OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Singapore Day
News

Singapore shares largely unchanged mid-day
SINGAPORE: Singapore shares were largely unchanged by midday, with United Overseas Bank Ltd weighing on the broader market after reporting poorer-than-expected earnings. UOB shares fell as much as 3.2 percent, the biggest intra-day drop since November, ...

GRAINS-US wheat falls for 2nd day, higher acreage weighs
* Wheat falls 0.5 pct on supply expectations * Soy dips from five-month top, corn weakens * USDA projects largest wheat acreage in 3 years * Technicals: Soybeans to retrace (Adds details, quotes) By Naveen Thukral SINGAPORE, Feb 24 (Reuters) - Chicago ...

'Sand Dredging' and 'Cooking with Poo' up for bizarre title of the year book prize
By Richard Alleyne The work by Peter Grosson, which documents the sand trade from its inception in 1912 to the present day, is nominated for the Diagram Prize which rewards bizarre and sometimes intentionally strange titles published during the year.

Futcher, Shin tie Stanford for second-round lead at HSBC Women's Champions
SINGAPORE — Katie Futcher and Jenny Shin shot 5-under 67s in the HSBC Women's Champions on Friday to join first-round leader Angela Stanford at the top of the leaderboard. Futcher and Shin both had six birdies and one bogey to reach 8-under 136 and ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

Phoebbbeee @jayohelle Ohh haha! They also anyhow give me 2 forms! Singapore cancer society daffodils day and Pertapis flag day :>

EUNHAE_L0VES #nowplaying SS4 IN SINGAPORE - OPERA (DAY 2)

OHHECKYEAH_ RT @matsallehan: Singapore school can be 12hours of CRAPPY DAY

matsallehan Singapore school can be 12hours of CRAPPY DAY

HungerGamesSG Today's the last day of registration for our Block Movie Screening! Will you be joining us? http://t.co/M4tO3JnE

cheeyinnn @TelleMW my dad say the Singapore trip will be boring, 12 hours trip in the bus,only 1 day at Singapore and we'll be spending our time at--

meta_guide_sg #alexislucky: Day 1 NATAS Travel Fair 2012 at Singapore Expo (Indonesia Pavilion at Hall 5 no 43)

meta_guide_sg #Sayaf1: Singapore Picture – Travel Photo - National Geographic Photo of the Day http://t.co/zHG8wMDU via #NatGeo

sunnymerrygo RT @4evaELF: [120219] Super Show 4 Singapore Day 2 - Ryeowook <3 http://t.co/toplLnGY

tontoeychk RT @4evaELF: [120219] Super Show 4 Singapore Day 2 ended :D goodbye kiss from hae! <3 http://t.co/CrvzhuTM

tontoeychk RT @4evaELF: [120219] Super Show 4 Singapore Day 2 - Donghae Henry Eunhyuk Sungmin^^ happy ming~ http://t.co/urv817Lr all diff pose~ http://t.co/Hbvh1kqx

Cloud_crystal RT @_dearsuju: almost a week since ss4 singapore day 1 u___u

_dearsuju almost a week since ss4 singapore day 1 u___u

tontoeychk RT @4evaELF: [120219] Super Show 4 Singapore Day 2 - cute teuk with towel :D http://t.co/rICRHBz4 http://t.co/ClmYztBY

hsfly3424 I liked a @YouTube video http://t.co/0euDP0ue [120219] Super Show 4 Singapore Day 2 - Water Splash time :D

Discussions

Can you please help us to plan 11 day Malaysia-Singapore-Langkawi tour? by Q: We have booked (9 persons all 50+ ) following round trip tickets in Air Asia for 5500 INR :-) 16-sep-2011: Kochi (India) to KL 27-sep-2011: KL to Kochi Need to know the order of the places to visit and mode of transport.We would like to travel in bus/train/ferry. Also looking for a budget travel .... We prefer to travel in train/bus during the day time

A: I think your itinerary should start either with Singapore first or Langkawi first, because KL is right in the middle of Singapore and Langkawi. there's a lot of transportation from KL to Singapore or vice versa. the one that I often use is the train. They have an overnight (sleeper) train, leave Singapore late night and will be arrive at KL early morning or vice versa. the trip took longer than the bus but it saves a price of one night at hotel. I don't know the easiest way to get to Langkawi from KL. the only one time i've been to Langkawi is from Penang, Malaysia using a ferry boat. took three and a half hour to get there but it's all worth it. when you get to Langkawi, make sure you ride the cable car, i forgot the name of the place, but you ride the cable car from Oriental Village. the view is breathtaking.

One day layover in Singapore; What tourist experiences can I enjoy? by kanga Q: Leaving Oz mid May enroute to Europe for 1 yrs work. Will arrive in early evining in Singapore. What should I do that eveining? Heard the Zoo is one of the worlds best.A goer? Love Asian food and doubt I'll get any in provincial Czech city I'll be living in, so where are best places in Singapore? Advice please?!! Thanks :-)

A: zoo

Can I spend a day in Singapore with a budget of US$ 100 ? by sank8uk Q: Hey guys I'm planning to spend a day or 2 in Singapore. I am supposed to change flights there so thinking of extending my stay. But the thing is my budget wont allow me to spend more than US$100 for the stay there. I was looking for really cheap hotels but I dunno where to look ! Also how much of Singapore can I see in one day? It would be a great help if u were to tell me some cheap hotels or at least a website where I can get some info. Thanks !

A: Hi 1. at a conservative exchange rate of USD 1 = SGD 1.3, you have S$130 to spend for a day. 2. My suggestion: a. Accommodation: Use a dorm bed (about S$20) or a standard room with shared bathroom (S$70) at the New 7th Storey Hotel - http://www.nsshotel.com Money left: S$60. b. 1 day tour plan: Morning: Walking tour of either Little India: http://www.etour-singapore.com/little-india.html or Kampong Glam Malay-Arab Quarter: http://www.etour-singapore.com/kampong-glam.html Cost: free. Lunch: food + drink at a hawkers' centre (about $5-6) Pack for dinner: Also hawker centre (also about $5-6) Money left: S$48 Afternoon + Evening: Singapore Zoo & Night Safari (next to each other) Zoo: http://www.etour-singapore.com/singapore-zoo.html Night Safari: http://www.etour-singapore.com/singapore-night-safari.html MRT to Ang Mo Kio + Bus 138 to Zoo / Night Safari + return journey: about $8. Combined ticket to Zoo and Night Safari: $30 Money left after a day: $10 It'll be more comfortable if you stayed in a dorm. Remember to set aside money for airport tax etc.

how do i send a card and beer from india to singapore for this valentines day.? by Q: Also if i get some gift ideas for my husband it will be great. i cant send him flowers / chocolates / cake / wallet /perfume. :( am so confused!!

Who commemorated the first National Day of Singapore? by maddiemaniac Q: need asap.. if you are able to translate into malay that will be good

A: I don't know what you mean by 'commemorated' but Singapore celebrated her first National Day in 1966, one year after Singapore's independence from Malaysia on 9 August 1965. The first National Day Parade started in the morning at 0900. People came as early as 0700 in order to get good vantage points. Singapore's first President, Mr Yusof bin Ishak and Singapore's first Prime Minister, Mr Lee Kuan Yew, were seated with members of the government at the grandstand on the steps of City Hall.

which city does singapore airlines fly most in one day? by Q: so far i knew SQ fly 7 times daily to Jakarta from Singapore. Do you know routes more frequent than this?

A: JKT should be the most frequent compared to BKK, KUL.

Is it true that tourist are able to purchase a day-long MRT pass in Singapore for SGD8? by arenestar Q: Besides the MRT, what other facilities could we use with this pass?

A: Yes, its for real. I had used it before. Its valid on trains and buses. Click the link below for more details. http://www.thesingaporetouristpass.com/html/aboutthepass.php

Singapore Day Tours to Malaysia & Indonesia? by Nna g Q: I'll be in singapore for 5d/4n w/ my mum , 2 weeks from now. We want to take just a day trip to the nearby malaysia & indonesia possibly on 3rd and 4th day respectively. While searching online, I saw johor bahru(for malaysia) & batam island (indonesia) which seems to be the closest. But got a bad vibe thru the reviews of both place thru the web. Anyway, My Questions: 1.) Can you recommend a travel agency/s (can be separate agency) that offers affordable day-tour packages for - Johor & Bantam.(Dont mind being in a group tour, w/ guide & transport back to singapore ) . 2.) How far Is Malacca, Malaysia? by bus what is the travel time from SINGAPORE? I get two different answers online like 2.5hours then the other is 5hours by bus?, & 3.) Is Air Asia the cheapest among low-cost carrier? or is there other airline? Thanks! Thanks Kingston! Will be heading those places you've mention while in Singapore.

A: 1) You can try head to Golden Mile Complex located at Beach Rd for tour packages for Batam and Johore. Five Star Tour and Konsortium has tours to Johor. Check whether they have to tours to Batam or not. Head to Harbor Front Center for tours to Batam and Bintan also. 2) Its above of the state of Johor. Its about 2.5-3 hrs by bus from Singapore only. For bus ride about 5 hrs, you can reach Port Klang, which is near Kuala Lumpur already !!! But if there is traffic jam along the way, then 5 hour is possible or even longer, as I had spend before 9 hours to Kuala Lumpur nearby, so this is possible. 3) For flying in and out of Malaysia, yes, its possibly is. Check with other budget airline for comparison.

what should i bring to a 5 day trip to singapore? its a school trip? by NeSiA ^^ Q: ;) im in the 9th grade i now have 12 shirts in plan but i think its too much and whatt type of shoes? i have to bring sneakers/sport shoes but what else? how many undies?

A: you should bring your maid along

Shopping Options in Singapore? Branded or unbranded. I have only 1 day for shopping so plz temme wer i can go? by thorshammer Q: I have one full day in Singapore for shopping. Where shud i go for best rates n wide variety? Also, do i get a VAT or tax refund at the airport if im a tourist? If yes, procedure? Cheap vegetarian eating options in singapore? Taxi rates?

A: ORCHARD ROAD!!! For branded stuff, you can go to Takashimaya, Wisma Atria and Paragon. For unbranded stuff, you can go to Fareast where there are great buys. Alternatively, you can go to Vivocity (a pretty new shopping mall) and spend a whole day there. A very big shopping mall with shops, entertainment and food under one roof. The mall is so big it will take one complete day. Many restaurants and food courts available for you to choose a place to have a meal at. Hope this helps. :)

when is the opening day of primary schools in Singapore? by Alireza Q: I want to move there with my 6 years old son.

A: Hi, I hope this info** I've found for you is sufficient and relevant! ** NOTE: You must VISIT http://www.moe.gov.sg/schapp/frames.htm for more exact details on the opening day of the school. School Terms for 2007 (Semester I) Term I Wednesday 3 January - Friday 9 March 2007 Term II Monday 19 March - Friday 25 May 2007 (Semester II) Term III Monday 25 June - Friday 31 August 2007 Term IV Monday 10 September - Friday 16 November 2007 You can also check out the School Holidays, Scheduled School Holidays, Scheduled Public Holidays for year 2007 in the website http://www.moe.gov.sg/schapp/frames.htm for more info. I hope you'll be in Singapore before the school term starts. Do settle everything as soon as possible and your son can start schooling smoothly. For the whole list of school names, kindly visit http://www.moe.gov.sg/schdiv/sis and enrol your kid to the nearest school located near your house. As for Primary 6 - PSLE results, you can check at http://www.seab.gov.sg/SEAB/psle/2007psleExamCalendar.html for more details.

Where is the best place to stay (5 day visit) in Singapore? by Marc Q: Im looking for an affordable and convenient place to stay in Singapore. Im checking out the Fragrance group of Hotels...seems reasonable. Can someone advise me on this, or suggest a better place. ..also things I should be aware of when in Singapore. Thanks!

A: If you are willing to spend a littel bit more, try the Raffels Hotel.

How many Advertisements does an average person in Singapore is exposed to in a day? by shamskdr Q: Need this for my research work. If you can give me a truthful answer that would be good!! Cheers!

A: I know that Americans get exposed to about 3000 ads a day. I guess thats a start. Try consumerreports.org They should have something Good luck!

Singapore. Per day food expenses. B/Fast, lunch, High tea, dinner all veg budget hotel. Minimum expenditure? by CHANDRAMOULI S Q: Self, wife and two children aged 14 and 12. What will be the minimum expenses in singapore dollars for vegetarian food per day in budget hotels. Breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Tour operator has excluded this in his qoute. I need to get an idea about the approximate expenses for food.

A: Through my experience...(for vegetarian meal) Budget hotel ---------------- Breakfast S$ 5 /pax Lunch S$10 /pax High tea S$ 5 /pax Dinner S$ 10 /pax ---------------------------------- Total per day S$ 30 /pax ---------------------------------- Exclusive Restaurants (like Anandabavan!) ----------------------------------------------------- Breakfast S$ 3 /pax Lunch S$ 4 /pax High tea S$ 3 /pax Dinner S$ 4/pax ---------------------------------- Total per day S$ 14 /pax ----------------------------------

Is there any 1 day cruise to nowhere in Singapore? by babyrykiel Q: Hi, anyone had any idea of Singapore having a cruise to nowhere just from morning till night?

Is it a good idea to visit JB from Singapore on Hari Raya Haji day? by Joe Joseph Q: I plan to use the woodlands crossing. What can be the waiting time like?

A: Better to go 3-4 days before the actual holiday, as the Haji eve will be jammed like hell at the woodlands to JB

im in singapore, i want to go to malaysia like spend half of my day there, how can i do that? by hoping Q: on may day off, i want to go to malaysia. can i go back and forth singapore and malaysia half day? how can i do that? i mean what are the buses should i ride. which mrt station in singapore. i need instruction please. thanks

A: Yes, you can. You can do that by taking the bus at either Queens St Bus Terminus near Bugis MRT Station and take either 170 or CW1 or SJE (Singapore Johore Express) to get there. Cost you around S$2 for 170 and S$2.40 for SJE or CW1 to Larkin Terminal in Johor Bahru. From there, there are many bus for you to take around Johore and the rest of Peninsular Malaysia. Or you can take the MRT to Kranji Station and take 170 (Blue Plate) from the bus stop just outside the station or cross over the road via overhead bridge and take 170 or CW1 to Larkin or 160 to Kotaraya Ter 2. Cost you around S$1.30 to get into JB. Or you can take to Woodlands or Marsiling Station and take 950, like what the above said and cost you S$1.20, which is the cheapest way to get there.

What would happen if Malaysia joins Singapore one day? by C Q:

A: then we will be Truly Asia.Stealing cars and robbing people

I was flying over South China Sea from Philippines to Singapore one day and I spotted this.? by Cold f Q: http:[email protected]/3024827690/ Can someone tell me what is this? Mysterious Island?

A: i saw it on google maps but it was unnamed. sorry. btw nice picture. looks kinda like the islands you see in holiday magazines.

I went to singapore last june for a 4-day social travel. Is it ok if I go back again this september? by Q: Will there be any problem in philippine and singapore immigration? It's just purely leisure.

A: Should be no problem at all unless there is something you aren't telling? Are you a Philippine passport holder? If so then no visa is required and you should be able to enter and exit pretty much any time. Immigration officers are sometimes suspicious of individuals - particularly young unattached females, as many go there for "working holidays" for a few weeks every year if you catch my drift.

Singapore Day accommodation? by Kamal D Q: We are four and shall arrive Singapore at around 8.00 and shall board a cruise at 20.00 on same Day.We shall spend the day travelling around Singapore.we do not need any Hotel for Night Stay.Can any one suggest me best budget accomodation for a shower and baggage place conveniently located during the day.

A: I don't think there are many hotels out there willing to rent single rooms for 4 people, but I know there are lots of hostels you can check out in the Geylang area. Try "G hotel" or "Southeast Asia" hotel, they're pretty cheap ("cheap" in Singapore is not cheap anywhere else;-)

What are the start and end times for a school day in Canada, Singapore and France? by myhomeworkhelp Q:

A: I can't help you with Singapore or France, but I might be able to give you some guidelines for Canada, specifically in Nova Scotia. If class starts at 8:30 am, then for Primary to grade 2 they get out at about 2:30, and grades 3 to 6 get out at about 3pm. This includes a lunch hour of 50 minutes to 1hr 30 min, depending on how large an area the school serves. Some schools start as early as 7:30, but they also get out that much earlier for the day. I assume the times are similar elsewhere in this country.

how much have to pay per day if driving malaysia car at Singapore? by sovietmah Q: I want to know how much have to pay if want to drive a Malaysia car at Singapore? I means entry fees + daily fees.

A: Here are some requirements for foreign-registered cars entering Singapore: (a) Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) and Toll Charges Foreign motorists are required to pay tolls and a Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) charge at the checkpoints when they drive into Singapore. Payments have to be made using the electronic smartcard, called the Autopass Card. The Autopass Cards are sold at the primary clearance/immigration booths or VEP/Tolls office at Singapore checkpoints. Motorists are required to produce valid road tax discs and insurance certificates for their cars when buying the Autopass Cards. VEP fees are charged at SGD n20 per day on Monday to Friday (from 0200 hrs to 1700 hrs). There is no VEP charge on Saturdays, Sundays and all Singapore Public Holidays as well as from 1700 hrs to 0200 hrs on weekdays. Toll charges are calculated on a per trip basis. Car drivers have to pay toll charges on arrival and departure from Tuas Checkpoint (SGD 3.20 per trip) but only on departure at the Woodlands Checkpoint (SGD 1.20 per trip). Motorcyclists are not charged at the Woodlands Checkpoint, but have to pay SGD 0.50 when departing from and arriving in Singapore at the Tuas Checkpoint. For more information, please refer to FAQs on driving into Singapore or visit the Land Transport Authority website (click on Motoring Matters, Guide to Driving Into and Out of Singapore). (b) Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) All motorists driving into the city or travelling on certain major roads and expressways are required to pay an Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) fee during the ERP operating hours. ERP is a scheme to help keep Singapore roads congestion-free. For foreign motorists intending to pass through ERP-priced roads during its operational hours, they can either choose to install or rent an In-Vehicle Unit (IU) to pay ERP fees. For those who do not wish to rent or install an IU, they can choose to pay a fixed ERP fee of SGD 5 per day, regardless of the number of times they pass through an ERP gantry in the day. This will be paid together with their VEP and toll charges via the Autopass card when they depart from Singapore. This fixed fee scheme starts from 1 Sepember 2003 onwards and is only applicable for those who do not have an IU installed in their foreign-registered cars.

when is valentines day in singapore? by Cory C. Q: i was wondering when valentines day was in singapore and what the perfect gift would be to that someone special in singapore. thanks for any help.

A: its february 14..... i'm dead sure.... because i'm a singaporean....

looking for English speaking guide with car for 1 day in Singapore? by bd0909 Q: 3 adults on cruise want private guide for 1 day to see Singapore

A: Take a taxi - they are cheap and all drivers speak English with no problems (unlike in New York City:D)

can i extend a singapore social visit pass by going to malaysia for the day and re-entering singapore? by Q: i am an american, i have been approved for a long term visa and have an appointment with ICA in a week, but my visit pass expires in a couple of days. i applied online for an extension but was declined for some reason. so now i cannot make the appointment if i am not here legally...what can i do? if i go to JB for the day and come back will i get another visit pass? i only need a weeks extension.

A: I think so. Since I went to JB for a half day trip and my Visa was extended, but that was back in 2000 though

I am from australia passing through singapore to china. Will i need a visa, can i spend a day sightseeing? by sputezo3 Q: Hi, I am from australia passing through singapore can i stop there for the day and sightsee without needing a visa?

A: sure

Im a pilipino ill go to malaysia for 7 day its possible to go singapore for one day to see how beautiful sing? by Q: Im a pilipino ill go to malaysia 4 7days its possible i exit to singapore for oneday to see how beautiful sg

A: I'm pretty sure Philippine passport holders do not require a visa for a stay of 14 days or so. Check the ministry of foreign affairs or the tourism board for more specific information. http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=96

if i shipped next day from singapore when is the earliest could expect delivery? by Q: if i shipped with fedex next day what is the earliest i can expect delivery to u.s.a.

A: This is a question you should ask Fedex instead.

why nairobi and singapore have twelve hours day and twelve hours night? by pearl Q: why nairobi and singapore have twelve hours day and twelve hours night?

A: Close proximity to the equator. Over the equator, the day and night should be exactly balanced.

Its Singapore's birthday and the day Singapore gains independence? by ##$SoulStryker$## Q: 9 august? thats evil man,but it still Singapore's birthday

A: Incidently it is the birthday of Nagasaki tto, where USA Govt. under Zionist control killed undreds of thosuands of innocent civilians

How much do i need to enjoy a 3-day trip to singapore for our honeymoon? by geo Q: Our wedding is set late next year.. We intend to visit Underwater world, night safari, singapore zoo, silosa beach, try the cable cars and the sky dining? How much do you think should we save for the trip? Please kindly quote it in US dollars.. thanks..

A: going to Sentosa (underwater world, silso beach) alone can cost about USD 70 each person including some expenses. The skydining cost about USD 60 to 100, depending on your budget. As for night safari and zoo if you intend to dine in there should cost around USD 50 per person. So you should save about USD 500, this will be enough to cover all of the expenses above, if you intend to go shopping then you should go save up more, enjoy your honeymoon in singapore, cheers

Are there any hotels in singapore which are less than 30$ SGD a day? by goodsmile Q: Me and my mom are planning to stay there for a week. I can spend the max 30$ SGD a day for hotel stay . I checked online but rates are very high. Please give me some suggestions and the names of hotels in singapore. Please please please suggest hotels

A: Welcome to Singapore... There are plenty... But most are for backpacker... 1) New 7th Storey Hotel... (229, Rochor Rd - Bugis) Website: http://www.nsshotel.com/ 2) Boon Wah Hotel...(40-43 Upperweld Road - Little India) 3) Beach Hotel ( 95, Beach Rd - 5mins walk to Suntec City 10mis Walkk to Bugis Junction & Raffles City ) 4) The Royal Peacock Hotel ( 55, Keong Saik Rd -Chinatown) But the rate is about SGD40) 5) Penang Hotel (200, Joo Chiat Road - 10mins walk to Geylang Serai &15mins walk to Katong) U can find the above hotel rate on the web search... They offer too many rate and promotion... Good luck... Enjoys your stay...

planning to tour singapore one whole day? by idntknow Q: hi, im planning to tour singapore the whole day and spend one night only. after that, i also want to try the train going to KL? i would like to know if i need a visa or any immig rquirements. how much is the train to KL in USD? thanks, btw, im frm manila ps: and can i fly from KL to manila or do i have to go back to SG for my flight? Thanks

A: there r many filipinos in geylang

Which is the cheapest flight from Dubai to Singapore for me to have a quick 2 day visit? by sony_var Q: Which is the cheapest flight from Dubai to Singapore for me to have a quick 2 day visit?

A: saa

Is it normal to see foreign tourists depart Singapore for a 1-day trip KL and return same day? by meco031719 Q: If it is possible, what does one put in the address field for disembarkation-embarkation form given by the airline since I am leaving Malaysia on the same day?

A: a lot of ppl doing this, but rmb to bring along your air ticket to the custom. --------------- http://www.house-sg.com/ Singapore's leading house rental info zone Find your home in Singapore

How much Singapore Currency do i have to change for me and my girlfriend for a 5 day trip to Bangkok? by ling yong h Q: I'm going on a tour to Bangkok with a guide for a 5 day trip. The food and accommodation is already included in the tour package. I'm wondering how much Singapore dollar to change to thai baht. The current rate of exchange is SGD $1 to Thai 23.75. Please give some advice. I do not have those credit/debit card as I'm under the age of 21. Give some advice. Thank you.

A: Im Malaysian and go to Bangkok on 5 day visits very frequently . I normally have the flight and room prepaid and still need about 22000 B for shopping / food moving about for the 5 day 4 night you mentioned . ( for 2 ) This would include dining at good places and a bit of shopping . Since your meals are included then you have more to spend !!! I think you take SID 1000 and you can have a gala time ! :)

How much money do i need to bring for a 3 day tour? singapore and malaysia? by isay Q: I already booked for a package way to affordable for a 3 day tri only 580 room, airfare and breakfast included for 3 days. I need ur help to decide if how much do i need for a ocket money. thanks

A: i suggest you bring around US$ 500-1000, take in the sites of singapore and go shopping in malaysia... it's a budget shopper's haven... even the genuine branded things in their malls cost lower than here in the philippines... if you are a techie, i suggest you bring more... all items are tax-free, food and transportation is affordable... and don't be shy to haggle with prices in the nightmarkets!

planning to tour singapore for one whole day? by idntknow Q: hi, im planning to tour singapore the whole day and spend one night only. after that, i also want to try the train going to KL? i would like to know if i need a visa or any immig rquirements. how much is the train to KL in USD? thanks, btw, im frm manila and can i fly frm KL to manila or do i have to go back to SG for my flight? thanks

A: Citizens of ASEAN countires need no visa to enter Malaysia. I suggest you take the express bus from Singapore to KL, they are much more convenient than train, and cheaper too. The journey takes only about 4 hours. Bus costs about S$30 (about US$22), its more expensive now around the Chinese New Year because of the rush of Malaysians returning home for the festival.

I want to know how many chickens consume a day in Singapore? by Q: In Singapore, many people eat chicken a lot.

A: - Per day, 2260 live chickens were slaughtered in Singapore and per day, 210,000kg of chicken meat were imported. I guess they do not go by how many - as the chicken can be big or small....

Malaysia to Singapore and Singapore to Malaysia in One Day? by Michael Joseph D Q: I will go to Malaysia on the third week of February to attend a conference and I have limited time to environment-surf. I really want to visit Singapore. How can I visit Singapore and go back to Malaysia in one day? I've heard it's better and faster to travel by train. Can you provide me with a step by step process on how to visit singapore and go back to malaysia at the same day?

A: Yes, you can, But there is just one problem cos when you landed on to Singapore soil you might not want to go back to KL.

how much is the minimum show money do i need as a tourist for a 10-day tour/visit to singapore? by singapina25 Q: i am a filipina and i am planning to go to singapore next month for a 10-day tour/visit. how much is the minimum show money do i need as a tourist?

A: Depends on what you want to do there. Are you staying with family/friends or getting a hotel. PER DAY Hotel: SG $30 (hostel) -> $1000+ (5*) Food: SG $10 (hawkers) -> $200+ (champagne brunches, gourmet chocolate buffet, etc) Transport: SG $5-10 (MRT, buses) -> $80+ (taxis) Activities: SG $0 (parks, self-guided walking tours) -> $100+ (Flyer, SnowCity, zoo, night safari, museums, etc) Shopping: SG $0 (no shopping) -> $3000+ (LV, D&G, Tiffany's, etc) Have fun!

What fun stuff I can do (alone) in Singapore in ONE day? by desert rose Q: My itinerary includes one day stopover in Singapore. Instead of staying all day in the hotel what else can you suggest I do for fun?

A: Mmmm...since only one day, you could rush and have time to visit a few choice places only, like Chinatown(2hrs), Little India/Mustafa shopping centre(2hrs), Orchard Rd(2hrs), Sentosa(3hrs).Include 4hrs for travelling, resting/eating/photo-taking. Start after 9am to miss the peak-hour crowds. That should allow you a condensed set of activities until 10pm. However a day in good old SG is never enough. You really need another day to cover a few other interesting places and take time to savour the exotic dishes and tropical fruits. The best experience is to get a local to take you around, so that you get a very good idea of what makes us tick in this vibrant, cosmopolitan state. You may not find another place which has low crime/corruption rate, great racial harmony, political stability, credible judiciary/police, disciplined kids and a clean environment. Best of adventures and make sure you buy those valuable souvenirs to bring home for your neighbours, friends and relatives! So come with a half-filled luggage bag to make your precious and hurried trip really worthwhile. Cheers and come again for a revisit! :-))

What tourist spots would you recommend for one full day in Singapore? by jade t Q: Thinking of traveling for one day (from Manila), stay there one full day, and go back home the next day.

A: Sentosa! ... where else?

What are some problems in modern day Singapore? by lunar_libra Q: And would anyone have a newspaper articale or any other sites that help with the explanation?

A: hmmmm.. just off the top of my head? issues that probably cropped up or were discussed in the press in the past year - complacency amongst singaporeans (due to the terrorist escape). - brain drain - high real estate prices - high business costs keeping out foreign investments - Hand Food Mouth Disease (amongst kids) - madatory seat belt rule on school buses - corporal dave teo escapes from army camp with M16 rifle and is caught in orchard road - rising costs of gas + rice + oil (the cooking kind) the list goes on google for the subject matter and u'll get lots of hits from the newspapers like The Straits Times and Business Times etc etc.. good luck! 8)

where can i stay in a hotel in singapore just for the day? by pasta_salsa_tuba Q: Hi. I'm looking for a hotel in Singapore where I can stay during the day, because there's going to be some renovations going on at my house during the day, but I work at nights and I need my sleep. Since the renovations would only be one day, I don't feel like getting a room for Two days, One Night. Is there any hotel that sells its rooms on a per day basis? hmm and, Hotel 81 kinda has a sleazy reputation, that is, it's more well-known for those who wish to go and make out, so I ain't that keen on getting a room there.

A: Hmmm, I was pretty sure that most hotels in singapore do let you book for a day. But apparently since most guests would sleep in the night and leave in the morning, thus, "2days" 1 night. Otherwise you can go for those hotels who charge per hour like hotel 81. Not all hotel 81 is sleazy. There are proper tourists who stay there too. go for locations like bugis (there's one in bencoolen) or chinatown. Otherwise try fragrance hotel. It's cheap.

How much does it cost for a 2 day stay in Singapore ? by pinkyd Q: I am planning to travel in Singapore in a couple of days. I just want to set aside some budget to staying there. May I know the cost of transport to get around and food for a 2 days and 2 night stay? . My accomodation is already sponsored. I just wanted to know the minimal budget for food and transport??

A: Hi there's a Singapore Tourist Pass you could buy for $8 per day. For that, you get unlimited travel on public transport, i.e. the MRT trains and buses. More info on that and other options here: http://www.etour-singapore.com/singapore-transport.html If you eat at the hawkers' centres, each meal is unlikely to cost you more than S$5-6 per person. For S$10-12 you could eat like a glutton (at hawkers' centres).

Does my Polish friend need a visa for a 3 day stopover in Singapore? by cindy v Q: We are traveling from Athens to Bali making a three day stopover in Singapore. We are Greek and Dutch. One of our friends is Polish. Does she need a visa? I know that as greek and dutch we get a visa upon entry. Is it the same for Polish?

A: Poland, Greece and Netherlands are under EU Member states, so all Polish, Greek and Dutch residents are given 90 days upon visit Singapore, don't need Visas to enter Singapore. Only Foreigners holding travel documents issued by the following countries will require a visa to enter Singapore: Afghanistan Algeria Bangladesh (Except Diplomatic/Official passport holders) Commonwealth of Independent States* (Except Diplomatic/Official/Service passport holders for a stay of up to 30 days ) Armenia Azerbaijan Belarus Georgia Kazakhstan Kyrgyzstan Moldova Russia Tajikistan Turkmenistan Ukraine Uzbekistan Egypt India (Except Diplomatic/Official passport holders) Iran Iraq Jordan (Except Diplomatic/Official passport holders) Lebanon Libya Morocco Myanmar (Except Diplomatic/Official passport holders) Nigeria (Except Diplomatic/Official passport holders) People's Republic of China (Except Diplomatic/Service/Public Affairs passport holders for a stay of up to 30 days) Pakistan Saudi Arabia Somalia Sudan Syria Tunisia (Except Diplomatic/Official passport holders) Yemen http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=96&secid=94

What reasonably priced hotel can you recommend in Singapore for a 4 day stay in June? by The FlygirL Q: My husband and I are planning on going on a 4-day vacation in Singapore in June. Please give me hotel and attraction recommendations and how is the weather during that time. Is a USD1000 budget enough for mid-range hotel, entrance fees, food n transpo for 2people? Looks like the SIN MRT is cheaper than in HKG...

A: For accommodation, It depends alot on your budget. There are a huge range of hotels available from the budget to the luxury. There are also a big number of hotels that are mid-range so the question now is not which hotel to recommend but rather where would you prefer to stay. In town, near the main shopping belt, or out of town somewhere quite or with alot of nite life. Anyway for most hotels do try to book early or check with any hotel you're interested in, regarding their availability for the period you're coming. From what I know, the occupancy rate for hotel rooms here is pretty good recently. Book early so that you don't get disappointed. Depending on your interest, there are many place you can visit in Singapore. There are the official tourist spots which you could get information from the Singapore Tourist Promotion Board website. Or if you could tell me your interest, maybe I could recommend you some others. Eg. If you're interested in keeping aquarium fishes or gardening, I could recommend you a couple of fish farms or orchid to visit. If you like nature, there are some tracks in our central catchment area where you could hike around. Or maybe you could visit Pulau Ubin an island in the northern part of Singapore where you can have a glimpse of what Singapore is like 40~50 years ago. Lastly, I do encourage you to visit at least one of the Housing Estate in Singapore while you're here, have a feel of how Singaporean live. Anyway, happy planning. ~~~~~~~~~~~~ Excluding shopping ;) USD 1000 (SGD1500) should pretty much cover hotel (SGD 150~200 for a double room x 03 nites), transport, food and sight seeing. Try these site for a general idea of the room rates .... http://web.singnet.com.sg/~wxpsin/hotels.htm

How is the Traveling experience by train from Malaysia to singapore in day time? by nsk Q: Aslo let me know the Emigration procedures in both ends and how we can go from Singapore Rly station to Orchard road?

A: Do you need to take a train from Malaysia to Singapore. There are many coach companies that can bring you in from Malaysia. I believe coach travelling are more comfortable than the train ride. As long as your passport is in order and you have filled in the necessary documentations, going through Immigration Check-points are relatively hassle-free. If you are still taking the train, once you have disembarked from the train and checked out of Immigration, just catch a taxi to Orchard Road. It's the easiest and most convenient way. ----------

Images
Videos
Rui En @ Singapore Day 2009 (London) - Home (Cover of Michael Bublé) Overseas S'poreans celebrate Singapore Day in Shanghai Hossan Leong Singapore Day London 2009 Singapore Day 2007 Singapore Day 2011 at Shanghai. Michelle Chong moved to tears when Kit Chan sings 'Home'. Robocup Soccer 2010 Germany / Germany (Final) Isk, Hosni & Friends - Singapore National Day Song Medley (Punkrock Cover) Sunny's solo 111210 Girl's Generation Singapore Concert Day Two [HD] Corrinne May - Song For Singapore (National Day Parade - August 9, 2010) Singapore National Day Video - Home (MTV) Parents' Day: British Council, Singapore Singapore GE 2011 Tao Nan Sch Nomination Day pt1 National Day Parade Singapore NDP 2010 Mobile Column Combined Rehearsal 1 CR1 19 June 2010 351.avi [fancam] 120218 SS4 Singapore Day 1 - Ryeowook solo - Moves Like Jagger Charice - Louder, F1 Singapore Grand Prix (day 2) National Day song 2008 Shine For Singapore MV (chi version) qing kong wan li Singapore National Day Parade 2010 Theme Song: Corrinne May Singapore Wedding Videography: Samuel + Daisy \\ Same Day Edit [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - EUNHYUK SOLO (DAY 1) Charice - Just the way you are, F1 Singapore Grand Prix (day 2) Charice - I Love You / Price Tag, F1 Singapore Grand Prix (day 2) [fancam] 120219 SS4 Singapore Day 2 - Ryeowook solo - Moves Like Jagger National Day Parade NDP 2011 (Part 1 of 2) Charice - Crazy In love / Rolling in the deep / Telephone, F1 Singapore Grand Prix (day 2) [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - BONAMANA (DAY 1) [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - OOPS (DAY 1) 120218 Super Junior SS4 Singapore - Opera [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - SHINDONG SOLO (DAY 2) [120218] SS4 Singapore Day 1 [HD fancam] 120218 SS4 in Singapore - Kyumin dancing Oppa Oppa NDP 2011 Theme Song - In A Heartbeat [HD fancam] 120218 SS4 in Singapore - Good Friends (Kyuhyun / Super Junior) [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - KYUHYUN SOLO (DAY 2) 120218 Super Junior SS4 Singapore - Introduction [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - RYEOWOOK (DAY 2) [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - EUNHYUK SOLO (DAY 2) [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - A-CHA (DAY 1) [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - GOOD FRIENDS (DAY 2) 120218 Super Junior SS4 Singapore - Twins [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - OOPS (DAY 2) [HD fancam] 120218 SS4 in Singapore - Doremi (Super Junior / Kyuhyun) [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - SUNGMIN SOLO (DAY 2) 120218 Super Junior SS4 Singapore - VCR - NYC + Walkin' [HD fancam] 120218 SS4 in Singapore - You're My Endless Love (Kyuhyun) [HD Fancam] SS4 IN SINGAPORE - OPERA (DAY 2) [Day 1] SS4 Singapore-Eunhyuk Donghae Playfully Teasing Each Other We are Singapore Vote Tan Cheng Bock for President -Count on me Singapore [HD fancam] 120218 SS4 in Singapore - Wonder Boy + Rokkugo (Kyuhyun / Super Junior) [Day 1] SS4 Singapore -Donghae Solo -This Is Love
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-03 02:10:22