OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
SEC Championship Game 2012
News

SEC Championship Game 2012: Game Changers to Watch in Alabama vs ...
Junior quarterbacks A.J. McCarron and Aaron Murray will both be under the microscope this weekend as each will be presented with numerous game-changing opportunities in Saturday's SEC Championship Game. The two SEC signal-callers have ...

SEC Championship Game 2012: AJ McCarron, Jarvis Jones could secure ...
SEC Championship Game 2012: AJ McCarron, Jarvis Jones could secure Heisman votes on big stage. Published Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 3:24 pm EST. Matt Hayes Sporting News. Follow on Twitter Archive Email RSS. 3 Comments Join the conversation ...

SEC Championship Game Preview and Pick
Alabama is understandably the favorite in the 2012 SEC Championship Game, so many previews I've seen have been focused on how Georgia can pull in elements of Texas A&M's offensive game plan. It's only natural, given that the Aggies are the only team ...

SEC Title Game 2012: Alabama Will Dominate Georgia to Set Up Notre Dame ...
Alabama will have little trouble defeating Georgia in the SEC Championship Game on Saturday to set up a BCS title matchup with top-ranked Notre Dame in January. The Bulldogs have not been tested much this season despite playing in the SEC. They have ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

Kiss_to_Success RT @ajc: Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/rjskc3Io

SECSportsLine Halftime analysis: Ten thoughts from the SEC Championship Game: Thoughts, notes and observat... http://t.co/2ghhXM7X #Georgia #sec #ncaa

breakdabadnewz SEC Championship Game: Won 1 Lost 1 in my day. I KNOW HOW THEY FEEL. PROUD OF MY 2012 DAWGS. I TIP MY HAT TO BAMA # /INSTANT CLASSIC

k8di3 RT @ajc: Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/132fz4Ic

theatlsportsbar RT @ajc: Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/rjskc3Io

Almond2YourJoy RT @ajc: Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/rjskc3Io

camnicholas83 RT @_jtwise_: AARON MURRAY IS STILL THE BEST QB IN THE HISTORY OF QBS TO LOSE IN THE 2012 SEC CHAMPIONSHIP GAME THOUGGHHH

DallasAnne319 RT @ajc: Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/rjskc3Io

Jewelyuh RT @ajc: Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/rjskc3Io

MarthaZoller RT @ajc: Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/rjskc3Io

phlycomput3rguy RT @ajc: Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/rjskc3Io

FLVTubeTweets SEC Championship Game 2012: #SECChampionshipGame2012 #SEC #Championship #Game #2012 http://t.co/KkUpvdI4 #google #youtube

ajc Sad ending for UGA in spectacular #SEC championship game: http://t.co/rjskc3Io

sire_jingle Alabama vs. Georgia 2012 results: Bama rolls to SEC title, national championship: The Alabama Crimson Tide are o... http://t.co/HlwMrVrg

Elushize Alabama vs. Georgia 2012 results: Bama rolls to SEC title, national championship: The Alabama Crimson Tide are o... http://t.co/FJzFcNca

Discussions

How does an undefeated Iowa rank in your final BCS standings? by NCAAF Fan Q: I know everybody is hating on them for close wins but taking into account that they have the 6th hardest strength of schedule in the NCAA the hating has to eventually stop. Also an undefeated Iowa will have gone to Penn State, Wisconsin (a really underrated team) and Ohio State with victories. Texas strength of schedule is 40th. USC's sos is 56th. TCU sos is 28th. Boise State is 79th. Cincinnati is 89th. Just for note I am not saying that Iowa will win out. I am also not saying they should finish in any particular place. I am however saying that the computers will not drop Iowa from the top 2 as long as they keep on winning against the kind of competition they have been playing. P.S. The sos rankings are the NCAA's official ratings not some media outlets interpretation.

A: An unbeaten Iowa should have the right to play in the plus 1 ahead of any 1 loss team, that includes Fla, Bama, TX and USC. If we end up with a situation like Auburn faced 7 or 8 years ago (3 unbeatens, can't remember who they were now) the BCS is certainly screwed. The dreaded 'style points' will decide and Iowa will probably be out and for the sake of the Big 11, they better make a game of it in Pasadena. The SEC shoe in is kind of hard to accept especially if the conference winner has a loss, another month of football could produce that. We could then see a scenario like we had in 03? when Oklahoma lost to Kansas State then to LSU in the BCS championship. I fear that a 1 loss SEC winner will still get the bid even if TX and Iowa are undefeated. Of course TX could be the odd man out on strength of schedule and 'style'. As a Texas fan, I have to worry about going to Stillwater and beating Ok State and then a week at a time from there. As the BCS shoots holes in all my rules for who I root for each week, I guess I need to pull for Ohio St and Penn St to beat Iowa. I have to agree with your premise regardless of how it affects my team. If Iowa runs the table they have every right to play whoever else can do that. And that means if TX and Iowa are undefeated and the SEC champion has a loss, the SEC is out. That will raise a BIG stink but it is right. Strong (BCS) conference or not, undefeated means play in the plus 1. As far as the playoff is concerned, we have at least 3 more years after this one before any change can be made. All 4 BCS stadiums have to get a 2nd go around with the plus 1.....I think that's right, contract goes through the 2012 season (game played in Jan 2013)?

you're way too early college football contenders? by Music Fan foreva Q: heres mine auburn no longer young lsu wisconsin oregon arkansas fsu usc trojans uga

A: My early Preseason Top 5 for 2012: 1. Arkansas Razorbacks - I love how everyone forgot about this team. This team returns almost everyone, and brings back Knile Davis, who missed the entire 2011 season. Also, Arkansas gets BOTH Alabama and LSU at home in 2012. This team certainly has the pieces to make a run at the National Championship in 2012. 2. USC Trojans - The return of Matt Barkley is huge for this team. USC is definitely the clear favorite to win the Pac-12 Championship in 2012, and probably has the best chance to put an end to the string of 6 straight National Championships by the SEC. 3. Alabama Crimson Tide - This team is coming off a 2nd National Championship in 3 seasons. However, Alabama gets both Arkansas and LSU on the road in 2012. Not to mention, this team does not return as much as Arkansas. Winning a 3rd National Championship in 4 seasons may just be too much to ask. (See Florida in 2009.) 4. LSU Tigers - I would have this team ranked a bit higher, but the performance against Alabama in the BCS National Championship Game last night is the reason why I give the Crimson Tide the nod over LSU. 5. Florida State Seminoles - I think this is the year Florida State finally gets it together, and gets results from the top-rated recruiting classes. Keep in mind, it takes time for talent to mesh. It also helps that Florida State gets Clemson at home in 2012, since the series has been dominated by the home team over the last 10 years

If you support the BCS, what are your reasons? by Jason P Q: I know why people like the idea of playoffs. If you like the BCS, why? Address these points, if you could: - Why should strength of schedule, a component players have no control over, be the major deciding factor for teams? Should players who play a perfect season be punished for something they have no control over? - Why should the date of a loss decide the difference between two teams with identical records? Should a team who lost to a weak team early in the season be considered better than a team who lost to a great team late in the season? - Why should teams be rewarded or punished for not playing a game near the end of the season? Some teams like Ohio State go up when they don't play while teams like Georgia go down when they don't play. - Why should teams only from BCS conferences get a chance to play for the national championship? Most teams will never get the chance to play in a BCS conference. Should they be punished for circumstances out of their control? Ok, I'll go a little further with this then. Let's say that a non-BCS team manages to schedule all top 25 teams in it's non-conference schedule and still go undefeated. If they were the only undefeated team in college football, would you consider them the best? Here are the problems with trying to schedule all top 25 teams: - There's no way to accurately predict who is going to be in the top 25 at the end of the season. You can probably get a good idea, but you can't be certain. - Most of these teams have their own BCS concerns, and don't want to schedule a non-BCS team to play. This is especially true if it's a team that has a good chance to beat them. - When they do find top 25 BCS teams to play, it has to be on their terms. That could mean playing their whole non-conference schedule away from home, and they might need home games for their budget. Playing a home game generally brings more revenue than an away game where you get a check.

A: i support it and will try to go down the line of your questions: 1) SOS is not currently a component of the BCS. It is a factor with the human vote. SOS is something that people (manly the SEC fans) use to "hype" their teams up when they have loss(es) OR criticize teams that have no losses. 2) Again this is a human thing, popularized by the "last ten" for the basketball tournament. People feel those who are "on a roll" are given consideration of those losing coming in. It is better for a team to lose early because then they have time to "build" up their resume. Again, you can climb in the polls better if you lose in September instead of November. (this season was a obviously a mirage. things don't normally go this manner) 3)Again, you lose you will fall in the polls. If you are 4th in the polls and numbers 1 and 3 fall then you will move up. Again, this year's last poll was different because Georgia didn't win it's conference and pollsters didn't want them to play for the national title. So Conference champions passed them. It is not up to schools to schedule games so that all star at the same time and all finish at the same time. Some teams will finish later than others. It is up to the conferences to determine how late in the year a team should play. Those who stretch out their season past the Thanksgiving weekend are doing so for money and exposure. Those who don't either feel they don't need the exposure or the extra money. I would push for everyone it end their season's on or before the Thanksgiving weekend. But i would be roundly shouted down. I KNOW!! 4) The last question is tricky. But i'll say this. The current title game is called the "BCS National Title Game". The current BCS conferences are the Big East, Big Ten, Big XII, ACC, SEC and Pac-10. Those playing outside of those conferences can be "invited" to play in one of the BCS games, but it would be hard to have a "magical" season and get an invite to the NC game. The NCAA does NOT have control over D1 football. (which is directly the reason there is no playoff. Every time the NCAA was able to gain control of a division of football they started a playoff, the last being when D1 split into to division in 1978). Only a sustained win streak over 2 seasons would compel the voting media to place a Non-BCS team high enough in the polls where the BCS could not ignore them. (example...if Boise State had run the table this year, they could have played in the BCS Title game...especially this year) BTW, this isn't a new thing and not just against "small schools". The SEC, Big 8, South Western Conference (now defunct),Notre Dame, ACC and Big East got together and decided there own national champion during much of the 90's with the Bowl Alliance and the Bowl Coalition. The Big Ten and Pac-10 were not apart of it. And it cost some teams, like Penn State a shot at the National Title. Now the SEC wants to start it's own playoff and those who want to join them will and those who don't will be left out as the make up their own National Title Tournament. Trust me, the BCS runs out next year, but the Big Ten and Pac-10 are contractual locked to the Rose Bowl for a few more years. It's going to be interesting to see what happens in the meantime. 5) this was not asked directly by you, but "why do i support the BCS"....well it is better than ANY system we have EVER had in D1. Those who shout that the BCS is the worst thing ever, isn't old enough to know how it used to be. Is the BCS the best system period..NO, but those yelling playoff had better get their act together or what we are going to get is a BCS type playoff that is "tweaked" every season. All the Bowl contracts won't be up till after 2012 (last being the rose bowl with the big ten/pac 10). Why not assemble a focus group NOW to start planning and funding of a potential playoff system. 5 years should be enough time to "get all the kinks out" and have a suitable system that is fair to all and one where we are not arguing every year that the playoff system sucks. Going along and then just throwing out a playoff system seems like replacing one bad system for another bad system.

Les Miles extended his contract yesterday? by Slade H Q: Until 2012. I think it's hilarious that all these people on here yesterday were saying he was gone after he wins the OSU game! You're all eating crow today huh? How does it taste? Don't worry. Nothing will distract us frome this game! That DAMN STRONG TEAM will show up! GEAUX TIGERS!!! FEAR THE HAT!!! Yes Berry, but he's not leaving any time soon! It's not like he would sign a new contract yesterday, with a buyout clause, just to pay a fortune on Jan. 6th! I like Les and his well-endowed LSU Balls! Tony...We won every game you mentioned in your comments. We also beat Florida, that team you said could beat anyone. We did, however, lose two games to Kentucky in Kentucky in three OT's, and to Arkansas at home in three OT's. We are by far the best two-loss team in the country, and if that's the way the cookie crumbles, I'll take it! I think you are a bit delusional though if you feel that most people feel the same way you do.

A: I'll be the first to on record and say, I would have bet that Miles would leave for Michigan. In all his interviews leading up to yesterday's contract extension, he was throwing all kinds of hints that he would take the Michigan job. Now with all that said, serve me a big helping of Crow, can I get some mashed potatoes with that too? Alright, now that I got that out of the way, let me ask you something. Which "DAMN STRONG TEAM" are you referring to? That "DAMN STRONG TEAM" that struggled against South Carolina and Tulane in the first half, or maybe that "DAMN STRONG TEAM" got lucky against Auburn and Alabama. Wait, you're probably talking about that "DAMN STRONG TEAM" that gave up almost 500 yards of offense to Ole Miss and gave up 50 points and lost to an unranked Arkansas team, aren't you? I won't mention the Florida game because Florida would beat any team in the country right now, hands down. I know it, you know it, and everyone in the country knows that LSU doesn't deserve to be playing for the National Championship! They are there by default. Plain and Simple. The BCS failed us once again!! **EDIT** Yes you won all your close games, that should have been blow-outs if your team should be mentioned as a National Champion contender. You can't lose 2 games to unranked teams in a year and still play for the National Championship, it just doesn't make any sense! I know you're saying, Kentucky was ranked at the time we played them. Yes, but that's where the word, "overrated" comes from. You can't look at where they were ranked when a team played them, or App St could say, "yeah we beat the #5 ranked team in the country!" Umm no you didn't, you beat an overrated, overranked Michigan team that was ranked high in the polls in a pre-season poll that shouldn't even exist! Look, a National Championship contender can't lose to two unranked teams, one being the week before their own conference championship game, give up 93 points to those unranked teams, whether it's in 3 overtimes or not. If your defense is SO good, like I hear all the time from LSwho fans, that can't happen and you still say you deserve to play to be named, the best team in the country. Take your puke yellow and barney colored glasses off and smell the corndogs!! NEAUX TIGERS!! President of the SEC + Chairman of the BCS = BCS National Championship bid! You can't be the President of a BCS conference and be on the committee, how "unbiased" do you think he is!?

2012 NCAA Football Top 10.? by JacksonvilleJags94 Q: Whats yours. I'll pick which one I think is best.GO NOLES

A: My Way Too Early 2012 Preseason Top 10: 1. Arkansas - They return a lot of players, get back Knile Davis, and get both Alabama and LSU at home. The ingredients are there for Arkansas to make a National Championship run in 2012. 2. Alabama - This team can make run at an SEC and National Championship run, but this team does not return as much as Arkansas, and gets Arkansas and LSU on the road in 2012. 3. USC - Matt Barkley returning for his senior season was huge for this team. USC is the favorite to win the Pac-12, and a legitimate National Championship contender in 2012. 4. Florida State - It takes time for talent to mesh. I think this is the year Florida State finally gets it together, and gets results from the top-rated recruiting classes. It also helps that Florida State gets Clemson at home in 2012. (The series has been dominated by the home team). 5. LSU - The only reason why I have them ranked below Alabama and Arkansas is because of quarterback situation. Alabama and Arkansas have their set for 2012. The same cannot be said for LSU, who loses both Jarrett Lee and Jordan Jefferson. 6. South Carolina - This team returns a lot, and should battle with Georgia with for the SEC East division title again next season. They have beaten Georgia head-to-head in each of the past 2 seasons, including 45-42 last season in Georgia. South Carolina gets Geogia at home in 2012. 7. Georgia - Like South Carolina, this team also returns a lot. Despite the loss to South Carolina last season, Georgia ended up taking the SEC East division title. It should be another interesting battle two teams again this season. Georgia has a legitimate chance to contend for a National Championship, if it can pull off a huge road win over South Carolina. 8. Clemson - Clemson has a legitimate chance to repeat as ACC Champions with what it returns, but has Florida State on the road in 2012. 9. Virginia Tech - As long as Frank Beamer is head coach, I can always count for Virginia Tech to win at least 10 games, and contend for the ACC Championship, year in and year out. I do not see why it will be any different in 2012. 10. TCU - In 2011, TCU went 11-2, won a Conference Championship, and nearly made a BCS Bowl game, in what was supposed to be a rebuilding year. TCU should be even better in 2012. Moving to the Big 12 will not stop TCU winning from winning a 4th straight Conference Championship. It would not surprise me if TCU made it to the National Championship in their first year in the Big 12.

How good would Boise State be in a power conference? by Elmagnifico Q: BSU fans are always complaining about how they don't get into the national championship, and how hey could go 12-0 in a power conference. I don't think so, but I wanted to get some other opinions. How well would Boise State's FB team do if they were in a BCS conference in the coming 2011-2012 season. Provide Win-Lose for each of these divisions/conferences. ACC Coastal: ACC Atlantic: Big 10 Legends: Big 10 Leaders: Big 12: Big East(w/o TCU): Pac-12 North: Pac-12 South: SEC East: SEC West: Please leave explanation and be realistic, aka, don't put 12-0 in SEC west or 3-9 in Big East.

A: ACC: 12-0 or 11-1 depending on where certain games are played. Their only tough games would be on the road against Florida State or Virigina Tech, and Tech can't beat good teams. Big East: 12-0. No team in that conference has really stepped up since Rich Rod left West Virginia. Only school that would give them competition would be TCU, when they would join. Big 10 (now 12): Anywhere between 8-4 and 10-2. Most of the power conferences will not only be about who you play (since your not guaranteed to play everyone), but where you play. Schools like Iowa, Illinois, or Northwestern, even in bad years, are tough to beat at home. Big 12 (now 10): 9-3 or 10-2. Much like I said about the Big 10, who and where you play. The difference is, is that the Big 12 (now 10) has a huge difference between the top of that conference and its bottom. It more resembles 1 of the smaller conferences now. Toughest games would be with Texas, Texas A&M, and the 2 Oklahoma schools. Pac-12: 8-4 or 12-0. A little different, because the conference as a whole plays a number of different styles of both offense and defense. So unlike the Big 10 (now 12) and the SEC, you won't see a whole lot of the same thing from both sides of the ball, and the only school to have any kind of home field is Oregon. Boise State could do really well, or get tripped up because they will not be able to use the same/similar gameplans week to week. SEC: 9-3 or 10-2. Very much like the Big 10 (now 12), in that it depends on who you play, and where you play, i.e. South Carolina or Miss. State would be a tough road game for Boise, however notsomuch if those games were played in Boise. Also depends on who you play, tough if you get LSU, Alabama, and Florida in the same year, and a cakewalk if you get Kentucky, Vanderbilt, and Ole Miss in the same year. Add to that, Boise State's offensive schemes would cause a lot of problems in the SEC, since the only other passing team is Arkansas.

Win/Loss predictions for the following teams....? by YA! is a great timekiller! Q: 1. Florida 2. Georgia 3. Michigan 4. Michigan State 5. Washington 6. Ohio State 7. Texas 8. Oklahoma State 9. Nebraska 10. USC 11. Notre Dame 12. Iowa 13. Arkansas 14. North Carolina 15. Auburn

A: 1. Florida - 8-4 2. Georgia - 10-2 with possible SEC Championship berth 3. Michigan - 9-3 With Rodriguez gone, this team has potential 4. Michigan State - 11-2 They are very good but look to fall just behind the Big Ten Champs and will get a loss in their bowl game like previous years. 5. Washington - 7-5 Key players are gone and the end of the season never is promising for the Huskies 6. Ohio State - 7-5 Almost a rebuilt team due to NCAA sanctions, the Buckeyes may be offset for a couple of years but rebound in 2012 or 2013. 7. Texas - 8-4 They were bad last season because of getting used to the new players but look for them to contend in the Big 12. 8. Oklahoma State - 12-1 The Cowboys are very good with their Run and shoot offense lead by Brandon Weeden and possible Heisman Justin Blackmon, they could run the table except for the shootout with BCS big boys Oklahoma. 9. Nebraska - 12-2 Big Red wants to make a big splash in the Big Ten. One of the scariest defenses in the nation and one of the most scariest quarterbacks, Taylor Martinez. This team can sweep the table or even just get to the championship with one loss against maybe Wisconsin. The team can win every game, but don't be surprised if they do. 10. USC - 10-4 Matt Barkley leads a good Trojan squad to a 10-4 but no bowl since their sanctions are still in effect. 11. Notre Dame - 11-2 The Irish are a dangerous team and have a very balanced defense and offense. 12. Iowa - 9-5 They will fall apart like usual near the end of the 2011 campaign. 13. Arkansas - 11-2 The Razorbacks can still do a good job despite losing some key players to the draft. 14. North Carolina - 8-5 This team had a huge defensive setback from the draft and looks to rebound soon, but not next season. 15. Auburn - 8-5 This team lacks leadership, and Michael Dyer himself cannot carry them to victory. In 2013, this team will be SCARY, but right now, Gene Chizik justs hope to make a bowl.

Will Auburn Football make a comeback in 2012? by steven Q: They won the NC in 2010 with Cam Newton and all, and although they won some close games in 2011, they also had some ugly blowout losses(5 losses by a combined 200 pts. Ouch!!!) However, I still think it was a miracle they won 8 games, and that they even overachieved a bit, considering the lethargic quarterback play(QB's all sucked, they need new ones) Do you think 2012 will be different? Can Auburn have a decent season? Like I said, I think they need a "real" QB this season, not Trotter(A JOKE) or the 2011 version of an Auburn QB/offense. And yes, their defense needs to get better too. The only time the Tigers defense was good last season was against teams whose offense sucked ass. i.e. against South Carolina under Stephen Garcia. If Shaw was the QB, Auburn wouldn't stand a chance. btw...I am not an Auburn fan, but I do like SEC football and follow it closely.

A: As long as Gene Chitzit is the coach I don't see Auburn being any better than an average team.. Chitzit is pretty much an average coach.... The BCS championship they won in 2010 was a fluke and they won it all because of Cam Newton.....

Who agrees that Boise State could whoop Alabama in the championships? by BoiseState! Q: Boise State is the most consistent program in all of college football. During the program's remarkable rise to prominence in the 2000s, the Broncos racked up a record of 112-17, best in the nation. I say, that a team like that, could CONQUER ALABAMA, and so on. And with coach Chris Petersen spurning an offer from Stanford and choosing to remain in Boise this past winter, it seems unlikely that the Broncos' winning ways are going to change anytime soon. So for now, all of you Boise haters may as well accept the fact that this team is not going away. They've been great for the better part of the past decade. They'll be great again in 2012. But how great? OVERVIEW: One loss derailed what could have been a dream season for the Broncos in 2010. Boise came into the season with higher hopes than ever before--20 starters back, a Heisman-contending quarterback in Kellen Moore, and an opening-week showcase game against mighty Georgia. What the Broncos didn't plan on was that meltdown by kicker Dan Goodale, which led to a heartbreaking late-season loss to TCU. With that single loss, Boise went from national title contender to BCS outsider. They ended up playing in the Macco Las Vegas Bowl. Not quite what they had in mind. So, suffice to say, they're probably looking at 2012 as an opportunity for redemption. THE CEILING: A BCS bowl. The Broncos aren't quite as loaded heading into 2011 as they appeared to be heading into 2010, but Moore has finished an outstanding fourth year as the starting quarterback and underrated tailback Doug Martin returns, too. Much of the offensive line will remain intact, as will the core of the defense--including freaking awesome defensive end Shea McClellin and linebacker Byron Hout. The schedule also set up nicely; the season opener against a rebuilding Georgia team was an easy-win, even though it's a de facto road game (in Atlanta), and the Broncos also get Nevada and Air Force at home. THE VERDICT: Given all of this program's success over the past decade, and given that the Broncos have already gotten over that BCS hump, it's quite clear that the only goal that remains for Petersen is the national championship. Just getting to a BCS bowl isn't enough these days, not for a program and a fan base that has come to expect only the best. A national title run certainly isn't out of the question in 2012--the talent is here, and the schedule is favorable--but as always, the Broncos are going to have be absolutely perfect (even "close wins" cost this team with the voters) and hope that pretty much everyone else in the nation stumbles, too. It didn't happen in 2011. I don't think it will happen in 2012, either. REGULAR SEASON PREDICTION: 12-0!! Any comments?? 2 minutes ago - 4 days left to answer. Additional Details I appreciate your thoughts! Thank you, Bria Bell(: (aka Boise's biggest fan!) 1 second ago

A: First of all who the fuck does boise play? ... They lost to tcu ... Tcu? Is that a joke and u want to try to say they have a chance against Alabama?????? This is coming from an lsu fan Alabama would rooolll over Boise... Wouldn't be close... Boise state would be a 3or4 loss team in the sec and sorry to tell u but that's the truth lsu or Alabama would stomp Boise or Houston or any team like that for that matter.... And talking about how good y'all are going to be next yr??? Uhh? Without kelen Moore y'all are a 2 or 3 loss teAm in whatever bs conference y'all are in ... Barely bowl eligible in the sec..... Bottom line Alabama 35 boose st 10 ... Commimg from an lsu fan .... These are the facts ....

U.S. History from 1980 to present day? by тhє ηαmє's rachel✌ツ Q: Im constructing a timeline with 50 events from 1901 to present day..i have 37 already and im up to 1980... *****I need 13 more (major) historical u.s. events from 1980 to 2012. ****** Thanks so much in advance :) JUST GIVE ME 13 MAJOR US HISTORICAL EVENTS FROM 1980 TO 2012. pleaseee.. :)

A: General Motors Declares Bankruptcy President Obama Announces Surge in Afghanistan Elana Kagan Becomes Fourth Female Justice Polish railway workers block railway to Russia 1980 - Ronald Reagan nominated for Pres by Republicans in Detroit 1981 - India performs nuclear Test 1981 - Shukuni Sasaki spins 72 plates simultaneously 1982 - George P Shultz sworn in as minister of Foreign affairs 1982 - NASA launches Landsat 4 to thematic map the Earth 1982 - Sun Myung Moon sentenced to 18 months for tax fraud 1983 - 20 killed in Britain's worst helicopter accident 1983 - Sikorsky S-61 disaster: A helicopter crashes off the Isles of Scilly, causing 20 fatalities. 1985 - 56th All Star Baseball Game: NL wins 6-1 at Humphrey Metrodome, Minn 1985 - All star MVP: LaMarr Hoyt (SD Padres) 1985 - Bill to abolish Greater London Council receives royal assent 1985 - F-86 Sabre sets world aircraft speed record of 1152 kph (716 mph) 1987 - Great Britain performs nuclear Test at Nevada Test Site US President & Actor Ronald Reagan 1987 - Said Aouita runs world record 2000m (4:50.81) 1987 - Don Mattingly hits his 4th grand slam of season & ties AL record of homers in 6 straight games (on way to tie major league record of 8) 1988 - Carl Lewis runs a wind-assisted 100 m in 9.78 sec 1988 - Florence Joyner runs 100 m in women's world record 10.49 seconds 1988 - Jackie Joyner-Kersee sets women's heptathlete record of 7,215 pts 1988 - Michael J Fox marries Tracy Pollan 1988 - San Antonio (Texas League) beats Jackson 1-0 in 26 innings 1988 - Wayne Gretzky (NHL) & Janet Jones (Police Acad 5) wed in Edmonton 1989 - 44th US Women's Open Golf Championship won by Betsy King 1990 - 400 die in a (7.7) earthquake in Philippines 1990 - Bridgette LeAnn Wilson, 17, of Oregon, 8th crowned Miss Teen USA 1990 - Civil trial by parents of Suicide victims against Judas Priest begins 1990 - NYC's Empire State Building catches fire-No fatalities 1990 - Rick Dee's "Into the Night," premieres on ABC-TV 1990 - Ukraine declares independence Actor Michael J. Fox 1993 - President Lissouba calls emergency rule in Congo-Brazzaville 1993 - S van Ruysdael's "Winter Landscape" sold for £705,500 in London 1993 - SF outfielder Darren Lewis sets record of 267 consec errorless games 1994 - "Sisters Rosensweig" closes at Barrymore Theater NYC after 556 perfs 1994 - 1st parts of Comet Shoemaker-Levy hits Jupiter (until July 22nd) 1994 - 3 tenors-Placid Domingo, Luciano Parvoti, Jose Carreras, perform in LA 1994 - Anna Nicole Smith (26) weds ½ billionaire J Howard Marshall II (89) 1994 - Baseball Night in America premieres (no Saturday day games) 1994 - Comet Shoemaker-Levy collides with Jupiter 1994 - Shreveport Pirates 1st CFL home game (vs Toronto Argonauts) 1994 - Spanish fishing boats sink a French fishing boat over fishing rights 1994 - Sweden shuts out Bulgaria 4-0, to finish 3rd in the World Cup 1995 - "Buttons on Broadway" closes at Ambassador Theater NYC after 40 perfs 1995 - "Chronicles of a Death Foretold" closes at Plymouth NYC after 55 perfs 1995 - 13th Seniors Players Golf Championship: J C Snead 1995 - 50th US Women's Open Golf Championship won by Annika Sorenstam 1997 - Jerold Mackenzie awarded $266M for being fired from Miller Brewing for sexual harrassment for relaying a Seinfeld episode to a co worker 1999 - John F. Kennedy Jr., his wife Carolyn Bessette Kennedy, and sister-in-law Lauren Bessette are killed in a plane crash off the coast of Martha's Vineyard. The Piper Saratoga aircraft was piloted by Kennedy. 2004 - Millennium Park, considered the first and most ambitious architectural project in the early 21st century for Chicago, is opened to the public by Mayor Richard M. Daley. 2007 - An earthquake of magnitude 6.8 and aftershock of 6.6 occurs off the Niigata coast, Japan, killing 8 people with at least 800 injured and damaging a nuclear power plant. See 2007 Chūetsu offshore earthquake. HERE ARE A FEW...DIS REGARD THE SPORTS UNLESS THEY HELP... ;)

top college football contenders for next year? by Music Fan foreva Q: auburn, lsu, uga , fsu, usc, oregon, wisconsin

A: My early Preseason Top 5 for 2012: 1. Arkansas Razorbacks - I love how everyone forgot about this team. This team returns almost everyone, and brings back Knile Davis, who missed the entire 2011 season. Also, Arkansas gets BOTH Alabama and LSU at home in 2012. This team certainly has the pieces to make a run at the National Championship in 2012. 2. USC Trojans - The return of Matt Barkley is huge for this team. USC is definitely the clear favorite to win the Pac-12 Championship in 2012, and probably has the best chance to put an end to the string of 6 straight National Championships by the SEC. 3. Alabama Crimson Tide - This team is coming off a 2nd National Championship in 3 seasons. However, Alabama gets both Arkansas and LSU on the road in 2012. Not to mention, this team does not return as much as Arkansas. Winning a 3rd National Championship in 4 seasons may just be too much to ask. (See Florida in 2009.) 4. LSU Tigers - I would have this team ranked a bit higher, but the performance against Alabama in the BCS National Championship Game last night is the reason why I give the Crimson Tide the nod over LSU. 5. Florida State Seminoles - I think this is the year Florida State finally gets it together, and gets results from the top-rated recruiting classes. Keep in mind, it takes time for talent to mesh. It also helps that Florida State gets Clemson at home in 2012, since the series has been dominated by the home team over the last 10 years

The SEC will win the College Football Championship once again, true or false ? by Zodiac Man "Icon" Q: Lets be clear here today. LSU will win the NCAA Championship in 2012. Dont tell me about Oklahoma, Oregon, Oklahoma State, TCU, Nebraska, Michigan, or Notre Dame. The bar has been raised, and unfortunately the rest of the league is not even on our level. The South runs college football, simple and plain. We are bigger, faster, stronger, and more resilient than any other Conference around. This year is no different, and the title is ours. Do you agree ? BOB- We are talking about NCAA titles here. We have beaten our competitors in all of the other Pacific Conferences and Big 10 as well. We run this ship now and have been for over the past 5 years.

A: The SEC will again win the National Championship game. True.

top college football contenders for next year? by Music Fan foreva Q: auburn, fsu, wisconsin, lsu, arkansas, uga, oregon, usc

A: My early Preseason Top 5 for 2012: 1. Arkansas Razorbacks - I love how everyone forgot about this team. This team returns almost everyone, and brings back Knile Davis, who missed the entire 2011 season. Also, Arkansas gets BOTH Alabama and LSU at home in 2012. This team certainly has the pieces to make a run at the National Championship in 2012. 2. USC Trojans - The return of Matt Barkley is huge for this team. USC is definitely the clear favorite to win the Pac-12 Championship in 2012, and probably has the best chance to put an end to the string of 6 straight National Championships by the SEC. 3. Alabama Crimson Tide - This team is coming off a 2nd National Championship in 3 seasons. However, Alabama gets both Arkansas and LSU on the road in 2012. Not to mention, this team does not return as much as Arkansas. Winning a 3rd National Championship in 4 seasons may just be too much to ask. (See Florida in 2009.) 4. LSU Tigers - I would have this team ranked a bit higher, but the performance against Alabama in the BCS National Championship Game last night is the reason why I give the Crimson Tide the nod over LSU. 5. Florida State Seminoles - I think this is the year Florida State finally gets it together, and gets results from the top-rated recruiting classes. Keep in mind, it takes time for talent to mesh. It also helps that Florida State gets Clemson at home in 2012, since the series has been dominated by the home team over the last 10 years.

Conference Pride College Football? by dsaf f Q: Is anyone else sick and tired of hearing about how you're suppost to have this conference pride during the bowl season? If you are a true fan of your team, you should never pull for any other team in your conference. How many fans of SEC teams are pulling for Bama in the NC game or vice versa? It should be none. Ideally the conference that my favorite team is in would send one team to a bowl and that would be my team. Conference pride is a load of bull

A: Are you kidding me? Conference Pride makes your team look way better. Your conference needs to look good in order to get better rankings next year. Boise State for example. They went undefeated this year but it didn't matter. What if they had another team in their conference that beat a good team in a bowl and Boise State whipped that team. I could see them as a 2 instead of a 8. Conference pride is what College Bowl Season is all about. If the SEC looks bad say in-let's say- 2012 in the bowls and even though Georgia goes undefeated and wins it all. Big 10 and Big 12 represent themselves well. Next year if Georgia loses 1 game. Then Big 10 and 12 Champions are in the BCS Championship. A team is only as good as their conference.

Who are your preseason top 5? by Q: I haven't thought much about the actual order, but off the top of my head USC LSU Georgia Bama Oregon

A: My early Preseason Top 5 for 2012: 1. Arkansas Razorbacks - I love how everyone forgot about this team. This team returns almost everyone, and brings back Knile Davis, who missed the entire 2011 season. Also, Arkansas gets BOTH Alabama and LSU at home in 2012. This team certainly has the pieces to make a run at the National Championship in 2012. 2. USC Trojans - The return of Matt Barkley is huge for this team. USC is definitely the clear favorite to win the Pac-12 Championship in 2012, and probably has the best chance to put an end to the string of 6 straight National Championships by the SEC. 3. Alabama Crimson Tide - This team is coming off a 2nd National Championship in 3 seasons. However, Alabama gets both Arkansas and LSU on the road in 2012. Not to mention, this team does not return as much as Arkansas. Winning a 3rd National Championship in 4 seasons may just be too much to ask. (See Florida in 2009.) 4. LSU Tigers - I would have this team ranked a bit higher, but the performance against Alabama in the BCS National Championship Game is one reason why I give the Crimson Tide the nod over LSU. Also, LSU's quarterback situation is unsettled, after losing Jordan Jefferson and Jarrett Lee. (Losing two 4-year quarterbacks is never a good thing.) 5. Florida State Seminoles - I think this is the year Florida State finally gets it together, and gets results from the top-rated recruiting classes. Keep in mind, it takes time for talent to mesh. It also helps that Florida State gets Clemson at home in 2012, since the series has been dominated by the home team over the last 10 years.

College football projections 2011? SEC? by Don Coulter Q: We're most likely going to lose Newton, and even if we don't, I know we're going to be lucky to be at least two loss team with the loss of all our seniors. Can't give him all the credit. Anyway, who do you think will be the top dog in the SEC next year?

A: Well, Auburn will win this national championship game. Let's go ahead and get that out of the way. Now, here are my division projections: WEST: 1. LSU (12-0) 2. Auburn (10-2) 2. Alabama (10-2) 4. Arkansas (9-3) 5. Mississippi State (7-5) 6. Ole Miss (5-7) EAST: 1. South Carolina (11-1) 2. Florida (9-3) 3. Georgia (8-4) 3. Tennessee (8-4) 5. Kentucky (6-6) 6. Vanderbilt (3-9) Here are my forecasts: * LSU goes 12-0 in the regular season for the first time in a very, very long time. * USC wins the East yet again, their only loss to Auburn. * Cam Newton comes back to Auburn, but the loss of 24 seniors plus a daunting road schedule gives the Tigers 2 losses. Possible At-Large berth in the BCS. * Alabama wins 10 games but loses their 2nd straight to Auburn. * Arkansas QB Tyler Wilson leads the SEC in passing yards and TDs. They lose the the SEC West's Big 3 of LSU, Auburn and Bama, but they set themselves up for a great 2012. * Florida's offense shows drastic improvement but the defense will need time to gel for the Gators to regain greatness. * LSU comes back in the SEC Title Game to beat USC, 18-17, and they go on to defeat Wisconsin, yes Wisconsin, for the BCS Title, 34-17, giving the SEC their 6th straight title (06 Florida, 07 LSU, 08 Florida, 09 Alabama, 10 Auburn, 11 LSU)

BOLD PREDICTIONS FOR 2012 COLLEGE FOOTBALL SEASON? by Twilightzoneauburntigers Q: bama will lose to michigan and finish 8-4/9-3/10-2 but still finish in the top 10/15 since they are the media's darling auburn-lsu winner will be undefeated heading into november georgia will lose once in the regular season but still make it to atlanta south carolina will lose lattimore early in the season finish 8-4/9-3 after getting blown out in a new years day bowl by a big ten team usc will beat oregon in the regular season, but lose to the ducks in the pac 12 championship knocking both teams out of the national championship fsu will be in the national championship arkansas will beat bama for the 1st time since 06 louisville and arkansas will both make it to their 2nd bcs bowl this deacde mississippi state, tennessee, and kentucky will all 3 be looking for new head coaches atleast 3 conference championship games in december will be rematches from the regulr season vandy will be in a new years day bowl the sec will win its 7th straight national championship a rivalry game in november will feature two unbeatens

A: Bama beats Michigan.. Auburn will be lucky to win 8 games.. I agree on Georgia... Arkansas will be better but still lose to the Tide... Vandy will win 8 games but not go to a New Years day bowl... SEC could possibly make it 7 in a row...

SEC bowl predictions 2011-2012? by Auburn Q: I think this is how it will happen national championship LSU Sugar bowl Alabama Cotton bowl Arkansas Captiol one South Carolina Chick fa la Auburn Outback Georgia Gator Bowl Florida Liberty Mississippi state Music city Tennessee's BVVA compass Vandy Who do you think will play in what bowl GEAUX TIGERS

A: I realize this does not answer your question, though saying geaux tigers is for LSU....come on now- War Eagle! I picked LSU vs. Wisconsin in the National Championship game with LSU winning just to keep the SEC streak alive, though I am not so secretly hoping that Sparty wins on Saturday.

2012 sec football championship? by Music Fan foreva Q: will either be auburn/arkansas vs florida, or uga vs lsu, bama has no chance of making it till atleast 2016

A: Based on the schedules, you can probably pencil Georgia into the $EC Title game. Alabama, LSU, and Arkansas are not on their schedule, and they play nobody in non-conference play.

Who is your dark horse National Championship Team in 2012 (Not Dark Horse to win it but to get there)? by Rey Q: I like Texas a lot. They've got one of the nation's best defenses and David Ash can develop into a good game manager type QB. Reminiscent of Major Applewhite in many ways. I also like Cal to breakthrough but I find it unlikely for them to get to the national championship game because they'll have to beat Washington, Oregon, and USC and then have to beat probably USC again if they go to the Pac-12 championship game. My final National Championship Dark Horse is Virginia. They had an incredible season in 2011 and they've added Phillip Sims, former #2 HS QB and he's had two years at Alabama to adjust to the college game. I like the Cavaliers chances to make noise in the ACC and obviously if you go undefeated in such a conference you'll have a excellent chance to go to the National Championship Game.

A: Hasn't Texas lost 12 games in 2 years? One of the nation's best defenses? I am not seeing it. Cal? I don't see them winning 10 games, and certainly not beating USC twice. If Virginia is sitting there with no losses, along with a pac ten team, SEC team and/or a big 12 team, they aren't getting in, no questions asked. I could see another rematch in the SEC for the title over an unbeaten Virginia team. In fact I would bet on it. My dark horse is Michigan State. 22 wins the last 2 seasons, and return a lot of players. They beat Georgia in their bowl game, who a lot of people have going to the title game.

BCS confusion. help me out someone? by Ken Q: Help me out somebody? Auburn is playing for the national championship, so Arkansas gets the next best BCS game for the SEC. Wisconsin goes to the Rose bowl because it won the big ten. Oregon, who would be in the Rose bowl if not playing in the Championship game would have otherwise went to the Rose bowl as conference champs. So why is Stanford not in the Rose bowl?

A: Rasslin Fundamentals: Auburn never broke rules. I would like to see your source. We recruited Cam because we wanted him in our spread offense. We recruited him normally. ALL it is is that a Mississippi State booster wanted to give Cam's dad money to get Cam to play there, and that never happened. If you have a source other than an LSU fan blog, I would like to see it. Until then, close your mouth with that garbage. As for this question, there's a new rule that if the Pac-10 Champ goes to the BCS Title Game anytime this year or in 2011 or 2012, a non-AQ team will be accepted. If not for this rule, Stanford would be in the Rose Bowl and if this same situation were to play out NEXT year, Stanford would be in.

What are your predictions for the BCS Conference Champions in 2012? by Rey Q: The way I see it... ACC- Virginia stuns FSU in the ACC Championship Game. Big East- South Florida Big Ten- Michigan Big 12- Texas. (Oklahoma is having all kinds of problems. They blew it last year with that preseason #1 ranking and now Bob Stoops kicked out Jaz Reynolds one of their best receivers) Pac-12- Oregon (I'm not buying the USC hype. I think Barkley will be devastated) SEC- Alabama BCS Championship Game- Oregon vs. Texas (Yes. Dark Horse) Orange Bowl- Virginia vs. South Florida Sugar Bowl- Alabama vs. Boise State Rose Bowl- USC vs. Michigan Fiesta Bowl- Oklahoma vs. LSU I think LSU is vastly overrated btw so you can easily replace my LSU pick with either Wisconsin or Arkansas.

A: ACC- if sammy watkins plays full potential Clemson, otherwise FSU. Big East- WVU no question. Big Ten- Michigan. Big 12- OU Pac-12 USC SEC- Bama Bama beats USC in national championship. WVU beats Clemson in orange Oregon beats Michigan in the Rose Bowl LSU pounds a non-auto qualifier in Sugar Fiesta- FSU beats OU

Georgia Bulldogs Football WTF? by chris_mapp_3 Q: I'm an Bulldog fan....But what do you see the bulldog s season being like next year and could they win an national championship next year? and Most all what games will they win and Who will they lose too?

A: The Georgia Bulldogs will be ranked in the Top 10 of the 2012 preseason polls. Personally, I believe that Georgia is neck and neck with South Carolina in the SEC East. I cannot even decide which team is better between the two. South Carolina won the last 2 meetings head-to-head between the teams, including 45-42 in Georgia this past season. However, Georgia went on to win the SEC East division. Both teams return a lot. The 2012 meeting between the two teams will be in South Carolina. If Georgia can pull off a huge road win against South Carolina, I think they will win the SEC East division again, play in the SEC Championship Game, and possibly even the opportunity to play for a National Championship. @ K-Dawg - Georgia is not going to lose to a high school girls team in the Outback Bowl :)

Will the next 10 NCAA Football National Champions come from the SEC and if not, what country are you from? by hays101 REVISITED Q: your turban is cutting off the circulation to your brain......

A: Yep! 2010: Auburn 2011: Auburn 2012: Auburn 2013: Auburn (At the Rose Bowl, baby!) 2014: Auburn 2015: Auburn 2016: Tennessee (There ya go) 2017: Auburn (Rose Bowl again! California time!) 2018: Auburn 2019: Auburn 2020: Auburn LOL, not seriously. Dude, the SEC streak is gonna end eventually. But one thing college football fans can be happy about: The more in a row the SEC wins, the more pressure on the NCAA to get a playoff. And I believe Auburn will win a BCS National Championship in 2013 or sooner. I honestly do. Because every one of our staff members will NOT leave Auburn University until they win a National Championship, and they proved it by not losing ANYBODY to another school this offseason. I know it sounds CRAZY to some now (AUBURN winning a BCS Title??? They aren't even a STATE!), but we will soon have the championship look. We have good coaches (Iowa State already sucked before he got there, but that's beside the point. LOOK AT HIS FRIGGIN ASSISTANTS!!!), it's been proven. In 3 years, we will be LOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAADDDDEEEDDDD, because this staff is great at recruiting, as AU will have top 5 finishes as far as the eye can see. Depth will be full. Talent will be abundant. We will have a high-flying offense with a power-running attack, and we will have a smothering defense who will shut down opposing offenses. You may not think it now, but trust me, when you have 63,000 at the spring game for an 8-5 team with some "5-19" coach, that should be at least a SIGN that Auburn is more than meets the eye. Besides, one good season in the SEC and you become a contender for years.

2012 college SEC predictions then tell me the top 5 teams? by Ryan Nickols Q: Conference Championship UGA vs. Alabama Outcome: UGA 21 Alabama 10 1.) Alabama 2.) Georgia 3.) LSU 4.) Arkansas 5.) S. Car Which one USC or south Carolina

A: 1) Alabama... 2) LSU... 3) Georgia.. 4) Arkansas.. 5) South Carolina... SEC championship game Bama 35-13 over Georgia......

When is next chess tournament in chicago ?and how do i sign up? ? by Chess Q: so ive been playing chess for about 4 years mostly online on yahoo chess i would say i win close to 70% of my games and i have a rating close to 1650 i know thats pretty low rating but but i stil think i could stomp wit the big dogs or atleast try

A: Illinois TLAs — April 2012 http://Main.USChess.org/assets/msa_joomla/tla/yState.php?st=IL#April North American Chess Association - Tournaments http://www.NAChess.org/tournaments/tournaments Date Title Venue City State Type Apr 21, 2012 - Apr 21, 2012 GM Pascal Charbonneau Lecture and/or Simul North Shore Chess Center Skokie Illinois Special Events Apr 27, 2012 - Apr 27, 2012 Lantern Light Chess G/15 + 5/sec increment North Shore Chess Center Skokie Illinois Pro-Am Apr 28, 2012 - Apr 28, 2012 G/60 + 5/sec increment North Shore Chess Center Skokie Illinois Pro-Am Sep 01, 2012 - Sep 03, 2012 Illinois Open State Championships Double Tree Oakbrook Oakbrook IL Pro-Am Illinois TLAs — May 2012 http://Main.USChess.org/assets/msa_joomla/tla/yState.php?st=IL#May 21st Annual Chicago Open: May 24-28, 2012 http://www.ChicagoOpen.net/ The 21st Annual Chicago Open will be held May 24-28, 2012, at the Westin Chicago North Shore Hotel, 601 North Milwaukee Ave, Wheeling IL 60090 (from Chicago, I-294 north to US-45 north;) (from Milwaukee, I-94 east to Lake Cook Rd to US-45 south).

What is the future of the Big 12? by Sean Q: SO, Nebraska is taking a hike this season, and Colorado is supposed to follow in 2012, I believe. Texas A&M has talked about going to the SEC. WHere does that leave them? Are they just going to adjust into a smaller conference?...or do they eventually plan on picking up a couple of teams? Why TCU joined the Big East instead of the Big East is beyond me....or are they just going to self implode and all join different conferences?

A: The Big 12 is in decline. The conference made a deal with the orange devil to ward off a complete implosion this year. The TV money situation has to be fixed or there could be more member schools looking for greener pastures. UT has the other Texas schools in their back pocket but the former Big 8 schools have to be looking at options. I don't see a huge decline in the quality of the college football for a few years. Yes, losing Nebraska hurts but UT and Oklahoma are still ranked #1 and #3 in recruiting. And Tech, Oklahoma State, A&M, and Baylor are having better than average recruiting years. 8 of the 10 remaining teams are in the top 50 in recruiting. But unless some changes are made that won't last long term. I've had the Big 12 ranked as the second best conference, behind the SEC, for several years but starting next season, I see them as low as 4th, behind the SEC, the Big 10, and maybe the PAC 12. To survive, the Big 12 needs to do something about the TV money situation but also actively pursue expansion back to 12 teams, possibly even more. They need to get the conference championship game back plus balance a future North/South divide with some better quality North teams. I don't see the conference splitting UT and Oklahoma into different divisions unless they come up with a way to keep the annual Red River Rivalry going. BYU and Boise State would be my current choices. I don't know if they can lure TCU away from the Big East. And Boise State might face some costly legal penalties if they renege on their MWC deal. SMU and Houston would also be candidates. The conference may decide to stay with 10 teams and live with it. But to me that's a bad plan if they want to keep all the current members and remain among the elite conferences.

What happened to all of the Big10/Pac10/Big12 moves in the NCAA? by James Q: I really haven't thought much about it, cause I'm a Gator, but it just struck me that Nebraska is still in the Big 12. What happened to all of that, and when did I miss it??

A: Nebraska will move to the Big 10 for the 2011 season and Colorado will join the PAC 10 in 2012. Texas A&M was on the verge on joining the SEC and Texas, Texas Tech, Oklahoma, and Oklahoma State were almost set to leave the Big 12 and go to the PAC 10, which would be renamed the PAC 16. But Texas negotiated a huge TV deal with the Big 12 that allows them to establish an outside TV contract. By doing that, Texas stayed in the Big 12 and so did the other teams. There is talk of the Big 12 trying to lure some other schools to join, since they'll be under the NCAA imposed 12 limit to have 2 divisions and a conference championship game. So, I don't think the moves are all done yet. But it might be a few years before we see any more significant changes.

What is your top 10 predictions in college football for 2012? by Stanley Ash Q: 1.LSU 2.USC 3,Auburn 4,Georgia 5.Florida State 6.Texas 7.Oklahoma 8.Michigan 9.Alabama 10.Boise State

A: Not the preseason poll, but more representative of the end of the season before conference championship games: 1) LSU 2) USC 3) Alabama 4) Oregon 5) Clemson 6) Arkansas 7) Ohio State (in the one poll that can rank them, move everyone below up a spot in the other polls) 8) Oklahoma 9) Boise State 10) Virginia Tech 11) Georgia Where we disagree: Auburn--have not seen the QB for them to be top 10, and they have lost Malzahn as the OC, too. Georgia--I have them lower because I think the SEC East is going to be tougher this coming season. They got lucky with an easy schedule (after the first two games) last season. Florida State--they STAY overrated. They are basically not that different from Notre Dame, i.e. never meet expectations. VT is constantly the most consistent team in the ACC and always around the top 10. Texas--Like Auburn but worse in terms of just not seeing a QB that justifies thinking they can be in the top 10. Michigan--Since this is my team, I know what they've lost on offense and defense, and it's going to hurt us. I also understand that Denard Robinson cannot and will not be able to pass well enough--partially because he sucks that much and partially because the best receivers are gone--and the schedule is tougher this coming season than it was in 2011. Alabama--I don't know why you have them so low. I thought everyone saw them as a possible title contender, i.e. top 5.

will oregon play in the championship in 2012? by jacob f Q: okay so say oregon beats oregon state and florida state beats florida. that would move oregon to the fourth ranking in the bcs standings. Now say usc also beats notre dame which means the new top three would be #1 alabama #2 georgia and oregon #3. now alabama will play georgia in the sec championship and one of those teams will lose moving oregon to number 2. now say oregon doesnt get to compete in the pac12 championship and stanford does. would oregon play in the national championship if they dont get to play in their own confrence championship.

A: It's all pretty much irrelevant now. Looks like it'll be the winner of the SEC Championship---game vs Notre Dame.

Why won't the Big 12 give an invitation to TCU? by rabbit_smokey Q: I'm a fan of a SEC school, Ole Miss to be exact, but if the Big 12 wants to survive and still have a conference championship game it makes sense to add TCU. I know TCU is going to the Big East in 2012, but it help the Big 12 stay alive. What do you guys think?

A: The Big 12 is not interested in expanding, and they don't need TCU if they did want to expand. They have the Texas market already, and what does TCU add financially? They are a small school that does't have a huge fan base. It's debatable if they'd win in the Big 12, and the way the Big 12 distributes revenue would probably make TCU want to leave at some point. Not sure if TCU would even have accepted a Big 12 invite for those kind of reasons--it's easier for them to win in the Big East. The Big 12 might not be as shaky as some people think simply because Texas seems perfectly content to stay put. Texas and Oklahoma are in the best position in that league, and they also make the money for that league. So, as long as they're happy, there will probably be a Big 12 because the other teams seem to follow their lead and really don't have anywhere better to go. No major conference is going to take Kansas, Kansas State, Baylor or Iowa State...Big Ten flirted with Missouri but at the end of the day, Mizzou doesn't have the academic prestige that the Big Ten likes in its members...so probably no one else would take Mizzou. Oklahoma State and Texas Tech are probably always going to do what Texas and OU do. Texas A&M might be the one team that would go somewhere else, but losing just them wouldn't wreck the Big 12.

Name the SEC Coach that you think doesn't have job at the end of the 2012 season? by AJ Q: I say Richt all the off the field arrests in the offseason over the years makes him a liability if he stays at the University. Having back to back five game losing streak possibly more this year. Back to back losing in bowl games.

A: I'll have to agree with Eric.. I think Tennessee will have to perform this year or Dooley will be on the hot seat.. Tennessee fans are getting restless and ready to get back to their winning ways.. I think Richt saved himself for another year because they at least got to the SEC championship this past season.. They don't do well this coming season he'll be back on the hot seat beginning in 2013......

When will the 2012 BCS championship teams be revealed today? by Brianna Q: Okay so I'm anxious who will be playing against LSU in the BCS championship game so when will this be announced and also share who you think should play! Personally my team is Alabama! Roll tide baby!! Haha

A: I say BAMA plays LSU. yes they "had their chance" but alabama and LSU have stayed ranked #1 and #2 pretty much the entire season. The game was so close the first time for a reason. who wants to see LSU blow somebody out of the water at the championship game(well other than LSU fans thats a given)? Champions are decided when the best play the best. Teams not in the SEC dont have schedules like SEC teams do. I would say if the #2 and #3 spot had gone back and forth the entire season it would be a toss up but it didn't.Alabama secured the number 2 spot EVEN after a loss to LSU. ps. If it was your team, you would think the same way every bama fan is thinking.

What rank do you think the arkansas razorbacks will aspire to in the bcs rankings in the 2012/13 season? by christopher Q: Im betting they will make it to #2, if not #1 in the bcs rankings. What do ypu think, and why, plz

A: I totally agree with you. I see the Arkansas Razorbacks winning the SEC Championship, finishing in the Top 2 of the BCS rankings, and playing in the BCS National Championship Game this upcoming season. Arkansas returns a lot of starters, has an experienced quarterback, and have a favorable schedule (getting BOTH Alabama and LSU at home in 2012).

What side will each team be on in the 2012 SEC Championship football game? by 46ozbulldog Q:

A: West

Is there any chance Ohio State will play Auburn in the Gator Bowl? by Brad Q: I would like to go to the game in Jacksonville if these two teams end up playing there. Do you think the chances are good that the Gator Bowl wants this matchup? I think it would be very entertaining to see in person. Thank you!

A: An Ohio State vs. Auburn match up in the 2012 Gator Bowl is certainly possible. This year the Gator Bowl gets the 4th selection from the Big 10 and the 5th selection from the SEC. Those selection numbers are after the 4 BCS bowl games and the BCS Championship Game spots are filled. There is a lot of college football left to be played and it's early to be predicting the bowl match ups. However, there are sports websites already doing it. I've linked below to a couple that I start watching about this time every year. One has the Gator Bowl selecting Nebraska vs. Florida and the other has Michigan State vs. Florida. But you really don't get any level of confidence of what the bowl game committees will do until the last couple of weeks of the regular season.

Is Georgia a National Championship Contender for next season? by NITWIG Q: In a weird scheduling quirk they miss LSU, Alabama & Arkansas on their 2012 SEC schedule for the 2nd straight year. Don't worry Georgia fans, I'm not putting down your team but even you have to admit that's a bit unusual.

A: Personally, I believe it all depends on the South Carolina game. If Georgia can pull off a huge road win at South Carolina, they should win the SEC East division again, play in the SEC Championship Game, and if they win that, possibly even a chance to play for the BCS National Championship.

Images
Videos
2012 SEC Championship Game SEC Championship 2012: Alabama vs. Georgia Georgia Football 2012 SEC Championship Hype SEC Championship Game: NCAA 12: Georgia vs. LSU 2012 SEC Championship Hype Video: Alabama vs Georgia 2012 SEC Champions: BAMA WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS Alabama vs Georgia week 14 2012 SEC Championship game SEC Championship game Alabama vs. Georgia 2012 PREVIEW - SEC Championship Game Spring 2012 SEC Championship Game Alabama Crimson Tide vs Georgia Bulldogs: 2012 College Football Picks SEC Championship Game Alabama vs Georgia 2012 SEC Championship Game Preview Highlights: Vanderbilt tops Kentucky in 2012 SEC Championship 2008 SEC Championship Game #2 Florida Gators vs. #1 Alabama Crimson Tide SEC CHAMPIONSHIP 2012: Lady Vols vs. LSU Alabama WIns the 2012 SEC Championship Football: Georgia vs Alabama SEC Championship Game Trailer: 2012 2012 SEC Championship: Welcome to The Dome SEC Championship 2012: Time for Revenge Mackenzie Caquatto - University of Florida - 2012 SEC Championships - Uneven Bars 2011 SEC Championship Game LSU vs. Georgia.wmv 2010 SEC Championship Scoring NCAA 13 Matchup of the Week Results -- Alabama vs. Georgia -- Week 14: SEC Championship Game NCAA Football 13 Road to Glory: SEC Championship Game #1 Alabama vs #2 Florida | Blown Coverage Championship Rewind: LSU Lady Tigers Reflect on 2012 SEC Championship 2012 SEC Championship Highlights - LSU v Georgia Postgame Interviews from the 2012 SEC Tournament championship game Marissa King - University of Florida - 2012 SEC Championships - Uneven Bars LSU Tigers 2012 - Coming Back To Life Feldman on SEC Championship NCAA 13 Arkansas Razorbacks Dynasty SEC Championship game vs #7 Florida Alabama Defeats Georgia to Advance to the 2012 SEC Tournament Championship Game 2010 SEC Championship Game Alabama Guaranteed at Least a Share of the 2012 SEC Championship With 9-1 Victory Over Florida. #4 Georgia vs. #22 Arkansas - 2002 SEC Championship 2004 SEC Championship Game - Auburn vs. Tennessee Georgia VS Alabama 2012 SEC Championship Game Prediction Cam Newton Highlights - SEC Championship 2010.mp4 Kytra Hunter - University of Florida - 2012 SEC Championships - Uneven Bars NCAA 12 Georgia vs Alabama SEC championship Prediction of 2012- 2013 Season Why Alabama will DEFEAT Georgia in the SEC Championship Game! Georgia fake punt in SEC championship game vs Alabama. HD SEC Championship Game 2012 BCS National Championship Celebration Day SEC Championship Game Sim - Georgia Vs Alabama (NCAA 13) 2010 SEC Championship - #1 Auburn vs #19 South Carolina 2012 National Championship Hype Video NCAA Football 13 Road to Glory: Late for Class has Benefits | SEC Championship Florida vs Alabama #1 Florida Gators vs #2 Alabama Crimson Tide 2009 SEC Championship Schrager: Draft Stock - Championship Games
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-01 01:28:52