OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Spacex
News

Space X completes first Dragon capsule crew cabin demonstration
SpaceX is working on the testing of its capsule as it prepares to become the first private spacecraft to dock with the ISS. During the testing of its capsule, called the Dragon spacecraft, SpaceX has announced another milestone has been met.

SpaceX could fuel Brownsville economy
By LAURA B. MARTINEZ/The Brownsville Herald When Pat Bellovary found a flier in his mailbox about a proposed SpaceX project, he had no idea what it was about. Bellovary, who is from Wisconsin but has a second home at Boca Chica Village, learned that ...

Coverage Set for NASA/SpaceX Launch and Mission to Space Station
CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla., April 16, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Following the completion of NASA's flight readiness review, the second SpaceX demonstration launch for NASA's Commercial Orbital Transportation Services (COTS) program is scheduled for ...

SpaceX considering a new 'Commercial Cape Canaveral' in Texas
By Dave Klingler | Published April 10, 2012 9:30 AM SpaceX has filed a notice of intent with the FAA, indicating it wants to conduct an Environmental Impact Study for the construction of a new spaceport in Cameron County, Texas, on the Gulf and very ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

RomanJenks #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:59:29 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/X95fGQoS

Gordon_Walton SpaceX's Proposed Texas Launch Site To Be Studied http://t.co/2OBW8OFP

AugustinaFry #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:59:19 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/Wzh7C2lA

BulaDever #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:59:08 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/0Co4sAUV

DeangeloPender #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:59:03 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/YUeB8GDi

SujitsuRaman #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:59:02 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/pNiNFnrL

AhmadKeenum #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:58:57 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/IEN1WR80

AamirTariq1 #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:58:57 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/LygWhuaD

CelestinePanta #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:58:57 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/TtrqsDSD

FidelCrochet #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:58:54 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/tOrHvzbu

MaximoKrahn #newbedon 4/17/2012 4:58:53 PM SpaceX Dragon Is Cleared For Departure To The International Space Station http://t.co/lbiiwEp3

claryokssyble RT @changzone: NASA deems SpaceX Dragon worthy of the ISS locks in April 30th launch date http:tco2Ed88J5M in Cant wait

woolleymwmaxima RT @Flavio58: NASA: 2012 SpaceX launch to International Space Station ISS on Monday April 30 http:tcovvgae7Ai

phoo 'Good chance' for SpaceX April 30 launch to ISS http://t.co/KHCG0MoF #NASA #ISS #SpaceX #science #engineering

theriotrwvalrie RT @changzone: NASA deems SpaceX Dragon worthy of the ISS locks in April 30th launch date http:tco2Ed88J5M in Cant wait

Discussions

Is Commercial Space Flight in its prime time or should NASA give it other 5years? by Q: From what I understand ( reading here ) Virgin Galactic and SpaceX is in service now and in it's prime time but the Dream Chaser ,Blue Origin,New Shepard is other 10 to 15 years out . And no one knows if they can pull it off and the Dream Chaser ,Blue Origin,New Shepard will be canceled do to lack of money or engineering problems. The other 40 or so competitors from what I understand are 15 to 20 years out and probably 90% of them will lack money or have engineering problems and get canceled . What is your thought on this. I gusess Virgin Galactic and SpaceX is the only one in its prime time than the Dream Chaser ,Blue Origin,New Shepard is other 10 to 15 years out .

A: None of them are in what I would even remotely call a "prime." Commercial spaceflight is in its infancy, and spaceflight period still has a long way to go in terms of consistently getting humans out of LEO. Edit: Why the hell do you keep spamming these questions?

What private businesses working on space flight? by Rob Q: What private businesses are working on space flight other than SpaceShipOne/SpaceShipTwo that is a spaceplane, SpaceShipOne is an experimental air-launched suborbital spaceplane that uses a hybrid rocket motor.. And SpaceX reusable launch vehicles - the Falcon 1 and Falcon 9 - and the Dragon series of space capsules. SpaceX designs, tests and fabricates .. Who are working on Single-stage-to-orbit SSTO ? Any countries or private businesses workin on it ? Was Bigelow not working on some thing ..

A: Bigelow is working on inflatable structures to build a private space station. But he is contracting with others, including Space-X, to launch his modules. Armadillo Aerospace is still working on their vehicles but they are not even ready for suborbital flights yet, and don't seem like they will be any time soon. They would not be SSTO anyway.

Planetary Geology useful outside of NASA? by Cade Q: Hello I am really interested in planetary geology. I was wondering if it was practical or worth the investment right now. It seems the only use of the field is through NASA and their experiments such as the Mars robots and other planetary/moon science labs. Is this field exclusively to NASA? I realize companies like SpaceX are starting to rise up now. Do you think this field will become more open in the time it would take to gain enough experience? I know if I did Geology the study of Earth I'd be fine but I want to study other planets and moons also not just Earth. i like learning about how the different moons and plants in space work, some shoot ice out of the ground others have oceans underground. I do not want it to be a hobby, hobby won't get the bills paid. (not that I'm in it only for money) So could you please tell me how you see this issue being used in the near future and if I should try this or something else that could possibly be similar. Thanks. Yes I realized that from a young age (not sure why grown adults can't still) ..but anyways Planetary Geology deals with other bodies in space besides our own. I was just wondering if it was worth investing in now (20 years old) because of it's limited expansion and use. anyone else?

A: Hi. The study of the environment is very topical at this point in time. Understand this and you will be ahead of the curve as far as most people do not really grasp the consequences.

I want to go into outer space...do you think this is possible? by Nikita Q: Yeah yeah, I know the space shuttle program was shut down but there are still a great number of private companies like SpaceX who build spacecrafts and will take people there (for a lot of $$$). Of course, I don't have that kind of money and I don't know if I ever will. But my dream is and always has been to explore space. Not exactly as an astronaut, I don't want to do missions. I just want to see it all for myself. Do you think this will be possible for me within my lifetime, considering how fast technology seems to evolve? There is also the possibility of achieving immortality by merging man with machine, as Ray Kurzweil talk about so that even if we don't have the means to go to space, we will be around when we do.

A: yes hons go too nasa in florida and book a roicket hons. good luck.

Why would you want to privatize NASA? by Q: Why would you want to do that? Yes it would make space travel less expensive, but it would make that company more like business then science. It would take away the true value of science this company gave and help to modernize this civilization, this nation. Why you want to see a decrease in science and technology? Would you want to see more Aerospace companies do more business and less research? Yes, SpaceX and other companies is a private company and makes a lot of money, but it does very little in the name of science. What do you think? Do you think we should make Space Exploration companies private? Or do you want to keep the prue science America has always hold and not true all Space travel companies into business scams?

A: Privatizing NASA would be a terrible idea. First, there's an old adage that you don't fix something if it isn't broken, and NASA's successes are well-documented. The agency has set the standards for technological advancement, safety, and overall performance. Could the private sector do better? Look at all the graft and corruption surrounding the no-bid contracts for the Iraq War, and you have the answer. Second, it's not clear that the private sector could do the job cheaper - just because the right-wing pro-privatization crowd keeps repeating it doesn't make it true. On many such projects, like for-profit prisons, or FNMA, where the private sector has failed to constrain costs. They're in business to make money, and they tend to exceed their estimates on virtually all the contracts they're awarded. Finally, the issue of "pure" science must be considered - just look at how the oil companies bought off academic researchers to protect their business interests, with respect to global warming and then the Gulf Oil Spill. Nothing pure about that. For enough money, you can get a scientist to claim anything you want him to say.

NASA's new Constellation program has been canceled? by SpaceBoy360* Q: I have just heard that NASA's new constellation program which features the Ares I, Ares V, and the Orion capsule have been canceled as for the reason of which the run on the same type of technology as the space shuttles, which as we know is very expansive. So what NASA is going to do next is to develop new type of technologies, new type of space vehicles, that will for example be able to refuel while in space, or even use beaming up energy from the ground to the space vehicle and so on. And NASA will depend on private space companies such as SpaceX. But with the cancellation of the constellation program many questions arise, on of them is, how much longer will it take NASA to develop those new vehicles? Will NASA return to the moon at 2020? And so on. The reason of which NASA came up with the constellation program at the beginning was that it basically featured features from the space shuttle and the Saturn V rocket, and so there would have been nothing really new, and thus it will save a lot of time. But now, it might take them like ten years to just develop a new type of vehicle. And by the way, I have just heard that the space shuttles will actually be held at public museums around the nation after they retire. So now the space shuttles are going to retire, plus the constellation program has been canceled. So where exactly are we at?

A: Interesting and they just have to cancel it after the International Year of Astronomy. Go to Universe Today, they have a few articles about this already. The future of astronomy in this stupid world is bleak! Clear skies!

What spacecrafts would carry people into space over the next 3 years once the space shuttle retires? by [email protected] Q: The United States space agency is planning on retiring the space shuttle in 2011. What space craft or space ships would carry humans into orbit, to space stations or into deep space over the next 3 years? The ones that I know of that *might* do it include: Virgin Galactic SpaceShipTwo (United States) SpaceX Dragon (United States) Boeing CST-100 (United States) Planetspace Silverdart (United States) Automated Transfer Vehicle (European Space Agency) Shenzhou (China) Soyuz TMA (Russia) It would be nice if you can add details of the spacecraft that will be in active service over the next few years. Things like crew capacity, number of cabins that astronnauts / cosmonauts / taikonauts can inhabit, type of lift off from Earth, docking ability, whether the space craft is reuseable, etc would be appreciated.

A: Certainly nothing at NASA since it's been gutted.

Obama wants to use private sector rockets for space program - socialist or capitalist action? by sweet_emotion Q: WASHINGTON – A high-tech entrepreneur unveiled plans Tuesday to launch the world's most powerful rocket since man went to the moon. Space Exploration Technology has already sent the first private rocket and capsule into Earth's orbit as a commercial venture. It is now planning a rocket that could lift twice as much cargo into orbit as the soon-to-be-retired space shuttle. The first launch is slotted for 2013 from California with follow-up launches from Cape Canaveral in Florida. Space X's new rocket called Falcon Heavy is big enough to send cargo or even people out of Earth's orbit to the moon, an asteroid or Mars. Only the long retired Saturn V rocket that sent men to the moon was bigger. Space X: http://www.spacex.com/ Lambright said. Obama has been battling some in Congress over his plans to use more private space companies, like Space X, for getting people to orbit with NASA concentrating on missions to send astronauts to new places, such as nearby asteroids. Several companies are vying to launch private rockets that could replace the shuttle. http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20110406/ap_on_sc/us_sci_space_x_rocket

A: Capitalist.

Physics help! Can someone Please help me!? by Q: I only need help with 'C)' but I typed out all of it just in case you needed/wanted to see the whole question. I have DO have the answers for A) and B), I'm 99% sure they are correct. I don't understand 'C)' as well as I don't know what a Perigee is. If you can show all your work! (don't mean to sound like a teacher, just so that I can understand what is happening!) I'm fairly competent at physics and math so if you happen to skip easy steps that's fine with me. SpaceX is developing the Dragon spacecraft that will take cargo (and eventually people to the Internation Space Station and back. The Dragon uses thrusters called Draco with an ISP of 270s. Total thrust for all motors is 1600N. A)How fast is the fuel being thrown out the back of the engine? how much fuel is used each second? B) After undocking from the station the Dragon capsule wants a delta V of 75 m/s. If the Dragon capsule has a mass of 10 Tonnes, how long must the engines be turned on to do the required delta V? How much fuel will the engines use? What would hte benefit be if the ISP was 300s instead? To find final mass use the equation deltaV=Vexhaust * ln(Final mass/Initial mass) C) If the space station was in a 400km high circular orbit and the delta V is used to slow down the capsule, what is the Velocity of the capsule after the burn? What is the capsules new Semi major axis? What is the eccentricity of its orbit and its altitude at the new Perigee? Thanks!

A: I don't know how to figure out the new elliptical orbit; the reason why it develops is that if you just slow down the capsule, it no longer has enough centrifugal force to balance the gravitational force, so it must fall ... but it doesn't just fall straight down, it falls while moving forward. I think if the delta-V happened VERY VERY slowly, the orbit would remain nearly circular. So the eccentricity of the new orbit must in some way involve the short time that the thrusters were slowing it down. My only real contribution is: the "perigee" is the point where the capsule is nearest the earth. Probably at one end of the ellipse, since it's likely that the center of the earth is at one focus of the ellipse.

What do you think of the story of which I have wrote - "The Ultimate Space Shuttle Mission"? by SpaceBoy360* Q: The Ultimate Space Shuttle Mission At the beginning of the 21st century, a new era of space exploration has begun with the construction and development of the International Space Station. The construction of the station lasted for ten years, and for all that time, it was in the Lower Earth Orbit, which basically accommodated the full purpose of its designation. Now is the year of 2025, and the station is still operational, even though that it was supposed to get terminated five years ago. The space shuttles haven’t been operational for 15 years by now, and Americans are still relying on the Russian Soyuz spacecraft, which is 65 years old, to get to and from the International Space Station. By now, America has no longer the lead in the space program, so do the other countries. I have been waiting and waiting for a breakthrough in the space program for quite some time now, but for my disappointment, nothing new is going on. Seven more years have past, and the year is 2032. I will remember that year for as long as I will live, and so will every living human being on Earth. From out of nowhere, NASA announces a manned mission to Mars! The only thing that came to my mind was that, “Are they crazy, they haven’t left the LEO for 60 years, and now they are planning on to going to Mars?” But apparently, that wasn’t a rumor. NASA, together with a private space company called SpaceX, are planning to design and construct a Martian Space Shuttle, that will consist of six crew members, a cargo bay, and some well developed thrusters. But unlike the previous space shuttles, the Martian Space Shuttle has a much better developed design, engines, reliability, and a whole lot more. NASA’s plan is to use the space station as a thruster to accommodate and propel the Martian Space Shuttle to and from Mars. Additional boosters and fuel will be attached to the space station, and NASA promises the completion of the assembly of that program by 2038. The first manned mission to Mars is scheduled for the year of 2038, and will last for four and a half years. Well, apparently my story ends here, and all that remains is for us to live and see of what will humanity achieve in the future of space exploration. ............................................................................................................................ Please tell me of what do you think of my story from both a scientific point of view and from a fictional / futuristic point of view? Thanks.

A: fictional: I think you are just ranting around. Bad writing, no story telling. scientifically: You are extrapolating already from a flawed model of the current reality, so your results will be very likely very far off. Also, the ISS is a very bad Martian spacecraft, since it is a) designed completely for LEO, especially the power system and b) very very old in 2032. It will be a piece of junk already in 2020, if things are running good. There is no reason to assume the Russian base modules will look better in 2020 than the space station Mir in 2000. Also, what would you think about a world like described in the classic science fiction novel 2001: It has no NASA at all. The spacecraft there are operated by companies like Pan-Am. Maybe write about a world where NASA was not allowed to cancel Constellation. Always working on it, without any real progress, with the Ares V launch mass growing exponentially over the years, and money being wasted on building bigger and bigger infrastructure on Earth for building and testing the bigger and bigger Ares V... With the old budget plans, the first moon landing of Constellation would have maybe happened in 2040. The estimate of the launch mass of the Ares V by Von Brauns methods is still 20% higher than the final iteration.

Is Commercial Space Flight in its prime time or should NASA give it other 5years? by Q: From what I understand ( reading here ) Virgin Galactic and SpaceX is in service now and in it's prime time but the Dream Chaser ,Blue Origin,New Shepard is other 10 to 15 years out . And no one knows if they can pull it off and the Dream Chaser ,Blue Origin,New Shepard will be canceled do to lack of money or engineering problems. The other 40 or so competitors from what I understand are 15 to 20 years out and probably 90% of them will lack money or have engineering problems and get canceled . What is your thought on this. I gusess Virgin Galactic and SpaceX is the only one in its prime time than the Dream Chaser ,Blue Origin,New Shepard is other 10 to 15 years out .

A: I think that commercial space flight is in it's infancy right now. The tickets are rediculously expensive (200,000$) for virgin galactic. It was predicted that in 10 years the price will drop to 20,000$. Either way when Im an adult I'm going into space regardless of the price because I want to visit space once before I die!

Constellation vs COTS? by f_valyn Q: Most people, when they talk about a shuttle replacement, refer to Constellation. However, its just as plausable to talk about SpaceX's Dragon, or the K-1, since they are part of the COTS program. Why is that? Furthermore, which do you think will fly first - Constellation and Orion, Dragon and Falcon 9, or the K-1

A: mostly a holdover from the days when we used to trust NASA. it was inconceivable that a private company could launch a 'Vulture 1' and compete with the US government. now, its not so certain. both the dragon and k-1 look viable, and the current space program needs them... but i want to withhold judgement until i see either docking at the ISS.

Space X COTS 1, Falcon 2? by mikedelta Q: Did spacex recover the reusable falcon 9 1st stage? and if so what are the requirements and cost entailed in readying it for its next flight? i meant COTS !, Falcon9 flight 2.

A: No, they did not recover the first stage. But they gathered more data from this attempt and Elon is confident they can recover one in the next year or two.

is NASA shutting down? by theone Q: is it correct that NASA only has funding for one more shuttle mission, development of deep space capsule and rocket, and ISS life extension to 2020? is future employment of engineers with space contractors, like SpaceX, Virgin Galactic, etc? will NASA still develop scientific missions?

A: The Shuttle needs to be retired due to fatigue, or heavily modernized. If ISS is modernized, then Russian boosters may be the answer. It seems to me that Obama-NASA believes that the private sector now has enough economic motives to take over the space program, but this probably means that science projects will fit on ISS, or be trivial.

Will NASA Be Shutting Down? by Q: is it correct that NASA only has funding for one more shuttle mission, development of deep space capsule and rocket, and ISS life extension to 2020? is future employment of engineers with space contractors, like SpaceX, Virgin Galactic, etc? will NASA still develop scientific missions?

A: No. :) You are mistaking that with The ending of the use of space shuttles, "Discovery" (Taken its final flight a few months ago) and "Endeavour" (Getting set to complete its final mission). The last mission of space shuttle Discover was an event nobody should have missed Discovery was the most successful space shuttle. Spending almost a full year in space. Do NOT miss Endeavour's last mission. This is a Milestone in space exploration. Watch the entire mission Live on NASA TV at www.NASA.gov

Is NASA being privatized? by Joe S Q: I've heard that NASA is being privatized. Is this true? If so, who's buying it out? SpaceX?... I'm a conservative and I usually like hearing of privatization. But if this is true, I'm not sure if I like this... Should we be looking at this as a good or bad thing?

A: I haven't heard anything about that. And I really hope that's not the case, because I doubt they would continue to fund most research if that was the case. And NASA doesn't have enough money to fund students and researchers as it is.

(Astronomy) How would you go to the moon?? (Easy)? by James J Q: Which would be the best ROCKET to use to get to the moon? (with no ppl in it) SpaceX Falcon 9, Atlas 4, Delta 3, or other? and why would you choose that one though...

A: The cheapest one of course. That would be Falcon I think.

Space Shuttle retirement, Constellation program cancelled. And? by Q: Space Shuttle retirement is due to retire, Constellation program is cancelled, SpaceX maybe the best short term solution, but what about the future, what are the plans for NASA, space stations are good, but thats it, for manned Space Exploration just keep orbiting the earth?

A: Obama, as they say = No Hope. But seeing re-election expect more space science to fall victim to Obama's chopping block.

Future of Aerospace Industry? by Q: Some people, mostly the media, are saying that the Aerospace Industry is bound to seriously decline soon due to the end of the space program. I think this is naive; I think that private companies can now take over and compete the way the free market intended, as SpaceX and Boeing are starting at the moment. What do you think?

A: It's not going away, not in the U.S. it isn't. The U.S. is the icon of space exploration, and there are many needs for this not only for the companies you mentioned but also the military.

Space Exploration by the private sector? What do you think? Good or bad? by Q: Will the private sector take over space exploration? I'm talking about companies like SpaceX. If so, how soon? I personally think it will take a long time but still i would do it anyway. @Twurzz: Check this out. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virgin_galactic

looking for information for space .... and the rules for making a space ship? by zujul Q: i am talking about making and running a ship in outer space.... of course it would be back by a company of sorts... but i was wondering cause i need help in finding the rules .... guidelins for making a ship.... you know spaceX,and the other company that you hear about in the news... the guidelines they follow. things of that nature.it would be a grand help.

A: Hi, you can read book about it , there are too many book in Internet about it ask www.nasa.gov www.space.com there are useful i think good luck,

Space Exploration by the private sector? by Q: Will the private sector take over space exploration? I'm talking about companies like SpaceX. If so, how soon?

A: How soon depends on what's the profit. Private exploration won't "do" this for funsies.

when will commercial space tour take off? by Q: which commercial space company will be the first into sending people into space, some say virgin galactic, others say spacex. who do you think and if you know any other commercial space company's let me know. el kaptain, if i cudnt afford it why the fuck would i ask the question dipshit!!! i have the money and im wanting to go NNNOOOWWWW!!!! im tired of waiting

A: People have been going to space commercially for some time. Space Adventures has been sending people to orbit since 2001 on Soyuz capsules. Tourists have been to the old Mir space station and even the ISS. They have the same problem that the other newer companies will have. Only very rich people can afford it.

when will nasa put a man on the moon? by Q: i have heard talk of a rocket company called Spacex claiming to put a man on the moon by 2020 or 2025 yet some people say this won't happen for another 100 years....which is true? i have heard talk of a rocket company called Spacex claiming to put a man on the moon once again by 2020 or 2025 yet some people say this won't happen again for another 100 years...which is true?

A: They put men on the moon 40 years ago! Where you been?

What does it take to work as an engineer at NASA? by Lumina Q: ... or at SpaceX, I'm not picky. I'm asking what degrees I'd need to get, recommended colleges, stuff like that. Also, what does the work entail exactly? All blueprinting, or actual hands-on building? Muchos gracias.

A: Nothing different than any other job. You have to be there when there is an opening that matches your qualifications. Hope this properly answers your question Guru

Do you have any good websites about spaceships? by Northstar Q: Any diagrams or detailed understandable descriptions on Vasmir (Variable Specific Impulse Magnetoplasma Rocket), Conventional rockets such as Atlas, Delta, Ariane, Soyuz, Spacex rockets, "spaceplanes", or Skylon space plane from Reaction Engines in the UK. Labeled diagrams would be great Cheers in advance

A: http://www.astronautix.com/

obama on spacex launch? by Q:

A: he supports private space flight, as i believe he cut the budget for the space shuttles, thus shortly, they will be retired and no longer in use, and private space companies like spacex will eventually be tasked with ferrying astronauts and cargo to and from the iss

I received my Airframe and Powerplant License few months ago. Does anyone know of a company that hires new A&P? by Q: I am really frustrated. I applied at lockheed martin, SpaceX and airlines, gulfstream. I applied everywhere and all those companies have my resume, but i get no calls. I am running out of money. I am 38. I also have a UCLA degree in International Business. I escaped Iran-Iraq war but as last resort im thinking Air national guard. Can someone guide me?

A: Jobs are hard to get right now so you may have to lower your sights a little bit and take any kind that are available until your desired field opens up. The Air National Guard or Air Force may be options to gain experience in your licensed field.

What private businesses working on space flight? by dave Q: What private businesses are working on space flight other than SpaceShipOne/SpaceShipTwo that is a spaceplane, SpaceShipOne is an experimental air-launched suborbital spaceplane that uses a hybrid rocket motor.. And SpaceX reusable launch vehicles - the Falcon 1 and Falcon 9 - and the Dragon series of space capsules. SpaceX designs, tests and fabricates .. Who are working on Single-stage-to-orbit SSTO ? Any countries or private businesses workin on it ? Was Bigelow not working on some thing ..

A: spaceX

Who funds SpaceX????? by Northstar Q: Who funds the private company SpaceX?

A: "Founded in 2002, SpaceX has garnered about $375 million in funding from private investors, including about $100 million from Musk." Elon Musk is founder and CEO of SpaceX.

Are their any groups promoting space exploration? by anotherone773 Q: I am looking for groups that are promoting space exploration in America. Not like NASA or SpaceX but like lobbyist type groups(IE: NRA, AARP, etc) that tries to get the message across that we should be exploring space. If you know of any please post the names with links to sites if possible.

A: http://www.moonsociety.org/ http://www.nss.org/

When do you think we will see the first IPO of a company doing manned spaceflight? by f_valyn Q: I am not refering to companies like Lockheed Martin, or Boeing - they don't do manned spaceflight - they just sell stuff to the government. I am refering to companies like SpaceX, or Bigelow aerospace Blue Origin. Thoughts?

A: under 2 years

Spacex Stock? by huntaroti Q: Has anyone heard rumors of Spacex going public? When?

A: Have not heard that Space X is going public.

where can I buy spacex stock? by Kova Q:

A: It is a private company. There have been rumors of an IPO since 2009, but so far no details.

Which is the better place to work, NASA or SpaceX? by Q:

A: I think private industry probably holds the future of space travel, so just because of that I would want to work in the private sector. NASA is past its golden days it seems

What happened to the First falcon 9 Spacex built? by Eric P Q: http://spaceflightnow.com/falcon/090112f9vertical/ If you look there they had a mostly completed rocket to use for ground tests. then instead of finishing that, they built new ones for the first two launches. What happened to the first one?

A: If anything, drop them a line here - http://www.spacex.com/

What ever happened to the Spacex Falcon 9 assembled at Cape Canaveral last year? by Eric P Q: the pictures of the components for the next two launches show all new hardware. let me clarify, they built a rocket and test fired it at LC-40. They then took it back to California, and built new components for the first and second launches. What happened to the one they had set up back in January? http://spaceflightnow.com/falcon/090112f9vertical/- this is the rocket I am talking about.

A: The Spacex Falcon 9 is a commercial rocket designed and built by Spacex Exploration Technologies. They are built and assembled as needed when private companies contract with them to get their payloads into orbit. NASA has contracted with Spacex to use their rocket for resupply of the ISS once the space shuttle has been retired. Other government agencies and private companies can purchase a launch of the Falcon 9 for roughly $50 million. Spacex does have a disclaimer that reserve the right to find a co-passenger if you use less than 80% of the 23,000 pound payload. Always be sure to read the fine print before deciding on a low Earth orbit launch and delivery system.

What is the second parachuting object next to the SpaceX Dragon? by strangefrogg Q: SpaceX published some neat pictures of the Dragon spacecraft yesterday as it parachuted into the Pacific. The picture clearly shows the Dragon itself under the big red-and-white main chutes, approaching the water. However, the shot also sows another set of white parachutes, lower in the picture. Here's a link -- what I refer to appears in the first photo on the page. http://www.spaceflightnow.com/falcon9/002/splashdown/

A: Lens refraction. If you want a cool theory about aliens or secret govt. flights I can't help you. They would not drop a second craft within viewing distance now, would they?

Images
Videos
SpaceX Reusable Launch System Elons Tour of SpaceX HD SpaceX Launch Set on This Week @NASA [SpaceX] Elon Musk On SpaceX's Progress So Far Ahead of Launch KTRH talks about Brownsville as launch site for Space X [SpaceX] Falcon 9 COTS 2/3 Wet Dress Rehearsal Space X from 60 Minutes SpaceX Testing - SuperDraco Engine Firing SpaceX Falcon 9 Flight 2 Launch Webcast 60 Minutes - Spacex CEO Elon Musk (March 18, 2011) SpaceX Chief Details Reusable Rocket Elon Musk Talks About SpaceX SpaceX Testing - Solar Array Deployment SpaceX Merlin Engine Test ISS Update: SpaceX Space Act Agreement Status SpaceX's interplanetary vision [SpaceX] COTS-2 Dragon Capsule Arrives at Cape Canaveral TRANSLOGIC 76: Elon Musk Interview, SpaceX SpaceX F9 Successful Test SpaceX Falcon 9 with Dragon, Reusable Launch System SpaceX Testing - (Alternate Version) SuperDraco Engine Nasa- SpaceX COTS-2 Mission Animation SpaceX: Entrepreneur's race to space SpaceX's Quest For Rocketry's Holy Grail - SPACE.com Exclusive Video SpaceX Next - Commercial Crew Space-X Launches Falcon 9 on Demonstration Flight SpaceX Application 2.0, Max Fagin Video of SpaceX Falcon 9 Dragon Capsule Launch for NASA Private Space Company SpaceX Delays Launch to Space Station SpaceX Reusable Rocket, The Grasshopper!! Stratolaunch systems - (by Paul G. Allen, SpaceX, Scaled Composites and Dynatics) demo video SpaceX - Falcon 9 and Dragon Rocket Model Line 18 a3z4d SpaceX Dragon White Knight Space Ships TWO WOW SETI SpaceX Dragon Capsule Spacecraft Arrives At Cape Canaveral For NASA COTS-2 Demonstration Launch SpaceX COTS-2 Dragon Capsule Arrives at Cape Canaveral [HD] secret spacex 37 Moonandback Interview With Ken Bowersox, part 2 -- A Job At SpaceX Lawrence Williams on SpaceX and the Future of Commercial Space Flight Elon Musk Pay Pal to SpaceX - Part 1 SpaceX Internship Program SpaceX COTS-2 Mission Animation SpaceX Launches Falcon 9 Rocket SpaceX Falcon 9 Kit First Launch Mars & Phobos Monoliths - Ancient Aliens left us a Calling Card!!! SpaceX Future Mission?? Administrator Bolden on the SpaceX Falcon 9 Launch SpaceX Unveils Dragon Spacecraft Space-X Launches Falcon 9 at Cape Canaveral SpaceX Bloomberg.mp4 SpaceX Next - Something Big Is Coming SpaceX launch facility
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-07 14:58:53