OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Girl scouts
News

Indiana lawmaker: Girl Scouts in league with Planned Parenthood
By the CNN Wire Staff (CNN) -- An Indiana lawmaker who opposes celebrating the centennial anniversary of the Girl Scouts of America says the group "sexualizes" young girls, promotes homosexuality and is a tactical arm of Planned Parenthood.

How Girl Scouts helped her 'become person I am'
BY MAUDLYNE IHEJIRIKA Staff [email protected] February 21, 2012 7:58PM Barbara Wilbourne, a member of the first documented African American Girl Scouts troops in Savannah, GA (the birthplace of Girl Scouts) leads a 1940's Girl Scouts ...

It's Girl Scout Cookie Season
Don't miss out on your favorite Girl Scout cookie! Here's where to find your favorite, and a poll to tell us what they are! It's that time of year again. Everyone looks forward to purchasing a box or two of Girl Scout Cookies during the annual sales, ...

Girl Scout Cookie Season: Trefoils, Samoas, Thin Mints and More
By Nicquel Terry From left: Girl scouts Grace Back, Meghan Levitt, Madison Carico and Annika Sturdevant sell cookies at Fire & Spice and Everything Nice in downtown Clawson on Saturday. Local Girl Scout troops are in the season of cookie selling.

submit to reddit

Real-time

DiegoUK RT @DCdebbie: Their dulce de leche cookies r so good, they must b "illegal" MT @DavidShuster IN GOP lawmaker declares Girl Scouts are a subversive threat

eideard Radical Girl Scouts out to destroy American family values http://t.co/DqXRiRmI

Slimz81 Happy World Thinking Day everybody! Represent Girl Guides and Girl Scouts and tell everyone that #GirlsSaveOurPlanet!

genxgina RT @DCdebbie: Their dulce de leche cookies r so good, they must b "illegal" MT @DavidShuster IN GOP lawmaker declares Girl Scouts are a subversive threat

hapkidogal #GOPScareTacticMovie When Girl Scouts Attack

txstatedemocrat Indiana Republican Accuses Girl Scouts Of Pushing ‘Pro-Abortion’ Agenda, ‘Homosexual Lifestyles’ http://t.co/MsjAzzRT

Nicole1515 RT @DavidShuster Republican lawmaker in Indiana declares the Girl Scouts are a subversive threat. Seriously. Next hour on @bpshow

PinoysTV Video: TV Patrol 04-27-11 @ http://t.co/isyprwrT #girl scouts

Dooezer RT @DavidShuster: Republican lawmaker in Indiana declares the Girl Scouts are a subversive threat. Seriously. Next hour on @bpshow

KissMyGlock4 Girl scouts season lol http://t.co/XDC3GQ9F

DCdebbie Their dulce de leche cookies r so good, they must b "illegal" MT @DavidShuster IN GOP lawmaker declares Girl Scouts are a subversive threat

random_memory Indiana lawmaker: Girl Scouts in league with Planned Parenthood http://t.co/XrlZ0dyR #girlscouts

DenverChannel Lawmaker Calls Girl Scouts 'Radicalized' Group http://t.co/zVbiIbxe

LikusPJ @DavidShuster @bpshow Girl Scouts a faux para military outfit lulling us into a false sense of security by selling cookies tie to Al Quida?

Discussions

How much does it cost for a girl to join Girl Scouts? by karakittle Q: My niece is 7 and I think she will like to be a Girl Scout.

A: Your daughter would be a 1st year brownie. The fee is 10 dollars to join.If for whatever reason you cannot afford to join, they have a program called opportunity fund where they get you in for free. Depending on where you are from there will be a council nearby and they can tell you more. Dues vary with every troop. My troop is 20 dollars a month but they pay nothing for events, or patches. Some troops ask for 5 dollars a month but then you are out of pocket for everything as in supplies, patches and events. Brownies is such a special time as they are growing and need direction. Your daughter will learn so many things and skills that you and her will treasure for a long time! Also if she enjoys it I encourage you to start your own troop! It's great fun and so rewarding! :)

What is the teenage version of girl scouts called? by Q: Like the girl version of eagle scouts?

A: Geez, Haley, if you're going to plagiarize my answer, at least update the information from 3 years ago about the "brand new" level of Ambassadors. *eyeroll* (I'm not lying - I posted that 3 yaers ago here: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20081004165450AAUyRrF) In Girl Scouts, the levels are based entirely on what grade a girl is in, not on "ranks." Grades 6-8 are Cadettes, Grades 9-10 are Seniors, and Grades 11-12 are Ambassadors. All levels are referred to as "Girl Scouts" from kindergarten on up.

What college benefits do you get from girl scouts if any? by Help_Me Q: I heard someone mention that if your girl scout you can get some benefits for college. Does anyone know what they are and what the requirements are? My daughter's been a scout since daisy's and has her bronze award, but is now thinking she wants to take a break from them.

A: Are you asking about how it looks on the application? Or about scholarships? Colleges, in general, like to see some indication that a student has stuck with something they enjoy. So, instead of doing 20 different things for one year, doing one activity for 8 years looks better. IN GENERAL! But, remember that every college has their own criteria they use. There are scholarships for girl scouts that complete the gold award. Hope this helps some!

Does anyone know how I would go about signing my daughter up for Girl Scouts? by Holly Q: I live in Lebanon, Pennsylvania and I searched on the internet for Girl Scouts here and I can't find them. The local troop was supposed to be at my daughter's elementary school for the open house, but they never showed up. Anyone know anything about this?

A: Call the school office and ask them if they have a contact name. Here is info on the council in your area; they will know who is the contact for your school: Girl Scouts Heart of Pennsylvania Harrisburg, PA 17105-2837 (717) 233-1656 (800) 692-7816 - Local Toll Free Phone Email: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gshpa.org

can someone please give me a list of things girls do in girl scouts? by Elizabeth Q: my parents and grandparent are looking into girl scouts for me...i wanna go in but i also am so exited and so i want to know what they do in girl scouts. thanks!!!

A: Elizabeth.... LOL It's been about 40 years since I was in Girl Scouts...but, I loved it. Working on badges was great...you do projects that has to do with cooking at home and when camping, sewing, treating people or animals for first aid, nature facts, science projects, crafts of all kinds, learning about different nationalities, sign language, singing, vollunteering to help community, etc.,. You work on the badges mostly on your own time, and at meetings, your group does a project of some kind....even if it is raking a yard for an elderly person, visiting at the children's hospital, going to Pizza Hut and making your own pizza...lot's of fun indoor and outdoor games and sports, and numerous projects, etc.,. Depending on whom is your leader and their interests, you could really have a great time! LOL Later in life I was a cub scout leader for the boys group, had the same kind of fun! :) You could google Girl Scouts of America and learn more that way! Good Luck! :) ***LOL... LOVED the movie Troop Beverly Hills! However, since I live in Wisconsin, what they did in their troop was way off the wall for us! :)

How many girl scouts receive their bronze award? by Eliza Q: I Am going to get my silver award soon and i was wondering how many girls receive the various awards in girl scouting.

A: I read that 5500 girl scouts received their Gold Award last year, but I don't know the answer to your question about the Bronze Award, but I would like to congratulate you on earning your Silver Award and to encourage you to continue working hard towards your Gold Award. As an Eagle scout I can identify with the level of commitment and service it takes to earn such an honor. Scouting is such a rewarding experience, keep up the good work!

What have Girl Scouts in your community done in support of Girl Scout week? by lovnlife Q: Girl Scout Week 2009 is March 8 through the 14th. I was wondering what your communities have planned for this upcoming Girl Scout week or what they have done in the past. I work at a Girl Scout Council in Wisconsin and am trying to plan some events for our girls!

A: I wish I could help, I really do, but that would violate the conditions of my parole.

Where can girl scouts go for and overnight program in Atlanta? by pinkpolkadots Q: I'm planning a girl scout event for 2nd and 3rd graders, overnight. Where are some places near Atlanta that the girls can stay for an overnight programs. Thanks!

A: Atlanta Zoo does have an overnight program. The good news is that the girls get behind the scenes activity that you can't experience as a regular zoo visitor. The bad news, very pricey. Look at the Aquarium and Coca Cola plant and the museums. They may have overnight stays. If that doesn't work, spend an evening roughing. Most camp grounds such as KOA will have ready made fire rings, etc. making camping more convenient.

I have a girl scout group of middle school girls that cannot behave around other scouts.? by Cat H Q: I have a group of middle school aged girl scouts that whenever we are around another troop, they always misbehave, act wild or upset another troop leader. I have talked to them until I am out of breath, I have taken away trips. What can I do to emphasize that they are to set an example for younger girls?

A: Ask the PARENTS to attend the next regular meeting, when there is no trip in progress, Explain the problems that you've had calmly and politely. Have examples ready. Tell them that such behavior is contrary to the Girl Scout promise and rules and is unacceptable and will not be tolerated. Tell everyone that THE NEXT TIME there is trouble, the girls causing it will be expelled from the troop. Then do it. Yes, really.

Do the Girl Scouts of America discriminate against lesbians or female atheists from membership? by Samian's Twelfth Account Q: Obviously, the Boy Scouts won't admit gay men nor male atheists, but I don't know what the Girl Scouts' policy is.

A: Yes LDS Republican, I would be such a danger to your daughters. Fortunately the feeling is mutual, I don't want any LDS Republicans anywhere near my kids either. I have no idea, sounds like a job for google!!!! (I want to find out) This is a pdf, it's not their policies but a study done in 1989, and its very interesting. http://www.girlscouts.org/research/pdf/beliefs_moral_values_americas_children.pdf Here's something else, looks like they are neutral: http://archive.newsmax.com/archives/articles/2002/5/3/202745.shtml Last one, guess I don't have to boycott the cookies after all: http://www.cwfa.org/articles/8808/CFI/family/index.htm I want to change my td to a tu for Wombat

When you earn badges in girl scouts, does your scout leader buy them to give to you or what? by JazzyB. Q: Im in girl scouts and i have no idea how you get the badges that you have earned.

A: well the girl scout leader does buy them at the council store, but it does not come out of their pocket. they use money out of the troop account which you guys raised through cookie sales, etc. That's the whole point of fund-raising, to use it on the girls for badges, activities, camping trips.

How can i help the girl scouts? by Q: I am looking to help volunteer my time, i want to volunteer with girl scouts. What can i do?? Any recommendations? I am a twenty-four year old male.

A: dress up in a girl scout uniform and help sell cookies

What's the difference between Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts? by ♫Hope♫ Q: My mother had us in a Bible Scouts when my sisters and I were growning up. And while I appreciated it and will continue that with my child, I also want to give my child more like survival skills. But if my baby is a girl, will she do more than sell cookies? And if my baby's a boy, what should I know about boy Scouts?

A: Well, aside from the obvious differences (one is for boys and the other is for girls) the scout experience largely depends on who your scout leader is. The programs are actually very diverse and offers so many different types of badges and programs that your child would be exposed to all kinds of things. I was a girlscout for grades 1-9. In addition, my father was a boyscout leader so I had some exposure to that group as well. Both groups go camping, learn about civic responsibility and work on a wide variety of projects that can teach things about practically any field of study. Yes, girlscouts do sell cookies and boy scouts compete in those little car derbies. Any gender-based group is going to have some fundamental differences - but you can never change the fact that boys and girls are simply different. In addition, both groups thrive when the parents are involved. If you help your child with merit badges, offer to chaparone camping trips, etc - you will even further enrich your child's scouting experience.

How old is too old to be in Girl Scouts? by CoolKat Q: I am 14 and have never been in Girl Scouts, I have always wanted to. Is it too old to register now and enter in the right troop?

A: Not too old so go join and have fun. You may only get a few years but its worth the experience. You can stay on as a "Leader" to help new recruits when you get to 17 years or older.

Why are girls allowed to join the Boy Scouts but boys are not allowed to join the Girl Scouts? by Roger Q: Also why was the Boy Scouts of America forced to drop the word "Boy" and call itself "Scouting" while the girls one was allowed to keep the title of Girl scouts?

A: Because letting boys into the girl scouts would be sexist to not let girls have a female only group to join. And you can't have a male-only group, that's sexist and oppressive.

Can my homeschooled daughter join Girl Scouts? by Object Permanence Q: Are homeschooled girls welcome in Girl Scouts, or do they need to attend an area school to join?

A: I can't see any reason why your daughters could not join Scouts. Scouting is not run by the public school system nor do they receive government funds. They are a private organization, therefor it would be discrimination if they did not allow your daughters to join.

Anyone have ideas on how i could work towards getting the gold award for girl scouts?!? by Riot Q: Anyone have ideas on how i could work towards getting the gold award for girl scouts?!

A: Rescue and foster neglected animals. It really makes a difference.

What food/items should the Girl Scouts start selling, in place of the cookies they are ditching? by ~~Birdy~~ Q: They are now going down to six flavors. I think they should diversify their merchandise, like Avon has. No big deal, but what do you suggest they sell? KEEP IT CLEAN; THESE ARE GIRL SCOUTS most creative answer wins

A: There is no replacement for girl scout cookies

When Do Girl Scouts start selling cookies? by Carmelita B Q: When do Girl Scouts start selling their cookies?

A: This year? Well, here in the United States, in 2010, the annual Girl Scout cookie sale will officially start February 22nd. Stock up! Girl Scout troops can always use the money.

If America is now really strict on calories, then why on earth do we allow girl scouts to sell their cookies? by apple picking Q: It doesn't make sense. They are strict on fast-food restaurants, a lot of schools are prhibited to sell candy fundraisers, schools and many public places have gotten rid of vending machines, so why can girl scouts sell their extremely fattening cookies? lowjoy....i don't think this is going over the top.

A: Because they are crazy delicious- and for those who freak out at the mention of calories they have a low calorie type of cookie resembling the 100 calorie pack type snacks,

Would Girl Scouts look good on my college application? by Q: Would girl scouts look good on my college application if I had the Bronze, Silver, and Gold awards? Thank you so much!

A: Yes! Pretty much any organized activity looks good on college applications, as long as you show dedication over a significant period of time - and Girl Scouts and the like are very respectable organizations!

How old do you have to be to volunteer at a girl scouts troop? by Helen♥ Q: I'm 16 years old and I was in Girl Scouts for a couple years when I was younger. I was wondering how old do you have to be to help them out and such? Like not actually be the leader but just a helper? I'd love to do that and that would look really good on a college resume! :)

A: You'd have to register as a Girl Scout yourself (even if helping is all you want to do - you don't have to join a troop; you can register as a "Juliette" - an independent Girl Scout). There are a variety of trainings you could take (Program Aide, then specializations within that, Leader In Training) depending on what level you are, or you could most likely just find some local leaders who'd love another set of hands and ideas to help out at meetings if you don't want to pursue GS awards for it. If you contact your local GS Council, they can point you in the right direction if you don't know anyone locally already involved.

When do the girl scouts start sitting outside the stores? by Jessica R Q: I'm in Costa Mesa, CA and I want to know when the girl scouts start setting up outside of grocery stores here? I can't wait! And when they do... what time can I find them there?

A: I am starting up with my troop this coming weekend- so yours might come this weekend or next. They are usually out at about 2:00 to 5:30 or so. Hope this helps! P.S. Have you tried Tagalongs? They're my favorite!! :D

Who would win in a fight between a ninja and a group of girl scouts? by wingweaver164 Q: Yeah, who would win? The evil scourge called "Girl Scouts" or the totally awesome ninjas?

A: No contest. There are no real girl scouts. All the real girl scouts have already been baked into cookies.

Is there a better program to get my daughters involved in than Girl Scouts/ Brownies for adventure? by benedictarnold2000 Q: I've always seen Girl Scouts/ Brownies as marketing gimmicks that almost never go camping or do outdoor activities. Is there a you adventurer's program or something East Coast oriented I can get them involved in?

A: A Girl Scout troop can be as adventurous as the girls and their adult volunteers. So go ahead and start your own troop, and have all the adventures you can! We have some great guy leaders in our area, they add a whole new perspective and set of resources for all of us.

Who will be helping the Girl Scouts meet their financial goals? by Daisymae Q: I really weak when it comes to the Thin Mints but I can't find where they are selling in my location. It is not on their website like they stated. Do girl scouts still sell their cookies in front of grocery stores?

A: For the past 2 years I can't find any Girl Scout Cookies anywhere...even to the point of seeing if I can order them online. Is that possible? They just haven't been around here and I don't understand it. I love those cookies too.

How much money do you have to pay to become a girl scouts? by riolufav Q: Hi.Um...I would like to become a girl scout because I never went to summer camp,and I'm looking for scholarships.My parents says that the girl scouts cost expensive(like $150 or more).And I want to know how much is it? Thank you!!!

A: Girl Scouts costs $10.00 to register with Girl Scouts USA. You'll need to contact your local council to get a registration form. You can register at ANY time during the year. Depending on your age there are troops for middle schoolers - Cadettes, for fresh/soph in HS-Ambassadors (new), and for junior/senior in HS-Seniors. If there isn't a group of older girls that meet in your area, ask about being a Juliette. They're basically scouts who do the work on their own but are still Girl Scouts. If you join a troop they are lots of fun. Dues are generally monthly and are set by the individual troop but ours are $6/mo. If you sell cookies that puts a good chunk of money into the troop for supplies, patches, trips, etc. Each troop does things slightly different. Trips are like school trips where there is usually a cost but trips are optional usually. So Girl Scouts is really very inexpensive at $10 to start and $6+/- per month. Girl Scout Camps can be $150/wk - $300+/wk but that's for summer camps and TOTALLY optional. www.girlscouts.org

How can you quit Girl Scouts without your leader hurting you? by Romie Q: I'm in Girl Scouts and I don't want to be. My best friend is in it to and her mom is the leader. Her mom is insane!!! She acts like Girl Scouts is everything and I'm scared if I quit than my friends mom will hate me forever. I'm not blowing it out of proportion, another quit like a year ago and my friends mom never says anything nice about her. Please give your advice.

A: just quit going. why do you care if your friends mom likes you or not. your friends with your friend, not her mom.

Have Conservatives resorted to fear mongering by demonizing the Girl Scouts? by Q: The right-wing Concerned Women for America (CWA) group says the Girl Scouts ''were working with Planned Parenthood to secretly distribute sex manuals to young girls.'' Now the Catholic Family and Human Rights Institute is insinuating the same. My younger sister's a Girl Scout, and trust me, these accusations are outrageous. When will Cons show some class and stop going after one of the largest and most reputable organization for girls in America?

A: You dare to talk of this when your ilk banned the boy scouts from any public schools they could not hold their meeting in schools they could not wear their uniform's in school in the insane city of San Fransisco It's liberal crap like this that drives me mad makes me want to arm myself and rid my country of them

What are the requirements for independent(Juliette) girl scouts? by Dancetiger17 Q: Is there a place to find a list of requirements for independent girl scouts? I couldn't find it on the GS website.

A: The best answer might actually come from your local council. I have found through the years dealing with Girl Scouts that answers vary council to council. If you have a local website the information might be in there as well vs the Official Girl Scouts of the USA site. I am working with my daughter to have her become a Juliette as well. Good luck and be proud of yourself for sticking with it so long.

What are the girl scouts in Poland called? by ANGIE Q: My Brownie Troop is doing a presentation for Thinking Day. And our troop decided to do Poland. So I need to know what the Girl Scouts in Poland are called and any information on Poland as possible. Links to web sites would be great.

A: In Poland the scouts are coeducationally organized in one Scouting organisation : ZHP, Związek Harcerstwa Polskiego (The Polish Scouting Association). Brownies are called "zuchenki" and Girl Guides "harcerki". See also : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_the_Scout_movement_in_Poland

How can you tell the difference between real Girl Scouts and rogue Girl Scouts...? by Miley 4 President Q: How can you tell the difference between real Girl Scouts and rogue Girl Scouts selling counterfeit cookies?

Can you conservatives stop picking on little Girl Scouts please? by Q: For goodness sake, they're just little girls. I don't understand how you guys can pretend to be so holy and nice and try to degrade something as innocent as the Girl Scouts.

A: Shhhh!!!! If Republicans boycott the Girl Scouts, it means more Thin Mint cookies for the rest of us! Stopping giving it away!! You're ruining everything!!

Can someone that is currently a senior complete a girl scouts gold award? by Q: My friend and I are both currently high school seniors. We were wondering if we started now would we have time to complete a girl scouts gold award? Does it have to be completed by the time we graduate? What are the age limits? We would like to do it for military reasons but we're afraid it's too late.

A: You need to finish it by Sept. 30th of the year you graduate (so Sept. 30, 2012 for you). Are you already Girl Scouts? If you are and have completed two Journeys for Seniors or Ambassadors, you may be able to, but it's not going to be easy. Most girls take a couple of years between planning, getting approved, completing the project, then completing the required paperwork afterward. If you haven't done the two Journeys as Seniors and Ambassadors (or finished your Silver Award and one Senior or Ambassador Journey), I can't imagine there's any way you'd be able to finish in time and do a project of any meaning. Find your local GS Council and call it, most have a teen program specialist on staff who can help you figure out how/if to proceed if you don't have a local troop you're working with.

At what age can girls join the Russian Girl Scouts? by SLW-K Q: I am only interested in the WAGGGS affiliated girl scouts. Girl Scouts in the US belong to WAGGGS and while there is a girl scouts/guides in Russia, I cannot read Russian to know how old a girl must be to join their association.

A: You can write a letter or send an email to the Russian Association of Girl Scouts (member of the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts). Someone there is likely to know English well. Are you or will you be living in Russia? If you are American, you can likely find an American troop located in major cities. Search for USA Girl Scouts Overseas for more information. Russian Federation Rossiskaya Assotsiatsia Devochek-Skautov (RADS) Chief Commissioner Kirov Street 132.B, Apt.34 400079 VOLGOGRAD Email: [email protected]

How do I keep girl scouts from vandalizing my property? by Miley 4 President Q: How do I keep girl scouts from spraying graffiti on my house and throwing rocks at my windows?

A: Are you sure it's Girl Scouts doing it? If so, I would approach them (if you catch them) and ask them which troop they're in and go find the troop leader - they might get kicked out or something. Also, speak to their parents because I bet they wouldn't be pleased to find their daughter doing that sort of thing. Or just call the cops. Install some surveillance video and record it and hand it over to the cops. I've worked with Girl Scouts for YEARS and have a difficult time picturing my girls ever doing that.

What do I have to do in order to earn the Audiovisual patch in Girl Scouts? by Kεls ☃ Q: There's a project I'd like to do in Girl Scouts and in the patch book there's one for audiovisual. I do not have access to the Cadet Girl Scout badge books, so could someone tell me what there is to do in order to earn that patch? Is there any online source that tells the requirements/steps that are needed to be done in order to earn this patch? Thanks!

A: This link has all the requirements to the "From A to V: Audiovisual" Interest Project: http://server.ellenbecker.net:4271/IPP%20Requirements.htm#From_A_to_V:_Audiovisiual_Production_

What is the minimum age for joining Girl Scouts in Minnesota? by Q: My daughter Lisa is going to be five on October 4th and isn't going to be in kindergarten until the fall of 2012 because she missed the age cutoff for school. My daughter is very interested in doing girl scouts. Can she join right when she turns five or does she have to wait until she starts kindergarten? Thanks!

A: Technically, they are suppose to go by the grade level in the local school system, therefore she isn't suppose to join until next year. Up until a few years ago the official policy went by age as of Oct 1 and not by the local grade/age cut off. The rules are not "set in concrete" and have a little leeway. Your best bet is to contact you local service unit's troop organizer and ask them if there is a troop of younger 5 yr olds that didn't make the K cut off. I would also recommend that if you do get her in a daisy troop this year, that you keep her in for 3 years instead of moving her up after 2. This way she would be with girls in her grade level and wouldn't be the youngest girl in her troop. Unfortunately I have seen troops get held back from doing activities that most of the girls were old enough for because of 1 or 2 younger girls that were place in a troop a level above what their age/grade level would have them at. You can find a link for your local council website at: http://www.girlscouts.org/council finder/ Once at the council website look for a troop locator, new member section or service unit directory etc that would get you in touch with the leadership in your area.

Where do I find information about Italian Girl scouts for thinking day ? by tired mom Q: We are doing Italy for Thinking Day and our contribution to the group is all about Italian girl scouts. Uniforms , badges , songs and games. Please help

A: You should either contact the Italian Scout Federation (FIS), or either AGESCI or CNGEI, the two major Scout organisations in Italy, and ask them for related informations.

Recipe's for Girl Scouts to make during camp? by James R Q: I am looking for recipes - besides banana boats and s'mores - that girl scouts can make during summer camp. The girls have access to fire, pots, utensils, and thats about it. I have no cooking experience. Can anyone help me?

A: Try the following and have fun with others: ROAST PANEER SANDWICH Part I:300 gms paneer marinate with ½ tsp each ginger and garlic, salt to taste, ½ tsp lime juice, ¼ tsp pepper powder. Keep aside for 10 mins. And shallow fry or grill. And cut into thin slices. Part II:1 cup mayonnaise flavoured with 2 tbsp lime juice, 4 tbsp chopped mint and mix, 2 French loafs, 50 gms butter. Part III:Cut the loaf in two, one side apply butter, one side apply flavoured mayonnaise, arrange the paneer slice, keep salad leaves (opt.), and cover with another loaf, hold with tooth pick, cut as per your choice and serve. KABAB SANDWICH Part I:1 cup soya granules, soak and squeeze and use. 3 boiled potato, ½ cup corn flour, ½ cup coriander chopped, 2 green chilly chopped, 1 tbsp ginger chopped, 1 tbsp garlic chopped, ½ lime juice. Mix all together, make it in to kababs and deep or shallow fry and keep aside. Part II:½ cup tomato chutney, take a bread, apply chutney on both the sides, place kababs, cover, hold with tooth pick and cut into two and serve. TOMATO CHUTNEY: Ingredients:½ kg tomato puree, 1 onion chopped, 5 flakes of garlic chopped, ¼ tsp ajwain, salt to taste, 2 tbsp red chilly sauce, ½ tsp chilly powder, oil, 1 capsicum chopped, 1 tbsp coriander chopped. Method:Heat oil in pan, add garlic, ajwain, onion, fry for a minute, add tomato, capsicum, fry till oil separates, add rest ingredients, mix and use. MOZZERELLA LOAF Part I:1 loaf bread, ½ cup tomato chutney, ½ cup mustard flavoured mayonnaise, ½ cup garlic flavoured butter. Few cheese slices. ½ cup Mozzarella cheese grated. Part II:On a loaf make equal slits, apply tomato chutney on one slice, apply mayonnaise on another slice, apply butter on another slice, apply cheese on one slice, hold with toothpick, and sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top. Grill it in a hot oven for 10 mins. at 180oC. TRIPLE LAYERED SANDWICH Part I:Steam one bundle spinach, steam almost dry, cool and make a paste, add chopped 1 tsp garlic, ½ tsp chilly paste, salt to taste. Part II:300 gms paneer marinate with ½ tsp each ginger and garlic, salt to taste, ½ tsp lime juice, ¼ tsp pepper powder. Keep aside for 10 mins. And shallow fry or grill. And grate in a bowl. Add 2 tbsp tomato ketchup, 1 tbsp chilly sauce. Part III:1 cup mayonnaise (your choice of flavour). Method:Arrangement: Take a three sliced bread, cut the wedges, On one slice apply Part I, On another slice apply Part II and on the third slice apply Part III. Arrange one above the other. Cut in to 4 triangles and serve. WALNUT FINGER SANDWICH Part I:18 large slices of brown bread. Part II:For filling: 250 gms cheese spread, 50 gms coarsely ground walnut, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp paprika, 1 tsp green chilly chopped, 250 gms curds hanged in a cloth for 1 hour. 2 tbsp Tabasco, 100 gms grated cheese. Mix all in a bowl and keep aside. Part III:3 cups iceberg lotus julienne. 200 gms Mushroom cut into small pieces, shallow fried and use. 150 gms garlic flavoured butter. Mix and keep aside. Part IV:Cut the wedges of bread, spread Part II cover with second slice, spread Part III, cover with third slice, hold with tooth pick and cut it into two. LARGE BUFFET SANDWICH Part I:10 slice of large jumbo bread, 4 tbsp garlic butter, 300 gms smoked paneer, 1 cup flavoured mayonnaise mix with 1 tbsp Tabasco sauce, 1 tsp chilly sauce, 5 sliced cheese, 5 iceberg lotus Part II:Spread on one slice butter, 2nd slice mayonnaise and arrange paneer pieces, cheese, iceberg lotus, close with 2nd slice and hold with tooth pick and cut into two and serve or grill. OPEN AMERICAN SANDWICH Part I:Brown sliced bread, ¼ cup of garlic flavorite butter, 200 gms grilled mushroom marinate with ½ tsp ginger-garlic paste, salt to taste, and grill it in a hot oven for 10 minutes. Part II:6 tbsp mint flavoured in Mayonnaise or plain, 4 tomato slice, 2 onion sliced thinly (opt.), 6 slice cheese, ½ tsp paprika, each of salt, pepper, little mozzarella cheese (opt.). Part III:On the each slice of bread, spread mayonnaise, tomato, onion, mushroom, cheese slice, sprinkle pepper, salt, paprika, sprinkle mozzarella cheese Foil on a baking tray, arrange each slices of bread, grill it in a hot oven for 5 minutes or till crisp or serve plain, cut into middle. MIX VEG ROLL Part I:1 cup chopped and boiled vegetables ( Carrot, French beans, peas and potato), Part II:1 onion chopped, ½ tsp garlic – ginger chopped, 1 green chilly chopped, 1 tbsp coriander chopped, salt to taste, 1 tbsp oil, ¼ tsp garam masala, ¼ tsp kitchen king masala. Part III:Heat oil in a pan, add onion, ginger, garlic and chilly. Fry for 5 mins. Add rest ingredients, add vegetables. Mix and keep aside. Part IV:Take 2-3 dinner roll cut into middle and fill the above stuffing from Part III. MUSHROOM TOAST Part I:200 gms mushroom chopped, ¼ cup cream, 2 tbsp cheese, 3 garlic crushed, 1 tbsp butter. Salt to taste, ¼ tsp crushed pepper. Part II:Heat butter in a pan, add garlic, fry for a minute. Add mushroom, sauté for a minute. Add rest ingredient, mix for a minute. On a sliced bread, spread over the filling and toast in a hot oven for 10 mins at 180oC. FARM HOUSE LOTUS ROLL Part I:Use same mushroom from above recipe. 1 cup tomato chutney. Part II:1 cup butter, 1 tbsp bread crumb, ¼ tsp paprika, 2 tbsp red wine (opt.). Mix all together and cook for 2 mins. Arrangement: Take one large loaf, cut into two, Scoop out both the side. Arrange the mushroom, spread tomato chutney, Bake it in a hot oven for 10 mins at 180oC. Remove from oven and pour Part II and serve.

Can you join the brownies or girl scouts if your an atheist or a homosexual? by Q: My friend wants to join the girl scouts and she asked me if I would come with her. The only problem is that she is a lesbian and I am an atheist. I hear a rumor that your not allowed into the brownies or scouts if your an atheist or homosexual. Is this true?

A: Not true. Boy Scouts has that policy; Girl Scouts of the USA (GSUSA) is an entirely separate organization with different rules and guidelines. It is official policy to accept all girls and adults without regard to sexual orientation on the national level. The Girl Scout Promise - which all members have to accept - does include the promise to "serve God," but the organization has added that "the word "God" can be interpreted in a number of ways, depending on one's spiritual beliefs. When reciting the Girl Scout Promise, it is okay to replace the word "God" with whatever word your spiritual beliefs dictate." If you don't believe in anything, that's a bit harder (I tend to say "to serve good" since I'm kind of agnostic when I'm not teaching it to girls, just reciting it). The Constitution of GSUSA states: "The motivating force in Girl Scouting is spiritual. The ways in which members identify and fulfill their spiritual beliefs are personal and private." So, atheism is kind of a gray area, but you'll probably never have an issue if you don't make an issue of it (like, your troop won't try to convert you, but if you mock their religions, don't expect them to sit back and take it while considering your non-belief sacred - and vice versa!)

Do the girl scouts have the same discrimination rules as the boy scouts? by Q: The boy scout handbook states that no person who is homosexual, agnostic, or atheist may be a member of the boy scouts. I'm just curious as to if the girl scouts have the same rules.

A: No, assuming you are speaking about GSUSA. I can not speak for GS in other countries. Unfortunately the Christian right has attacked GSUSA repeatedly, including spreading bold faced lies, because the Christian right does not believe in equality. I have actually had a mother remove her daughter from the troop and try to get my daughter and me banned from GS since we are Wiccan. Council not only backed me, but I am now heavily involved in our service unit and our local day camp. However to defend BSUSA to a point:I do not agree with their policy and refused to allow my son to participate due to the national policies. However I have learned that locally there is more of a "don't ask don't tell" policy especially when it come to religion. ETA: GSUSA never banned homosexuals, therefore there was never a time when GSUSA opened the organization up to homosexuals. Also "duty to God" was never in the GS promise. To serve God is still in the promise. It has not been removed. It has been about 20 year (no not a couple) since GSUSA issued a statement that God is optional in the promise. GSUSA registration is not dropping either. I see the poster from Boy Scouts knows nothing about GSUSA other than the propaganda spread by American Heritage Girls. Funny how AHG only means of recruitment is to slander GSUSA. I thought lying was a sin, but apparently lying to gain members in a Christian organization is OK.

Where is the Girl Scouts Ceremony for the high school age kids? by Kearuneh Q: My sister is in Girl scouts in Palm Coast FL, and I know the ceremony is in st Augustine. Does anyone know the exact address?

A: I want to know that too, anyone know?

Do the girl scouts uphold the same policies as the boy scouts? by Kia Koala Victorino (8) Q: Meaning, do the Girl scout have the same anti-gay policies as the Boy scouts? I have heard they are a separate organization. And if so, do I need to stop buying their cookies?

A: No they do not! They accept lesbian members as well as troupe leaders. They do not subscribe to the same discriminatory policies as the BSA. So Keep buying those Girl Scout Cookies! Besides, they're really yummy! But strangely enough, I still support the Boy Scouts, I just wish they would stay out of public schools. My brother went through scouting and it did him a lot of good. They teach boys valuable life and civic lessons. I my disagree with their policy on gays, but I can't completely be non-supportive of the work they do and the safe place for boys to learn.

Our town Girl Scouts are doing a community project and we need a catchy title? by I love my pets Q: We are going to be collecting supplies for our local animal shelter. For the duration of one month we will be going, troop by troop, road by road, around house to house leaving a bag and a note asking for supplies. We will be collecting anything for animals, food, blankets, pillows, sheets, etc. We need a really catchy title for our project. I am usually really good at these things but I am completely stumped on this one!!! Help! Serious answers only please.This is for the Girl Scouts, so be respectful.

A: Paws (pause) for a Cause! Help your best friend! (man's best friend)

Is there an organization, similar to Girl Scouts, but for college aged women or older? by Wondering Q: When I was younger, I was a Brownie Girl Scout. I wasn't able to graduate beyond that because my leader wasn't going to progress with my troop after a certain age, so there were no leaders available to me. I really wish though, that I had been able to be in Girl Scouts all through my middle/ high school career. I know I would have learned so much and would have been an example for other girls like me. I'm in college now, and I am wondering if there is anything like the Girl Scouts for young women my age (20 y/o). Any information would be appreciated.

A: Actually, you can still be a Girl Scout! There is a program called "Campus Girl Scouts" specifically for girls in college. It is a great program! Contact your local Girl Scout council to learn more - if your school doesn't have a chapter, maybe you could start one! If being a Girl Scout doesn't appeal to you, think about being a Girl Scout leader or assistant leader. As you are well aware from your personal experience, many young girls can't be Girl Scouts because there just aren't enough adult volunteers. This would give you the chance to relive what you missed, while providing girls the opportunity that you missed out on! Good Luck!

What percentage of Girl Scout Cookie revenue ends up in the hands of the girl scouts? by DBrain Q: Everyone bends over backwards and digs deep into their pockets every year to help out the Girl Scouts with their cookie drive, as if they stayed up all night baking them. I am sure this is exactly what the Girl Scout Cookie manufacturer wants us to believe. So what percentage actually ends up in the hands of the Girl Scouts, and what percentage ends up in the hands of this corporation?

A: This is what I remember from the "cookie crumbles" handout we got last year (these are rounded to the nearest even cent). $.80 - baker $.60 - individual troop. $. 20 (ish) - patches, stuffed animals, other "incentives" $1.90 - the local council (National doesn't get any of this money) So the baker itself only gets about 80 cents per box, the rest stays with the local Girl Scouts.

Girl scouts????????????? by iluvmoi100 Q: Girl scouts????????????? what do you do in girl scouts? is it fun? dont you meet every thursday or is it different for every state?

A: My first year of girl scouts was in 2nd grade. We met twice a week. The day that you met depends on the days in which your troup leaders pick. Yes, I have had lots of fun in girl scouts. But, scouts isn't just about fun, it is about learning, and helping others. Girl scouts is a very open thing so there is definitely something that will spark your interest. Girl scouts can work on badges, charms and award (bronze, silver, gold) No matter what project you are working on it is up to you (or your leader or troop) to decide what you are going to do. Girl scouts isn't very strict when it comes to earning badges, charms, and awards. They will allow you to choose what to do. During the summer there is also Girl Scout camps. These camps are cheaper. So if your family can't afford to send you to a regular girls camp you can go to a Girl Scout camp. I have been to a few of these camps and learned so much there. Not all of it was fun (fell of a horse) but I learned so much and made some great friends. Right now I am a Juliet scout or independent scout. Which means that I don't have a troop, but work by myself. So if you can't find a troop nearby you can be an independent scout. Hope this helps,

girl scouts? by stella Q: my daughter is in her 2nd year of girl scouts. im beginning to have problem with the fact that almost everytime they meet i need to pay for this and that. i thought that dues were to cover things like this and also the fundraising money. there are 13-15 girls in the group, and everyone pays. wouldnt you think thats plenty or am i just being frugal. it doesnt seem like she really gets anything out of g.s. other than having a play date with friends. i would rather spend the money on a sport where ahe can see and feel her accomplishments rather than just earning a patch. plz help with this matter.

A: I had this problem with my son being in the Boys and Girls Club karate. EVERY month the students "needed" something new! It got to be about 60 dollars every month. I can't afford that. Talk to you daughter and see what she says. Explain to her that this is an expense that is hard for you to reach. She might understand my son did. Then you can use that money for a sport or some sort of hobby that she enjoys.

Girl Scouts?????? by Arleigh Q: I'm 14 ( almost 15) and want to join the Girl Scouts. Should I join? And what kind of stuff do they do for my age group? And also, how would I go about getting in a troop? I live in Virginia. In Chesapeake.

A: I am currently a girl scout and have been one since first grade(14 now) and basically what you do at our age is help the younger girls with programs and meetings with your troop are just like hanging out with your friends and learning about fun stuff like dancing and cooking and theirs programs with all kinds of stuff like mall lock-ins, overnights,and other stuff but i really like it because it lets me spend some time with friends who don't go to my school...go to girlscout.org idk where you live or i could tell you the district you are in but just get in contact with your local chapter and they can put you into a troop in your area...hope you join!!!!!

Images
Videos
How To Sell Girl Scout Cookies WHAT CAN A COOKIE DO? Girl Scout Cookie Money Theft - Worst Teenage Criminals GSUSA-Don't Boycott Girl Scout Cookies-Support GSUSA-Buck Angel Senator Dianne Feinstein Girl Scout Flash Mob in Union Station Girl Scout Law Song Angry Bloggers Threaten to Boycott Girl Scout Cookies Transgender Girl Scouts Now Accepted Girl Scout Cookie Flash Mob GIRL SCOUT RAP!!! VIRGINS, GIRL SCOUTS, & BABIES : A Video About 'RUMORS' UGLIEST GIRL SCOUTS EVER! (9.23.11 - Day 876) 03-011 Juliette Low and the Girl Scouts GSUSA Transgenders Girl Scouts Reaction Girl Scouts & K12 I Want to Rock the Mall On Transgender Girl Scouts... Response to Transgender Girl Scout Cookie Boycott Girl Scouts USA 2011 National Convention Girl Scouts Invent Prosthetic Hand Device Girl Scout Cookie Shot - TipsyBartender Against boycotting girl scout cookies!!! Boy wants to be a Girl Scout. Bobby Montoya views himself as a girl Breaking: The Boycott of Girl Scout Cookies Sparks Controversy Girl Scouts Go High-Tech for Cookie Sales Girl Scout Cookies - Medical Marijuana Strain Review New Girl Scouts Cookie Savannah Smiles Celebrates 100th Year -- News Story Girl Scouts Brower Youth Award 2011 Girl Scout Cookies Unwrapped! Management Lessons from the Girl Scouts IGNITE, Girl Scouts Rock the Mall, Official Theme Song, 100th Anniversary Sing Along! Girl Scouts Rock the Mall Flashmob at Union Station One box of Girl Scout cookies worth $15 billion You're Invited to Girl Scouts Rock the Mall: 100th Anniversary Sing-Along Girl Scout cookies: An environmental threat? Boycott Girl Scout Cookies (revised response) Spokesperson For Girl Scouts of the USA Comments On A Possible Association With Planned Parenthood Do NOT Boycott Girl Scout Cookies! Video response to the Boycott Girl Scout Cookies video Girl Scouts CEO On Selling Women's Leadership Quad Talk: Transgender and the Girl Scouts WI Girl Scout leader asked to step down due to 'evil' and 'satanic' personal life Girl Scouts Ignite Airplane! (4/10) Movie CLIP - Girl Scout Tussle (1980) HD Girl Scouts USA are NOT 'Neutral' ... about abortion and many other sensitive issues Homemade Girl Scouts Thin Mint Cookies Lila Rose interviews Ex-Girlscouts Sydney and Tess about GSUSA-PP Alliance Boycotting Girl Scout Cookies?! (My Response) We Sell The Cookies (A Girl Scouts Anthem) Dumbest Girls Ever Steal Girl Scout Money (raw interview)
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-07 01:29:55