OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
SOTU
News

State of the Union: Obama, GOP battle to frame 2012 fight
The central theme of President Obama's State of the Union address on Tuesday night was the notion that in America, everybody deserves a fair shake - and that his policies will help make sure they have one. The central theme of Indiana Gov.

Obama SOTU Paen To Military Gains Deeper Meaning After Somalia News
President Obama's paen during his State of the Union speech to the US Navy SEAL team took on deeper meaning Wednesday morning with the news that Obama knew of the successful rescue by special forces members of an American and Danish citizen held ...

First Thoughts: Obama signals reelect message with State of the Union
Obama, like Reagan, Clinton, and Bush, signals his re-election message in State of the Union … He struck an optimistic, populist tone and took credit for accomplishments, but also drew a line in the sand with Republicans. … This Obama was changed ...

John Kerry's Bruised Face & Black Eyes During State of the Union Raises Questions
If you watched the State of the Union 2012 address by President Obama you were sure to catch John Kerry's bruised face. If you found yourself asking what happened to John Kerry's face, so did we. We had to dig in and see like John Kerry was in a bar ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

Discussions

"State of the Union: Where can I get an outline- the speech in written form? by brisselle_magana Q: I watched the speech today, but need the speech to discuss for tomorrow's class and check my notes for accuracy.

A: http://www.cnn.com/2010/POLITICS/01/27/sotu.transcript/index.html?hpt=T1 Incredible. I got a thumbs down for providing the link to the speech transcript.

Which is more important to most Americans? by Scarlet Pimpernell Q: The fact your Emperor is lying to you on a daily basis, making motions to generally restrict any personal liberties you have left and pimping your children's debt out to foreign countries..... OR making witty comments about a person drinking water?? Gee, you guys sure got your priorities straight!

A: I set my dvr to record the sotu, and when I got home it recorded Liar Liar....called my friend and his screwed up too....it recorded the biggest loser

Will the American people accept my Apology for Deregulating the Banks & foregn importers? by GopBoner Q:

A: Some of them are calling for more deregulation and upper-income tax cuts (trickle-down). Did you not hear the republican rebuttal to the SOTU?

Why are the Republicans so afraid of Obamas speech tonight that Boehner and? by Tom Q: Romney and a few other Republicans and talking heads are coming out with their own speeches ahead of his?

A: Boehner's speech might actually be more important than what is read from a teleprompter. There is only entertainment value in the SOTU speech.

Liberals, since the AP's fact check of Obamas SOTU isnt very favorable, is the AP now right wing trash? by Primo™ Q: http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/U/US_STATE_OF_UNION_FACT_CHECK?SITE=NJMOR&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT

A: No, they are correct. He talked both about spending programs and cutting spending. Par for the course for SOTU

Why didn't any any main stream media show Rand Paul's response to the 2013 SOTU adrress ? by Fan of Calvin Coolidge Q: This is why so many people are so uninformed. When real news is edited out and replaced with talk of marco rubio drinking water...

A: Wasn't the official response to the SOTU address given by Rubio? I believe most of the main-stream media showed that. Rand Paul's comments were not a "response," but were a "reaction." So you could just as easily ask "why didn't Fox cover Dick Durbin's reaction to the address?".

help with the State of the Union speech? by Lynni Q: for history class we have to list the goals and accomplishments of the 2010 state of the union speech by president obama. if you could help me out and list some that would be great, thanks!

A: Goals mentioned in President Obama's SoTU: -Pass a jobs bill -Get taxpayers their bailout money back through a fee on the big banks -Pass health care reform -Help small businesses with a tax credit -Encourage American innovation -Pass a comprenhensive energy and climate bill -Double exports over the next 5 years -Help families with college students--"let's take that money and give families a $10,000 tax credit for four years of college and increase Pell Grants. And let's tell another one million students that when they graduate, they will be required to pay only ten percent of their income on student loans, and all of their debt will be forgiven after twenty years – and forgiven after ten years if they choose a career in public service" -Freeze government spending for 3 years starting in 2011 (national security, Medicare, Medicaid, and Social Security not included) -Begin pulling troops from Afghanistan in July 2011 -Reform immigration system

Did Obama's State of the Union Address and RNC speech hurt him more w/ the American people? by demhater Q: Since after it he's continuing to slide in the polls? http://www.realclearpolitics.com/epolls/other/president_obama_job_approval-1044.html

A: What this President did the night of SOTU. Was simply a look at a man who just does not get it. Nor will he ever get it. Barack is intent on self destruction. He is like JFK in so many ways. Kennedy up until his assassination was the worst President this Nation ever had. And he paid for it with his life. Obama on the other hand Makes Kennedy and Carter look Like a genius. Nothing this man does anymore should surprise anyone, He is destructive. He talks over people not to people, He plays the preacher role way to hard. We do know what is better for us, We don't need for him to tell us what he thinks is better for us. He is not our father, He is our President, His role is to protect and serve the people of this nation and uphold the Constitution, not a damn thing more. If he wants to lecture dumb asses who swallow his liberal bullshit. Wait until after we throw him out of office. Then he can go on the lecture circuit and talk till it kills him.

Who was that (on TV), who fell asleep during the state of the Union? by Mr. Spin Q: I too fell asleep watching it.

A: Sleeping through the SotU may have been the first bipartisan act of this congress. Both McCain and Kennedy were guilty, and just about everyone else seemed close.

Do you agree with Obama about the recession being over, like he stated in the SOTU address? by Dina W Q: (SOTU= state of the union) PAfR This if for you, from MS-NBC.. so you shouldnt have to question the link. This is how Obama did it http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/33348615/

A: No! It's NOT over by far! There Surgar coating the facts for those who believe in this Policy as if it's working.... Facts are very clear and cut! Voter's across America in the past few months have grown progressively Negitive in reguards in the way Pres. Obama leadership skills are and Congress as a Do Nothing Congress. We all see thru there own activity and behaviors just what there really about and who players are as far as Blowing Smoke up our Butts! Mass- Voter's sent washington and Pres. Obama a very clear message last week in those Election's! Independents and even a few Democrates voted for this Republican b/c Washington is still in this fog of waiting around and looking as if there doing something but in all truth there hopelessly waisting another 4 more years! It's still the Same-ole-Same and the voters know this too be true... His SOTU was away too keep Moderates from Jumping ship in his own Party! It also was a Sales Job Speech too American Voter's across this country... This way he keeps his party intact and those American's confussed by his policies and leadership will think he is doing his job.... This man is about Charming you and I into his inadquet abilities as Believable or doable facts and truths!

Do you agree with the media geniuses that the President has moved to the middle? by Q:

A: His sotu had nothing new in it at all It was still the same old garbage he was babbling about in his 1st 2 months in office It is still all about big government with this guy He cannot giveup on this idea that government is the be-all and end-all He will never shift to the middle

So what do you think Republican Governor McDonald from Virginia resign or 2016 run? by Wednesday Q: Seems like the tax payers shouldn't have to pay for his dogs vitamins or -His wives coach bag -His Daughters wedding catering (15,000) -Body wash -Rides in a stretch Hummer Limo for his daughters wedding -A white loner Ferrari -White suede jacket for wife (10,000) -Two pairs of designers ladies shoes for wife -Designer dresses -Liver cleanser -Wedding dress for his daughter -deodorant -boost energy drinks -Accepted a 6,000 dollar Rolex from a donor to use the Governor mansion to promote the donors tobacco energy drinks -Stays (rentals) at a lakeside vacation home -dry cleaning for his daughter -nasal spray -facials -tanning -Ten of thousands of dollars missing -took pots and pans, liquor from the mansion for personal use. all these items were paid for by tax payers or money taken as gifts in lieu of promoting their interests Now he says he wants to run for President in 2016? Where is the Republican investigations? This could keep the Birthers investigating into the next century. http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/virginia-governor-billed-taxpayers-sunscreen-dog-vitamins-report-article-1.1374905

A: LOL! And this is who they choose to represent thier party with a SOTU rebuttal...

Why is Rand Paul against drones that go after American domestic enemies living abroad? by The Virginian Q: Does he not know that the oath of office requires the president of the United States to protect against all enemies foreign and domestic, not just foreign. "It's very unseemly that a politician gets to decide the death of an American citizen," Sen. Rand Paul, R-Kentucky, said on CNN. He called for a trial for treason. The president, or a politician, Republican or Democrat, should never get to decide someone's death by flipping through flash cards, Paul continued. Is he for the terrorist or Americans. Should we bring in the draft and send him to do a tour of duty in the Hemland Province, in Afghanistan.

A: Perhaps we will learn when he gives the Tea Party counter speech to President Obama's SOTU speech Tuesday.

Why does the State of the Union address have to be on every channel? by Bumblebee Q: I mean they should put it on PBS or give an option to continue routine programing. Ugh he needs to make like Monica and put something in it, I have shows to watch. I care more about action than blabbing on every channel for an hour.

A: It's not like there's good shows on the channels that are showing the SOTU anyways.

Will Obama talk about the death of Osama bin Laden in his State of the Union speech tonite...? by marybuko Q: ...if so, what will he say about Osama's death?

A: This could be the first time a President has admitted to commiting a serious war crime in a SOTU address.

Why have several major terrorist attacks been thwarted by the US and Great Britain? by Border Security!! Q: The most recent of these attacks were thwarted on the planned attacks of the Jumbo Jets, and yesterday the planned kidnapping and murder of the Muslim Men serving in Great Britains military? Why can't the democrats acknowledge that a lot of good things ar Happening? Mi5 cia and fbi are all working to thwart the terrorists!

A: The US hasn't thwarted anything including those four incidents that President Bush lied about in the SOTU address.

Does anyone agree with the following observations on Obama’s SOTU Speech? by Wanda Bagram Q: He made liberal use of the word "investment" as his euphemism for new government programs. Near the beginning of the speech, he praised bailouts (he bragged at length about bailing out the American auto industry); by the end of it, he had vowed to end them. He professed great regard for the martial virtues of America's soldiers, holding them out as an example to bickering and undisciplined politicians. Candidate Obama had said George W. Bush's wars ruined America's standing in the world. But now he says that the returning soldiers from Iraq elevated the world's "respect" for America. He quoted a line from Abraham Lincoln to the effect that government should only perform those tasks beyond the power of the people. Never mind that most of the proposals in the speech were a violation of this principle. By "shared responsibility," the jargony phrase with which he peppered the speech, he means a fatter federal government that swoops down and takes responsibility from the people. "Spreading the wealth around," as he said to Joe the Plumber in 2008, is his organizing principle. Wealth belongs to the government automatically, under this thinking, and so any money not taken by Obama constitutes in his mind reckless government "spending." It pains him to think that millionaires are making profits off already-taxed money. He proposes the Buffet rule to correct this injustice and usher in a new era of income equality. This isn't "class warfare," he said, but "common sense," http://spectator.org/archives/2012/01/25/obamas-open-buffet

A: What do you expect. All Democrats always take both sides of every issue WITHIN THE SAME SPEECH. Their formula is ALWAYS: "We all have conservative beliefs and values and that's why we need to implement liberal policies." ANY time ANY Democrat EVER mentioned "investment" it ALWAYS means "raising taxes." Likewise all Democrats always refer to any and all money not in government hands as "spending we can't afford." Anyway, the Obama campaign spent weeks polling people to learn what he should say to get their support. There are always campaign elements in any politician's speech but for the FIRST TIME our SOTU was PURE campaign speech and was designed top to bottom to be nothing else.

Student Loans bill in SOTU tonight? by Maggie M Q: This kind of got rushed through but did anyone else hear this in the speech tonight? No more than 10% of your annual salary, forgiven after 20 years. No matter how much debt you rack up, don't worry, the government will forgive most of it and if you can duck the loan officers long enough we'll forgive the whole thing! One more erosion of personal responsibility.

A: What he said is this ... "To make college more affordable, this bill will finally end the unwarranted taxpayer-subsidies that go to banks for student loans. Instead, let's take that money and give families a $10,000 tax credit for four years of college and increase Pell Grants. And let's tell another one million students that when they graduate, they will be required to pay only ten percent of their income on student loans, and all of their debt will be forgiven after twenty years – and forgiven after ten years if they choose a career in public service. Because in the United States of America, no one should go broke because they chose to go to college." http://abcnews.go.com/Politics/State_of_the_Union/state-of-the-union-2010-president-obama-speech-transcript/story?id=9678572&page=2

When did the 2010 State of the union (gop response) start? by Q: im in ap history and for extra credit i has to take notes on it

A: 5 minutes after the SOTU was over. Good luck in APUSH. EDIT Ted Kennedy's Car was a little harsh. Let me soften it up for you a bit: Obama suffers from an extreme case of phylisophical liberalism. Economies function best when government limits its role to thoughtful regulation. John Maynard Keynes was correct in the same way as Marx: Looks good on paper but won't play out correctly in the real world with real people involved. If welfare worked why do we still need it? Give a hungry man a fish, and he's fed for a day. Teach a hungry man to fish and he's fed for life. Obama said he was going to increase school spending. That's the best idea he had. McDonnell agreed.

I just watched the Bachmann SOTU? by Incognito Q: I just can't put my finger on it. It didn't feel like she was talking to me. It was like she was talking to someone else that was in the room with her. What was it about the speech that made me feel this way?

A: I felt the same thing. I just couldn't connect with Ms. Bachmann.

Is Bobby Jindal 2012's "Great White Hope" that Republicans have been waiting for? by Prince Ton Q:

A: No, Bobby Jindal's laughable SOTU rebuttal speech pretty much did him in. Bobby Jindal will never run for President.

What happened to Obama's promise of 5 days before he would sign any bill? by Bill in Kansas Q: Over 59% of Americans are against the Heathcare bill, yet DEMS in Congress voted against their constituents and passed it anyway. Then the bill hits THE CHOSE ONE's desk yesterday morning and even though he promised that he would not sign a bill until five days had passed so the people could review what is in it, he will sign it today anyway. Are the DEMS and Obama completely untrustworthy? I can't wait for November THIS VIDEO IS HIM MAKING THIS PROMISE (another empty promise) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kfQSqjVFhf0 gosam: I'm just pointing out to the mindless liberals that the lies never stop from this administration

A: He also promised in his SOTU that jobs would be his number one priority in 2010. We all know how that's working out.

state of the union address 2012? by Natalie Q: what are some examples of how laws are passes, reviewed or acted upon. what is the process? what is our role as a citizen? discussion on the relationship between the three branches of government, the press, and the people.

A: Here is a transcript of the SOTU 2012: http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/state-of-the-union-2012-obama-speech-excerpts/2012/01/24/gIQA9D3QOQ_story.html Here's another: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/25/us/politics/state-of-the-union-2012-transcript.html?pagewanted=all You can watch the video here: http://www.c-span.org/SOTU/

In watching the SotU address did it appear to you that the Republicans like the current unemployment rate? by Jesus and Muhammad are Lovers Q: Why are the Republicans trying to destroy the lives of hard working Americans? I love how people try and add sentences, and thoughts into things that where not ever there. The Republicans are showing their true colors, and it's all good cuz they will fail.

A: Yes it did appear so. John Boehner was looking very smug and arrogant thoughout the entire SotU

How can anyone praise Obama's SOTU when it was full of lies? by Healthy Happy Pup Q: OBAMA: "After years of grueling recession, our businesses have created over 6 million new jobs." THE FACTS: That's in the ballpark, as far as it goes. But Obama starts his count not when he took office, but from the point in his first term when job losses were the highest. In doing so, he ignores the 5 million or so jobs that were lost on his watch, up to that point. Private sector jobs have grown by 6.1 million since February 2010. But since he became president, the gain is a more modest 1.9 million. And when losses in public sector employment are added to the mix, his overall jobs record is a gain of 1.2 million. ___ OBAMA: "We have doubled the distance our cars will go on a gallon of gas." THE FACTS: Not so fast. That's expected to happen in 12 more years. Under a deal the Obama administration reached with automakers in 2011, vehicles will have a corporate average fuel economy of 54.5 miles per gallon by 2025, twice the 27 miles per gallon, on average, that cars and trucks get today. Automobile manufacturers won't start making changes to achieve the new fuel economy standards until model year 2017. Not all cars will double their gas mileage, since the standard is based on an average of a manufacturers' fleet. ___ OBAMA: "Already the Affordable Care Act is helping to reduce the growth of health care costs." THE FACTS: The jury is still out on whether Obama's health care overhaul will reduce the growth of health care costs. It's true that cost increases have eased, but many experts say that's due to the sluggish economy, not to the health care law, whose main provisions are not yet fully in effect. ___ OBAMA: "Real reform means establishing a responsible pathway to earned citizenship — a path that includes passing a background check, paying taxes and a meaningful penalty, learning English and going to the back of the line behind the folks trying to come here legally." THE FACTS: The seemingly stern admonition that illegal immigrants must go to the back of the line, often heard from the president, doesn't appear to have much practical effect except in the most obvious sense. Everyone who joins a line, whether for a movie, a coffee or citizenship, starts at the back of that particular line. It's not clear he is saying anything more than that illegal immigrants won't get to cut in line for citizenship once they've obtained provisional legal status. Like those living abroad who have applied to come to the U.S. legally, illegal immigrants who qualify for Obama's proposed path to citizenship will surely face long waits to be processed. But during that time, they are already in the U.S. and will get to stay, work and travel in the country under their new status as provisional immigrants, while those outside the U.S. simply have to wait. Sending illegal immigrants to the "back of the line" is something of a distinction without a difference for some legal immigrants who dutifully followed all the rules before coming to the United States. For instance, some legal immigrants who are in the U.S. on an employer-sponsored visa can't easily change jobs, or in some cases take a promotion, without jeopardizing their place in line to get a green card. In other cases, would-be legal immigrants in other countries wait for years to be able to settle in the U.S. Obama is using "back of the line" somewhat figuratively, because there are multiple lines depending on the applicant's relationship with family already in the U.S. or with an employer. Generally, a foreign-born spouse of a U.S. citizen or someone with needed skills and a job offer will be accepted more quickly than many others. OBAMA: "Study after study shows that the sooner a child begins learning, the better he or she does down the road. ... And for poor kids who need help the most, this lack of access to preschool education can shadow them for the rest of their lives. ... Every dollar we invest in high-quality early education can save more than $7 later on — by boosting graduation rates, reducing teen pregnancy, even reducing violent crime." THE FACTS: Dozens of studies have shown Head Start graduates are more likely to complete high school than their at-risk peers who don't participate in the program. But a study last year by the Department of Health and Human Services that found big vocabulary and social development gains for at-risk students in pre-kindergarten programs also found those effects largely faded by the time pupils reached third grade. The report didn't explain why the kids saw a drop-off in performance or predict how they would fare as they aged. ___ OBAMA: "I urge this Congress to pursue a bipartisan, market-based solution to climate change, like the one John McCain and Joe Lieberman worked on together a few years ago. But if Congress won't act soon to protect future generations, I will. I will direct my Cabinet to come up with executive actions we can take, now and in the future, to reduce pollution, prepare our communities for the consequences of climate change and speed the transition to more sustainable sources of energy." THE FACTS: Obama failed to get a global warming bill through Congress when both Houses were controlled by Democrats in 2010. With Republicans in control of the House, the chances of a bill to limit the gases blamed for global warming and to create a market for businesses to trade pollution credits are close to zero. The Obama administration has already acted to control greenhouse gases through existing law. It has boosted fuel-efficiency standards and proposed rules to control heat-trapping emi http://www.sfgate.com/news/politics/article/FACT-CHECK-Overreaching-in-State-of-Union-speech-4273381.php well, neither of you 2 first answers, addressed the question. totally dodged it..... mike: the people who get blocked are just like you -- totally dodge the question. meaningless answer that has no relation to the question in any way, shape or form. ichte: its not my rant. its what the link says. many people don't have habit of clicking link, that's why i posted what link contained. previously i saw weird answers which proved the link was never clicked. if links are clicked, i wouldn't be doing this. ichte: you're right. not only are links never clicked but even if the content of link posted, that isn't seen either..... ichte: don't blame me for block. as i said if question is totally dodged, i am obliged to block. i do have the right to do that i quit watching SOTU like 11 years back because i learned they are all loaded with lies. this is nothing new what happened in tonite's SOTU's. For years and years SOTU is full of this. Its becoming a tradition now

A: despite the liberals commenting on this calling you an idiot, (exercising their right to free speech and demonizing you for exercising yours...typical liberals) I agree that Obummers SOTU was full of the typical BS.

Did Obama just recycle last year's SOTU speech, with minor changes? by gws35 Q: Didn't last night's speech sound like most of it could have been from 12 months ago? Blame Bush Say he inherited this mess Say jobs are his top priority Point out that things are getting worse more slowly Ask Congress to enact an economic stimulus Wasn't this last year's speech?

A: actually this was his first sotu...hard to keep track when every speech so far has been the same. the only change was the order of #1 focus.

Why G Bush said "We must take care of our taxes" and He has expended billions in an unfair war in Iraq? by Paul Hertre Q: Is He crazy, or are we? Please, Help me Oh God!

A: His whole SOTU address was BS, 100%... I can't believe people weren't laughing at all that crap he spewed.

what does sottu mean? by Jared G Q: my friend sent it as an offline message on msn but I don't think its even a word she may have been really tierd and typed something that made no since at all. but if it is a word then what does it mean

A: "SOTU" = State Of The Union referring to the President's speech but it doesn't seem likely that was what your friend meant!

Why did Obama's SOTU speech register an 8th grade comprehension level on the Flesch-Kincaid readability test? by Falkland G Q: Meanwhile many Ron Paul supporters are reading books by Mises, Hayek, Rothbard and Garet Garrett. Does Obama have a low opinion of his base supporters? http://www.politico.com/politico44/2012/01/state-of-the-union-registers-at-th-grade-reading-level-112236.html

A: It is interesting to note that George W. Bush's SOTU speeches averaged about 10.5 on the same scale. And to think that "The Messiah" and his supporters used to deride President Bush as dumb. Who looks dumb now?....Just saying

Is this sentence right? (grammar) <3? by GirlyYy Q: Among his many accomplishments ARE the 1993 Nobel Peace Prize for his dedication to the fight aigainst racial oppression in Sotu Africa and establishing democracy there and becoming the president of South Africa in 1994 following their first multiracial elections.

A: ... Sotu Africa, and establishing... That comma .^. is the only thing I saw it needed, unless you plan on leaving ARE uppercased. But, yes, it's "are" (or "were" if past tense, dead or retired), not "is/was".

Confused about Obama's gun stance at the SOTU? by Cody Q: I did not watch much of the SOTU, and had i have, i probably wouldnt be asking this question...but from the few bits i've heard, read..what i understood is obama mentioned something about a mandatory gun buy- back..is this a new plan of his? to take ALL of our guns, not just AR-15 type weapons?

A: Well, it seems like you did not watch much of the SOTU, and had you have, you probably wouldnt be asking this question. From the few bits i've heard, read..what i understood is obama mentioned something about a mandatory gun buy- back, and you think this a new plan of histo take ALL of our guns, not just AR-15 type weapons. Why don't you watch it and listen to the man?

Does Congress issue hip waders for the Pack-Of-Lies speech or do they have to bring their own? by LiberalsAreUnderhanded Q: Maybe body condoms with hip waders. civil true. I would hope most of them would drown in the deep BS. But they must were floaty's also.

A: No, but that would be a scream, a SOTU address staged like a Gallagher show!

Instead of cutting benefits for gays, shouldn't we cut the military? by The Bootyking Q: Gays receive only a small fraction of the budget, if anything, they should get more.

A: Marco Rubio is going to deliver his SOTU Response in English and Spanish and with a lisp.

What did you think of the State of the Union Address? by malik426 Q:

A: It did not address the SOTU,,,,it was more campaign bs that people no longer believe coming from 0.

anyone going to ozzfest 2007 or SOTU? by dead! Q: i am looking forward to seeing Behemoth and Nile at Ozzfest and Amon Amarth at SOTU!!!

A: Nope... Ozzfest is going to be lame this year because it's free and all the stupid little emo bands are going to perform. Reading the roster for it i only knew about 3 of the performers. I looked up the rest and they were all [email protected] bands.

On date night at SOTU...? by The Doc Q: ...who dated Barney Frank? No need to get up in arms, trying to figure out which Republican was grown up enough to do so.

A: SNL did a skit... Congressman Barney Frank fantasizing about Massachusetts's newly elected senator, Scott Brown I don't know who he actually sat by... hummmm

Is the state of the union address the same as annual message? by stricking Q: If not, what's the difference?

A: No. The SOTU is delivered by the president to Congress. Anyone can deliver an annual message to anyone else.

Could Hillary have done a better job with SOTU last night than BO did? by Sir William Wallace Q: ca

A: I've got a scab deep up in my nostril that could have delivered a better SOTU.

Michele Bachmans video response to the state of the union's speech tonight? by Annie Q: Apparently only CNN aired it but I can't locate the link.

A: http://www.cnn.com/2011/POLITICS/01/25/sotu.response.bachmann/

Doesn't Obama's SOTU address look like dishonest rhetoric now that Obama's budget has been released.? by Dina W Q:

A: You needed his SOTU address to tell you he lies? Over 500 days of lies should have told you IMMEDIATELY that the speech that night was a continuation of his pathological problem!

In the SOTU speech, Obama says? by BeanCasserole Q: that kids shouldn't be allowed to drop out until they are 18? Can he make that possible? I honestly think that is a great idea.

A: Ok. So you force kids to stay in school until they are 18. What is going to make them learn and actually get an education? How about we improve our failing school systems and find ways to help kids succeed so they don't want to drop out and they see the value in an education and the value to their economic future? I vote that we get rid of teacher tenure, reward good teachers, get rid of the bad teachers, lessen the power of teachers unions so that the education of our kids are the priority not protecting poor performing teachers. We should find schools with high success rates and model poor performing schools after them. Our kids deserve a good education and the opportunity at a good economical future.

In SOTU you said you want to consolidate government bureaucracy under the executive. How would this be done? by flx731 Q: All 3 branches (executive, judicial, legislative) are co-equal for a reason. Are you trying to violate the framework set up under the Constitution? Currently the executive branch has more power than ever before. Why do you need more power? Please explain.

A: The bureaucracy is the de facto fourth branch of government, and, technically speaking, is already headed by the executive branch, regardless of which branch it directly serves. The president can issue executive orders which apply exclusively, but broadly, to the federal bureaucracy. For instance, if the President issued an executive order that the "United States" must use 30% less energy next year, it would apply only to the federal government, not to state, county, or local government, or private citizenry (those would be covered by Law, which is the purview of Congress, not the President). But, it would apply to all federal agencies, not just those directly serving the executive branch. What the president was talking about was consolidation of certain agencies that have overlapping functions, something he has brought up a week or so before the SOTU. The entire idea is to have one agency doing the functions that are currently carried out by Commerce Department, Small Business Administration, Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, Export-Import Bank, Overseas Private Investment Corporation, and the Trade and Development Agency. This will reduce some of federal redundancy (albeit, in some rather small agencies), shrink the overall bureaucracy slightly, and save some tax dollars. Ultimately, the amount of power being transferred to the executive branch would be zero. The request for "power,".as it were, is the "power" to draft the charter for the unified agency (which Congress would have to approve).

Why do the vp and speaker sit there in the sotu? by Bobby Bobson Q: Why the speaker? Why not the president pie tempore also? I just wondered this.

A: The SOTU is a long speech, they need to sit to hear it all.

Is it safe to say Rubio's SotU response will go down in history as the most famous? by Just Saiyan Q:

A: No, it will be mostly forgotten, never completely. Every year the opposing party gets to do a response to the president's SOTU. For some reason there seems to be a curse on the speakers the Republican Party picks for this job. One time it was Michelle Bachmann. She was truly a rising star in the GOP, a person thought to have great possibilities. But all through the speech she seemed to be looking at someone beside the camera, and her eyes looked like she'd been hypnotized or something. And right after that she began to be seen as just a crazy Tea Partier. In fact her rhetoric after that got more and more crazy. Then one time it was Bobby Jindal. Jindal was also seen as a possible candidate against Obama in 2012 because he was articulate, well-spoken, young and good-looking, and a MINORITY. I didn't think his speech was so bad, but the day after his ratings went down the toilet and stayed there. I don't think most Republican voters even know who he is today. And then Marco Rubio. Lots of people wanted Romney to pick him as running mate last year. In fact a lot of them wanted him to run for president! Today he's no longer the GOP's fair-haired boy, no longer a Rising Star. The curse strikes again! People say 'Well, geez, all he did was to take a sip of water! What's so wrong with that?' Well, nothing I guess. But watch his popularity figures plummeting among REPUBLICAN voters! Most people won't remember the SOTU responses of any of these people. I do because I'm a politics junkie. But they do remember that so-and-so was seen as the Savior of the Party one day and not a week later.

SOTU Speech: Was Øbama's attack on the Supreme Court during his SOTU speech unprecedented? by Huggy Q:

A: No one escapes Obama's wrath. He even wants to politicize justice without researching the facts before he does so. Facts don't matter to him. Its all about perception because he realizes how many people just take it all in at face value without finding out the truth. FDR was the last one to really rebuke the Supreme Court and try to bypass their decisions. I doubt he did that at his SOTU and even if he did, it was on the radio, not TV for the whole nation to really experience the moment of scolding them in a such a forum.

was the new york times piece on sotu, fair, calling it a disaster? by mike Q:

A: Oh, yes you might say that based on this startling revelation: http://nation.foxnews.com/2014/01/29/obama-accused-plagiarizing Obama Accused Of Plagiarizing 'Appearing on Fox News Channel with anchor Megyn Kelly after President Barack Obama delivered his fifth State of the Union address on Tuesday night, former George W. Bush speechwriter Marc Thiessen said the president’s speech sounded uncannily similar to him.' Parts of Obama's SOTU address were lifted DIRECTLY from the 2007 SOTU address that was delivered by President George W. Bush. OOOOOOPSSSSSS....!!!!!

Sometimes, political leaders make statements appealing to emotion and give the impression that? by Porsche Q: If you are willing to help please be honest and helpful as this is my homeork assignment assignment and i am puzzled...

A: Barack Obama SOTU Address 2011

what does "non-SOTU" mean? by Kaelen Q:

A: I'm not aware of this is a military acronym. SOTU is a common internet term for slow on the uptake. It also is used as a quick reference to State of the Union. I've not heard non-SOTU. Good luck!

WHAT lS SOTU? by penny_pincher Q: IT'S SOMETHING ABOUT POLITICS.

A: The State of the Union (SOTU) is the annual address the President is required to give. According to Article II, Section 3, Clause i, the President shall deliver to Congress a message regarding the State of the Union (the text is included in the link provided). The tradition of speaking before a joint session was done early on, but abandoned until Woodrow Wilson. Prior to Wilson, the President would deliver a written address which was read to both Houses of Congress (House of Reps. and Senate). Since Wilson's tenure, the custom has been a Joint Session of Congress.

Was Obama's SOTU effective? by michael_lovin Q: I have always been in favor of a president who tells it like it is and lives up to what he says.....(Bush Jr was this way whether you liked him or not) and while not a good as a speaker as Obama, was still frank...I like them both and think Obama is good for the USA....what do you think?

A: The bulk of Obama's SOTU we have heard before - a lot of nice sounding rhetoric but with promises that were never kept. Obama does the talk, but not the walk. Again, tonight's SOTU was a collection of old speeches that date back to the 2008 campaign.

Images
Videos
State of the Union 2014 Address: President Obama's FULL SOTU Speech - New York Times Obama's Full 2014 State of the Union Address - SOTU 2014 (Enhanced HD) SOTU Republican Response Summed Up In 60 Seconds Or Less Abby Martin Destroys Obama's SOTU Address | Brainwash Update Watch the Best SOTU Response of the Obama Era Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers offers GOP response to SOTU The Two Dumbest Reactions To Obama's SOTU Speech SOTU: Inside America's income gap SOTU Analysis: Agenda More Bite-sized Than Bold SOTU Cory Remsburg Standing Ovation, Embarassing For Congress 2014 State of the Union : Barrack Obama State Of the Union 2014 Jobs!! Kasreaction #SOTU SOTU: Just More Shucking and Jiving... Obama's SOTU: Blah-blah again or real promises? GOP Congressman Michael Grimm Physically Threatens NY1 Reporter in Post-SOTU Interview In SOTU, Obama Tells Divided Congress to Expect Executive Action in Face of Continued Obstruction Obama's SOTU To Be Hacked By Resistance Live Sen. Mike Lee provides Tea Party response to SOTU Behind the Scenes with President Obama: SOTU Speech Prep Congressman threatens to throw reporter off balcony after SOTU Nicky Romero & Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano ft. Fast Eddie - S.O.T.U. (Original Mix) Rep. Michael Grimm confronts NY1 reporter after SOTU Are SOTU speech responders cursed? SOTU: A tale of two unlikely seatmates Teen Inventor Joey Hudy: Why I Got Invited to SOTU Nicky Romero, Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano ft. Fast Eddie - S.O.T.U. (Original Mix) FreedomWorks Matt Kibbe SOTU Prebuttal Congressman Steve King -- CNN New Day -- pre SOTU Nicky Romero, Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano ft. Fast Eddie - S.O.T.U Obama Honors Army Ranger Wounded In Afghanistan During SOTU Fmr. Presidential Speechwriter: Obama Plagiarized Bush's 2007 SOTU Exposed Takedown of the Tea Party SOTU Response SOTU Was A Dud with Gerald Celente RNC Chair:  SOTU was a 'nothing burger' Five Years of the 'Same Rhetoric': Immigration Activist Faults Obama's SOTU, Deportation Policy 2/2 Mixed reactions from FilAms coast to coast on SOTU address State Of The Union 2014 (SOTU 2014 Enhanced Version) Response To Obama,McMorris,Paul,Lee,Cruz CBS's John Dickerson: Obama's SOTU Proposals Filled With Very Small Bore Stuff CNN mentions Tea Party While Teasing Iranian Response to SOTU The SOTU In Two Minutes GOP's top-ranking woman to deliver party response to SOTU BBC's Katty Kay: Obama's SOTU Was 'Speech Of Diminished Expectations' Obama's Full 2014 State Of The Union 2014 Address {SREVV VERSION} SOTU 2014 Speech Kirsten Powers: White House Oversold SOTU Speech, Obama Had No Urgency Politico: Reaction For Obama SOTU Was Tepid And Subdued In Chamber Barack Obama To Push Gun Control Without Congress - State of The Union - SOTU 2014 Gender equality big part of SOTU speech Politico's Rick Berke: Obama's SOTU Filled With Small Ideas What's the worst SOTU response? SOTU speeches: Where anything can happen Obama's 'Poster Children' Speak Out Before SOTU
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-03 20:41:29