Phillies, 1986 Mets. Underrated Teams- 1994 Expos, 1996 Braves, 2000 Diamondbacks, 1906 Giants.

Today Raul Ibanez became the 4th player in MLB to hit 30 doubles 10 years in a row, who are the others? by Frank Q: I heard the stat today but did not here the list of other players that did it, did anybody?

A: Actually, he is the 11th. He is, however, the 4th Philadelphia player to accomplish this, following Delahanty, Speaker, and Abreu. Ed Delahanty (1892-02) Honus Wagner (1899-10) Tris Speaker (16-27) Rogers Hornsby (20-29) Joe Medwick (33-43) Stan Musial (42-44*, 46-58) Manny Ramirez (1996-05) Todd Helton (1998-07) Bobby Abreu (1999-08) Albert Pujols (2001-10) *Did not play 45-46 due to WWII

What major league baseball player had the exact same number of hits home and away? by jwolffy26 Q: I was told there was a baseball player who had the exact same number of hits home and away, I believe they are a famous old player (ala Ruth, Gehrig, etc.), but I can't figure out who. Help me show up a friend!

A: There's probably many who meet that condition, but the best-known is sure to be HOFer Stan Musial. H @home == 1815. H away == 1815. Total hits == 3630.

Why does Stan Musial not have a Yankeeography? by j_fencsak Q: He was a great yankee.

A: Stan played back in the days where players rarely complained or demanded more money, they (the players) were honored to represent a team while management felt blessed to have a superstar in their coterie and a player might actually play his whole career on one team. Musial is as classy an act as it gets. His "marriage" to St. Louis spelled enormous positives for the game.

Where did Stan Musial hit in the '48 Cardinals lineup? by AC Tesla Q: One of the best hitting performances ever, I feel was Musial's 1948 season. More HR's than strikeouts, a .450 obp. & .370something average. I wonder where he hit in the lineup so I can measure the significance of his 131 rbi's. Thanks.

A: I recommend you take a look at http://www.baseball-reference.com It's a great site and has almost everything! Or, simply google "1948 Cardinals lineup" That typically works.

Is Stan Musial the most underrated great player of all time? by Labios de Miel Q: I think he is!

A: Hank Aaron. This is a guy that is only remembered for being "the homerun king" 2300 RBI's (most all time) 3771 hit (if you take away all 755 Home runs, he STILL had 3000 hits) .305 career average 2100+ Runs scored (4th all time) top 10 in the MVP voting 13 times Arguably one of the top 3 players to play and I never hear people bring him up as one the greatest ever. With the said, Stan the Man doesn't get nearly enough respect either. He has numbers that rank up there with anyone. Great player.

How much is a autographed 1960 stan musial 250 topps psa 7 worth? by Kyle Q:

A: PSA/DNA doesn't give a number grade to signed cards. They just authenticate the signature. When you do see a signed card with a number grade, that grade is not for the card, ie, very good, excellent, near mint....it is an assessment of the strength of the signature on a 1-10 scale. A 1960 Topps Musial on a clean, uncreased card with a 7 grade on the signature goes in the $100 ballpark, + or -.

Stan Musial Sports Illustrated article? by Kraus Q: Has anyone read the new Sports Illustrated with Stan Musial on the cover? It has a fantastic article on Stan the Man and how the players today could stand to learn a thing or two from him. I'm a lifelong Cards fan and Stan doesn't get the kind of respect he truly deserves as one of the Greatest baseball players of all-time. He played as hard as he could every day he stepped onto the ball field and was so kind and generous to all of his fans. It's a shame more people don't know more about him.

A: I have not read the article yet but would like to. Stan Musial is easily not only one of baseball's all time greats and a legend, but one of the all time greatest people and a class act. He played hard everyday, never made excuses and put the team first always. He was a great example of how a player should conduct himself both on and off the field. To me he's easily one of the top 10 players in history and a great all round player. Lifetime batting average of .331, 3,630 hits 475 homers, 725 doubles. He is well known for his generosity to fans and of course his friendliness. It seems as though Stan was always smiling and happy. Known for playing "Take Me Out to the Ballgame" on his harmonica during Hall of Fame Ceremonies each year in Cooperstown, New York. Though I'm a Braves fan, I certainly have a ton of respect for one of the greatest baseball players in history, the greatest Cardinal, and one of the greatest gentleman the game has ever known, Stan the Man Musial!

How much is and autographed Stan Musial baseball card worth? by yosemitekyboxers Q: Its a topps certified autograph issue, golden anniversary great

A: I would say this card has to be worth a lot. I estimate this would be $500,000.

How much is ONE baseball autographed by Bob Feller, Dizzy Dean and Stan Musial worth? by peterk Q:

A: that baseball is worth about $537.

Who in your opinion are the classiest players to play in the Major Leagues? by toughguy2 Q: I always thought that Stan "The Man' Musial and Tony Gwynn were very classy.

A: There weren't old school players that didn't have class. Gwynn, Ripken, Molitor, Sandberg, Jeter of recent, but I say as far as today goes Ichiro going to George Sisler's grave to pay respect to an all-time great is a class act!!

Where would these players rank to you? by Revis Island Q: Im asking because they just did top 100 players of all time on espn. I felt some players were overrated and some were underrated. But thats just natural. Ted Williams was #4 which I was surprised at. I knew he'd be top 10 being that he was one of the 2 greatest hitters of all time, but I didnt think he was good enough to be a top 5 player of all time. I would've put musial ahead of him as an overall player. But thats just me. The top 3 to me is simple with Ruth, Mays and Cobb. The rest of the top 10 is up for debate to me and you can put a bunch of different people in the rest of the slots Babe Ruth Willie Mays Stan Musial Barry Bonds(before roids) Arod(off roids) Ken griffey jr Ted Williams Ty Cobb

A: 1. Babe Ruth 2. Willie Mays 3. Barry Bonds 4. Ty Cobb 5. Alex Rodriguez 6. Ted Williams 7. Stan Musial 8. Ken Griffey jr 9. Albert Pujols 10. Lou Gehrig

Who would you rank as the greatest Cardinal in Baseball history ? by hubert c Q: We don't know if Pujols will sign or not, so let's look at the big three how do you rate them ? Hornsby, Musial and Pujols is it a safe play if I name Gibson #4 Ozzie #5 and LaRussa #6 ? I'm a chicken I will rate Hornsby,Musial and Pujols lol 1,1A,1B what your thoughts ?

A: Greatest Cardinal of all was Branch Rickey, the inventor of the farm system. Your question didn't specify player. He oversaw the development of all the early Cardinal's great players. Greatest Cardinal player of all? Slam dunk: Stan Musial. Plus he was a fine person to boot. A real American hero. # 2. Ozzie Smith. The absolute greatest short stop of all the Cardinals and they have had several. # 3. The greatest Cardinal hitter: Rogers Hornsby # 4. The greatest Cardinal pitcher since Dizzy Dean: Bob Gibson. Especially in the post season when it counts most.

Who are some players today that could have played in the 50s? by Joe B Q: The game was much different then,some say better then now(Me included) is there any player that could play along side Stan the Man or Enos Slaughter where they would just run a second baseman on a DP or Drysdale and Koufax throwing at least 8 every game and play through all the injuries? Seems the players were much tougher back then and not wearing all the protection at the plate like they do now.

A: Interesting question, one to which I will take probably a very different view then most people who answer will. While it is difficult to compare players from different because of the differences in the way the game is played, I think that a good number, at least 75%, of the current MLB players could have also played in the 50's. The changes in the game that have come about to protect the game were done to protect the large investment that teams make in a player today. Slaughter, Musial, etc. played in an era when: 1) Players did not make obscene amounts of money, 2) There were very few, if any, multi-year contracts, 3) There was no free agency- a team that owned you owned you until they decided to let you go elsewhere, either by releasing you or trading you. To protect the investment in, lets say A-Rod, the type of baseball that existed then will never exist again. Nobody wants to see a player with a guaranteed $100 million plus contract get hit by a pitch and miss half the season or have his career ended. While I do think that baseball has gone overboard in allowing players to wear protective gear at the plate, while at the same time not allowing a pitcher to back a guy off of it (I think the pitcher should be allowed to hit a batter on the protective gear and have it count as a strike instead of a HBP), they are again, merely protecting their most important assets - the players. I don't necessarily think that wearing protective gear makes you any less tough - if it does, perhaps we should really make it tough and go back to not wearing batting helmets, catcher's masks or gloves. I think that the players of the past would have used these things if they were around - I'm sure that Mickey Cochrane, a Tigers catcher in the 30's whose career was ended after taking a pitch to the head, would have gladly worn a helmet. I think that Ron Hunt, known for getting hit by pitches, would have maybe worn a shinguard at the plate if they had been around then. I don't think that the players were necassiraly tougher in those days - they simply didn't have the equipment available to them. If they had, I'm sure that many would have used it. And I think most of today's players still could play without it if they had played then, simply because they would not know any other way..

How much is and autographed Stan Musial baseball card worth? by yosemitekyboxers Q: Its a topps certified autograph issue, golden anniversary great

A: Go to a reputable sports card dealer to find out it's true worth

Stan Musial had 3630 hits in his major league career. Did he have more hits at home or on the road? by Steve915 Q: Those 3630 still rank as 4th best of all time.

A: Musial's total 3,630 hits were split exactly down the middle - 1,815 at home and 1,815 on the road. But that's probably why you asked the question.

Besides Stan Musial, who is the greatest player to wear the St. Louis Cardinals uniform of all-time? by All You Need = Love Q: wow, chris, you designed your answer so you seemed to know more than you actually do.

A: Bob Gibson wasn't one of the first black pitchers to make it big in the Big Leagues. I love Bob Gibson, but he became big in the early 60s. There had been many other black pitchers to make it big in the Majors by that point. There have been a lot of great players for the Cards and Gibson is definitely their greatest pitcher, but Pujols at this point is the second greatest Cardinal behind Musial. He's got a ways to go to catch Stan the Man though. PS - the guy claiming Edmonds is the greatest behind Musial should be banned from this group. That was embarrassing.

The name "Babe Ruth" makes you think of baseball instantly. How many other names make you think of baseball? by harveymac1336 Q: After the Babe I would include not in any order Joe DiMaggio (when he died he had been out of baseball for 50 years) , Ted Williams, Ty Cobb, Jackie Robinson, Lou Gehrig, Willie Mays, Hank Aaron, Leo Durocher, Stan Musial, Pete Rose, & a few others. The recent crop of sluggers like Mark, Sammy, & Barry will probably not be as memorable in 50 years. I realize that this is a subjective list.

A: JACKIE ROBINSON, SAMMY SOSA, BARRY BONDS, AROD, PETE ROSE, HANK ARRON, JOHNNY BENCH, HONUS WAGNER, CY YOUNG, AND MARK MCGWIRE.

How much would this card be worth?? by white_knight1988 Q: I have a 2001 Stan Musial Topps Autograph golden anniversary card. I was wondering if anyone knows how much it would be worth.

A: Probably not a ton, around $10-$15 would be me limited knowledge guess. He is still alive, and has signed many items so his signature isn't as valuable as some others. Plus a card is not as valuable as a bat or ball. But hold on to it, you never know in a decade or two what could happen.

Who is the greatest player in history of your favorite sports team? by TheRossMan Q: Tennessee Titans - Steve McNair St Louis Cardinals - Stan Musial

A: the most dominate athlete in any sport ever. jack bionda new west minister lacrosse club . british columbia canada . Parliament was closed for one day to watch his skills. funeral services across canada major traffic jams . press did report very accurately that he was the most dominate athlete to ever play any sport. seen this brilliance on the floor as a teammate from age of 16 till his retirement. press release better than orr gretzky bonds griffey a rod ali . the babe. very very accurate. this small city has won 62 major championships. one sport. the city of new york 7 pro sports. 53 combined. what city is the major title holder. city peterbourgh ontario 32 titles. how many for the yankees. of course just a dumb canadian

Who is greater player - Stan Musial or Albert Pujols? by caodancer Q: If Albert finishes his career in St. louis do you think he will be the greatest player in Cardinal history? or do you think he has already bypassed him? I am a huge Stan Musial fan, he is my favorite, but Albert is looking mighty good (great)

A: It's hard to argue that anyone can be better than Stan Musial, but Pujols is putting up some pretty awesome numbers. It's also difficult to compare players from different eras. When Musial played, there were only 16 teams in the major leagues, so there were a lot less mediocre players in the majors. Also, Musial played with a 154 game schedule, so he had 8 less games a year than Pujols has every year. Travel was a lot more difficult in Musial's day. On the other hand, Pujols sees more pitching every game than Musial did. Back then, a starter usually pitched the whole game and they did not bring in setup and closing pitchers like they do today. Bottom line, they're BOTH great players, playing in different times. Who can say who's better? BTW- One of my all time favorite baseball stats: In his career, Stan Musial had 3, 630 hits. He had 1,815 hits playing at home and 1,815 hits playing on the road!

What is the best Baseball book you have read? by Gerry Q: It could be a biography or some other aspect of the game. I just started a book this morning on Honus Wagner entitled "Honus Wagner; A Biography" (1995) by Dennis and Jean DeValeria. Previously I have only read one other Baseball Biography (Stan Musial) and normally enjoy Military History, War, Battles and other related topics going as far back as Agincourt of 1415 (I choose not to go back farther than this battle). BQ: Have any of you here in this section read Ted Williams book entitled "The Science of Hitting"? His biography will be the next out of 5 I intend to read. The specific 5 are: Musial, Wagner, Williams, Gehrig, and Cobb btw. Thanks for your good critical answers in advance! Terrific answers thus far in this section. I have several titles and books now from you good answerers who took this question serious (as i had hoped from a historical perspective). I will keep this opened for a length of time so feel free to update and edit your answers further with more detail if you so wish. The more detail the happier I am. The baseball biographies are providing a good chance for me to "clear the cob webbs" on my normal war/military/history reading. Thank you all again! Just so you all know, the thumbs down are not coming from me. Many great answers here; will keep this opened for several days. thank you all.

A: My favorite fiction: "The Last Days of Summer" by Steve Kluger, an epistolary novel about a fictional NY Giants 3rd baseman and a 12 year old precocious kid in the 1940s. A favorite of mine and the kids as well: http://www.stevekluger.com/LASTDAYS.html This one that I read when I was 12: "The Kid From Tompkinsville" John R Tunis http://www.amazon.com/Kid-Tomkinsville-Odyssey-John-Tunis/dp/0152056416 Non Fiction David Halberstam's "The Summer of '49" A recount of the season from the point of view of the Yankees and Red Sox, a DiMaggio brother on each team, Joe the slugger for the Yankees and Ted Williams for the Red Sox. I gave this to a guy to read and his wife was really hacked off at me because it got him back into the Red Sox: http://www.amazon.com/Summer-49-David-Halberstam/dp/0060884266 "My Luke and I' by Eleanor Gehrig, the story of the Iron Man told from his wife's point of view. Read this book a few times at different times in my life, I never get tired of it: http://www.amazon.com/My-Luke-I-Eleanor-Gehrig/dp/0451078187 Warning: "The Last Days of Summer" and "My Luke and I" made me CRY BA: No I haven't read that book, I did read Ted William's book "My Turn at Bat" which I really enjoyed. He swore a lot.

One of baseballs greatest hitters died today? by Stewie Griffin the Deer Hunter Q: Stan 'the man' Musial died. Why do you think about Stan Musial?

Who is the greatest living ballplayer ? by hubert c Q: I hear it said Willie Mays by experts. This ? got asked 2 years ago what are your thoughts. I was shocked when Ted Williams passed and Mays name came up instead of Stan Musial. I take Stan and Aaron over Mays. At what point do you think players like Bonds, Arod and Pujols enter the debate ? In my mind roids pushes Bonds and Arod out of debate. To be consider greatest living must you be a dinosaur like Mays lol?

A: Hank Aaron is most likely the best baseball player ever. He had the record in most home runs hit until recently Barry Bonds broke it but, the is some questions about Barry using steroids. So i think Hank is the best all-time. With Barry and A-rod I don't think they deserve to be mentioned with them because they illegibly took steroids. Pujols on the other hand does deserve to be mentioned. He is a very good player and has not been convicted of using steroids. We just have to wait and see what happens throughout the rest of his career.

who are the active major league baseball walk-off home run leaders? by Jbird3 Q: I know that David Ortiz has six, and I know the top 12 all-time, only Barry Bonds is among that group with ten. Jimmie Foxx, Stan Musial, Babe Ruth, Frank Robinson and Mickey Mantle are the all-time leaders with 12. But I want to know the current active all-time leaders list.

A: Albert Pujols, monster shot against Astros last year in game 4 NLCS.

Is Albert Pujols in the same category as Stan Musial was? by Los Angeles Q: At the end of Pujols' career, do you think he will finish the same as Musial or better?

A: The potential is there. If he continues at the pace hes at for another 10 years, Id say he is at least as good as Musial, maybe even better.

Too many stars in the Home Run Derby? What do you think? by dudes222 Q: Players like the great Stan Musial never participated in the HRD claiming that it affected their swing. Should big names like Ortiz, Howard, Wright, and Tejada be participating? I think this is fine for Glaus since he only hits for power anyways.

A: They adjust, Tejada won it 2 years ago and he is still ok.... oh yeah Ortiz hits for power, too so does Ryan Howard.

Has this ever occurred to you about the 3 all time hit leaders? by Jack is Lord Q: They all had unorthodox batting stances. Ty Cobb held his hands apart on the bat, and Pete Rose and Stan Musial both batted out of extreme crouches. What are your thoughts, should more players bat like them? If they were so successful, why don't other players do the same thing? I'm a huge Hank Aaron fan, I'm not compiling a list, just giving examples of why others don't use "unorthodox " stances as they have been shown to be successful. My mistake, Aaron is #3 on hit list.

A: Interesting. I think hitters nowadays, go with what makes them comfortable not necessarily what is going to help them with their hitting. Kevin Youkilis has one of the most interesting stances in baseball, and he's obviously a very successful hitter. I don't have an answer of why other players don't do the same stances, but I go back to comfort-ability with that one.

How much would this autographed hat go for? by Brian Sedeyn Q: It's signed by Arnold Palmer, Stan Musial, Wayne Fontes, etc. It's from a 1982 Golf Tournament that Arnold Palmer hosted.

A: best thing to do is check if there is something similar on ebay amazon ect then you can see what price it sells for.

I am looking for a print that is of baseball hall of famers in a locker room. It is titled Reunion? by Maj Q: Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Joe Dimaggio, Ted Williams, Mickey Mantle, Stan Musial, Jackie Robinson and others are in the lockerroom in this print. I do not have the name of the author. I saw this print at my Pastors house and never anywhere else. He has moved away and the last time I talked to him he was going to get the painters name. I think he had a print so I am thinking it is a limited edition.

A: it's at cooperstown new york in the hall of fame

How much is a bat signed by MANY HOF players worth, authenticated by JSA? by James Q: It contains many HOF players, notables including Ted Williams, Warren Spahn, Duke Snider, Nolan Ryan, Catfish Hunter, Yogi Berra, Sandy Koufax, Ernie Banks, Willie Stargell, Whitey Ford, Cool Papa Bell, Pete Rose, Hank Aaron, Yaz, Stan Musial, Pee Wee Reese and many more.

A: ted williams autograph is around $350 Warren Spahn is probably $50 Duke Snider i'd say $50 Nolan Ryan atleast $200+ Catfish Hunter $ 85-100 Yogi Berra $ 100 Sandy Koufax $65-75 Ernie Banks$50 Willie Stargell $50 Whitey ford$85 Cool papa Bell$45 Pete rose$90 Hand Aaron$200+ Yaz$120 Stan Musial $75 Pee wee reese$ 50 i actually have some of their autographs including yaz rose berra nolan ryan those are the prices i bought them for i also researched the rest and once authenticated add about 100-200 more and plus the price of the bat if you add up all prices of an autograph it adds up to $1680 add about 150 for authentication and the price of the bat get a nice case and add a little bit more for the others on there and alot of collectors are going to want that bat bad so i would say you could probably sell it anywhere between $2500-$3000 even more if the collector wants it enough hope that helped

How much would a baseball signed by 5 St. Louis Cardinals HOFs sell for? by WDH Q: I have a baseball signed by Lou Brock, Stan Musial, Jack Buck, Ozzie Smith, and Whitey Herzog. I don't plan on selling it any time soon but Im just curious on how much I could get for it. Thanks

A: It's really hard to say without seeing it. There are many variables to consider; condition, provenance, era of the ball, etc. Then, ironically, much of the time multi-signed balls actually DECREASE the value because they are harder to display and often have smudges from being handled too much. Musial is a pretty prolific signer, so there are tons of his autographs out there. Lots of Brock, too. Buck is one you don't see a lot. Anyway, if everything is in order and the ball is pristine, a good starting point would be the $250-$350 range,

Why do questions about English Soccer get answers more appropriate to US Baseball? by the_nana_jackson Q: English Soccer .. asked who was Stan the Man .. answers were appropriate to US Baseball .. Stan Musial? English Soccer? Surely everyone knows that was Stanley Matthews .. or was that before the time of these youngsters answering questions?

A: I think most football fans would of heard of SIR...Stanley Matthews but I'd say it's definitely before our time for a lot of us. I remember being told of his existence while a school boy but I only learnt of the mans career when he died I think in 2000. I'll have to check on that date, but I remember watching a special on him on foxtel(australia) and one thing i'll never forget is he was, and still is to this date the only footballer ever to be knighted whilst still playing football. My father always used to ridicule me as a youngster when I thought Ryan Giggs was one of the greatest dribblers of all time,before that my opinion was John Barnes and I would always be corrected by him saying "Ever heard of 'The Magician' or 'The Wizard of Dribble'?" (Don't know if it was wizard or King, am I right?) and even now when I mention Teddy Sheringham being 41, once again the comeback was that he played into his 50's. Not many young people would know a lot about him but needless to say he should be used as a benchmark for all the budding footballers of tomorrow. To answer your Q. and I'm ashamed I didn't know this....Stan the Man? I did not know that was another nickname. Sir Stan i remember though.

What baseball player tore his sleeves? by LEFTY/RIGHTY 25 Q: Does anybody know the baseball player who tore his sleeves because his arms were to big? I think he played for the Washington Senators or the Reds. It was probably during the Stan Musial era I think. If you have any clue I would appreciate it. I saw him last night on Fox Sports Midwest. I think it was baseball golden years.

A: It was Ted Kluszwski. Here's a photo: http://www.crosley-field.com/images/big18.jpg

How much money could I get if I sold my autographed Mickey Mantle, Yogi Berra, Reggi Jackson, Stan Musial? by strizzy132000 Q: I have a autographed Mickey Mantle, Yogi Berra, Reggi Jackson, Stan musial and the entire 1995 New york Yankees team baseball and I wondering if anyone knows how much money I could get for them?

A: i think mickey by its self is worth like 300 then u add on every other guy so idd say maybe around 1000 to 1500 if ball is in good shape and u have a picture or something to prove they signed it

Who do you think is the Greatest player of all time from your favorite team? by Eddie- Cards all day Sun-Sat 12AM-12AM Q: I'm a Cards fan so Its either Stan Musial or Ozzie Smith how about you?

A: It's hard to choose between Joe Morgan, Pete Rose, Johnny Bench, George Foster, and Tony Perez, but I think I have to go with the great Pete Rose. The guy may be a jerk but it's hard to argue with his numbers. I'd follow him up putting Johnny Bench, the guy most people consider the greatest catcher of all time, in as a very close second. @ Kieran Lance - KEN GRIFFEY JR! The greatest home run hitter of his era. The only other person I'd consider would be Randy Johnson. Ichiro is great but he's no Griffey.

Looking for value and year of this Cardinal team signed Baseball? by Cass Q: These are the names I can make out on it Stan Musial is real clear . Its got Nippy Jones, Cliff Chambers, Max Lanier, Chuck Diering ,Solly Hemus, Del Rice, Marty Marion,Vern Benson are the ones I can make out . Any idea exact year they all played together and what you think value would be on this ? I'm thinking in between the years 1949-1956?

A: I did some research just now and I can tell you that the ball is definitly from 1951 because Marty Marion last season was in 1951 and then was traded to the browns and Cliff Chambers joined the team in 1951. Also if the ball is not real dirty and names are clear it could be worth thousands but if its the opposite then its probably worth a hundred or two hundred if your lucky.

Can players on a minor league team wear retired numbers of its MLB affiliate? by illiniman14 Q: Just one example- could any player on the Memphis Redbirds (St. Louis' AAA affiliate) wear #6 or is that prohibited because St. Louis retired it for Stan Musial?

A: Yes. They are separate entities. Many minor league teams retire numbers of their own. For example the Trenton Thunder have Tony Clark's and Nomar Garciaparra's numbers retired from the days when they were affiliated with the Tigers and Red Sox even though they are affiliated with the Yankees now...

How much is my baseball signed by the 1948 St. Louis Cardinals worth? by stan Q: It was signed on 8-28-1948 with a big stan musial autograph on the front. Is there anyway I could get the certificate now? If so where and how much. Since you belive me will anyone want to buy it, I'll make a good price. I need money to buy myself a mac mini.

A: if it has a certificate of authenticity then it is worth quite a bit because it has stan musial and Red Schoendienst on it. If you find the right collector they may be willing to pay several hundred for it, but without the certificate it could just be one of the thousands of balls that are printed and sold for $5

How many players can you name that played for one franchise for more than 15 years? by toughguy2 Q: Mickey Mantle, Al Kaline, Ty Cobb, Stan Musial are a few I can think of. Any more?

A: Brooks Robinson played all 23 seasons of his career with the Baltimore Orioles. Carl Yastrzemski also played all 23 seasons of his career with the Boston Red Sox. Mel Ott played 22 seasons with the New York Giants. Cap Anson played 22 seasons with the Chicago White Stockings/Colts. Hank Aaron played 21 seasons with the Milwaukee/Atlanta Braves. Robin Yount played 20 seasons with the Milwaukee Brewers. Willie Mays played 21 seasons with the New York/San Francisco Giants. Cal Ripken played 21 seasons with the Baltimore Orioles. Craig Biggio played 20 seasons with the Houston Astros. Pete Rose played 19 seasons with the Cincinnati Reds. Honus Wagner played 21 seasons with the Pittsburgh Pirates. Edit: Nope, there is also the great George Brett who played all 21 seasons in his career with the Kansas City Royals. Tony Perez played 16 seasons with the Reds. Lou Brock played 16 seasons with the Cardinals. Willie McCovery played 19 seasons with the Giants. Dwight Evans played 19 seasons with the Red Sox. Ernie Banks played 19 seasons with the Cubs. Tony Gwynn played 20 seasons with the Padres. There are some more I bet. Yes. Billy Williams played 16 years with the Cubs. Harmon Kilebrew played 21 seasons with the Washington Senators?Minnesota Twins. And how did I missed this one? Derek Jeter has currently played 17 seasons with the Yankees. CAN'T believe Derek has played that long. Time flies by fast. Mike Schmidt played all 18 seasons with the Phillies. Chipper Jones has currently played with the Braves for 18 seasons. Remember, he started in 1993 but missed the entire 1994 season with due to injuries.Willie Stargell played 21 seasons with the Pirates. Luke Appling played 20 seasons with the White Sox. Roberto Clemente played 18 seasons with the Pirates. Edit: Here are some more. Frank Thomas played 16 seasons with the White Sox. Alan Trammell played 20 seasons with the Tigers. Barry Larkins played 19 seasons with the Reds. Ted Williams played 19 seasons with the Red Sox. Lou Whitaker played 19 seasons with the Tigers. Frank White played 18 seasons with the Royals. Charlie Gehringer played 19 seasons with the Tigers. Mark Grace played 16 seasons with the Cubs. Edit: I'm tired already.

If you could have dinner with any baseball player past or present, who would it be and why? by Josh Q: Mine would have to be Stan Musial. Because he is one of the classiest players to ever grace the baseball field. And he was always a gentleman on and off the field.

A: i would pick roberto clemente. he was arguibly the best player of all time, died during the peak of his career, and was an amazing humanitarian. a great role model for everybody

Where did this autographed baseball come from? by bobspizza Q: Back in the mid to late 80s, my mom bought an autographed baseball off of a shopping channel. It wasn't QVC because this pre-dates QVC. It had 4 signatures on it. Willie Mays, Willie Stargell, Duke Snyder, and Stan Musial. Can anyone tell me what channel this might have come from? I'd like to get the ball authenticated.

A: Snider the channel will not authenticate the ball. take it to a dealer for that. it probably is legit. it had 4 signatures on it. does it still have 4 signatures on it?

How much is this baseball memorbelia worth? by thelongestday41 Q: How much is thie baseball memorbelia worth? An original signed Ted Williams baseball? An original picture of Stan Musial and Ted Williams shaking hands while looking at eachother its in black and white color?

A: The autographed ball could be worth quite a bit, however, you will have to get it authenticated by a grading house. Also depends on the condition of the ball and the signature. When it comes to memorabilia, it gets more difficult once you move away from the cards industry. Balls, bats, jerseys, photos, etc. need to have COA's (Certificate of Authenticity). It is the buyer's only protection against counterfeit memorabilia.

How much does a Cardinals signed baseball worth? by paullie24 Q: how much would a red cardinals signed baseball worth, its signed by Red Schoendienst, Ozzie Smith, Stan Musial, and Lou Brock. I have it in a case and it says to Hall of famers From the cameron group on the case.

A: My guess is $350-$550.

How much is a signed baseball? by j.casey95 Q: Its a Stan Musial Baseball. How much is it worth?

A: It depends on what someone is willing to pay for it. But probably the price range is $80-$190.

How much would a baseball signed by 5 hall of famers be worth? by Mike Q: I have a ball signed by Red Schoendienst, Lou Brock, Enos Slaughter, Stan Musial, and Bob Gibson, and I would like to find out its how much its worth, can anyone help?

A: First, less than five balls signed individually. Group signatures are worth less. Second it depends on the condition of the ball and the signatures. Not o mention if they're legit or not.

What player in baseball history best resembles Albert Pujols? by Connor Q: Personally, I think Stan Musial does. I think his numbers are similar to the way Pujols plays ball, he's also a good fielder and likeable, and the fact that they both playe(d) for the Cardinals is just a bonus. What do you think? Jimmie Foxx also compares pretty well. Berkman's played longer than Pujols. Use the tool that compares players up to age 28. That's where Foxx ranks number one. But, these scores aren't always accurate, as we also count personality, body, and other things.

A: Lou Gehrig was the first player that came to mind - hit for average, power and produced a lot of runs, and both played first base. Musial is an ok comparison but he wasn't quite the power hitter that Pujols and Gehrig were/are. (Don't get me wrong - 475 HR is still great, but Gehrig hit 493 in five fewer seasons, Pujols already has 320something in just over eight seasons) Personality-wise, I think there are several Pujols-esque players - again Gehrig, Musial fits, Ernie Banks, Hank Aaron...basically any player who has had a great attitude, respected his opponents and played the game "the right way" Foxx faded quite rapidly from his peak, barring injury I expect Pujols to be excellent until he's 33-35, and then still be very good 35-40, and perhaps DHing for a couple of years at the end.

What do you think is the most ridiculous voting percentage for first ballot votes for the HOF? by Q: In other words, someone's first time on the ballot, what vote percentage surprised you? Stan Musial 93.2% Really, who are the 6.8% of morons who didn't think Stan Musial was a first balloter? Mays 94.7% Really? Why were these guys not at 99% at the minimum? Ridiculous. Also the fact Lou Whitaker didn't get enough votes to remain on the ballot still boggles my mind.

A: I'd have to go with Mays, it should have been unanimous... Same with Musial.

Who should my favorite player be: Stan Musial or Manny Ramirez? by A Dog Doo Snow Cone Q: I can't decide between the two. I'm entering my freshman year in high school and I want a favorite player to be like. I know it is weird to like Stan Musial because he is WAY past my generation, but he is a good player. Manny is a good player but has bad attitude. I grew up watching him in Boston and he was great. Based on these facts, who would you say? P.S.: Should I get my number 6 for Musial, or just 15 because it is my birthday.

A: You should pass on Stan because you can't cheer for him now. I'm not sure Manny with his club house antics and recent steroid suspension is the best of roll models to cheer for. Are there any other young players that you could follow through his career and cheer for?

How good would the cardinals have been if they would have kept Mize, Musial, and Slaughter all together? by sports.fan24 Q: How good would the Cardinals have been if they would have kept Johny Mize, Stan Musial, and Enos Slaughter all together all throughout the 40s and 50s? How many more world series would they have won?

A: my guess would be atleast 4 if not more .

Images
Videos
Remembering Stan Musial Biographer Vecsey Remembers Stan Musial Stan Musial Here and Now: Stan Musial's Final Time At The Plate Baseball Hall of Fame - Interview: Stan Musial What's my Line? Stan Musial Charlie Rose - Bob Costas & Tim McCarver Hall Of Famer Stan Musial Dies At Age 92 Stan Musial plays 'Take Me Out to the Ballgame' 1997 Stan Musial hits 4 straight home runs at 41 on July 8 STAN MUSIAL.AVI RIP Stan the Man Musial Musial and Russell Honored at White House Stan Musial: Stan The Man (St. Louis Stan)sung by Dennis Massa Stan Musial, Mickey Mantle, Yogi Berra and others... Crow News: Hall Of Famer And Cardinals Legend Stan Musial Dies At 92! Stan Musial dies at 92 Stan Musial Dies at 92 years old Remembering Stan Musial and Earl Weaver Tribute to stan musial and earl weaver Jack Buck on Stan Musial Rest In Peace - 'Stan the Man' Musial 1920-2013 Michael Jordan to the Max (part 1) Michael Jordan to the Max (part 2) Stan the Man Michael Jordan to the Max (part 3) Michael Jordan To The Max (2000) Stan 'The Man' Musial 2010 Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipient - Stan Musial Topps series 2 Jumbo pack Amazing pack Hank Conger 1\1 HIT!!!!!! Part 2 Washington, DC: Stan Musial's Medal of Freedom Michael Jordan To the Max sub Español 1/4 Michael Jordan To the Max sub Español 2/4 Michael Jordan To the Max sub Español 3/4 Stan Musial footage.mp4 Heritage Auctions (HA.com) -- #7057 Sports Collectibles - Platinum Night feat. the Black Swamp Find Baseball Hall of Fame - Biographies: Stan Musial My Top 10 MLB Hitters of All Time(Response to MrKellstar) Stan Musial plays 'Take Me Out to the Ballgame' Stand for Stan Musial Thatcher Harrison: 'Willie, Mickey, and the Duke (Talkin' Baseball)' 2012 TOPPS MUSEUM COLLECTION Box Break ◆TIM LINCECUM 1/1 MLB logo PATCH wow(●^o^●) 30 Teams|30 Wins: St. Louis Cardinals Midsummer Classics (1955) High End For Trade/For Sale Video-Musial, Berra, Pujols, Jeter, Profar, Gonzalez, Ryan, more! Stan Musial Getting His World Series Ring Stan Musial at Opening Day 2008 The Top Ten Greatest MLB players of All Time Onyx Icons Group Case Break Announcement St. Louis Mayor Francis Slay on Stan Musial
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-06 22:49:15