OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Meryl Davis and Charlie White
News

Meryl Davis and Charlie White win first-ever US gold in Olympic ice dancing
SOCHI, Russia -- Meryl Davis and Charlie White won the ice dance gold medal Monday, the first Olympic title in the event for the United States. Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir of Canada, the 2010 champions, took silver. Russia's Elena Ilinykh and Nikita ...

Michigan students Meryl Davis and Charlie White win Olympic ice dancing gold ...
SOCHI, Russia (AP) - Meryl Davis and Charlie White won the gold medal in ice dance Monday, the first Olympic title in the event for the United States. Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir of Canada, the 2010 champions, took silver. Russia's Elena Ilinykh and ...

Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win First Ice Dance Gold for US
Meryl Davis and Charlie White, skating a technically challenging program as the Sultan and Scheherazade, tallied up the highest scores of the free dance event to win gold. Adding more erotic passion to their story-telling, the pair evidently captivated ...

Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold Medal in Olympic Ice Dancing
Meryl Davis and Charlie White entered the 2014 Winter Olympics ice dance competitions as favorites, and they lived up to that promise yet again on Monday by securing the gold medal at Iceberg Skating Palace. After placing first with a world-record 78 ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

Discussions

Who will win the 2012 World Figure Skating Championships ? by Sk8ingNerd Q: For ladies: I hope Carolina Kostner can get some harder elements and finally win. Akiko Suzuki seems to be moving up in the ranks again and could get a medal, you can never count out Alissa Czisny because despite her not so good jumps she does have the best spins in the world. I think Mao's time is over and i dont think she will be number 1 again. I dont know about the other American girls because they still have to make it through nationals. Because Sotnikova and Tuktamasheyva are too young for worlds i think if Alena leonova got her act together that she could also contend for a medal. Men: I hope Patrick Chan can pull out another great performance and win again. Takahiko Kozuka could pull out the quads and win. I dont think Daisuke Takahashi has the technical difficulty to win again. Artur Gachinsky could pull out his quads and win but i think he is still a bit inconsistant. Nobunari Oda could also easily contend for a medal. Never count out Jeremy Abbott but i think a gold medal is a bit of a long shot for him. Pairs: Obviously there are the Germans, Aliona Savchenko and Robin Szolkowy who may be able to have back-to-back gold medals. Tatiana Volosozhar and Maxim Trankov are a big threat for the gold medal and with their new long program too Black Swan they could pull off a spectacular win. Yuko Kavaguti and Alexander Smirnov could also easily win the gold. And then you can never count out the Chinese pairs with Zhang & Zhang and Sui & Han. But i think Sui & Han are a bit inconsistant. And Kirsten Moore-Towers and Dylan Moscovitch seem to be skating well so far in the season Dance: I think that Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir will get ahead of Meryl Davis and Charlie White this year. I think the French and Russian teams are also very strong and could contend for the Gold. I think the Shibutani's might not fall below the podium this season just because the other teams are so strong.

A: I'm really rooting for Alissa Czisny. She's upped her techinical elements while the other ladies seem to be scaling back. We've haven't seen Mao Asada skate this season yet but supposedly she's concentrating less on her 3-axel. Don't know if that's going to be a good thing or not. The judges seem to be liking Carolina Kostner this season although she's taken out her harder elements. Mirai Nagasu could also make the podium. For men, Patrick Chan is still the one to beat. Yeah he does get overscored especially when he makes mistakes, but he's still an amazing skater when he's on. Artur Gachinsky could make the podium again as well as Nobunari Oda or Daisuke Takahashi. Hoping Daisuke will land his quad flip this season, although not having a quad in his SP really puts him at a disadvantage.

Can someone give me a list of PG or G movies that are coming out through August? by M&M Guy Q: Please give me a list of those movies and their release dates and a short description of what theyre about.

A: 7 W G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra Paramount Dir., Stephen Sommers; Scr., Stuart Beattie; Cast, Channing Tatum, Christopher Eccleston, Sienna Miller, Dennis Quaid, Rachel Nichols, Ray Park, Marlon Wayans, Arnold Vosloo, Joseph Gordon-Levitt [20] Julie & Julia Columbia Pictures Dir. Nora Ephron; Amy Adams, Meryl Streep, Stanley Tucci [21] L Cold Souls Journeyman Pictures Dir. & Scr., Sophie Barthes Casr Paul Giamatti, Emily Watson, Dina Korzun, David Strathairn, Katheryn Winnick, Lauren Ambrose, Boris Kievsky [22] Paper Heart Overture Films Charlyne Yi, Michael Cera [23] 14 W Bandslam Walden Media Dir. Tod Graff; Scrn. Dan Berendsen; Cast, Gaelan Connell, Alyson Michalka, Vanessa Hudgens, Scott Porter, Lisa Kudrow [24] District 9 Screen Gems Dir. Neill Blomkamp; Cast: Sharlto Copley, Jason Cope, David James, Mandla Gaduka, William Allen Young [25] The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard Paramount Vantage Jeremy Piven, Ving Rhames, James Brolin, David Koechner, Kathryn Hahn, Ed Helms, Jordana Spiro, Craig Robinson [26] A Perfect Getaway Universal Timothy Olyphant, Milla Jovovich, Marley Shelton, Steve Zahn, Kiele Sanchez, Chris Hemsworth [27] Ponyo Walt Disney Pictures/Studio Ghibli Dir., Hayao Miyazaki; Cast, Noah Cyrus, Frankie Jonas, Tina Fey, Matt Damon, Liam Neeson, Cate Blanchett, Lily Tomlin, Cloris Leachman, Betty White, Madison Davenport [28] The Time Traveler's Wife New Line Cinema (Warner Bros.) Eric Bana, Rachel McAdams, Ron Livingston, Jane McLean [29] L It Might Get Loud Sony Pictures Classics Dir. Davis Guggenheim; Cast: Jack White, Jimmy Page, The Edge [30] Spread Anchor Bay Entertainment Dir. David Mackenzie; Cast: Ashton Kutcher, Anne Heche [31] 21 W Inglourious Basterds Universal Pictures/ The Weinstein Company Dir., Quentin Tarantino; Cast, Brad Pitt, Diane Kruger, Eli Roth, Mélanie Laurent, Til Schweiger, B.J. Novak [32] Post Grad Fox Searchlight Alexis Bledel, Zach Gilford, Rodrigo Santoro, Jane Lynch, Carol Burnett, Michael Keaton [33] Shorts Warner Bros. Dir. Robert Rodriguez; Cast: Jon Cryer, William H. Macy, James Spader, Jimmy Bennett, Kat Dennings [34] L My One and Only Freestyle Releasing Dir., Richard Loncraine, Scr. Charlie Peters; Cast, Renee Zellweger, Kevin Bacon, Chris Noth [35] World's Greatest Dad Magnolia Pictures Dir. Bob Goldthwait; Cast: Robin Williams, Daryl Sabara [36] 28 W The Final Destination New Line Cinema (Warner Bros.) Dir., David R. Ellis; Scr., Eric Bress; Cast, Bobby Campo, Nick Zano, Krista Allen [37] Halloween II Dimension Films Dir., Rob Zombie; Cast, Tyler Mane, Malcolm McDowell, Scout Taylor-Compton, Danielle Harris [38] Taking Woodstock Focus Features Dir. Ang Lee; Cast: Demetri Martin, Jonathan Groff, Paul Dano, Eugene Levy, Emile Hirsch, Liev Schreiber, Jeffrey Dean Morgan

name a 100 movies or actors that you like? by xoxo Q: name 100 movies you like or actors we will see who could win. if you can't name 100 movies and actors least name 80 or 50 actors or movies it will be a challenge.

A: -TOP MOVIES- 1 The Godfather 1972,1974 (Part- II) 2 The Shawshank Redemption 1994 3 Casablanca 1942 4 The Lord of the Rings (Trilogy) 2001, 2002, 2003 5 Die Hard Series 1988, 1990, 1995, 2007 6 Troy 2004 7 Pirates of the Caribbean (Series) 2003, 2006, 2007, 2011( 8 Crash 2004 9 Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind 2004 10 Terminator (Series) 1984, 1991, 2003, 2009 11 There Will Be Blood 2007 12 The Sixth Sense 1999 13 Titanic 1997 14 Pulp Fiction 1994 15 Forrest Gump 1994 16 Mission Impossible 1966 17 Star Wars (Series 1997,1980,1983,199, 2002 18 The Dark Knight 2008 19 Schindler's List 1993 20 The Silence of the Lambs 1991 21 The Notebook 2004 22 The Matrix (series) 1999, 2003 23 Back to the Future 1985 24 Jaws 1975 25 Rocky 1976 26 Pride and Prejudice 2005 27 Back 1995 28 Avatar 2009 29 Vertigo 1958 30 Slumdog Millionaire 2008 31 Scent of a Woman 1992 32 Se7en 1995 33 The Princess Bride 1987 34 Amalie 2001 35 Twilight (Series) 2008 36 Rain Man 1988 37 The Ten Commandments 1956 39 Castaway 2000 39 Breakfast at Tiffany's 1961 40 Pursuit of Happyness 2006 41 If Only 2004 42 Apocalypse Now 1979 43 High Noon 1952 44 Jurassic Park 1993 45 Harry Potter Series 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010 & 2011(to be released) 46 Midnight Cowboy 1969 47 King Kong 2005 48 The Birth of a Nation 1915 49 A Streetcar Named Desire 1951 50 Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs 1937 51 E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial 1982 52 Dr. Strangelove 1964 53 Sound of Music 1965 54 12 Angry Men 1957 55 Toy Story 1995 56 Narnia 2005 57 Tootsie 1982 58 To Kill a Mockingbird 1962 59 Pretty Woman 1990 60 The Manchurian Candidate 1962, 2004 61 The Philadelphia Story 1940 62 The Third Man 1949 63 Blood Diamond 2006 64 Fantasia 1940 65 Rebel Without a Cause 1955 66 A Walk to Remember 2002 67 Ben-Hur 1959 68 The Gold Rush 1925 69 The Simpsons Movie 2007 70 2001: A Space Odyssey 2001 71 Before Sunrise 1995 72 Spartacus 1960 73 My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2003 74 The Exorcist 1973 75 Saving Private Ryan 1998 76 Enchanted 2007 77 It's A Wonderful Life 1946 78 Gladiator 2000 79 Spider-Man 2002 80 Apocalypto 2006 81 Batman 1989 82 Scarface 1983 83 A Beautiful Mind 2001 84 Raiders of the Lost Ark 1981 85 The Grapes of Wrath 1940 86 The Kite Runner 2007 87 Cinderella 1950 88 X-Men 2000 89 Sleepless in Seattle 1993 90 Labyrinth 1986 91 Shrek 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 92 The Pianist 2002 93 Lagaan: Once Upon a Time in India 2001 94 An Inconvenient Truth 2006 95 Before Sunset 2004 96 The Passion of the Christ 2004 97 Memento 2000 98 Little Rascals 1994 99 The Incredibles 2004 100 Inception -BEST ACTORS- 1. Robert De Niro 2. Tom Hanks 3. Marlon Brando 4. Al Pacino 5. Jack Nicholson 6. Johnny Depp 7. Meryl Streep 8. Denzel Washington 9. Dustin Hoffman 10. Leonardo DiCaprio 11. Morgan Freeman 12. James Stewart 13. Daniel Day Lewis 14. Anthony Hopkins 15. Russell Crowe 16. Sean Penn 17. Katharine Hepburn 18. Paul Newman 19. Humphrey Bogart 20. Edward Norton 21. Clint Eastwood 22. Will Smith 23. Kate Winslet 24. Cary Grant 25. Tom Cruise 26. Heath Ledger 27. Kevin Spacey 28. Christian Bale 29. Laurence Olivier 30. Audrey Hepburn 31. Phillip Seymour Hoffman 32. Mel Gibson 33. Gregory Peck 34. Brad Pitt 35. Harrison Ford 36. Clark Gable 37. Matt Damon 38. George Clooney 39. John Wayne 40. Bruce Willis 41. Julia Roberts 42. Henry Fonda 43. Cate Blanchett 44. Robert Duvall 45. Jodie Foster 46. Bette Davis 47. Spencer Tracy 48. Jim Carrey 49. Sean Connery 50. Robert Downey Jr. 51. Gary Cooper 52. Angelina Jolie 53. Charlie Chaplin 54. Gene Hackman 55. Alec Guinness 56. Ingrid Bergman 57. Samuel L Jackson 58. Robin Williams 59. James Dean 60. Nicole Kidman 61. Jack Lemmon 62. Charlton Heston 63. Nicolas Cage 64. Elizabeth Taylor 65. Gary Oldman 66. Ian McKellen 67. James Cagney 68. Julie Andrews 69. Judi Dench 70. Grace Kelly 71. Christopher Walken 72. Diane Keaton 73. Steve McQueen 74. Charlize Theron 75. Burt Lancaster 76. Sidney Poitier 77. Emma Thompson 78. Robert Redford 79. John Travolta 80. Shia LaBeouf 81. Fredric March 82. Reese Witherspoon 83. Orson Welles 84. Michael Caine 85. Billy Bob Thornton 86. Marilyn Monroe 87. Jamie Foxx 88. Sandra Bullock 89. Hugh Jackman 90. Vivien Leigh 91. George C. Scott 92. Liam Neeson 93. Viggo Mortensen 94. Tim Robbins 95. Jeremy Irons 96. Jon Voight 97. Toshiro Mifune 98. Joan Crawford 99. Geoffrey Rush 100. Sylvester Stallone

2013 Figure Skating National Predictions!!? by Lauren Q: Just wanted to know who you think will place top three for ladies, men, pairs, and ice dance for the U.S. Figure Skating Nationals in Omaha this year. You don't have to do pairs or dance... not hating but I don't really pay attention to them.. sorry! Oh and for the senior levels.. thank! :D Here are my predictions... Ladies: (so much talent!) O.o 1. Gracie Gold (if she is consistent) 2. Ashley Wagner...? 3. Angela Wang Men: 1. Jeremy Abbott 2. Josh Farris 3. Max Aaron... maybe... Ice dance: 1. Meryl and Charlie... obviously 2. Maia and Alex... obviously 3. someone else from Detroit.. haha Pairs: 1.Alexa and Chris 2... 3...

A: So cool that nationals are in Omaha this year! Used to live in that area but unfortunately not anymore. Ladies: Ashley Wagner's been having a good season so I reckon she'll repeat this year with the title. Mirai Nagasu has had a decent showing so she could maybe be 2nd or 3rd. If Gracie Gold hits her jumps, she should probably be on the podium as well. I really like Angela Wang but I don't think that they're going to place her that high yet. I'm really excited to see Alissa Czisny back after her injury and I don't care if she falls on all her jumps. She's my favorite so I would love to see her win it, but it's highly unlikely - probably top 5 finish at best. Men: I would say Jeremy Abbott will probably win it again. He usually does pretty good at nationals. For 2nd and 3rd I have no clue. It could be anyone. Dance: Davis and White for the gold and the Shibutanis for the silver. Chock and Bates for bronze? Pairs: Don't really follow pairs plus I have no clue who's partnered with who nowadays.

transition from silent films? by palomar Q: in what ways did films have to change to talkies and what problems and oppurtunities did these present?

A: Basically, they had to have a reel for the visual and a reel for the audio; whereas today it is all on the same reel. Originally movie theaters had a PHONOGRAPH player to play to the reel of film- so if there were skips in the film or the acetate record; then that would mess up all the syncronization and they would have to start the film and record all over again-- there was no way to go back to scene 3:02:43; kind of thing like we can do so accurately now. Then the actors-- the silent film actors such as Rudolph Valentino, Charlie Chaplin, Greta Garbo were all tested in audio to find they had AWFUL speaking voice. Valention and Garbo had such thick eastern European accents that they could not be understood and spoke very little English! Some were able to transition very well - stage actors were brought into the film business- John Barrymore, Ethyl Barrymore, Vivien Leigh, Laurence Olivier- they all did silent films too; but started on the stage in front of live audiences and had great speaking voices to name only a few. The musical movie "Singing In The Rain" depict the transition from silent to 'talkies" very well and historically accurate. New talkies were all in black and white film- color had yet to be invented. When it did come around it was actually HAND PAINTED in each frame- a 1 hour movie has about 1200 frames! Opportunities with audio ranged from hiring sound technicians, a "boom man"- someone that had an overhanging microphone that is NOT seen in the frame of the film. Sound editors came about when the boom microphone also was combined with post production ADDITION to films. After the director shoots the whole film - even to the present day- the actors ALL have to come back for post production to STILL DO THEIR VOICE OVER their original work. Great films to display this technique are 1) Meryl Streep has to come back and forth to do her voice overs in the film "Postcards From The Edge" because her character was high during the original filming and her speech was slurred 2)Natalie Wood in "Inside Daisy Clover " (had Robert Redford in it too)- but Wood's character is seen doing the voice overs and she goes into a psychotic episode or something. So there is a huge sound cast due to the fact that now there is sound in films- so it created about 30 or more jobs right there. Then the additon of a movie soundtrack- of having songs during key parts of a movie- sometimes they hire a composer to write the whole background music and then add some contemporary songs in post production. And this takes months - they pre 3produce the film- about 3 weeks to 3 months; then the actual filming is about 3 months to 3 years- then the post production- where they edit, recut, add, subtract all kinds of things- even reshoot parts of the film- and that is about 3 months to 1 year. It is amazing to realize that they used to make about 200 films a year in Hollywood in the 1930s to 1940s; compared to now it is about 30 films. I just watched a biography of Myrna Loy- she made 212 films in her 40 year film career. Even Paul Newman- RIP; started in films in 1952 thru 2006 and only made 28 films! Problems today are mostly financial. Back in silent film era- Charlie Chaplin and Buster Keaton would do all their stunts, writing, editing and churn out about 20 films a year. Mary Pickford was one of the first actors EVER to start her own production company with Chaplin and Douglas Fairbanks, Jr. when those like Bette Davis, Cary Grant and such did not have the same courage to separate from the big studio bosses and forge their own company and film studio- which was United Artists- it was sold after Fairbanks and Pickford divorced each other; but United Artists is still around today- just fired Tom Cruise a few years ago due to his hijinks; but is owned by some German corporation. There really are no American owned film studios in Hollywood, CA America today... Miramax is the only big "indie" film company that also owns its own film studio lot. MGM, Universal Studio, Fox studios are all owned by foriegn corporations- and production companies like DreamWorks and such SUB LEASE offices on the studio lots. Also- talkies brought in MUSICAL productions which were an American creation that were the hottest films in the world from 1930s to 1960s then stopped and picked up again in the early 2000s with Moulin Rouge and Chicago - which actually were remakes of earlier films. The only original musical of recent days on film are John Waters' films- the originals were indie and now they remade them as major studio films- Hairspray and still to do more of his films on film and Broadway. Not much original stuff is out there now. Most is taken from earlier film or some Broadway theater musical or drama (which they also did thru out film history too) Most musical stars want to become drama stars; and most drama stars want to become rock stars .. Back in the early talkie days you had to be able to act, sing, A

the background songs at Figure Skating gala? by hopehely Q: What are the songs the skaters used at Ice skating gala 2010? If you know some, please let me know If you know all, that's great!!!

A: 16:30:00 Olympic Fanfare 16:30:20 Opening Production with Live Singer Oh Canada performed by Marc Ferland 16:37:20 Presentation of all Skaters Bang the Drum 16:42:40 EDWARDS Madeline / PANG Zhao-Kai Canada Tango Innominato, Minor Swing 16:46:39 TAKAHASHI Daisuke Japan Luv Letter by DJ Okawari 16:51:09 PANG Qing / TONG Jian China Adagio by Albinoni 16:55:47 ANDO Miki Japan Requiem by W. A. Mozart 17:01:18 FAIELLA Federica / SCALI Massimo Italy Quel Posto Che Non C'e di Negramaro 17:06:12 CHAN Patrick Canada Yesterday by The Beatles 17:09:57 SAVCHENKO Aliona / SZOLKOWY Robin Germany Bad Day by D. Porter 17:15:08 ROCHETTE Joannie Canada Vole by C. Dion 17:19:28 BELBIN Tanith / AGOSTO Benjamin United States Bleeding Love by Leona Lewis 17:23:50 KAVAGUTI Yuko / SMIRNOV Alexander Russian Federation Waltz Jokes (selection of Waltzes by Strauss) 17:29:22 ASADA Mao Japan Caprice by Paganini 17:34:10 PLUSHENKO Evgeni Russian Federation Je Suis Malade by J. Hallyday 17:38:23 Intermission 17:58:23 Child to Champion Olympic Spirit 18:03:27 Olympic Champion Speech 18:05:47 NGUYEN Nam Canada Fever 18:09:57 DOMNINA Oksana / SHABALIN Maxim Russian Federation Matrix (soundtrack) 18:14:12 NAGASU Mirai United States Faith by J. Sparks 18:18:16 ZHANG Dan / ZHANG Hao China Flying on the Wings of Song by F. Mendelssohn Bartholdy 18:22:29 LAMBIEL Stephane Switzerland Ne Me Quitte Pas by J. Brel 18:27:59 DAVIS Meryl / WHITE Charlie United States Billie Jean by D. Cook 18:32:08 KIM Yu-Na Korea Meditation from Thais by J. Massenet 18:36:28 SHEN Xue / ZHAO Hongbo China Io Ci Saro (I'll be There) by A. Boccelli 18:41:13 LYSACEK Evan United States Rhapsody in Blue by G. Gershwin 18:45:32 VIRTUE Tessa / MOIR Scott Canada Nutcracker: Chocolate / Everybody Dance Now 18:49:36 Finale This is the Moment performed by Marc Ferland

Starting ice dancing? by Jessica Q: I quit Ice skating about two years ago. I had been doing it for ten years. Lately I've found a new love: ballroom dancing. I still want to skate though, I miss it very much. In the weeks before I quit, I talked about maybe switching to ice dancing. my coach acted like it just wasn't an option. I DO NOT want to go back to being a figure skater. but watching meryl Davis and Charlie White compete in the olympics recently I felt something come alive in me. I want to be and ice dancer! I know I have the aptitude and even some experience since ice skating is like walking to me and I'm also a ballroom dancer. I can do this. I just have no idea where to start. Help! btw I'm 17.

A: Find a coach whose qualified to teach you the compulsory dances, and one whose actually supportive of your newly found interest. So many coaches are so stupid when it comes to things like that - when the masses think of figure skating, they think of Kristi Yamaguchi or Kim Yu-Na hopping around on ice, doing jumps and spins and spirals. Because of these sporting cliches, a lot of people become less tolerant of different figure skating disciplines, such as pairs or ice dancing. Pretty stupid, but then again, most people are. Try to find a coach who deals specifically with ice dancing, like mine do.

Why don't figure skaters wear long skirts? Only ice dancers? by ChristianFigureSkater Q: Why? I notice they don't wear them. You never see ice dancers wearing short skirts, except in this which isn't a competition: http://blog.zap2it.com/frominsidethebox/david-cook-billie-jean-meryl-davis-charlie-white-320.jpg Why don't figure skaters wear long shirts like this? : http://www.zimbio.com/pictures/6_cul6jRuhk/ISU+Four+Continents+Figure+Skating+Championships/7DYerdINuJ6 or http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/7e/Oksana_DOMNINA_Maxim_SHABALIN_European_Championships_2008_OD.jpg&imgrefurl=http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Oksana_DOMNINA_Maxim_SHABALIN_European_Championships_2008_OD.jpg&usg=__mUbPm0INY9UAqN1k6jNkkN9qgsA=&h=432&w=288&sz=46&hl=en&start=38&itbs=1&tbnid=MyCee9cKzWa2JM:&tbnh=126&tbnw=84&prev=/images%3Fq%3Doksana%2Bdomnina%26start%3D20%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26gbv%3D2%26ndsp%3D20%26tbs%3Disch:1 -And yes i love meryl davis and charlie white, oksana domnina and maxim shabalin come 2nd My questions are: why don't figure skaters wear long skirts? and. Why don't ice dancers wear short skirts? Can wearing long shirts affect your performance somehow? Hold you back on some of the moves? About how long is the longest your skirt should be?

A: Long skirts obscure a figure skater's legs, making it near impossible to judge sit/camel spins, jumps, and footwork. Judges need to see a clean leg line to be able to judge. Also, long skirts could potentially badly trip or even injure a skater in a sit spin, where the skirt is trailing on the ice behind the skater. They get wrapped up in legs in jumps, and provide unwanted wind resistance in jumps/spins. In spirals, the skirt would be all bunched up on the skater's back and look unsightly. There's a chance of the blade getting caught in the skirt in certain moves. Ice dancers wear long skirts, well, because they're a dancer. They tend after the ballroom style of dancing and dress accordingly. They don't jump or lift their legs up high very often so the skirt is fine for them.

Smuckers stars on ice? by ChristianFigureSkater Q: Is it on tv? And if so what time? Specifically meryl davis and charlie white, and rachel flatt. Also whats the name of the channel? I love watching them ice skate and i'm not getting very good luck finding any good videos on youtube=(. Is there a website specifically for stars on ice that have videos, please no websites that will give you an occasional virus? They so amazing and i'm tired of watching the same videos on youtube. Help? What's the name of the website?

A: its not on tv :( well sometimes they have little specials of it, but its just old cast members talking about how it was 20 years ago :/ youtube is the only place i know of, sorry you can buy the show on DVD on the website

Figure skating survey? by Q: Hey everyone, just a survey (: 1. How long have you been skating? 2. What disciplines do you do? (Singles, pairs, ice dance, synchro...) 3. What level are you tested for in each discipline? 4. Do you compete? 5. What level do you compete? 6. How many competitions do you do per year and how long have you been competing? 7. What events do you do at each competition? (Freeskate, short program, artistic, interpretive, etc.) 8. When is your next competition, what level will you be competing, and what events are you doing? 9. Why did you start skating lessons? (E.g. parents made you, older sibling, etc.) 10. How many days and hours per week do you skate? 11. Do you practice on freeskate sessions, public sessions, ice dance sessions, etc.? 12. Who is your favorite skater of all time? 13. Who is your favorite skater who is currently competing? 14. Who do you think will win Worlds this year for ice dance? Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir or Meryl Davis and Charlie White? 15. Who do you want to win ladies this year at Worlds- not who you think will win, who you want to win? 16. When was the last time you skated? 17. When is the next time you will skate? 18. What is the hardest jump or jump combination you can land? 19. What is the hardest jump or jump combination you can land consistently? 20. What jump is your favorite? 21. What jumps are you working on? 22. What is your favorite spin or spin combination? 23. What is your favorite spin position- camel, sit, layback, upright- not specifying back or forward spin? 24. What spins and spin combinations do you have in your freeskate program? 25. Do you do anything to help your skating- ballet classes, yoga, etc? 26. How many medals, ribbons, and trophies do you have from competitions or skating club awards? (Ex. My club gives a trophy to the skater who passes the most tests in a year) 27. What country do you live in and what program are you with? (USFSA, SkateCanada, etc.) 28. What do you carry your skates in? Thanks! (:

A: YAY, I love surveys! :) 1. How long have you been skating? Nearly 2 years (will have been two years this April). 2. What disciplines do you do? (Singles, pairs, ice dance, synchro...) Just singles (or free skate, whatever else you want to call it). 3. What level are you tested for in each discipline? Elementary ISA, I'm taking my Pre-Primary test next month. 4. Do you compete? Yes. 5. What level do you compete? Elementary. 6. How many competitions do you do per year and how long have you been competing? I do roughly four per year (will be less this year because I'm graduating a year early and have to concentrate on school work). I did my first competition in August 2010, so about a year and six months. 7. What events do you do at each competition? (Freeskate, short program, artistic, interpretive, etc.) Normally just freeskate. 8. When is your next competition, what level will you be competing, and what events are you doing? I'm not sure yet. I'm mainly focusing on testing for now - my test is on March 24th (AAAH!). 9. Why did you start skating lessons? (E.g. parents made you, older sibling, etc.) I really liked rollerblading so I decided to try ice skating. I loved it, decided to take lessons and never looked back! 10. How many days and hours per week do you skate? 4-5 days, each practice is about an hour, so only about 5 hours. I wish I could do more but ice time at my rink is really expensive. 11. Do you practice on freeskate sessions, public sessions, ice dance sessions, etc.? Freestyle sessions. If I ever get curriculum days at school or something, I go to public sessions because they're pretty quiet on weekdays. 12. Who is your favorite skater of all time? Ohh, I can't pick just one! Probably Mao Asada, Johnny Weir, Ashley Wagner or Julia Lipnitskaya. 13. Who is your favorite skater who is currently competing? Julia Lipnitskaya or Ashley Wagner. 14. Who do you think will win Worlds this year for ice dance? Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir or Meryl Davis and Charlie White? I'm not sure. It could go either way. 15. Who do you want to win ladies this year at Worlds- not who you think will win, who you want to win? I want Mao Asada to win (even though I'm quite doubtful that she will...). 16. When was the last time you skated? Friday afternoon. I was going to skate this morning but I was too tired (just got back from a mini holiday in which I skated heaps, so I'm exhausted). 17. When is the next time you will skate? Either Tuesday night or Wednesday morning. 18. What is the hardest jump or jump combination you can land? Double loop. 19. What is the hardest jump or jump combination you can land consistently? Axel. My double salchow is sometimes consistent for a few weeks but then I lose it again, so I don't really count that as consistent. 20. What jump is your favorite? Double salchow (when it works!) 21. What jumps are you working on? Double salchow, double loop, and beginning double toe and flip. 22. What is your favorite spin or spin combination? Flying camel-back sit-forward haircutter combination. 23. What is your favorite spin position- camel, sit, layback, upright- not specifying back or forward spin? Sit. 24. What spins and spin combinations do you have in your freeskate program? Cannonball spin and camel-sit-back upright combination. I could have harder spins but this is for my test program and we don't want to risk me failing. 25. Do you do anything to help your skating- ballet classes, yoga, etc? Not really, other than off-ice jumps and stretching. No classes though. 26. How many medals, ribbons, and trophies do you have from competitions or skating club awards? (Ex. My club gives a trophy to the skater who passes the most tests in a year) Four trophies and three medals. One of the trophies is perpetual though, so I'll have to give it back at this year's state championships. These are all from comps, our club doesn't really give awards. 27. What country do you live in and what program are you with? (USFSA, SkateCanada, etc.) Australia, and I'm in the ISA levels (Ice Skating Australia). 28. What do you carry your skates in? A duffle bag. I used to use an old suitcase but it broke and was far too hard to take on public transport.

What is the difference between pairs and team skating in the Olympics? by Hannah Buborski Q: Please excuse this obliviousness of this question but I read about the controversy online regarding team skating (like Meryl Davis and Charlie White) but remember seeing a man and a woman skate together in the Olympics since I was a kid. What is the difference between pair and team skating and why is team skating so controversial (considering this is the sport's 1st time in the Olympics)? Thank you!

Who are your favorite skaters? by Actress(; Q: Females: Emily Hughes, Alissa Czisny Males: Johnny Weir, Brandon Morz Pairs: Meryl Davis and Charlie White Favorite overall: Johnny Weir (I have a hopeless crush on him, hopeless because I am female.) I don't follow dance or synchro, but if you do, feel free to post your favorites!

A: Women: Joannie Rochette, Yulia Lipnitskaya, Elizaveta Tuktamysheva, Elena Gedevanishvili, and Ashley Wagner Men: Patrick Chan, Javier Fernandez Ice Dance: Virtue and Moir, Belbin and Agosto (retired), Weaver and Poje, Gilles and Poirier, and - of course - My partner and I :) Pairs: Trankov and Volozhohar (no clue how to spell her last name), Swiegers and Lawrence, and Duhamel and Radford. Btw; you put ice dancers as your favourite pairs skaters :) Pairs is with the jumps and throws, ice dance does not have that. So if Davis and White are favourite of yours, then you do watch Ice Dance ;)

does anyone have a youtube video of teresa virtue and scott moir winter olympic final skating performance? by Andree Fowl Q: teresa was wearing paper white and the straps on her back were sparkles. this was the win against meryl davis and charlie white from the USA. ID LIKE TO HAVE A LINK PLEASE? GEEZ

A: Yes they do, and thanks so much for asking.

Is it allowed for a coach to be coaches to two Olympians? by CherryPop Q: Is this allowed? Also, is it possible for those two Olympians to be from different countries? Though, I'm guessing this one definietly isn't allowed.

A: The coach's country of citizenship doesn't matter; skaters will go abroad to find coaching, facilities and a training atmosphere that allows them to excel. Q: Is it allowed for a coach to be coaches to two Olympians? A: Yes. Q: Is it possible for those two Olympians to be from different countries? A: Yes. At the 2010 Olympics, there was quite a melting pot of skaters and coaches from around the world. Canadian-based Brian Orser coached Olympic Ladies Champion, Kim Yu-na (KOR) USA's very own Frank Carroll was a busy coach. His skaters included: . Olympic Champion, Evan Lysacek (USA) . 11th-place Mens finisher, Denis Ten (KAZ) . 4th-place Ladies competitor, Mirai Nagasu (USA) The most-interesting parade of nations was in Ice Dancing. Russian-born coaching team Marina Zoueva and Igor Shpilband, had these results: . Gold: Tessa Virtue & Scott Moir (Canada) . Silver: Meryl Davis and Charlie White (USA) The 2010 4th-place finishers were Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto. Tanith Belbin, born in Canada, became an American citizen in 2005 so as to compete for the USA with Agosto. At the 2006 Olympics, they brought back an historic silver medal for the US with Zoueva & Shpilband coaching. Zoueva holds Canadian citizenship and Shpilband is a naturalized US citizen. They trained teams together in Detroit until recently, when their partnership broke up. The 2014 Winter Games will be interesting because the Russian host country has made an effort to have their own athletes coached in their own country by their own citizen-coaches. Several coaches relocated with their Russian students from around the world, many giving up skaters from other countries who chose to remain where they were.

can i start ice dancing? by Cristina Q: I'm 12 and i really want to start ice dancing, can i ? i've learned to skate when i was 8 so i think i'm pretty good,can i start as pro(i mean to compete to nationals, world, olympics) and i was wondering if i could jump 2 levels,is that possible? thanks a lot

A: First of all, professional skaters are not the ones you see in Nationals and such, those are purely amateurs. Professional figure skaters are the ones in skating shows like Disney On Ice, and coaches. Anyways, no, you won't compete at Nationals or Worlds or the Olympics. Skaters who compete there have been skating since they were 3 or 4 or 5 years old. And they've been doing dance almost as long. Meryl Davis and Charlie White have been a dance team since they were 7 or 8 years old, and they both started skating when they were 3 or 4. Even if you had a chance at international competitions, you need a partner. And good luck with that. Male skaters wanting to compete dance are in short supply. You cannot skip levels. Ever. You have to go in order, no exceptions. If Michelle Kwan wanted to compete ISI, she would have to go through Freestyle 1, where you're doing waltz jumps. Also, what makes you think you can skip levels? You have to learn the dances first, you can't skip over them. If you want to do ice dance solo, then go ahead. I've been doing solo ice dance for around a year and a half now, and I'm on my pre-silvers, and its fun. There is a National Solo Dance competition in the US, and you have a chance at that, but you have to qualify. And that doesn't go to international competitions or anything. Anyways, just tell your coach you want to learn some ice dances. She or he can teach you some, or refer you to another coach who can teach you some if they can't.

what band did the billy jean cover on olympic exhibition skating? by yamahaacoustic95 Q: I just watched the American figure skaters exhibition skate and they were skating to a hard rock cover of billy jean i wanted to know what band it was

A: Here is a video of Chris Cornell performing the song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2MgwAJrfXo I am not sure whether the American team did Saturday night's exhibition dance to David Cook's version or Chris Cornell, but I thought it was wonderful. Also -- no offense to the Canadian pair (Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue) -- I think that based on ANY of their three Olympic dances or this fourth exhibition performance (the "Billy Jean" presentation), the Americans (Meryl Davis and Charlie White) should have gotten the gold instead of the silver. You might enjoy this article about some of the music used in the Monday night ice dancing finals: http://newsroom.mtv.com/2010/02/23/ice-dancing-olympics-linkin-park/ Unfortunately, it doesn't mention the "Billy Jean" selection because it was written before Saturday night's exhibition dances. And here's a story about both teams of ice dancers, who do some of their training together: http://www.usatoday.com/sports/olympics/vancouver/figureskating/2010-02-23-ice-dancers_N.htm

What athletes do you LIKE and which do you DISLIKE? by Victoria Love-Williams Q: I like: -Lindsey Vonn (US) -Shani Davis (US) -Shaun White (US) -JR Celski (US) -Evan Lysacek (US) -Kazuhiro Kokubo (Japan) -Miki Ando (Japan) -Mao Asada (Japan) -Nobunari Oda (Japan) -Shen and Zhao (China) -Wang Meng (China) -Simon Amman (Switzerland) -Maria Riesch (Germany) Dislike: -Apollo Anton Ohno (I think he's a poor sport; always whining about others cheating when they beat him) -Lindsey Jacob-Ellis (2-time Olympics failure. I think it's funny how they're calling her the "loveable loser" this year, because in Torino she was the poster-child for poor sportsmanship and showboating!) -Bodie Miller -Julia Mancuso (The tiara would be fine if she were 4 years old playing dress-up, but I think it's time for her to grow up! So embarassing!)

A: I like pretty much all the like athlete's you listed, with the exception of Lindsey Vonn. I mean she's ok, but it's annoying how the media focuses on her so much when there's a lot of other athlete's. I also like Meryl Davis and Charlie White, in addition to Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir, both of whom performed amazingly last night in the ice dancing event. I like Evan Lysacek too, in addition to John Kerr and Sinead Kerr for their unique routine. I see nothing wrong with Bode Miller. Team USA should be grateful for Ryan Miller, who helped us win the hockey game against Canada. I really like Apollo Ohno ... but why did you state that he whines about others cheating? It was actually the Korean speed skaters who were protesting his wins in Torino I think, saying that he cheated, when in fact he didn't, and then they were whining about him competing in Vancouver. From my perspective, Apollo Ohno has been nothing but a good sport while being slandered by Korean media. I dislike Plushenko of Russia for bad sportsmanship after the results of the men's figure skating event. No congratulations to Lysacek at all, just whining about not getting gold while having a silver. What a jerk. Other than him, not many others that I don't like.

Who all are the Olympic couples? by j Q: Are Tanith Belbin and Charlie White dating? Does Meryl Davis have a boyfriend? BTW, I'm not a stalker. I'm just curious.

A: I know two Canadian couples if you're interested... Short track speed skaters Charles Hamelin and Marianne St.Gelais. Ski cross athletes Chris Del Bosco and Ashleigh McIvor.

The best skaters in the history of figure skating? by M Q: In your opinion who is\are the best....in the history? 1. single lady skater 2 single man skater 3. pair skaters 4. Ice dancers * and who is your favorite skater of all times?

A: The best in the history: 1.Kim Yuna – I don’t think that there is any better lady skater than her when it comes to techniques. She is a GREAT jumper and her elements are always flawless. She is in whole different level compared to the other female skaters in the history. 2.Ilia Kulik – I haven’t seen anyone that is technically and artistically good as Ilia. There are skaters with a better technique and there are skaters who are artistically better, but there is no one (yet) who have clean jumps AND know how to get into the character of the music as good as Ilia. 3.Ekaterina Gordeeva & Sergei Grinkov – do I really need to explain this? They were everything pair skating should be! They had (and she still have) every skating quality you can beg for, they always made everything look so effortless. There’s performance left you speech less…they were perfect!!! 4.I think that the rivalry between Tessa Virtue\Scott Moir and Meryl Davis\Charlie White took the Ice Dancing sport to a whole new level…I mean look at the 2006 Olympic the one that Tatiana Navka and Roman Kostomarov won and the 2010 Olympic…in 4 years the Ice Dancing have completely changed! There is no way Navka and Kostomarov can win anything now. Both teams are really really good, and because of this they keep bringing them selfs (and the ice dancing sport) to a new level with every season. (I think no one can tell who is the better team…however I'm personally more of a Davis\White fan) My Favorites: 1.Sasha Cohen – It broke my heart when she fell at the Torino Olympics and lost the gold medal. 2.Kurt Browning. 3.Ekaterina Gordeeva\Sergei Grinkov and Jamie Salé\David Pelletier 4.Meryl Davis\Charlie White and Marina Anissina \ Gwendal Peizerat I'll be cheering for at the Sochi Olympics: 1.Kim Yuna (LOVE HER) 2.Javier Fernandez Lopez: I know he doesn't really have a chance to win but I hope to see him on the podium. 3. NO ONE. The pairs that currently competing are not good. They are not bad but also not good. I guess that the competition on the gold will be between Tatiana Volosozhar\Maxim Trankov and Aliona Savchenko\Robin Szolkowy. If I have to choose between them I’ll go with the Russian pair. 4.Meryl Davis and Charlie White: they are just breath taking! My all time favorite figure skater is Ekaterina Gordeeva. We first saw her in 1986 when she won her first World Championship at the young age of 14. It was 27 years ago, the sport have really change and developed ever since and this legendary champion is still skating and developing with the new generation of skaters. In the last few years she participated at the Canadian “Battle of the Blades” and the Russian “Ice Age”, she won them both and showed the world that even after 15 years off the competitive ice she is still unbeatable!

2011 world figure skating championships? *BQ*? by Laughing Is Contagious Q: Has the championships been moved somewhere else because of the Japan earthquake? If so, where to? *BQ*- Who are some of the top skaters going there? BQ- What top Canadian skaters are there?? -Thanks for the info!

A: Yea, they moved. They were pushed back a week and they'll be in russia. They start this week. For women, the US champion this year was Alissa Czisney and Kim Yu-Na is amazing. The man's US champ was Ryan Bradley and Japan's Daisuke Takahashi won last year. For ice dancing, US has its best chance at a gold with Meryl Davis and Charlie White. Canadian Men have 3 spots for this championship because of good performance last year: Patrick Chan- ranked 2nd in world, grand prix final champion Joey Russell Kevin Reynolds Ice dancing also have 3 spots: Vanessa Crone / Paul Poirier- ranked 4th in world Tessa Virtue / Scott Moir Kaitlyn Weaver / Andrew Poje FOR THE RECORD: The additional info: BQ- What top Canadian skaters are there?? Was added after I posted.

US national figure skation results!!!!? by dalilama0953 Q: can i have all the rankings!!! thanks

A: LADIES Mirai Nagasu Pasadena FSC 190.41 1 3 2 Rachael Flatt Broadmoor SC 188.73 3 1 3 Ashley Wagner Washington FSC 188.56 2 2 4 Caroline Zhang All Year FSC 173.16 7 4 5 Bebe Liang All Year FSC 164.87 6 5 6 Katrina Hacker SC of Boston 158.28 5 6 7 Kimberly Meissner Univ of Delaware FSC 157.56 4 7 8 Melissa Bulanhagui Univ of Delaware FSC 149.22 8 8 9 Alissa Czisny Detroit SC 146.38 9 9 10 Becky Bereswill Houston FSC 137.65 14 10 11 Tenile Victorsen All Year FSC 132.80 15 11 12 Danielle Kahle All Year FSC 132.22 10 13 13 Megan Williams-Stewart Univ of Delaware FSC 130.40 12 14 14 Chrissy Hughes Highland SC 126.84 16 12 15 Molly Oberstar Duluth FSC 125.13 11 15 16 Karen Zhou All Year FSC 116.30 17 16 17 Angie Lien Duluth FSC 112.25 13 20 18 Megan Hyatt Wagon Wheel FSC 108.69 19 17 19 Stephanie Roth SC of New York 107.49 18 18 20 Laney Diggs All Year FSC MEN Evan Lysacek DuPage FSC 244.77 2 1 2 Johnny Weir SC of New York 244.77 1 2 3 Stephen Carriere SC of Boston 228.06 3 3 4 Jeremy Abbott Broadmoor SC 221.85 5 4 5 Ryan Bradley Broadmoor SC 221.31 4 5 6 Scott Smith SC of Boston 210.55 6 6 7 Wesley Campbell Nashville FSC 200.10 8 7 8 Shaun Rogers Univ of Delaware FSC 195.96 13 9 9 Tommy Steenberg SC of Northern Virginia 195.32 12 10 10 Dennis Phan All Year FSC 193.75 15 8 11 Parker Pennington Washington FSC 188.82 10 13 12 Geoffry Varner Peninsula SC 184.52 9 14 13 Eliot Halverson St. Paul FSC 183.67 17 11 14 Braden Overett Denver FSC 182.86 16 12 15 Derrick Delmore Washington FSC 180.83 7 16 16 Douglas Razzano Coyotes SC of Arizona 180.21 11 15 17 Michael Villarreal All Year FSC 164.35 14 18 18 Rohene Ward Starlight Ice Dance Club PAIRS 1 Keauna McLaughlin / Rockne Brubaker Los Angeles FSC / Broadmoor SC 190.74 1 1 2 Rena Inoue / John Baldwin All Year FSC 183.17 2 2 3 Brooke Castile / Ben Okolski Arctic FSC 175.07 3 3 4 Tiffany Vise / Derek Trent Broadmoor SC 161.20 5 4 5 Amanda Evora / Mark Ladwig Southwest Florida FSC / Red River Valley FSC 158.94 4 5 6 Caitlin Yankowskas / John Coughlin Colonial FSC / Kansas City FSC 153.80 6 6 7 Naomi Nari Nam / Themistocles Leftheris All Year FSC / Los Angeles FSC 145.89 8 7 8 Chloe Katz / Joseph Lynch SC of New York 142.29 7 8 9 Bianca Butler / Joseph Jacobsen All Year FSC 136.65 11 9 10 MeeRan Trombley / Laureano Ibarra Broadmoor SC / All Year FSC 130.29 12 10 11 Kaela Pflumm / Christopher Pottenger Univ of Delaware FSC / Dallas FSC 127.27 10 12 12 Katie Beriau / Alexander Merritt Charter Oak FSC / Los Angeles FSC 125.52 9 14 13 Amber Wehrle / Nicholas Kole Broadmoor SC 125.17 13 11 14 Laura Lepzinski / Ethan Burgess Detroit SC / All Year FSC 119.40 14 15 15 Kendra Moyle / Steven Pottenger Ann Arbor FSC / Dallas FSC 117.98 15 13 DANCE 1 Tanith Belbin / Ben Agosto Arctic FSC 216.07 1 1 1 2 Meryl Davis / Charlie White Arctic FSC / Detroit SC 206.82 2 2 2 3 Kimberly Navarro / Brent Bommentre Santa Rosa FSC / Philadelphia SC & HS 187.94 3 3 3 4 Emily Samuelson / Evan Bates Ann Arbor FSC 175.16 4 4 6 5 Jennifer Wester / Daniil Barantsev Dallas FSC / Detroit SC 169.37 5 6 5 6 Jane Summersett / Todd Gilles Broadmoor SC 166.86 10 5 4 7 Charlotte Maxwell / Nick Traxler Stars FSC of Texas 161.17 7 7 7 8 Mimi Whetstone / Chris Obzansky Oklahoma City FSC / Salt Lake Figure Skating 157.10 6 8 8 9 Lynn Kriengkrairut / Logan Giulietti-Schmitt All Year FSC / Stars FSC of Texas 151.50 8 9 9 10 Mauri Gustafson / Joel Dear All Year FSC / Stars FSC of Texas 138.20 9 10 10 11 Clare Farrell / Charles Fishpaw St. Louis SC / Univ of Delaware FSC 130.90 11 11 11 12 Marsha Snyder / Peter Fischl Pittsburgh FSC 120.51 12 12 12 13 Stacy Kim / Jonathan Harris Stars FSC of Texas

US national figure skating results!!!!? by dalilama0953 Q: please give me the full results and who you wanted to win!!! (for all of the competitions ie pairs mens....) thanks!

A: LADIES Mirai Nagasu Pasadena FSC 190.41 1 3 2 Rachael Flatt Broadmoor SC 188.73 3 1 3 Ashley Wagner Washington FSC 188.56 2 2 4 Caroline Zhang All Year FSC 173.16 7 4 5 Bebe Liang All Year FSC 164.87 6 5 6 Katrina Hacker SC of Boston 158.28 5 6 7 Kimberly Meissner Univ of Delaware FSC 157.56 4 7 8 Melissa Bulanhagui Univ of Delaware FSC 149.22 8 8 9 Alissa Czisny Detroit SC 146.38 9 9 10 Becky Bereswill Houston FSC 137.65 14 10 11 Tenile Victorsen All Year FSC 132.80 15 11 12 Danielle Kahle All Year FSC 132.22 10 13 13 Megan Williams-Stewart Univ of Delaware FSC 130.40 12 14 14 Chrissy Hughes Highland SC 126.84 16 12 15 Molly Oberstar Duluth FSC 125.13 11 15 16 Karen Zhou All Year FSC 116.30 17 16 17 Angie Lien Duluth FSC 112.25 13 20 18 Megan Hyatt Wagon Wheel FSC 108.69 19 17 19 Stephanie Roth SC of New York 107.49 18 18 20 Laney Diggs All Year FSC MEN Evan Lysacek DuPage FSC 244.77 2 1 2 Johnny Weir SC of New York 244.77 1 2 3 Stephen Carriere SC of Boston 228.06 3 3 4 Jeremy Abbott Broadmoor SC 221.85 5 4 5 Ryan Bradley Broadmoor SC 221.31 4 5 6 Scott Smith SC of Boston 210.55 6 6 7 Wesley Campbell Nashville FSC 200.10 8 7 8 Shaun Rogers Univ of Delaware FSC 195.96 13 9 9 Tommy Steenberg SC of Northern Virginia 195.32 12 10 10 Dennis Phan All Year FSC 193.75 15 8 11 Parker Pennington Washington FSC 188.82 10 13 12 Geoffry Varner Peninsula SC 184.52 9 14 13 Eliot Halverson St. Paul FSC 183.67 17 11 14 Braden Overett Denver FSC 182.86 16 12 15 Derrick Delmore Washington FSC 180.83 7 16 16 Douglas Razzano Coyotes SC of Arizona 180.21 11 15 17 Michael Villarreal All Year FSC 164.35 14 18 18 Rohene Ward Starlight Ice Dance Club PAIRS 1 Keauna McLaughlin / Rockne Brubaker Los Angeles FSC / Broadmoor SC 190.74 1 1 2 Rena Inoue / John Baldwin All Year FSC 183.17 2 2 3 Brooke Castile / Ben Okolski Arctic FSC 175.07 3 3 4 Tiffany Vise / Derek Trent Broadmoor SC 161.20 5 4 5 Amanda Evora / Mark Ladwig Southwest Florida FSC / Red River Valley FSC 158.94 4 5 6 Caitlin Yankowskas / John Coughlin Colonial FSC / Kansas City FSC 153.80 6 6 7 Naomi Nari Nam / Themistocles Leftheris All Year FSC / Los Angeles FSC 145.89 8 7 8 Chloe Katz / Joseph Lynch SC of New York 142.29 7 8 9 Bianca Butler / Joseph Jacobsen All Year FSC 136.65 11 9 10 MeeRan Trombley / Laureano Ibarra Broadmoor SC / All Year FSC 130.29 12 10 11 Kaela Pflumm / Christopher Pottenger Univ of Delaware FSC / Dallas FSC 127.27 10 12 12 Katie Beriau / Alexander Merritt Charter Oak FSC / Los Angeles FSC 125.52 9 14 13 Amber Wehrle / Nicholas Kole Broadmoor SC 125.17 13 11 14 Laura Lepzinski / Ethan Burgess Detroit SC / All Year FSC 119.40 14 15 15 Kendra Moyle / Steven Pottenger Ann Arbor FSC / Dallas FSC 117.98 15 13 DANCE 1 Tanith Belbin / Ben Agosto Arctic FSC 216.07 1 1 1 2 Meryl Davis / Charlie White Arctic FSC / Detroit SC 206.82 2 2 2 3 Kimberly Navarro / Brent Bommentre Santa Rosa FSC / Philadelphia SC & HS 187.94 3 3 3 4 Emily Samuelson / Evan Bates Ann Arbor FSC 175.16 4 4 6 5 Jennifer Wester / Daniil Barantsev Dallas FSC / Detroit SC 169.37 5 6 5 6 Jane Summersett / Todd Gilles Broadmoor SC 166.86 10 5 4 7 Charlotte Maxwell / Nick Traxler Stars FSC of Texas 161.17 7 7 7 8 Mimi Whetstone / Chris Obzansky Oklahoma City FSC / Salt Lake Figure Skating 157.10 6 8 8 9 Lynn Kriengkrairut / Logan Giulietti-Schmitt All Year FSC / Stars FSC of Texas 151.50 8 9 9 10 Mauri Gustafson / Joel Dear All Year FSC / Stars FSC of Texas 138.20 9 10 10 11 Clare Farrell / Charles Fishpaw St. Louis SC / Univ of Delaware FSC 130.90 11 11 11 12 Marsha Snyder / Peter Fischl Pittsburgh FSC 120.51 12 12 12 13 Stacy Kim / Jonathan Harris Stars FSC of Texas

does anyone know where i can go to see who made the figure skating Olympic team? by alyssa W Q: i need to find out who made the Olympic team for figure skating does anyone no a website or know every one that made??

A: For the U.S.? 2010 Olympic Winter Games Pairs Nominations to the USOC Caydee Denney and Jeremy Barrett Amanda Evora and Mark Ladwig 2010 Olympic Winter Games Men's Nominations to the USOC Jeremy Abbott Evan Lysacek Johnny Weir 2010 Olympic Winter Games Ladies Nominations to the USOC Rachael Flatt Mirai Nagasu 2010 Olympic Winter Games Ice Dancing Nominations to the USOC Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto Meryl Davis and Charlie White Emily Samuelson and Evan Bates

Who do you like more? by Sasha Q: Meryl Davis and Charlie White or Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir?

A: I don't watch a lot of Ice Dance. But I prefer Davis/White. They just seem less conceited than Virtue/Moir. Plus I've never seen them take a three-minute break just because they screwed up a lift...then get to do the lift again. EDIT: @Elizabeth: Joshua Farris skated on a broken leg when he was only sixteen. If it's such a huge problem for her, then she should retire. Not get to stop the dance and then carry on again and REDO AN ELEMENT THEY MISSED.

ice dancing - figure skating.? by Q: am a 14 year old girl whos been skating about a year and a half and has been learning singles skating since, spins and jumps, so on and wants to start ice dancing, well maybe, how would i go about it if i did? include info about: -partners, age of partners. - (i know all of this will NOT happen straight away by the way, i know it takes time to be experienced in something) -coaching and any other details you might now of, please answer, it would really help me out! :)

A: I'm not an ice dancer but i love it anyways so i can answer about how old your partner should be. A lot the ice dancers that won the olympics in the past few times were about 2years of age apart. The male being the older of the 2. The only 2 exceptions were Tatiana Navka and Roman Kostomarov and Meryl davis and charlie white, where meryl davis was a few months older than charlie and tatiana was 2years older than roman. I'd say your partner should be about 2years older than you. You might have to go through several partners before you find the right one for you. That's really all i know about ice dancing sorry! But it is a beautiful sport and i love watching it.

What Song Did Chaley White & the davis girl from the US skate to? by MrCorley3 Q: was on nbc at 930 ish eastern time on feb 27 2010

A: Twitter says its Billy Jean, By Micheal Jackson Quote "Meryl Davis and Charlie White just did their Champions Gala skate to "Billie Jean". End quote. I did not see it so no idea if this is the correct one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwDkoJKPr4g see its the one

is sasha cohen going to the 2010 champions on ice tour? by Lizzie S Q: please answer!

A: There is no "Champions on Ice" tour anymore, so this year's "Stars on Ice" tour includes past and current champions skating. At our city, these skaters performed: Evan Lysacek Jeremy Abbott Mirai Nagasu Rachel Flatt Meryl Davis and Charlie White Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto Todd Eldredge Yuka Sato Michael Weiss and yes, Sasha Cohen The cast changes from show to show based on other committments, so you have to check with your local arena to see the featured performers.

Detroit Thanksgiving parade Celebrities? by Amanda Q: Who has made an appearance at the Detroit parade over the years and who will be there this year? Can you give me the year too? Thanks (:

A: This year kind of stinks. It looks a little second rate to me. • Jana Kramer – Actress, One Tree Hill and Rochester, Michigan native • Dwele – Songwriter/musician and Detroit native • Meryl Davis & Charlie White – Silver Medal Ice Dance, 2010 Vancouver Olympic Games • Seth Wescott – Gold Medal Men’s Snowboard Cross, 2010 Vancouver Olympic Games • Thomas Finchum – Synchronized Diving, 2008 Beijing Olympic Games • Peter Vanderkaay - Gold Medal Men’s 800m Freestyle Relay, 2008 Beijing Olympic Games • Ricky Berens – Gold Medal Men’s 800m Freestyle Relay, 2008 Beijing Olympic Games • Gretchen Rossi – Reality TV Personality, Real Housewives of Orange County • Biz Markie – Entertainer, DJ, Hip Hop Recording Artist and regular on hit kids’ show Yo Gaba Gaba! • And from the North Pole – Santa Claus

who is your favorite figure skater(s) in either pairs, ice dance, singles of all time? by Q:

A: im an icedancer so my fav icedancers are: kim navarro and brent bommentre tanith belbin and ben agusto ( i know all of them! theyre friends of mine) hmm... also i guess meryl davis and charlie white. idk who else mostly the first two lol

Ice dancing ranking from today's competition...? by Kate Q: What were the names of the younger couple from michigan who ranked 5th today in ice dancing? thanks;) I know ice dancing isn't figure skating, but thought ppl on here might know just the same.

A: The first poster is incorrect. The couple that placed 5th in Senior Dance trains with the team that placed 1st (Meryl Davis and Charlie White). Their names are Madison Chock and Greg Zuerlein. They won Junior Worlds last year. Here is the link to all the results from US Nationals: http://www.usfigureskating.org/leaderboard/results/2010/64740/results.html

What are the chances of a America winning a medal in figure skating? by Q: Please tell me your references!!!

A: Pretty good Here are the ISU rankings for the men 1 & 4 are Americans 1.Evan Lysacek 2.Brian Joubert 3.Nobunari Oda 4.Jeremy Abbott 5.Patrick Chan Ice Dance #i1 team are American- also the #6 team are Belbin & Agosto who were injured & have a silver medal from Torino, 1.Meryl Davis / Charlie White 2.Tessa Virtue / Scott Moir 3.Oksana Domnina / Maxim Shabalin 4.Jana Khokhlova / Sergei Novitski 5.Federica Faiella / Massimo Scali

Virtue/Moir vs Davis/White, who is your favorite? by verafs12 Q: Both teams are really great. Although I prefer Virtue/Moir over Davis/White, I still like Davis/White and I think they're a great team, too. So who is your favorite and why?

A: I really don't like either of them that much. I like Charlie, but not Meryl (she's very hard to watch) and Tessa, but not so much Scott (don't ask me why, because I haven't a clue). I'd love to see if Tessa/Charlie worked well together, but obviously that won't happen. Patriotically, I prefer Virtue/Moir, because I always cheer for Canadian teams. But this season, I prefer the programs of Davis/White. I can't stand Carmen, and I really don't like Virtue/Moir's take on the short dance. But I like Weaver/Poje more than both of these teams :) Shame they're missing nationals (Kaitlyn Weaver broke her foot/ankle).

Would it be appropriate to wear a figure skating dress to prom? by Campie Q: Well, my friend and I were discussing this earlier. I think that it may be too short, but then again it depends on the dress. Anyhow, she's an ice skater and she is basically in love with those dresses. If so, what would be good examples of dresses? Thanks! :) Or, any other 'special' dances other than prom. See, we're still 2 years away from prom but... oh well xD

A: It depends. It could go really good or really bad depending on taste. Something like these...Yes http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/7b/2011_WFSC_5d_458_Meryl_Davis_Charlie_White.JPG http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/b/b2/2012_WFSC_05d_730_Meryl_Davis_Charlie_White.JPG/400px-2012_WFSC_05d_730_Meryl_Davis_Charlie_White.JPG http://www.trbimg.com/img-524b1f42/turbine/lat-icedancing-wre0011345755-20131001/600/600x350 Something like these...No http://www2.pictures.gi.zimbio.com/ISU%2BWorld%2BFigure%2BSkating%2BChampionships%2B2007%2BJMgz0L35l4Rl.jpg http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-_-h1xcXMXDQ/UrIRNs9SbrI/AAAAAAAA2i4/NH_-xOuC2XQ/s640/Davis_White2.jpg http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-qEknrNZwFGk/UtLH0GZvAVI/AAAAAAAADp8/FJq9rupv6Co/s1600/Gracie%2BGold%2Bimages%2B(3).jpg

what was the SONG that meryl davis and charlie white were skating to at the '07 us state farm championships by analucia Q: they won 3rd place for that particular routine

A: They skated to Borodin's Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor for the free dance.

What song did Meryl Davis & Charlie White ice skate to during the 2010 winter olympics? by Chica Q: it was a re-make of Michael Jackson's Billy jean, but i dont know who it was by?

A: It was a cover by American Idol's David Cook.

What are all the songs used in the Ice skating to Indian Bollywood songs by Meryl Davis and Charlie White? by Helps Q: In the winter olympics

A: There are three songs: 1) Kajra Re - from the movie Bunty Aur Bubli http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=plUxChXs3w8 2) Silsila Ye Chaahat Ka - from the movie Devdas http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qhkBTGE_Wo&feature=channel 3) Dola Re Dola - from the movie Devdas http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9oeBzNBIso

Why did you decide to be a FIGURE SKATER? by Fernando Q:

A: Well i watched Meryl Davis and Charlie White on the OD in Winter Olympics this year. The thing that caught my eye was how Meryl had that gem on her forehead and i got interested in them and watched them skate. After their performance i was like "wow, just imagine how my name would look up there." Then a whole lot of other things play into it. If one thing would have gone wrong i probably would not have started. Well to make a long story short. I meant to just go ice skating for my birthday and instead at the rink my mom signed me up for lessons. If i told you the whole story, even my bus driver would have been in it. I originally wanted to be an ice dancer, next i wanted to do singles, now i want to be a pair skater really bad.

Is ice skating to Indian Bollywood songs Meryl Davis and Charlie White was in the 2010 winter olympics? by Muthu S Pandian Q:

A: If you're looking for their music selection for the Original Dance (which was their Bollywood number), it was: "Kajra Re" by Shankar-Ehseen-Loy. "Slislla Ye Chaahat Ka" by Sameer, Nusret Badr. "Dola Re Dola" by Sameer, Nusret Badr. Hope this helps!

Anyone know where I can see Meryl Davis and Charlie White's olympic ice dance online? by Wild Sage Q: It figures (no pun intended) that they show it as soon as I got in the shower! Can I view it online anywhere? Youtube or something? An Olympic website? I'm referring to the dance they just did a few minutes ago.

A: Try http://www.nbcolympics.com/ and/or Youtube. If you don't find it, wait a while and try Youtube again -- sometimes it takes a while. ##

What do you think of meryl Davis/Charlie white's Scheherazade program? by trena Q: I literally cried when they skated their Scheherazade program at the team event. Such an overused piece of music in skating, and they truly made it their own. They actually interpreted the story rather than doing a bunch of pathetic middle eastern arm movements. What did you think of their Scheherazade program? I think they're going to win gold!

A: Of course they're going to win gold. It's been obvious since the beginning of the season that their coach (who coaches their rivals as well) has set them up to be the Olympic champions. Zoueva's been going to their competitions instead of Virtue/Moir's, only to make it more obvious. I think the program has some nice elements. I love that turning split lift they do. But I think they lack connection and emotion. He's a stronger skater than she is, which doesn't look the greatest. I'm not fond of them as a pair, but I think the program is nice enough. Edit: K, you have clearly never dealt with a chronic injury or skated (or done any sport, really) at a high level. It's an absolute b-word, and it comes back at the worst times. That incident a while ago when they had to stop their program was necessary. It wasn't her fault. And she hasn't been messing up this season aside from that one twizzle error; it's Moir that's been having the temper tantrums. But if you consider it to be a 'precious leg problem', then by all means, it might do you some good to injure yourself in the near future. Might give you a bit of perspective. You really have no clue.

What do you think of meryl Davis/Charlie white's Scheherazade program? by trena Q: I literally cried when they skated their Scheherazade program at the team event. Such an overused piece of music in skating, and they truly made it their own. They actually interpreted the story rather than doing a bunch of pathetic middle eastern arm movements. What did you think of their Scheherazade program? I think they're going to win gold!

A: I think they are going to win gold too!! They look amazing and they really embody the dance part of ice dancing.

Who will win 2011 world figure skating champs? by Q: So finally, as you may know, because of the earthquake and tsunami and nuclear troubles in Japan, the 2011 world figure skating championships will be held in Moscow, from the 24th of April to the 1st of May. I'd like to know what you think about it ( about the fact that they didn't cancelled them but they changed the location) and what are your predictions.. Who will win? Who will be on the podium? What are your favourite skaters and the ones you will be paying attention to? What's your favourite event ( ladies, men, pairs or ice dance) ? Just let me know, I really can't wait for worlds!! Sorry for eventual mistakes in my english! Khan, I can't understand, what are your predictions?

A: My predictions: Mens: Daisuke Takahashi (JPN) Ladies: Mao Asada (JPN) Pairs: Tatiana Volosozhar / Maxim Trankov (RUS) Dance: Meryl Davis / Charlie White (USA)

Where were the fathers of Meryl Davis and Charlie White at the Olympics? by Carol722 Q:

A: Probably working their backsides off so that the 2 mothers who are living vicariously through their children can afford to travel all over the world with them.

are Meryl Davis and Charlie White dating? by Em Q:

A: No, they've been partners since they were 8, but they're not dating each other. Charlie White and Tanith Belbin are seeing each other, based on the photos on Tanith's Twitter account.

Are the ice dancers Meryl Davis & Charlie White dating? by Brittany Q: I was just wondering if they were dating. I know that they're going to the same school (University of Michigan), and everytime I see recent off-ice photos of them, they've got their arms around each other. Also, the interaction I saw in the press conferences at Nationals, at least from him, suggests that they might like each other. Does anyone have a clue about this?

A: No, I don't think they're dating. They were guest skaters at my rink's ice show last year, and they didn't seem like they were together like that off ice.

Why did Meryl Davis and Charlie White not skate tonight? by Amber Q: Help I'm confused! I've been religiously watching the skating at the Olympics. I'm new to watching the games so have been figuring out how it all works.. So tonight was the pair skating event and the Russians won.. but I thought Meryl and Charlie would be skating tonight?? Is there more pair skating to come? So confused! I looked on Facebook and several other people were asking the same thing so apparently I'm not the only one lol..

Do you like Meryl Davis and Charlie White.? by Tasia Q: They are the best, I love to watch them skate. I wonder ." Are they lovers?" It is hard to imagine them not . They are both such sweeties. I am glad that they got the Silver. They are true Olympians. "Would you rather drink Coffee, Tea or Koolaid?" I prefer water. TZ

A: no. oj

Song from Meryl Davis' and Charlie White's skating routine? by duckxduckxgoose Q: lol so i was just watching the winter olympics and i saw charlie white and meryl davis skate..their song sounded like something indian or native american [but it was NOT jai ho] and i really like it but i cant figure out the name of it...if it helps, they were both in gold, she had a gold dress with blue and red..please help :]

A: "As the 15 teams skated to the theme “The Golden Waltz,” Davis and White received 45.42 points, .40 ahead of Belbin of Agosto." ... maybe. The article has the right name anyway...

How come Meryl Davis and Charlie White didn't compete in the pairs figure skating today Feb 12? by Sdd Q: And the two Russian teams won gold and silver??? I'm confused. I thought they be competing but they were not on the program?

A: Davis and White are ice dancers. That is a completely different event than the pairs skating which completed yesterday. The ice dancing competition begins on Sunday.

Images
Videos
Meryl DAVIS / Charlie WHITE - 2014 US Nats - FD Meryl Davis Charlie White 2014 WIN GOLD | Figure Skating Ice Dance VIDEO Winter Olympics 2014 Russia United States Meryl Davis Charlie White WIN GOLD Figure Skating Ice Dance Winter Olympics REVIEW Meryl Davis and Charlie White WINS Gold Medal FULL VIDEO - 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics Meryl Davis and Charlie White WINS Gold Medal - 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics Meryl Davis & Charlie White USA Gold medal Figure Skating Ice Dance Sochi Olympics Kas reaction United States Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold In Ice Dancing 2014 Winter Olympics Meryl Davis Charlie White WINS GOLD Figure Skating Ice Dance 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics REVIEW USA Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold In Ice Dancing 2014 Winter Olympics THOUGHTS Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold In Ice Dancing (Review) 2014 Winter Olympics The USA Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold In Ice Dancing 2014 Winter Olympics THOUGHTS United States Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold In Ice Dancing 2014 Winter Olympics THOUGHTS Meryl Davis and Charlie White win first-ever U.S. gold in Olympic ice dancing THOUGHTS 2014 US Nationals - Meryl Davis & Charlie White - Free Dance PERFECTION United States Meryl Davis Charlie White WIN GOLD Figure Skating Ice Dance Winter Olympics Sochi Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold Medal For Team USA - 2014 Olympics Ice Dancing (Review) Raising an Olympian: Meryl Davis and Charlie White | P&G Thank You, Mom | Sochi Olympic Winter Games Destiny -- Meryl Davis and Charlie White Meryl Davis and Charlie White win Gold for Ice Dancing United States Sochi Olympics review United States Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold In Ice Dancing 2014 Winter Olympics REVIEW Meryl Davis & Charlie White WIN GOLD Figure Skating Ice Dance Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics THOUGHTS Davis & White - World 2013 - FD Meryl DAVIS / Charlie WHITE - 2014 Nats - SD Meryl DAVIS / Charlie WHITE SD SA2013 United States Meryl Davis Charlie White WIN GOLD Figure Skating Ice Dance Winter Olympics REVIEW HD United States Meryl Davis and Charlie White Win Gold In Ice Dancing at Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics Meryl Davis & Charlie White - 2013 Skate America Free Dance (No commentary) The Olympic Moms Behind Meryl Davis and Charlie White Meryl Davis & Charlie White | ICE DANCING | LIVE 1-11-14 Meryl Davis & Charlie White | ICE DANCING |  Win Gold In Ice Dancing |  2014 Winter Olympics SD1 Meryl Davis / Charlie White 2014 US Champs Meryl Davis and Charlie White    Drunk In Love Progressive: Charlie White/ Meryl Davis Ice Dance Rehearsal Meryl Davis & Charlie White - Free Dance 'Sheherezade' (High Quality) FOX Focus: Meryl Davis and Charlie White Meryl Davis, Charlie White 1999 Thornhill Novice FD Davis/White 2010 Olympics OD 'Idian Folk Dance' Meryl DAVIS / Charlie WHITE - FD Davis&White FD Samson and Delilah 2009 4CC (CBC) Meryl Davis & Charlie White. FD. 2012 Prudential U.S. Figure Skating Championships Meryl Davis & Charlie White - 2012 World Championships - SD Meryl Davis and Charlie White WINS Gold Medal 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics   YouTube Meryl Davis & Charlie White USA Gold medal Figure Skating Ice Dance Sochi Olympics REVIEW WHITE Meryl FD Charlie DAVIS / - 2014 US Nationals-Meryl Davis & Charlie White FD [HD] 2014 US Nationals-Meryl Davis & Charlie White SD [HD] Russia's Tatiana Volosozhar & Maxim Trankov WIN GOLD Pairs Figure Skating 2014 Sochi Olymp God Gave Me You - Meryl Davis and Charlie White Meryl Davis & Charlie White (USA) - Free Dance - NHK Trophy 2013 US hopes ride on Davis and White in team ice dancing
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-20 18:01:47