OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Solar eclipse may 20 2012
News

Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012, over Japan
Skywatcher Tom Bridges took this photo of the solar eclipse on May 20, 2012. He writes: "I live in Tokyo on the 25th floor of a building. The weather was partly cloudy…. I did not use any filters (due to the clouds helping out).

Next amazing sky site: Venus transit of Sun in June
Sunday's "ring of fire" solar eclipse may be history, but skywatchers have another stunning event to look forward to — next month's historic Venus transit of the sun. On Sunday (May 20), the moon covered most of the sun's disk but left a ring of light ...

The May 20, 2012 annular solar eclipse in motion
So yesterday was the annular eclipse of the Sun, and I held a live impromptu video chat on Google+ about it. I was joined by Pamela Gay, Fraser Cain, Nicole Gugliucci, and Jason Major, and we had a live video feed using astronomer Scott Lewis's ...

As the solar eclipse on May 20, 2012, progresses, its partial and annular ...
When the moon blots out the sun in a solar eclipse on Sunday (May 20), producing a "ring of fire" in the sky, it will cover roughly 94 percent that of the sun and offer a rare view of our nearest star. The remaining sun ring visible at the peak of the ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

ToniE6149 RT @SolarPrepper: Spiritual Impact of Solar Flares, Full Moons and Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012 - Newport ... http://t.co/j48xP39t

JGProductions Photos: Annular Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012 http://t.co/FCsMesxf via @SPACEdotcom

priya12dec Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012, over Japan http://t.co/2pmX7wON

SolarPrepper Spiritual Impact of Solar Flares, Full Moons and Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012 - Newport Beach-Corona del Mar, CA Patch http://t.co/6YuhveMR

__Nadoo__ Annular Solar Eclipse May 20 2012: http://t.co/i8OEzA0H via @youtube

GingerPLily RT @photocopied: Photos: Annular Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012 http://t.co/F5Ym9c3u via @SPACEdotcom

EdenRahim Annular Solar Eclipse May 20 2012: http://t.co/CguR0e9V via @youtube

angelafritz RT @wunderground: This week's World View: "Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012" http://t.co/wwJ0cNgE

WunderAngela RT @wunderground: This week's World View: "Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012" http://t.co/NvQ2YiIt

themanstan2010 RT @photocopied: Photos: Annular Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012 http://t.co/F5Ym9c3u via @SPACEdotcom

nevermoreyours RT @photocopied: Photos: Annular Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012 http://t.co/F5Ym9c3u via @SPACEdotcom

dermuehle Ring of Fire - Annular Solar Eclipse as Seen from Lubbock Texas May 20 2012: http://t.co/WpaWrEOI via @youtube - beautiful

BellaDomina17 Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 http://t.co/2fE66n87

asquirrel66 RT @photocopied: Photos: Annular Solar Eclipse of May 20, 2012 http://t.co/F5Ym9c3u via @SPACEdotcom

hawwb may 20 2012 solar eclipse: ... http://t.co/KvNqSuMd

Discussions

2012: Is the end of the Mayan Calendar (The Long Count) really that dangerous? by Q: Can you really have something two ways? Two ways at the same time? A calendar proceeds forward in time. Like clockwork. Clocks via atomic oscillation always move forward. Much as this article will continue now. 2012 is more than a religious prediction. It's that too, but... It's astronomy. Like an eclipse. Or a syzygy. Or a colliding comet. (escape velocity) It's math. Like two intersecting lines. or a covering plane. Or a threshold kinetic equilibrium. It's also chemistry. Molecules can't exist if they have two vibrational frequencies. Atoms have no definition if they have two directions simultaneously. Biomolecules can't bind if the kinetic energy exceeds the potential energy. The bond will fissure. Permanently. Have you ever woken up and looked at a clock at 12? And not known whether it was noon or midnight? Would what you would have done next mattered? Or if you had reached for the alarm clock to check but it was in front of you not on your right? Is the alarm clock still there? Now you would say a clock can't go backwards, but at 12 with no momentum and no certainty, it might. It might. You have to ask yourself what moves a clock. Buddhism has long afforded the philosophy that the mind can supersede the body. That if you look at a blue painting long enough and keep thinking it's red, it may as well be a red painting. I mean, convention, by language, optics, or association is a powerful thing. Think of it like that movie, The Ring, with Naomi Watts. Where there's that video tape that kills people in seven days. Or better yet think of it like West's new novel, So The Sun Rises So the Sun Sets. You know, the one where the Greys (aliens) wipe themselves out in a Galactic Civil War, (like The Time Wars in Doctor Who, or The Balancing of the Force in Star Wars III, or even Battlestar Galactica (the new Series Season 4)) because of the treachery of Aaron Aepapevil. The Solar System. It's a time clock. Or a time bomb. Written in astronomy. Physical astronomy. Along with Buddhist philosophy. As for religion, of course guys like Streiber, Nostradamus, and Newton, see it this way. Government and politics obey laws too. Like Marx and Engels and like duplicate surgery, some economics and trauma are a result of being too Aristotlean. Too much association with John Galt-like punishment, at the expense of Newtonian recoil. It brings forth like entropy over glass. Something it took the world a billion years to create viruses from the primordial sea, let alone animals. Not an easy Vase to repair once shattered. Even a duplicate calendar (Roman and Julian) date can't do away with time. Not something nested in the properties of atomic clocks, not human clocks, anyways.... .... Read Nephros A.'s new book "Wind of Change." He has a double degree in physics and even he knows that at the root we are all guided by primitive urges controlled by the Earth's core, like animals... The bears. The bees. The birds. They all know when the earthquake is coming. Lastly as for the number.. 12/20/2012 is when it all is supposed to come down. In Mayan years that's 12.19.19.17.19. (Remember the birthday of the Mayan calendar is August 11, 3114 BCE, a Pisot–Vijayaraghavan number and similar to Pi, the circumference of a circle) The odds against both calendars having that day having such strange looking numbers? Those civilization hadn't even met each other til Columbus. And that's over a thousand years since either civilization, the Romans or the Mayans, invented their Calendars. The odds? Minimal. It's like the fixation point for Celsius and Fahrenheit. -40. That's when both thermometers will read the same number, for the same temperature. Or the triple point of water. Equilibrium over Maupertuisian virtual work phase transitions. But that's a complex problem. Bottom line: I really like Nephros A.'s new book. But I disagree with him. .........I think the case for 2012 is even stronger. Stronger in 24 different disciplines. I believe the third Antichrist is around. Unlike Vietnam, or WWII, or 1984, though, I don't think his effect will be passed or subtle. This time he finds society..... unacceptable. But I really think doesn't the world have a chance?

A: It's just a calendar ending. Our own calendar ends every Dec 31st.

Im just wondering what anyone makes of this? by Q: Quatrain X:67 A very mighty trembling in the month of May, Saturn in Capricorn, Jupiter and Mercury in Taurus: Venus also, Cancer, Mars in Virgo, Hail will fall larger than an egg. -and- Quatrain IX:83 Sun twentieth of Taurus the earth will tremble very mightily, It will ruin the great theater filled: To darken and trouble air, sky and land, Then the infidel will call upon God and saints. Equally interesting to note are that the Americans this past weekend, spurred on by their mainstream propaganda media, seemed to go into some kind of “Moon worship mode” to begin the month of “Nostradamus’s May” over a supposed “Supermoon” event, which in actuality did see the Moon reach its perigee for 2012 (the closest point it comes towards the Earth in its orbit), but only by a distance of less than 1,400 km from April’s Full Moon. Most important to note, however, is that May, indeed, does have some very intriguing and historical astrological signs of note, including a currently ongoing rare alignment of the planets exactly matching those given in Nostradamus’s 1566 prediction, and an equally significant Solar Eclipse due to occur on 20 May that will cross the entire Ring of Fire zone from Asia to North America. Most ominous to note about all of these events are their occurring immediately prior to the return from retrograde orbit of the planet Venus, which on 8 June 2004 crossed the surface of the Sun for the first time in 120 years, and on 6 June 2012 will do so again ending its 8 year journey that will not be seen again in any of our lifetimes, but which the ancient Mayans warned would signal the beginning of the end of our present age set to expire of 21 December of this year.

so why are they saying now that the end of the world will be this upcoming sunday? by Q: according to "Nostradamus" an italian man from i dont know what ancient century, said may 20 2012 is the day in which the world will end!! (solar eclipse will cause earthquakes) && according to the mayas this will happen too! i thought they had said december 21 2012??!! a very believable philosopher has said this, if you google him, you'll find out there has been many predictions he has made and have happened already...so yeah..

DO U BELIEVE IN 2012 & WHAT'S GOING 2 HAPPEN? I READ THIS SOMEWHERE AND IT MADE ME THINK. I 'WASN'T' A BELIEVE? by Firefly Q: Apocalypse! The Mayan Calendar And 2012 There is a distinct system of calendars and almanacs called the Mayan Calendar that projects a rebirth of the Earth's cycles on December 21, 2012. It will, according to these chartings, be apocalyptic, yet not the true "end" of the world. In pre-Columbian Mesopotamia, one of the oldest known civilizations to man, these records were produced. They are all interlocked and synchronized in such an efficient manner that they have stood the tests of time. Now, if they are correct, the Earth will undergo many devastating changes that will totally reset the balance of all life in 2012. The writing system utilized to record these calendars and almanacs dates back into the 6th century BCE. It was Mel Gibson's major theatrical release Apocalypto which has drawn mainstream attention to Mayan civilization recently. Since its release, there have been several major book releases that cover all aspects of the Mayans, especially the foreboding 2012 deadline for dominant life forms. Of course, there have been numerous other impending world-ending or transforming scenarios suggested to the human race throughout time besides 2012. They include the various predictions of the notorious Nostradamus, Y2K and several others. In essence, it seems that these are take-offs of distorted mass consciousness, based on unjustifiable, non-scientific proclamations that simply never seem to pan out. You see, the Mayans did not follow the modernly-accepted Gregorian calendar. They couldn't; it didn't exist. Instead, they lived their lives based on a combination of information presented by three separate calendars: - A solar calendar based on a 365-day year; - A ceremonial calendar based on a 260-day year; - and a "long-count" calendar that based all time frames on a series of five numbers that always individually totaled less than 20. The 365-day and 260-day calendars coincided every 52 years. If that isn't insensible enough, the second to last number of the long count calendar was always less than 18. The first number on the long calendar was: 0.0.0.0.0. That number corresponded to August 11, 3114 BC (as close as can be determined). Every 144,000 days was called "baktun". 144,000 days is roughly 395 years. Like the Y2K hypothesis that predicted unruly chaos when the Gregorian calendar rolled over from 12/31/1999 to 01/01/2000, the Mayan calendar predicts chaotic devastation when it rolls over from 12.19.19.17.19 to a new 0.0.0.0.0. Here is what is supposed to happen then: - Asteroid 433 Eros will come within 17 million miles of the Earth in January; - In April, the US will grant renewed control of the Korean military back to Koreans; - An annular solar eclipse will transpire in May; - The Summer Olympics will be held in London; - The population of our beloved Earth will top 7 billion; - The new Freedom Towers in NYC will be completed; - November will bring a new US president; - A new 11-year sunspot cycle will begin, flipping the Sun's magnetic poles; - and the Mayan calendar will officially complete its pre-designated 5125-year lifespan and the end of days will be upon us. What will follow is said to be an apocalyptic world where everything will be chaotic until natural forces restore the balances of life - if ever. That is the basis of the 2012 predictions of the Mayan calendar. Make of it as you will. Be prepared to live to the fullest of your potential in any case!..... So, now what do you think? I can honestly tell everyone that I wasn't scared one bit about the day of 2000, but people were buying out the stores storing up for a fall but as I had known, nothing happened. But I think we better take some precautions this time. THE WORLD IS NOT GOING TO END, THERE IS JUST GOING TO BE EVENTS THAT WILL 'RESHAPE', [IF YOU WILL], OUR PLANET. AFTER ALL, WE HAVEN'T TAKEN CARE OF OUR PLANET SO THE PLANET, IF YOU WILL,HAS TO RESTORE ITSELF CAUSE OF WHAT WE HAVE DONE TO IT. THE EARTH IS AYING, 'SINCE YOU DIDNT KNOW HOW TO TREAT ME, I HAVE TO COME OUT AND CLEAN IT UP MYSELF AND ITS NOT GONNA BE NICE CAUSE IM PI**ED, I GAVE YOU SOMETHING TO TAKE CARE OF AND LOOK WHAT YOU'VE DONE...I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO FIX WHAT I GAVE 'YOU' TO TAKE CARE OF.

A: Posting questions this long is kind of irritating, so I've gone ahead and condensed it for you: "The Mayan calendar something something, therefore the earth something something asteroid president sunspot KABOOM! Everyone dies." See? That's the same content in a lot less space. Anyhow, this whole 2012 thing is a craptastic load of crapular crap, despite having been pulled directly out of some very reputable behinds or whatever.

Will a solar eclpise affect my unborn baby ? by Q: I am 20 weeks into my pregnancy. They say an eclipse might affect my unborn baby. Is this true or is it just a myth ? I looked it up but everyone says different things. Do i have to wear red underwear and a safety pin..? Thanks :) And the eclipse is Today. May 20, 2012

Where is the date on this USAtoday article? by Q: well this doesnt look like a normal USA today article but it has 2 days ago or something. So can someone actually make the date show somewhere on the webpage? because it is required for homework, and i absolutely needs THIS one. http://travel.usatoday.com/destinations/dispatches/post/2012/04/national-parks-solar-eclipse-may-20/683045/1

A: No you can't.

Where to purchase safe solar glasses? by Q: I live in Las Vegas, Nevada and I would like to know where I can purchase some safe solar glasses to view the Partial Solar Eclipse on Sunday, May 20, 2012. I don't have time to make my own viewer and don't have the ability to purchase online things. So does anyone know where I can buy one here in Vegas? I know CSN's Astronomy sells them, but they are sold out. I really want to experience this phenomenon, as it will be my first time in my life! Thanks, much appreciated. :)

Does anyone know what time the eclipse is today? by Q: Okay so i heard theres a solar eclipse going on today may 20th 2012 and im pregnant with only 6 weeks and i want to watch out for this. Does anyone know what time the eclipse is if anyone can help me wit this i would surely appriciate it <3

Chinese, Mayan, Babylonians,Hebrews, and NASA weigh in on the 2012 and the Eclipse? by crimmsonandclover Q: The Black" moon (that is, when the moon is in conjunction with the sun), not the first visible crescent used in the Islamic and Hebrew calendars. The date of a new moon is the first day of a new month. 2012 EVENTS January 23 - Chinese New Year and scheduled new moon. This time of year is associated with the Water-Dragon in Chinese NASA-May 20 - Annular solar eclipse, a Sunday. November 13 - Total solar eclipse (visible in northern Australia and the South Pacific). December 21 - The Long Count calendar used by the Maya civilization ends. 2012 (MMXII) will be a leap year starting on Sunday of the Gregorian calendar. Does it mean anything? We shall see... Thoughts?

A: I have noticed that Pluto is entering Capricorn at this time. As Capricorn rules physical manifestation, I believe that this will unleash a wave of world karma and initiate the beginning of the Ghora Yuga or "Fearsome Aeon", i.e. "apocalypse". It is said that this Aeon will end in Fire...with 70,000 nuclear warheads on the face of the earth, it surely can be seen that 'we have the technology' to bring down this catastrophe upon our heads. The true miracle is that such a thing HASN'T happened yet, but I believe IT WILL; as long as nuclear warheads exist, they will 'demand' to fulfill their function as weapons.. There is also the possibility of an asteroid strike...if anyone thinks "they " are on the job watching out for such things, you had best think again. Three good-sized asteroids swept right past Earth in early 2002 and NOBODY spotted them until it would have been much too late to do anything about them, had they been on a collision course with Earth!

Will i see the 2012 Annual Solar Eclipse in GA? by Q: It is on May 20th

how much of the eclipse will st louis viewers see? by Steve R Q: What can people in St Louis, MO expect to see on May 20, 2012 in regards to the solar eclipse ?

Can I use an Ipad to view a solar eclipse? by Q: Ok so I've heard that there's going to be a solar eclipse here in the states on May 20th 2012 and I was wondering if I could use the Ipad to view the show. If I just held the Ipad up to the sun were I'm looking at the Ipad and not the sun I should be safe right??

A: What a great idea! No it will not harm your eyes if you us the video camera to capture the eclipse. I have used my droid to take direct pictures of the sun before. If it is high in the sky they are mostly washed out to bright yellow light. But the sunset pictures are great so I don't see any reason why it would not look spectacular on your ipad. If it does wash out find and old pair of dark sun glasses and pop out a lens and tape it in from of the camera lens. The sun WILL NOT damage your ipad! (see videos of others below) Good luck!

can the solar eclipse be seen from north carolina? by Q: the eclipse tonight may 20, 2012

If a solar eclipse was on one half of the world, wouldn't it take another year for it to reach the other half? by Q: i've been seeing a lot of tweets about a Solar Eclipse that's supposed to happen today. May 20, 2012 i then googled it and found a site where a picture came up, the caption said " 8:35 PM Tokyo, Japan. " That's obviously the other half of the world, Would it take a year to reach the other, Where US is?

future solar eclipse... by David D Q: Where will the solar eclipse on May 20th 2012 be visible from? From where to where and from where best?

A: see http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/SEcat/SEdecade2011.html the solar eclipse n that day will be annular - not total and it will be visible in Asia, Pacific, N. America [ China, Japan, Pacific, w U.S.] There in fact eclipses every year - so this website will lead you the info for where to travel

Is something going to happen between May 20th, 2012 and June 6th or just after? by Q: I know the solar eclipse is going to happen on may 20 , 2012 but I just saw video saying that theirs going to be a big earthquake and that Nostradamus and Mayans predicted something was going to happen. Is it true what is really going to happen in 2 days I know the solar eclipse but anything else? Should I be worry about? Is the world going to end on December 21, 2012 ? I'm really scare right now

did i miss the solar eclipse? by Q: I live in idaho and I was wondering if I missed the solar eclipse, it didnt get darker or anything so did i miss may 20, 2012's solar eclipse?

I'm afraid of a Solar Eclipse..? by Q: Okay, so I;m 13. There is supposed to be a solar eclipse May 20th 2012, and it's May 12 2012 now. Everyone says how if you look at it, you'll go blind. Also, my Mom said it's really freaky cause the whole world goes all spooky and supernaturally dark.. :( I'm scared of the dark haha. How long does it last. What if I'm in school when it happens.... I'll FREAK! Oh never mind I don;t have school that day. But you get the point (:

How does solar eclipse effect pregnant women? by Silvia V Q: I'm 16 weeks pregnant, and everyone is telling me that the solar eclipse, which will be May 20, 2012, can affect the unborn baby, has anyone else heard this?

solar eclipse may 2012 washington.? by Kendra S Q: What time will this be visible around whidbey island in Washington State, may 20th 2012.

A: The eclipse will start at 5:01pm or 5:02pm depending on your location, and the end will be at 7:24pm or 7:25pm. The obscuration will be around 74%-76%.

Do you think something bad will happen tomorrow on May 20,2012? by Q: As you may know, Sunday, there will be an eclipse seen in certain areas of the world. Nostradamus predicted there would be a Great Earthquake on May, and meteors would hit the Earth. He said the sun would darken too. The day when Earth, the Sun, and the moon would all be aligned... The Mayas also predicted this day, they said it would be the return of the 'Jaguar' and his shadow would be seen over the Pyramid of Chichen Itza(solar eclipse) May 20, 2012 marked the circle in their calendar, when they said the Messiah would return. The Bible also says in Revelations 6:12-14 "I watched as he opened the sixth seal. There was a great earthquake. The sun turned black like sackcloth made of goat hair, the whole moon turned blood red, and the stars in the sky fell to earth, as figs drop from a fig tree when shaken by a strong wind. The heavens receded like a scroll being rolled up, and every mountain and island was removed from its place. " Lucas 21:11 "There will be great earthquakes, famines and pestilences in various places, and fearful events and great signs from heaven. " So what do you think about this day? Do you believe in all this? I'm not sure, but I do know the Bible says 'no one knows the day when the Lord is to return, only the Father.' I hope nothing bad happens... Please no rude answers. (I didn't come up with this theory, I just saw it on a video, and I'm not sure if I should believe it so I need opinions)

A: These predictions of impending doom and gloom have been made for the past 2,000 or more years. We have suffered through earthquakes, storms, fires, and a lot of other things that hasn't wiped out the world as we now know it. Basically, you've been duped. The Mayans predicted no such end of the world on May 20, 2012. The December 21, 2012, date is based upon the end of the long-count Mayan calendar system. Keep in mind that the Mayan peoples never disappeared, neither at the time of the Classic period decline nor with the arrival of the Spanish conquistadors and the subsequent Spanish colonization of the Americas. Today, the Maya and their descendants form sizable populations throughout the Maya area and maintain a distinctive set of traditions and beliefs that are the result of the merger of pre-Columbian and post-Conquest ideas and cultures. Scholars familiar with the Mayan calendar system say that the Mayans looked forward to the end of the calendar the same way we look forward to the end of our calendar -- a time for great celebration (New Year's Eve and Day). Take a deep breath and repeat after me: "The world is not going to end in 2012. The world is not going to end in 2012. The whole 'end of the world' thing is a hoax to make money." Now go enjoy the rest of the year.

What do you think about the day May 20, 2012? by Q: As you may know, Sunday, there will be an eclipse seen in certain areas of the world. Nostradamus predicted there would be a Great Earthquake on May, and meteors would hit the Earth. He said the sun would darken too. The day when Earth, the Sun, and the moon would all be aligned... The Mayas also predicted this day, they said it would be the return of the 'Jaguar' and his shadow would be seen over the Pyramid of Chichen Itza(solar eclipse) May 20, 2012 marked the circle in their calendar, when they said the Messiah would return. The Bible also says in Revelations 6:12-14 "I watched as he opened the sixth seal. There was a great earthquake. The sun turned black like sackcloth made of goat hair, the whole moon turned blood red, and the stars in the sky fell to earth, as figs drop from a fig tree when shaken by a strong wind. The heavens receded like a scroll being rolled up, and every mountain and island was removed from its place. " Lucas 21:11 "There will be great earthquakes, famines and pestilences in various places, and fearful events and great signs from heaven. " So what do you think about this day? Do you believe in all this? I'm not sure, but I do know the Bible says 'no one knows the day when the Lord is to return, only the Father.' I hope nothing bad happens... Please no rude answers.

A: I don't concern myself about the future, as Jesus said: "Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof." (Matthew 6:34)

What time in central time will the solar eclipse of 2012 be? by Q: I heard that there would be a series of eclipses, starting on May, 20th 2012. And I also heard it would be a full eclipse, so the only thing I need to know is: a) When the eclipse will start (central) b) When will it be a full eclipse (central) Please comment you answers

what time will the solar eclipse happen on may 20th 2012 fo southern california? by Q: thanks!

A: Please check my answer on a similar question in this link: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AnYX6csO1Y02BGsHnMq_HZIjzKIX;_ylv=3?qid=20120519200059AA9AyX6

At what time will the solar eclipse of May 20th, 2012 occur? by Guru Q:

May 20th 2012 solar eclipse? by Q: I live in northeast ohio will i be able to see the eclipse this sunday?? I really hope sooo!

A: You can find out here - http://www.skyandtelescope.com/community/skyblog/observingblog/A-Preview-of-May-20ths-Annular-Eclipse-141037803.html

When will Texas(Houston) be able to see the may 20 2012 eclipse? by Q: I'm really confused on when the solar eclipse will be visible in TX bc of all the time zone conversions.

A: Theoritically, Houston might be able to witness only the start of the eclipse with maximum magnitude of 39%. The eclipse will start at 7:36pm, but the sun sets 35 minutes later at 8:11pm before the eclipse reaches its maximum annular state. Even when assuming clear weather, the sun sometimes cannot be seen when it goes close to the horizon. Hence, weather permitting, you are guaranteed to see at least the first six minutes of the eclipse. Regarding the rest of Texas, the annular eclipse will be visible in many counties in northern Texas, from Oldham County in the north to Midland County in the south to Cottle County in the east. The northern and western tips of Texas will see only a partial eclipse that will end by sunset AFTER maximum eclipse. The rest of Texas will see a partial eclipse that will end by sunset BEFORE maximum eclipse.

This is my first solar eclipse, today may 20th 2012 , and I have a few questions.? by Q: Today on the solar eclipse, if I'm in my house willI be fine? What i mean is , will the sun thingy hurt my eyes if I'm inside? Also, can i look out the window and be fine? Last, can i be outside with just regular sunglasses on and look at it, and can i just be outside and not look up and be fine? Im in North Las Vegas NV. Thank you !

A: the solar eclipse only damages your eyes because the UV rays are still coming down even thought there is no sunlight . usually the bright light makes you look away from the sun but the light is being blocked so you look right into the UV rays and they damage your eyes. you will be fine in your house and with sun glasses and the solar eclipse only happens in a little area so it might not be happening where you are.

What city in Ontario or Quebec would be a good place to see the solar eclipse on May 20th, 2012? by canajen Q: And how much will you be able to see? (a quarter, a third, not enough to see with the naked eye?)

A: The farther west, the better. In the east, in Quebec City, the eclipse begins at sunset and will effectively be invisible. In the west, at Thunder Bay, maximum eclipse, with just under 60% of the Sun's diameter covered, will occur 20 minutes before sunset. Other places: Montreal: 6% (but more or less invisible, at sunset) Ottawa 17% (close to sunset, so not well seen) Toronto 27% Sault Sainte Marie 57%.

Why is the eclipse on May 20, 2012 not on any website or before 1 week ago? by Q: I have looked all over the internet looking for any kind of mention of the solar eclipse that is scheduled to happen on May 20, 2012. I have gone to sites that mathematically calculate solar eclipse cycles, but there is no mention of May 20, 2012. As far as i can tell there wasn't supposed to be another solar eclipse until 2014.

A: Really? I have an old book that I bought from NASA in 1986. ("Fifty Year Canon of Solar Eclipses," by Fred Espenak). The May 20, 2012 eclipse is right there. Has been, ever since I bought it. I also visit this site regularly, and I can assure you I've personally been looking at the details of the May 20 eclipse on this website for well over a year now: http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/eclipse.html I've also been running simulations of the May 20 eclipse (starting well over a year ago) using Starry Night software. I think you just haven't been looking hard enough. Exactly where is this eclipse-calculating website that fails to mention the May 20 eclipse? Is it possible that you were limiting your search to "total solar eclipses"? (The May 20 eclipse is "annular," not "total.")

Solar eclipse on may 20 2012? by Q: What time will it show in California

Is the May 2012 Solar Eclipse, Total? by FinAidGuy Q: I am planing on attending the May 20th Solar eclipse. Is it going to a be a total eclipse if I am directly on the path? I plan on being near Page, AZ.

A: No, the May 2012 solar eclipse will not be total. The total solar eclipse of Nov 13-14th will be visible from many places besides just the city of Cairns, Australia.

Solar Eclipse on May 20, 2012? by chris Q Q: can you see the annular eclipse better in St George or Kanarraville utah or whats the diffents????? and what time will it be @ George and Kanarraville

A: Utah is pretty much at the very end of the entire event. If you look at this graphic, you'll see that it is mostly over the pacific: http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/OH/OH2012.html#SE2012May20A The graphic indicates that southern Utah gets the better view if that's any help. http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/OH/OHfigures/OH2012-Fig01.pdf

Hey! I was born in 21 may, my natal sun is in Gemini 0.2 how would the solar eclipse in 20 may 2012 affect me ? by Q:

What time will the solar eclipse happen for houston,tx on may 20,2012? by Q: i live in houston texas and i want to catch the solar eclipse tonight, i would love to know what time it will happen or if i will even be able to see it from houston please help. thanks

Help with the Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012? by PirateKairi Luvs Ya Q: I live in Central Time, and I don't know what time the Solar Eclipse would be! Can you please help me?

How can I view the May 20th, 2012 solar eclipse? by Q: I really have never seen a solar eclipse. I really don't have anything to view it with. Can I use my camera to record it? Will my camera get damaged? What can I do?

For the Annular Solar Eclipse of May 20 2012, when is it taking place? by 123kirin Q: I live in New Jersey, in the south jersey and what time will the eclipse start and where is the best direction to see it? Websites have times for Utah and other states, but they don't for New Jersey. Please Help, what time. Thank you!!!

A: I live in New Jersey Sorry, that eclipse won't be seen from New Jersey. By the time it has ocurred, the Sun will have set and it'll be nighttime where you live. Read this: http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/badastronomy/2012/05/17/ring-of-fire-eclipse-on-may-20/ Take special attention to the map on that blog post.

May 20 2012 solar eclipse (sacramento)? by Q: I live in marysville. Its one hour away from sacramento. What time will the solar eclipse be at?

Will Mississippi be able to see the solar eclipse on May 20, 2012? by Q: I've seen a few graphs that show the eclipse ending in Texas, but some that are a bit vague and only show Mississippi in a slightly shaded region but don't say for certain if we're gonna see it.

What time may 20,2012 solar eclipse in ca? by Q:

Will the next Solar Eclipse on May 20, 2012 be visible from California's bay area? by Howie N. Q: sorry the space did not allow my full question: Will the next Solar Eclipse on May 20, 2012 be visible from California's bay area (Hayward, Union City, Oakland. you know this area)? If it does then what time?

A: Yes, it will be visible as a partial eclipse. These are the visibility information for major cities in the area (Time of eclipse start/Time of maximum eclipse/Time of eclipse end/Eclipse magnitude): San Jose: 17:18/18:34/19:40/83.6% San Francisco: 17:16/18:33/19:39/84.2% Oakland: 17:16/18:33/19:39/84.4% Fremont: 17:17/18:34/19:40/84.0% Santa Rosa: 17:15/18:32/19:39/85.5% Hayward: 17:17/18:33/19:39/84.2% Sunnyvale: 17:17/18:34/19:40/83.5% Concord: 17:16/18:33/19:39/85.0% Santa Clara: 17:17/18:34/19:40/83.6% Vallejo: 17:16/18:33/19:39/85.1% Berkeley: 17:16/18:33/19:39/84.6% Fairfield: 17:16/18:33/19:39/85.6% Richmond: 17:16/18:33/19:39/84.7% Antioch: 17:17/18:33/19:39/85.3% Daly City: 17:16/18:33/19:40/83.9% After that, the next nine solar eclipses (all partial) that will be witnessed in the area will occur on 23 October 2014, 21 August 2017, 14 October 2023, 8 April 2024, 14 January 2029, 14 November 2031, 30 March 2033, 1 September 2035 and 21 June 2039.

Annular solar eclipse May 20, 2012 -visible in USA? by Tamara B Q: There will be an annular solar eclipse visible in the USA on Sunday, May 20, 2012. http://science.nasa.gov/science-news/science-at-nasa/2012/27jan_annulareclipse/ I live in New York City, and I read that I will only be able to see a partial eclipse, is that right? In New York, it will be visible from 4:56 pm - 10:49 pm..... hmmm, how do you see the sun at 10:49 pm? Sunset is at 8:10 pm. http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=Annular+Solar+Eclipse+on+May+20–21%2C+2012&iso=20120520T2056&ah=5&am=53 So do I have my information correct, I can watch it from 4:56 pm until sunset? Thank you

A: It won't be visible at all from New York --- the center of the eclipse is in mid-Pacific. It will start just after sunset in New York, in southern China. It will be visible just before sunset in northern California and southern Oregon. Annular eclipses are partial everywhere. They're nowhere near as spectacular as a total eclipse. The one to look for is August 2017.

Images
Videos
Solar Eclipse Over The USA - May 20, 2012 - NASA Annular solar eclipse of May 20, 2012 Ring of Fire Solar Eclipse on May 20, 2012 - Visible in US MAY 20,2012 SOLAR ECLIPSE/CHICAGO NATO SUMMIT MEETING ( ZIP CODE 60606 ) PLANS TO EVACUATE? Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 Astrology THE GREAT EARTHQUAKE MAY 20 2012 New Moon Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 by Dorothy Morgan Annular Solar Eclipse Coming May 20, 2012 Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 - Annular 'Ring Of Fire' Eclipse TOTAL Annular Solar Eclipse May 20-21 2012 RAW INFO May 20,2012 Annular Eclipse Explainer Solar Eclipse in Gemini May 20, 2012 SOLAR ECLIPSE MAY 20, 2012 Solar Eclipse Sunset: Lake Michigan on May 20, 2012 Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 LIVE Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 'Ring Of Fire' Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 | NASA Goodbye SOLAR ECLIPSE May 20, 2012 | Adios ECLIPSE SOLAR 20 de Mayo 2012 Ring of Fire Solar Eclipse on May 20, 2012 readies Chicago NATO Summit SOLAR ECLIPSE MAY 20 2012 Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 Annular Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 Solar Eclipse Update for California on May 20, 2012 Pleiades Solar Eclipse May 20 2012: Trumpet Call for 2012 Solar Eclipse - May 20, 2012 - View From Southern California Trainspotting : Planet X Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 AD NASA Science - Solar Eclipse in the USA (May 20, 2012) May 20 Solar Eclipse Preview: San Diego Ring of Fire Solar Eclipse on May 20, 2012 - Visible in US Annular Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 Ring of Fire Total Eclipse Earth Eclipse galaxy drake moon SIGNS IN THE HEAVENS: The 'Ring of Fire' - Annular Solar Eclipse on May 20, 2012! SOLAR ECLIPSE Ring Moon Sun Northern CA California USA May 20 2012 May 20 2012 Annular Eclipse LIVE from Area 51 on Scottys Sky!!! 'Ring Of Fire' Annular Solar Eclipse - May 20, 2012 日食(Tokyo, Japan) Annular Solar Eclipse Near Sunset May 20, 2012 What is an Annular Eclipse...May 20, 2012 -The Serpent's Eclipse Solar Eclipse Nov 25, 2011 + Ring of Fire May 20, 2012 Severe Solar Eclipse Warning for California on May 20, 2012 Solar Eclipse, May 20, 2012 Solar eclipse of May 20, 2012 SOLAR ECLIPSE MAY 20, 2012 RED FILTER Releasing the Old Reality: Solar Eclipse - May 20, 2012 Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 - The Annual Event Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 Western US Solar Eclipse - May 20, 2012 Annular Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012 Annual partial SOLAR ECLIPSE on May 20, 2012 Earthquakes May 19 2012 Near 6 in Chile and hypothesis on Solar Eclipse May 20 2012 Eclipse This Weekend - May 20, 2012 (((AMAZING))) Annular Solar Eclipse May 20, 2012
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-07 11:33:19