OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Metro Manila
News

Dark clouds over Metro Manila means rain 'til Thursday
Dark clouds continue to loom over Manila shortly before noon Wednesday, a day after Malacañang suspended classes and work in Metro Manila due to floods caused by heavy rain. PAGASA expects the weather to start improving Thursday, after a storm ...

Metro Manila at a standstill
Nonstop monsoon rains left 80 per cent of Metro Manila flooded on Tuesday, forcing hundreds of thousands out of their homes and sparking recollections of the calamitous Tropical Storm "Ondoy" in 2009. Pagasa Administrator Nathaniel Servando said "the ...

More areas in Metro Manila, Luzon declare state of calamity
MANILA, Philippines - Two more cities and a municipality in Metro Manila declared a state of calamity as torrential rains continued, causing more flooding on Wednesday afternoon. The latest city to declare a state of calamity was Pasay City. Mayor Tony ...

Palicte vs. Rodriguez Bout Tops on 8/16 in Metro Manila
Vincent "Popeye" Palicte (14-3-1, 7 KOs) of Bago City, Negros Occidental, Philippines is all set for his upcoming fight on August 16 at the Mandaluyong City Sports Complex, Metro Manila, Philippines against fellow Filipino Frederix Rodriguez (8-2-1, 6 ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

wazukashishi RT @ANCALERTS: Pasig now under state of calamity http://t.co/9gyFVWW3

nmcr011 RT @PolytechUnivPh: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs.,... http://t.co/pnksPDXh

elaine_sy14 RT @PUPWebSite: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs., Aug. 9, 2012 (PUP PAO)

pakyeMARJOEJOW RT @PolytechUnivPh: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs.,... http://t.co/pnksPDXh

jpdiaz101 RT @PolytechUnivPh: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs.,... http://t.co/pnksPDXh

endlesslaugh RT @PolytechUnivPh: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs.,... http://t.co/pnksPDXh

jaypeemurzo Please #PrayforthePhilippines Metro Manila Still Flooded and nonstop Rainfall

kayestella RT @PolytechUnivPh: @pcdspo CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thursday, August 9, 2012 (PUP PAO)

PorkyGlendy RT @PolytechUnivPh: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs., Aug. 9, 2012 (PUP PAO)

JBedVillareal RT @PUPWebSite: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs., Aug. 9, 2012 (PUP PAO)

Vibizportal Banjir Genangi Metro Manila | http://t.co/uailEsdQ: http://t.co/XBPEPX0H

iamgerex RT @PUPWebSite: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs., Aug. 9, 2012 (PUP PAO)

melcahpascua RT @PUPWebSite: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs., Aug. 9, 2012 (PUP PAO)

goldilyngumban RT @PUPWebSite: ADVISORY (UPDATE): CLASSES in all levels and OFFICE WORK in PUP Metro Manila Campuses remain SUSPENDED on Thurs., Aug. 9, 2012 (PUP PAO)

TheRealFrancooo @joydouzhe I might now be able to go to work tomorrow. The roads from my 2 possible routes going to Metro Manila's still submerged. T_T

Discussions

Do you know a residential architect in Metro Manila? by fakebobjones Q: Looking for an architect in the Metro Manila area that works with single family residences. We are demolishing the house on the lot and will build a new house...

A: Message me your email address, I will ask my friend to email you directly. He is an Architect based in Metro Manila. :)

Where can I study bartending/wine mixing/flairing in Metro Manila, apart from TESDA? by mher Q: Other venues in Metro Manila for short-term trainings/workshops? Books/websites that you may recommend? Where to avail on-the-job training in Metro Manila? Thank you.

A: www.extremebartending.com is a good site.for basics www.totallyfreebartending.com.

Currently, what is the most widely seen car in the streets of Metro Manila & nearby areas? by [email protected] Q: And if a foreigner traveling to the Philippines would walk the parking lots within Metro Manila & its suburbs what brands & model cars would they most likely see? If you have enough money, what car would you buy & why? what brand & year / model is what I mean.

A: Every tme i go to MM i usually see los of Toyota Revo, Toyota Avanza, Toyota Innova, Toyota Vios, Toyota Altis, Mitsubishi Outlander, Mitsubishi Adventure, Mitsubishi Lancer, Nissan Sentra(lots of them, wick i can see in EDSA), Nissan X-trail, and Honda CRV(lots of them in Roxas Blvd..) and Honda Civic.. If i Have enough money, I would buy the new Toyota Camry and/or a Volvo XC 90, Nissan X-Trail, Honda City, Hinda Civic, Honda CRV, Toyota Rav 4

Are there a multitude of accents in Metro Manila alone? by Guilbauted Sookie Q: My friend is working on her thesis on the accents of Tagalog speakers in Metro Manila and she needs some help. Besides a standard Tagalog accent, are there any other accents that exists within Metropolitan Manila alone? For example, in Mandaluyong her team has noted a very loud boisterous accent, and in Makati they noted an accelerating accent. And there are also accents among those from Quezon City. They looked at both native and migrant speakers of Tagalog. Do accents exist for the different areas of Metro Manila esp. among native speakers for each area, or is it just coincidental? Thank you if you could answer.

A: Nice thesis topic but it might be difficult to prove any unique accent. Q.1 Are there a multitude of accents in Metro Manila alone? - Yes, since those from the province usually go to Manila to work for better income. Q.2 Besides a standard Tagalog accent, are there any other accents that exists within Metropolitan Manila alone? IF the question asks if there is a unique Manila accent, my answer would be yes and no - no because there is no place in the Metro that would be isolated enough to create a unique accent. Yes - if you look at Philippine TV soaps (most of which are produced in Manila) there is a basic accent that you can get. Q.3 Do accents exist for the different areas of Metro Manila esp. among native speakers for each area, or is it just coincidental? Im not sure if there is such a thing as a Manila Native that would make a unique accent in the city. So I would say it is coincidental.

Where can I get a good skateboard in metro manila? by Q: Where can I get a good complete set skateboard for less than 2,500 PHP within metro manila???????(It has to be an original one)

A: Aloha Boardsports in Mall of Asia and in Trinoma Five O skateshop in taguig global city

Where can I exactly find a flower shop where they sell blue roses in Metro Manila? by --- Q: Are there flower shops somewhere in Metro Manila where I could buy blue roses?

A: Found a few for you. http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=Metro+Manila+%22flower+shop%22+%22blue+roses%22&btnG=Search

where to find beijing olympics merchandise in metro manila? by dosankocooking Q: Hi, where can I find beijing olympic merchandise (such as mascots, keychains, shirts and bags) in metro manila? I've searched in divisoria and 168 but have found nothing. I hope I can buy these before august 8 which is the start of the olympics

A: Philippine Sports Commission, Adriatico St., Malate, Manila

Best place to go on a first date in Metro Manila Philippines? by g-money Q: Easy 10 points!!! What is the best place to go on a first date in Metro Manila Philippines? I'm guessing maybe Starbucks or something. But does anyone got anything better for a first or second date with a girl? I would like to know some really nice places in Metro Manila to take a girl. By the way, I'm a Filipino American without a car here. Also, I've been here for about 5 weeks only. So any good info would really be helpful.

A: You know what, we can give all types of varied advice but it will be useless. What will be great for others will suck for most. This is the best advice I can give you. Find out what sh'es interested in and do that. Be it dining in a good restaurant, biking, nature, etc. Make an effort to learn what her interests are and she'll appreciate that. You can hire a cab or a rental car if you have the budget for that. But then again, it's not what you do that counts, but the company P.S. It's best to do an activity. It's easier to break the ice and is less awkward

Where can I buy a 32gb microSDHC card within metro manila area? by Q: A local store where I can purchase a 32gb microSDHC card within metro manila area. Please include price,location and contact number if possible. Thanks in advance.

Where could I find a store that sells Polymer clays in the Philippines around Metro Manila? by Q: I'm not into online buying or meet ups and such. I want to find a walk-in store around Metro manila only. Preferably near Manila, Makati, Mandaluyong, Pasay, Pasig or Quezon City.

A: Try these: Shop Kids - The Beadlady Craft Cafe - Polymer Clay Shop, Manila ... 54 Cubao Expo, General Romulo Avenue, Cubao Quezon City 0917 383 3717 beadcafe.multiply.com FIL-STYRO-CRAFT, INC 10 LEONORA STREET, RAMAX SUBDIVISION,, MAPAYAPA VILLAGE, DILIMAN, QUEZON CITY 02 932 5377 First 2 that came up in a google search for 'craft shop' in Manila.

What is the minimum wage and cost of living allowance applied in metro manila.? by blue Q: What is the minimum wage and cost of living allowance applied in metro manila and does cola is subjects to premiums or overtime rate? tnx

A: EVEN if the regional tripartite wage and productivity boards could come up with new wage orders increasing the minimum wages of the various regions across the country, the more difficult task is ensuring compliance. The Trade Union Congress of the Philippines recently filed a petition for a wage increase of P80 daily in the National Capital Region. And the President just last Labor Day ordered the wage boards to work overtime studying the appropriate wage increases to help workers cope with the rising prices of oil and basic commodities. But there’s a lot more work to be done once those wage orders for increases have been handed down. Again there is the matter of ensuring compliance, a protracted and tedious process of labor inspections whose effectiveness in the end might be suspect. In 2005, for instance, the Department of Labor and Employment inspected 19,539 firms and found that only 81 percent were complying with wage laws. In similar surveys by the TUCP, we found that labor violations largely go unchecked and unresolved in the NCR and Southern Tagalog where millions of workers are employed. Other regions also registered high rates of labor standard violations, the highest of which is in the CARAGA region. This is nothing new of course. Open defiance by employers of the country’s labor regulations has been a long-standing issue, one which goes back many administrations. DOLE has to crack the whip on its regional directors to force them to go after violators and file the necessary charges. The labor secretary should order an evaluation of the performance of regional directors and labor justice officials to check whether they are performing their duties faithfully. Ideally, DOLE should also deputize tripartite inspection teams composed of its own officers, employer and labor representatives to conduct inspections. These teams could help the labor department enforce its rules. On its own, DOLE doesn’t have enough manpower to conduct inspections and ensure compliance. The help of deputized tripartite teams would be of immense help. Labor inspections are very effective. Usually, based on DOLE’s experience, two-thirds of companies found violating labor regulations, would, after inspection, make the appropriate remedies. They are forced to do so on-the-spot lest they suffer more penalties. Also, the President should call on employer groups like the Employers Confederation of the Philippines to police their own ranks and take up the issue of compliance with their individual members. Those having a hard time complying with new wage orders could legally seek exemptions, rather than do so illegally. For instance, the Philippine Exporters Confederation Inc or Philexport and ECOP have already said in the news that they will ask that indigenous exporters be exempted from another wage hike, because these exporters have already been heavily suffering from the global economic slowdown and the appreciating peso. It’s up to DOLE to grant exemptions. The cooperation of employer groups is of paramount importance to ensure compliance. The TUCP signs social accords and agreements every year with employer groups like ECOP, and yet labor violations go unabated. It is apparent that employer groups have been remiss in their duties. The leaders of these groups should be responsible enough to do something about their erring members because they put at a disadvantage responsible employers who are complying with the minimum wage and other labor regulations. Sila sila ang naglalamangan. Workers who toil at the very bottom rung of the wage ladder are eagerly awaiting the promised wage increases by the President. The expected pay hike would provide an important boost in the earnings of those who need it most. The question ahead for GMA’s economists is whether they will allow inflation to eat away at the expected modest gain. The TUCP, for instance, while hopeful that the P80 petition would be granted, is realistically expecting less than what is asked for, based on past experience. Hopefully, the pay increase that would be granted by the wage boards would not be trivial, that it would be an amount that would mean a real difference in the lives of ordinary workers. But after these pay increases are granted, would employers comply with them, and can the government ensure compliance? As I said, that is the tougher task ahead.

where is the nicest beach near to Metro Manila, what town & province which can be reached by car? Why? Thanks! by superman_loves_fun Q: my foreign friends planning to visit Manila, but they don't want to fly planes or ride boats to visit the nicest beach...where near Metro Manila, or at least no need for planes or ship travel...thank you for any suggestions!

A: You and your friends will surely have a wonderful time either in Laguna or Batangas. http://www.philtravelcenter.com/philippines/laguna-hotels-and-resorts.html http://www.batangasnow.com/ http://www.matabungkay.net/facilities.php Not to be outdone, the nearby province of Cavite also has a lot to offer. http://www.phvacation.com/cavite-philippines/

Anybody know a good frozen yogurt place in Metro Manila? by flipperr Q: Anybody know a good frozen yogurt place in Metro Manila? If not what is the best ice cream place?

A: my condo - just call me and I will eat some icecubes before I give you a jizzload

Where can i buy Mac games in the Metro Manila? by Joanalearner Q: i just wanna ask where can i buy games for mac in metro manila? what malls selling mac games? thanks!

A: If you're on an intel mac, you can just install parallels, vmware fusion or bootcamp and run windows games. There are not much games on a Mac most are just ported to the Mac. I never bought games for the Mac since I can run windows on my Mac and play games on it. If you have time you can check out this list of apple distributor in the philipines http://www.machoe.com/1538/authorized-apple-service-centers-in-the-philippines.html just use your browsers search function to find a reseller in a specific place. I suggest that you phone them first to make sure they have the game you like.

What is the best place for nightlife in Metro Manila? by flipperr Q: What is the best place for nightlife in Metro Manila? What do you think is the best "Overall" in terms of clubs, bars, restaurants, meeting guys or girls, dancing, ect.? A) Greenbelt (or anywhere in Makati) B) Mall Of Asia (across the street) C) Global City (or The Fort) D) BF Homes Paranaque (Aguirre Street) E) Westgate Center (Alabang) F) Other

A: Eastwood Libis in Quezon City.

Where can I find dog-friendly apartments in Metro Manila, Philippines? by Q: I've been looking at a lot of apartments in the Metro Manila area. And though I've seen some that match my space needs (around 30 sq meters) and my budget (which is around 6 to 8k); I haven't found any dog-friendly apartments. Landlords tend to get prissy when I mention that I'll be bringing my dog along. Where can I find dog-friendly apartments in Manila?

A: Dogs are live stock there. You will likely have to increase your budget to live somewhere that stealing your dog is not going to be an issue.

Do you know of any Korean hospitals/clinics in Metro Manila? Or any medical facilities catered to Koreans? by Flmaker Q: I need to find a Korean hospital or clinic within Metro Manila. My Korean friend is sick and he want to go to a doctor but he can't express himself well in English and therefore the doctors had a hard time figuring out his condition. If you know any medical institution with Korean doctors or Korean speaking doctors, please let me know. Thank you very much and will greatly appreciate any information!

A: Sorry to hear about your friend but it is hard to find a hospital with a staff fluent in Korean. How about if your friend looks for another Korean in the country who can speak in English so he'll be the one to translate. Try calling the hospital first to inquire if they understand Korean or it will be a futile effort to go there. A telephone directory can help. Sorry if there isn't much l can do.

A good place for photographers to practice in Metro Manila? by Amy Q: I'm a new photographer and I want to practice my skills in shooting. I don't like to shoot photos of people, I like magnificent landscapes and flowers but I'm also open to shooting exotic animals but its not my first choice though... I live in QC near SM north edsa. I've been to QC circle...do you know where else I could shoot thats in Metro Manila?

A: UP Diliman has some nice landscapes you can shoot. Another place you would want to check out is Intramuros. A busy day in EDSA from atop the MRT stations is also good. Makati and Bonifiacio Global City are good places for cityscape photography.

Where can I get information about all the builders depot in metro manila? by quesks Q: I want to get as much information as I can get about all the builders depot located in Metro Manila

A: try there in Fort Bonifacio!! more Depots there!!!

Anybody know a beach that is not that far from Metro Manila? by g-money Q: Anybody know a beach that is not that far from Metro Manila? I don't want to drive 5 hours to go somewhere. Do you know any place that is closer than a few hours drive?

A: With the subic clark tarlac expressway open SCTex it is 2 hours to subic beaches and around 3 to the great beaches of Zambales coast

Where in Metro Manila can we rent Ghostbusters costumes? by JV Q: We need to find and rent three of those Ghostbusters proton packs for our pictorial next, next weekend (Aug. 22). Anyone knows where we can find one here in Metro Manila? Thanks! We need to find and rent three of those Ghostbusters PROTON PACKS for our pictorial next, next weekend (Aug. 22). Anyone knows where we can find one here in Metro Manila? Thanks! We only need the proton packs. The rest of the costume is pretty much easy to find.

A: > try to search on google as ghostbusters xccharacters are not that "in" today ... or better yet check on tailoring shop ...

What store/shop is the best in printing on Dri-Fit shirts here in Metro Manila Quezon City Philippines? by baȷoman Q: What store/shop is the best in printing on Dri-Fit shirts here in Metro Manila Quezon City Philippines?

A: Some of the computer shop in the philippines are also servicing t-shirt printing.

Do you know a costume shop around Metro Manila? by crazy_pipol Q: Do you know a costume shop in Metro Manila preferably in the south area? or any where near Las piñas? A shop where you can rent, buy or shop for creative clothes, costumes ideal for eccentric parties? Please answer with as much detail as possible.... thanks!

A: Go to Kultura if you want to purchase costumes. But if you want to rent, I happened to see an antique shop on my way home last Wednesday. It is located along 4th Street, near Mt. Carmel Church, New Manila, Quezon City. Try to go there and see for yourself. GOD BLESS YOUR TRIP.

Can you tell me detailed directions from Metro Manila to Indang, Cavite by public vehicles? by eyecandy Q: Please help me with step-by-step directions on travelling by bus from Metro Manila to Indang, Cavite. My friends and I want to visit Balay Indang but we don't know how to get there. Website blogs only give us directions by "driving" to the location. Please please help. And we also need to know how to get back to Metro Manila from Indang, Cavite.

A: Take a bus from Baclaran. There are buses directly to Indang. In front of Baclaran church. It will pass by Coastal Rd. The following will be your landmarks. Coastal Mall(Uniwide) at the entrance of Coastal Rd. SM (Bacoor), Robinson's (Imus), SM (Dasmarinas), Walter Mart (General Trias). You will reach Trece Martirez City. The bus will turn left to Indang. You will pass by Metrogate Indang. Jollibee Indang(town proper). Take a tricycle in front of Jollibee to Balay. You can also take a bus to Tagaytay/Alfonso but the trip may be a little longer.

Where to buy screws for glasses in Metro Manila? by qcfx2a Q: I'm looking for screws for glasses here in Metro Manila. More specifically, the screws for those clear plastic things that support your glasses on you nose. I asked optical shops in malls but they charge P10 each. Anyone know a cheaper place? Edit: Just looking for the standard screws that generic glasses use.

A: Quiapo. Look for any eyeglass shops.

Is there any place in or near Metro Manila where I can make and shape my own earthen pottery? by JV Q: I'm looking for the ones where you can participate in molding your own mud pots. If not in any place in or near Metro Manila, at least somewhere in the Luzon area (accessible by car from Metro Manila).

A: that is a very interesting question. I know that there are potters around Laguna and Bulacan areas. They are not very far from manila. I am just not sure exactly where to point you at. why not make a road trip where you will find earthen post for sale in the high way and ask about you purpose. those traders are friendly and willing to help out those who have interest in their wares. I know that you have to use clay and bake it. they have those facilities for your project.

Where in metro manila I can study tricking and Krav Maga? by Workin the Mullet Q: Those were the most badass and amazing looking martials arts I had ever seen. Is there a Tricking school in Metro Manila? How about Krav Maga?

A: I'm not sure, but most probably you can see some in yellow pages, "recreation" section

where can i by good conditions used cars/automobiles for sale in Metro Manila Philippines? by mojako Q: where can i by good conditions used cars/automobiles for sale in Metro Manila Philippines?

A: I bought a car. It is indeed in a good condition plus i bought it cheap. I search it in http://manila-cars.infinites.net

How many years will the CALABARZON region reach the economic status of Metro Manila? by Dominic Q: How many years will the Region IV-A provinces and cities reach the economic status of Metro Manila as one of the richest regions in the Philippines?

A: Not that far Dom, i would say in about 10 to 20 years from now.. CALABARZON is the fastest growing region after NCR no doubt about it.

Where in Metro Manila can I buy cornmeal? by qcfx2a Q: I know there are a lot of restaurants here in Metro Manila that use cornmeal in their dishes, but I could'nt find cornmeal in most supermarkets and I need it for some of the stuff I'll be baking. Specific brand name and store would also be appreciated, thanks!

A: at veterinary supply stores. this is not a joke and you would be surprised that we use cornmeal as animal feed.

Where can I buy fabric dyes in Metro Manila? by alcopop_freak Q: I love wearing black shirts and pants, a lot of them now are faded. I don't wanna dispose them. I hope that I can buy a black fabric dye solution so that my faded black clothes would still look like new. Anyone knows where I can find fabric dyes sold in Metro Manila....... especially in Divisoria area?

A: Ebay has lots of them listed. Some are new and some are used. Not sure which you want, but you'll find them at the ebay store below.

In Metro Manila how much is a magic sing mic? by [email protected] Q: To videoke singers in Metro Manila: How much is a Magic Sing Mic? How much is the submic? How much is a song chip? What is the most popular chip? And where in Metro Manila can you buy all of them?

A: Last January in Manila the Wow Philippines brand Magic Microphones were actually had a promo in Manila where if you purchased the microphone, and one chip, the duet mic was free. My wife purchased a Magic mic with duet Microphone and chip for 11,400 Pesos My wife and I just returned to the states about a week ago. A day before returning we went to several different stores in Greenbel mall in Makati, Mall of Asian and Robinson Place Mall in Ermita to find the very best deals for Kareokee Microphones. We found the best deal in Greenbelt for at a corner electronics store called Listen. Prices as follows: Microphone alone is 11,400. Now if you purchase the Microphone with duet Micrphone with extra chip the cost is 15,400 Pesos and the chip is free. This was current as of April 8th. Since than the prices may have changed. Sold seperately the Mic Microphone is 11,400 Duet microphone cost 4,100 Pesos and Cip 3,400 Pesos

Where can you buy snails in Metro Manila area? by grnd_brkr17 Q: I need snails for biological experiments for our research class. Where can we get them in the Metro Manila area?

A: Cartimar. Pasay City

What's the best cake in Metro Manila you have ever tasted? by Rose Q: This is for a birthday. I don't want the usual Red Ribbon or Goldilocks. A few years back, I tasted a good strawberry shortcake from Mandarin Oriental; however I doubt they are still selling that. Any suggestions? Kindly limit your answers to Metro Manila, preferably Makati area. Thanks.

A: You should try Conti's Mango Bravo, it's to die for. They are located in Greenbelt 2 in Makati or Serendra at the Fort.

What spa/s in metro manila offer affordable packages for body massage? by extraordinaireprincess Q: i want to thank my parents by giving them a spa package for christmas. i am just a student so i hope your answers would be affordable for me. thanks. ps. Metro Manila Spas only please. Ü

A: I love it in The Spa, at the Podium. p.s. That's really sweet! Kinda gave me an idea of what to give my grannies.

What a plan for the street view around Metro Manila Philippines and other provinces nearby? by Q: I want to see the place around Metro Manila street using Google Street View. You will exciting to see the street views. Good Luck!

A: There's still NONE as of now in Google Maps, but I hope there'll be Street Views for Manila in the near future.

What establishments are open during holy week in Metro Manila? by Q: I just went to SM North EDSA and Trinoma and they were both closed today, April 1, 2010. Does anyone know if malls will be open for business during holy week? Or if anyone knows places to go to in Metro Manila during holy week?

A: Yes, Bob, the malls are closed today and will remain closed tomorrow (Good Friday) too. It's shopping/gallivanting time again on Saturday and Sunday. Most eateries are open for business. Manila Ocean Park is open too. http://www.backpackingphilippines.com/2009/04/manila-ocean-park-schedule-holy-week.html

Where in Metro Manila can I find almaciga sap? How do I extract it? by piroxchan Q: This is for my Investigatory Project in Biology. It is a year-long project, but I need the materials as early as now. If you can give me information on where in Metro Manila I can find the tree, that would also be helpful. I will also need to know how I can extract the sap. Thank you very much. :D

A: Before trying to extract the sap, find out if the tree is a protected specie listed by the DENR. I don't know where in MM you will find them but some hardware stores sell almaciga resin since it is often used to varnish.

What are interesting places to visit in Metro Manila? by Q: We are required to go to write about an interesting place in Metro Manila (NCR). We're teenagers so we need some place interesting. Any alternatives for The Mind Museum or The Metropolitan Museum? Photography should be allowed. Thanks!

What shopping mall in Metro Manila sells Sony PSP slim and lite for a cheap price? by jeo Q: I wanna know where in the Metro Manila can i find a shopping mall that sells PSPs for a cheap price with 4gb memory card, games and accessories inluded. What is the specific mall, what store and how much is it?

A: i think somewhee in mall of asia,.

How do we know which city is more flooded and which city is not in metro manila? by Q: Is there any city that is in higher grounds or no matter where you live in metro manila, when there is a typhoon, you will get flooded? Is there like a website of cities located in metro manila that gets flooded less? And how many typhoons does the philippines (mostly metro manila) gets per year?

A: I hear that the country gets an average of 20 typhoons a year, most of them either hitting Manila or affecting the metropolis in some degree. Most typhoons affect a radius of 300 kms, and therefore even those that landfall in Bicol or in Isabela affect Manila which is about 300 or so kms from these usual entry points. I once checked which areas are flood prone, and these would be the CaMaNaVa (Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas, and Valenzuela) area primarily. Also Marikina, especially those along the river banks. A high end village called Provident gets underwater and sometimes the water level goes all the way to the second floor of these big homes. In fact, these areas get flooded even when there are no rains. The area sits below sea level and when it is high tide, the streets get flooded. The flood control projects are focused in this area, but like all government projects, they take forever to finish, if they get finished at all. The highest altitude is in the Alabang area, that part where Ayala Alabang and other posh villages are located. The area includes the Alabang Town Center and the Festival Mall. The lower end (literally and figuratively) of Alabang, the poor area near the lake and near the city center, gets flooded.

How do I find a PERSON in a phone directory of Metro Manila Pasig Greenpark Village in the Philippines? by o_o Q: How do I find a PERSON in phone directory of Metro Manila Pasig Greenpark Village in the Philippines???? I appreciate your prompt answer. I am trying to locate someone!!! Please help! I am not looking for business' I am looking for a person who resides in Metro Manila in Greenpark Village thank you!

A: His/her name itself would be in the phone directory if that is a residential subdivision.

Where's the best place just outside of metro manila to spend a day with my gf this december? by paulalaloooh Q: Me and my girlfriend are planning on spending the day outside metro manila, the problem is i can't think of anywhere we can spend the day doing things but in a budget.

A: Tagaytay is the closest out of town are for a day trip. You can go hike Taal Volcano or go horseback riding. Have lunch in Sonya's Garden if you love the ambiance of garden settings. check their site: www.sonyasgarden.com If you like water, you could go to one of the resorts in Batangas or go to Lake Caliraya for hobbie-cat sailing or kayaking. Otherwise, you could go hiking Mt. Pinatubo in Tarlac. You can try to check arranged tours for convenience. http://www.e-philippines.com.ph/pinatubo-crater-expedition-tour-p-178.html or read about how to arrange it yourselves for a group of 4 http://primnproperonline.blogspot.com/search/label/Trekking Baguio is so crowded in December. Despite the mountain air, I hate the smog from all the vehicles there. It has lost its appeal to me as a budget traveller. I would recommend Banaue or Sagada north of Baguio if you had a minimum of 2 nights excluding the night of travel. It takes more than 12 hours to go to Sagada but the tranquility of the place is well worth it. Accomodations are less expensive than Baguio but do not expect any entertainment or nightlife except if you get invited by a local. My not so active cousin ended up taking 3 nights in Sagada.

Are there any shops in Metro Manila offering wood mounting services for photos? by kai_kitch Q: instead of the usual frame, I want to get our family picture mounted on wood like how they used to do it before. however, most of the shops in metro manila are not offering the service anymore. would you know of stores (preferably near makati) that still offer the service? thanks!

A: Im not exactly sure if they do wood mounting but i saw this open gallery in manila right in the corner of Pedro gil and mabini right next to the hotel in front of the casino where they feature art works that are wood mounted.you could try that or you could go directly to your local photo shop i heard "Kameraworld" offers services similar to this.

can you help me find chicken inasal cook in Metro Manila to hire as cook or consultant? by superman_loves_fun Q: planning to open chicken inasal restaurant, need to hire a cook or a consultant for cooking the foods...can you refer cook in Metro Manila or how I could find one? what contact telephones or cellphone numbers? thank you!

A: The best way is to go to Iloilo City yourself. Then eat around. Go to the public market, the eatery section. Eat at the small places and the BBQ joints at night. And hire somebody right there. You might end up hiring more than one, because it will be cheaper. Figure out giving your new staff room and board, and offer Manila minimum wage. .

Where in Metro Manila can I sell my old clothes? by shopaholic Q: Hello to all the Pinoys out there. I live in Metro Manila and I recently cleaned out my closet. I have a lot of clothes that don't fit me anymore and I want to make a bit of money out of them. Do you know of a nearby place where I can sell them? (ukay-ukay stores or similar) The clothes are in excellent shape; no holes, stains, rips, foul smells, etc. (I take very good care of my clothes. =) Thanks to everyone who will help me out. P.S. I don't think a garage sale would work because I live in a very small village with very few neighbors, so probably no one will stop by and buy anything.

A: I shop at ukay ukay a lot and i found a lot of 80's inspired pieces there even before the 80's made a comeback. I always have garage sales here at home and theres this lady who buys stuff and sells it to ukay ukay somewhere in guadalupe. I am not so sure where exactly in guadalupe but she sells them per kilo. maybe try having a garage sale first because you will not get your moneys worth if you sell it per kilo or per pound. I f you have designer items or expensive stuff, you can't barter with the people from ukay. If you sell it yourself at your own garage sale then you can price them as you wish.

Where in Metro Manila can you find an organization that financially supports NFP activity? by Al Rey Q: Natural Family Planning activity needs workers to go to remote areas,teach the method and monitor women cycle The workers need money payment to do this. The church has no money to finance it nor. I as a church worker has money to finance the same.I need to know a Non Government Organization that can help me fund it. The activity is within the Diocese of Parañaque, Metro Manila.Please provide name and email address and telephone numbers that can help me contact them.

A: Good question. Maybe Family of the Americas, they do international outreach re: NFP http://www.familyplanning.net/ Good luck!

What are the best elementary schools in Metro Manila? by Malavika Q: We are planning to move to Metro Manila from India where kids are getting Central Board education. Work will be in Makati city. I need to find a place close to the work place as well school.

A: if you can afford there is the International School Manila, the British School Manila and the European International School

What is the best restaurant in Metro Manila? by flipperr Q: Just curious. In your opinion, what is the best restaurant in Metro Manila? I guess this question could go for fine dining. It doesn't necessarily have to only be Filipino food it could be a cuisine of a different country/culture. I know there are a lot of fancy restaurants in Greenbelt, Global City, & Alabang. Not really looking for any particular style of cuisine, just good food, nice environment. So I'd like to get your opinion on the best restaurant in Metro Manila.

A: this is quite a difficult question to answer because food preferences would still fall on you as there are no official body that judges what is the best restaurant in Metro Manila. But here are various suggestions depending on what you feel eating. If you want to eat Filipino Food try Jerry's grill. Go for a google search because they have a lot of branches all over Manila. Do not forget to order Adobo flakes. One good restaurant is actually 2 restaurants - Mannang/Man Han. They always serve side by side. Manang serves Filipino food, Man Han serves Chinese food. It's like a duplex of a restaurant. They can be found in Megamall but I think they have more branches now because they don't fail serving good food. Don't forget to order a huge pail of ice tea. If you feel like Chinese food of course, it would be Ma Mon Luk. They give a decent meal but not extraordinary. The reason why I referred this to you is that Ma Mon Luk is one of the pioneers of Chinese Food in the Philippines and he is the creator of the famous soup - Mami and was the first to serve Siopao and Dumplings in a restaurant setting in the Philippines. Now for Italian, there are a lot of good Italian restaurants in the Philippines but my favorite is Amici di Don Bosco. It is an Italian Pizzeria and Restaurant run by priests. There are still Italian priests cooking there and that's the closest you can get to an authentic Italian meal and is sufficed by fantastic pizzas. Aside from the that, a part of what you pay go to Don Bosco mission and charities. If you feel like Japanese food, you have to find Makati Cinema Square and behind that old mall are droves and droves of Japanese Restaurants that serve a good Japanese meal. Just pick your choice. They have some sort of organization that looks after the quality that they serve. Japayukis are a bonus. :) Now before I ask plugging fees for the restaurants mentioned, I'll stop. Explore man. That is the key. Eat a lot anywhere and everywhere. Or better yet, cook your own food. Ladies will swoon I tell you. To learn more about Filipino Food, go here: www.myfilipinokitchen.com Make sure you say hi to me there :)

How long does it take to send a regular mail from metro manila to metro manila? by ratmforever Q: How long does it take to send a regular mail from metro manila to metro manila? Also, what's the difference between these types of mail and how long does each take?: - Ordinary mail - 1st class - 2nd class - 3rd class - Registered Mail - Domestic Express Mail Service - Priority Mail

A: depends on the mood of the postal workers handling your letter . It can take from 2-3 days up to a month . It may never get there if not registered or insured

Images
Videos
Shaw Blvd in Mand. City, Metro Manila Part 1/2 Red alert level up in Metro Manila DSWD: Volunteers Welcome Metro Manila Skyline 2012 Metro Manila, Philippines Skyline Metro Manila 2011 - The Philippines HD METRO MANILA Metro Manila, The Philippines Metro Manila's MRT and LRT Line 1 and 2 The Metro Manila Skyline Part 4 Metro Manila 2012 - The Philippines HD Exploring Pasay City in Metro Manila, Philippines DRIVING METRO MANILA The Metro Manila Skyline Part 3.2 The Future Projects philippine airline take-off at naia, overlooking metro manila skyline.. News To Go - Metro Manila flooded due to Typhoon 'Bebeng' 050911 Fil-Am Roadgeek Part II: Metro Manila Skyway & South Luzon Expressway Latest development in the Philippines 2012....Metro Manila & Metro Cebu SONA: Metro Manila, pangatlo sa 'World's 10 Worst Cities for driving', ng CCN Go Driving in Metro Manila, Philippines DESPERADAS 2 Metro Manila Film Festival 2008 Metro Manila internet cafe hold up Bonifacio Global City (BGC) 2012 - Metro Manila, Philippines Bonifacio High Street-Serendra-Market Market Mall. Metro Manila, Philippines MANO PO 6: MY MOTHER Metro Manila Film Festival 2009 Typhoon Ondoy Hits Metro Manila | Video Clips VCF Metro Manila Convergence 2007 Philippines - Metro Manila night scenes Like Toy Cars - Ondoy Storm in Metro Manila, Philippines Pacquiao vs Hatton Metro Manila celebrates Pacquiao win Metro Manila 2011 - Booming Skyline [Construction Updates] HD metro manila sky view /manila⇒davao One of the World's Best Skylines - METRO MANILA (New Video MUST SEE!!!) Sports Cars Burgos Circle - Bonifacio Global City - Metro Manila Metro Manila's Exciting Projects Radio Stations in Metro Manila Metro Manila Skyline 2010 - The Philippines Metro Manila Skyway, Makati bound (1080P) Royal Palm Residences Condos in Taguig City, Metro Manila by DMCI Homes Metro Manila Assembly Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses Part 1/2 Malls of Metro Manila Old Pictures of Metro Manila PNoy Approval, Vizconde Massacre & Metro Manila Film Fest NDRRMC: 202 personnel, 14 vehicles and 14 seacrafts deployed to various areas in Metro Manila Driving in Metro Manila (2), Philippines P. Burgos St in Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines (Flamingo Night Club, Bourbon St, Oxford Suites) Google Earth Tour of Metro Manila The Metro Manila Skyline Part 3 1 Jewels In Manila's Crown Fireworks Display in Metro Manila, Philippines SONA: PAGASA: Metro Manila, makakaranas ng pag-ulan sa weekend
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-03 15:06:24