OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Breast feeding
News

HEALTHBEAT: Forget Time magazine cover; real issue in breast-feeding is too ...
WASHINGTON — The real issue with breast-feeding is this: Too few infants who could really benefit from it are getting mom's milk. Sure, Time magazine's cover photo of a woman breast-feeding her 3-year-old is generating debate about how old is too old.

Breast-feeding a 3-year-old is normal, anthropologist says
By Elizabeth Weise, USA TODAY Despite the brouhaha over breast-feeding kicked off by a Time magazine cover photo this week of a mom nursing her 3-year-old son, that's actually the norm worldwide, experts say. But breast-feeding children that old is ...

Breastfeeding is a Choice, Let's Treat it that Way
It is high time to declare an end to the breastfeeding dictatorship that is drowning women in guilt and worry just when they most need support: after the birth of a child. Breastfeeding has gone from being an ideal option for new mothers to a mandatory ...

The breast-feeding story we should be talking about
By Alexandra Le Tellier Time magazine fanned the flame around the "attachment parenting" debate Thursday with its provocative cover of a young mom breast-feeding her almost 4-year-old-son. Imagine the controversy the cover would have sparked if she ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

Discussions

What formula is best if not breast feeding? by Q: Gerber Good Start seems good though I don't know and am seeking advice from those that have experience. Which do you think is best, if not breast feeding, and why is the formula you advice the best?

A: When I was pregnant with my first I did my research on formulas. On the back of the can on Parents Choice (Wal-Mart brand) where they list the ingredients, they also list the ingredients of Enfamil and Similac, so I bought a can so that I could sit and compare the nutrition of the 3 and the Parents Choice was WAY better than Similac and kinda neck and neck with Enfamil but the PC was half the price of Enfamil so I decided to go with the Parents Choice. I didn't compare the PC to Gerber because my Wal-Mart doesn't offer a very large selection of that, but they cary a very large selection of PC (iron, soy, gentle, sensitive etc.). Formula is expensive and as long as my baby was getting the nutrients that he needed, I didn't see anything wrong with going with a generic brand that is half the price of name brand.

What are the possibilities of becoming pregnant again while breast feeding & on birth control? by Nevar21 Q: I've been on birth control for a while now and breast feeding also. I still haven't gotten my period since I've had my daughter (nearly 5 months ago) and was wondering if I was still ovulating and could still get pregnant while on the pill and breast feeding.

A: you should consider your chances of getting pregnant while BF and on the pill the same as if you were just on the pill. BF def dosent reliably stop pregnancy so just elminate it as a variable of contraception. You may or may not be ovulating, the influx of hormones from BF can help to mask this, so just assume you are to be safe. Take your pill regularly, use back-up method if you take antibiotics, corticosteroids, sedatives or miss a pill and you should have the same chance of not getting pregnant as anyone else who isnt BF. In response to another answer....not all birth control is going to affect the baby. I breastfed a BOY baby while i took birth control. Im sure you have gotten a new birthcontrol pill from you docotor that is safe for BF such as a POP (progesterine only pill) or mini-pill. these are just fine for pregnancy.

I am breast feeding every two hours? How do i know if I am making enough breast milk? by Single123 Q: I am a new mom and I am breast feeding every two hours? But I am scared that I am not making enough breast milk. I try to pump extra in between and its seems that I cant get no more than an ounce when I am pumping. My daughter is breastfeeding for 30min to and hour and then a couple og hours later she is ready to eat again. She is now two weeks old, and premature she was born at 34 weeks.

A: sounds perfectly normal, your doing great keep it up

How can I increase breast milk supply after stopping breast feeding for 2 months? by Q: I fed my baby with breast milk & formula for the first 6 months but had to stop breast milk after that. I haven't breast fed her for the past 2 months. Is there anyway I can increase the milk supply and start feeding her again? - A worried mother

A: You can increase your milk supply but it will take work! If you haven't stopped lactating completely it will be easier. You will need to nurser her at the breast as well as pump as often as possible, no longer than every two hours. When you do need to feed her with formula until your milk comes fully in, use one of the supplemental nursing system that Medela makes so your breasts will still get the stimulation. I would recommend you start taking a couple of herbal supplements such as fenugreek and goat's rue. Both work to increase milk supply and goat's rue will also help develope more mammary gland tissue. Be sure to consume plenty of calories and stay hydrated as both supplements can lower blood sugar, as well as making milk just requires more calories and can dehydrate you. If you have stopped lactating completely (doubtful so quickly), don't fret. It is possible for women who have never had a child to induce lactation simply by pumping with or without herbal supplements. You could try Motherlove More Milk Special Blend. I have used the two main ingredients found in it's formula and it really did work. Again, make sure you have your baby close as much as possible and nurse often, even when using formula until your milk comes in with a supplemental feeder. Best wishes with your breastfeeding.

How much breast milk should I be feeding my newborn? by Q: I am feeding my 6 day old newborn 3 oz of my pumped breast milk every 3-4 hours. After each feeding I pump more. I have looked everywhere to figure out if that is the correct amount and frequency but all answers I've come across only apply to if you are breast feeding (not using pump) so I'm not sure if she's getting enough or too much. Please leave references, thank you!!!

Can you menstrate while still breast feeding? by lup Q: I am 6 weeks post pardom and I am breast feeding. I have started to bleed. It seems just like my periord. Could this be? Is this okay? I stopped bleeding from deliverly 2 weeks ago. I did not think you were supposed to get your periord until you stopped breast feeding? Thanks for any advice.

A: Theoretically breastfeeding reduces the chance of getting pregnant again. However, like trying to use ovulation timing to prevent pregnancy, this is just as reliable. It's only slightly better that taking absolutely no precautions. Anyone who relies on breastfeeding exclusively for birth control will likely end up with a double bonus. On the plus side, you can feed two at once. Better hope the second time isn't twins.

What are your thoughts on breast feeding? by UKnowUWantMe Q: I got into a discussion about breast feeding and I'd like to know what other think about it... -Do you find it disturbing? -Should it be done in public? -Should there be laws for it or against it? -What age should the child stop breast feeding? -Any other thoughts?

A: As far as I am concerned that is what women are made for. God made us physically this way for a reason. It is the healthiest thing for the baby and the mother. They have done studies and the longer you breast feed up to a year the chances of breast cancer declines. It can also be done in public if done discreetly. I have been known to do it and people do not even know you are doing it. They just think the baby is sleeping. A child should stop at around a year old or possibly younger if they wean themselves. My son weaned himself at 7 months. He just started to do morning and night then just night. It is a mothers preference. I have know some parents to do it till 4 years. It is way too long. There should be some limits. Hope this helps. :)

What kind of apparel should I purchase now for breast feeding? by Red Q: I'm 7 months pregnant and planning on breast feeding. What can I purchase now to get ready? How many nursing bras & what type? Nursing tops? Night gowns that button down? I have no idea and this is my first baby. Next question will be about which pump to buy...

A: I breastfed my daughter and bought none of the above, I used my maternity bras and just wore a vest under my normal top. Simply lift the top up and the vest down. However they recommend not buying a nursing bra until at least 36 weeks. Pumps wise, an electric one is much easier and quicker than a manual one.

can i start back breast feeding after stoping for 1 month? by deborah t Q: I stopped breast feeding and pumping my breast milk 1 month ago. Now I feel guilty because I havent returned to work yet, And I would like to start back breast feeding. How do I make my milk come back in. There is still a little left im my breast. My baby is almost 8 weeks old

A: Nurse and nurse and pump and pump like every 2 hours. Take Fenugreek and Mother's Milk tea. Talk to your doctor and a lactation consultant, there might be other medications/remedies you can try. But the more you stimulate your breasts, the more milk you will produce.

What are the chances of getting pregnant if your breast feeding and on the pill? by mom of 3 little boys Q: What are the chances of getting pregnant if your breast feeding and on the pill? I missed two days this month, and one day last month, and sad to say but I was late 3 times last month also. I breastfeed all day and night, no period yet. I haven't had one yet since giving birth 8 months ago. Bleed for 5 weeks after but that's all. Is there still a chance at conceiving? I don't want another baby yet.

A: For breastfeeding to be effective as birth control, you have to feed the child exclusively (no formula or real food), every 4 hours, then kid has to be under 6 months and you can't have your regular period. At least that is what all the websites says. So for you breastfeeding is passed the point of birth control sorry! As for the pill, The package says you can miss up to 2 pills in a given month without worrying. Take a pregnancy test and considering getting the plan B pill. Also, set an alarm so you don't miss anymore pills!

How likely are nipple piercings to cause problems with breast feeding later in life? by Albino Q: Whether you leave them in or take them out once you actually start breast feeding, do they cause problems?

A: Nipple piercings may cause small breastfeeding problems. Women with nipple piercings may face at least some risk of being unable to breastfeed later in life because of blocked milk ducts. Such complications as accidental tear-out of a nipple ring or an allergic reaction to piercing may later result in breastfeeding complications. I would think twice before doing it. Moreover there are non-piercing nipple rings that look great very sexy.

Do you think it is possible to start breast feeding after? by ❥Proud Mommy Q: I stopped breast feeding my son at 6 weeks old. He is now 6 1/2 months old. JW... I've always secretly wanted to go back to breast feeding but after my supply dried up I gave up hope on that. But tonight out of nowhere the TINIEST bit came out. It just made me wonder? Honestly what do you think?

A: There is absolutely no reason why not. If that's what you want to do then by all means have a go, your son will still reap the benefits. If you have a pump, start pumping frequently throughout the day like every 2-3 hours and speak to your dr or a lactation consultant as you may need medication to assist you to re lactate, though you may not need to take it, pumping may be enough. It could be worth contacting your local breastfeeding support network (aus bf assoc, la leche league etc) for some extra support as I've heard it can be difficult. Good on you and good luck if you decide to do it

How do vegans feel about breast feeding? by Jonathan Q: I learned recently that the difference between a vegetarian and a vegan is that while neither eat meat, vegetarians are willing to eat eggs and milk, but vegans don't eat any animal products. So I was just wondering how vegans feel about breast feeding. @Invis: Is it your position that if something is unnatural, it is therefore wrong? Or that if something is natural, it is therefore okay? And why do you say that eating the products of other animals is unnatural? How do you distinguish between what is natural and what isn't?

A: Hi, the idea behind veganism is not to participate in any form of animal exploitation. Since a mother breastfeeds voluntarily this is not exploitation. Unlike a human milking a cow, a mother freely choses to feed her baby. Breastfeeding is the most natural thing in the world, it's only drinking another animals breastmilk that we see as unnatural. x

How do you keep your breast feeding baby from biting? by talktoch Q: I am a breast feeding Mom of an 8 1/2 month old with two bottom teeth and two top teeth getting ready to come in. He has just recently started biting down and is now leaving me with very sore nipples. I, of course, had the knee-jerk reaction the first time it happened and it really scared him. But it seems that he has forgotten all about that. And, I don't really want to scare him again. Any suggestions?

A: For a few weeks my son would bite at the beginning of a nursing session like he was making sure the nipple was there I guess. I would look at him, say "Ouch that hurts mummy" and put him down. I'd wait a minute or more if he was playing and try again. It took a few weeks of painful nipples but he stopped. He has 2 teeth on the top and bottom that are really sharp :s If your son is biting during a nursing session, he's not latched properly and playing. If he's suckling correctly he can't bite. It's a painful stage in his development but it will pass in what feels like forever. It just takes patience. Good luck.

How many ounces of breast milk should my newborn be eating at a feeding? by Lilly Q: I have only been breast feeding my three week old twins, and would like to know if I were to pump and feed from a bottel how many ounces of milk they should be eating at a feeding?

A: They should eat til they're satisfied. I know that's a vague answer, but that's pretty much what my daughter's pediatrician said when I asked the same question. She said typically newborns will eat about 2 ml per feeding, but my daughter will suck down 4-6 ml easily at each feeding. I'd say that you should just play around with it for the first few feedings and see what they accept. Then you'll have a good idea of what they're expecting, and as they want to eat more and more you'll know to increase what you're giving them. Good luck!

How long after you stop breast feeding should you get your period? by Gibson is here 7/15/09 Q: I stopped breast feeding at 4 weeks after my son was born, but now at 13 weeks, I still have not gotten my period. Should I be concerned?

A: im still breastfeeding and i got it one day for like ONE DAY. :) and ive been crampy and hungry. i wonder if its just my uterus shrinking still or if im going to get it :) everyone i know has a different answer for this one !

What do you recommend not to eat while breast feeding? by Q: Iam nearly due with my first baby, and really would like to breast feed. What foods do you recommend not eating while breast feeding?

How should I deal with my 3 year old doughter and breast feeding? by cheetos Q: My daughter is being cared for in a home day care. Recently one of the ladies there had a baby, which she is breast feeding of course. I noticed one time my daughter pretends to breast feed her dolls. At first i did'nt think much of it . But I really dont like that she does it. One time I told her only mommy can do that and she said Do you want to be the mommy? I just played something different with her. What should I really say or do?

A: She's imitating what she sees. That's how she sees a baby being cared for, so she cares for her "babies" this way too.She probably dresses and changes her doll's diaper as well. I wouldn't make a big deal about it.

What are the best foods to eat while breast feeding? by Olivia G. Q: Ive been exclusively breast feeding my baby for 5 months now. I've lost a majority of my pregnancy weight, except the last ten pounds. I just want to know what are the best kinds of food I can eat for my milk and for me? Is there foods that help you produce more milk?

A: Pretty much all the items on the food pyramid with maybe the exception of tons of fish. I wouldnt recommend this. Meats, nuts, grains, fruits, veggies - definitey all a go! Lots and lots of liquids.

What are the odds of getting pregnant while breast feeding? by L-train Q: I know its very possible to become pregnant while breast feeding but I was just curious if anyone knew what the actual odds of conceiving are? I heard you have a less than 2% change of conceiving if you nurse frequently. Is this true?

A: Around 2%, but only if solely breastfeeding, once bub starts solids and is feeding less it will increase. I was still breast feeding my 18month old when I fell pregant with my 5 month old, by then he was only feeding once or twice a day.

What are the side effectst of breast feeding to a womans breasts? by Marissa.... Q: I have heard that breast feeding will cause your nipples to become hard and will cause your boobs to become saggy. Are these side effects permanent? And are there any other side effects?

A: Clinical studies have proven that breast feeding does not affect the sag rate in your breasts at all. Time and gravity are the main causes and wearing a bra can increase sag rate as it removes the breasts natural exercise from movement. The nipples grow during pregnancy, nothing you can do about that. The breasts will grow in size depending on hpw big they are now. If your breasts are quite small then you can expect a 2 cup size increase. They will also get firmer as the glands swell and change the fat ratio. Breastfeeding has also been proven to prevent breast cancer and takes the baby fat from the mother. Not to mention all the other health benefits to baby and the emotional benefits. Oxytocin is released everytime you breast feed. If you breast feed for 2 years or more you child will practically never get sick (or you) you will experience a mild euphoria when you feed and you will get down to your prebirth weight without any exercise. Good good good system!

Would you consider pumping your breast milk is the same as breast feeding? by ღஜღ Ameera ღஜღ Q: The mothers breast milk is the best source if nutrition for an infant and I wanna be able to give my little one as much nutrition as I can. I was wondering if pumping the milk out of your breast would be just as effective as breast feeding. Will you still be burning calories? Will the baby still get the same exact nutrition? I am currently pregnant and planning on breast feeding but my schedule will not allow me to be able to breast feed her whenever she needs it. School, work will keep me away from her for most of the time.

A: Yes you still burn calories and yes the baby still gets the same nutrition (although perhaps not EXACTLY the same as the fat cells can cling to the plastic or glass of the bottle, but in such small amounts you don't need to worry). However, it's very very much more draining and harder than regular breastfeeding, and because the pump isn't as efficient as the baby at draining your breast or stimulating milk, you may experience supply issues more often than a woman who breastfeeds at the breast. The other thing to consider is that the action of breastfeeding at the breast stimulates more muscle action and can contribute to early development in that sense whereas bottle feeding is a more passive action. This doesn't last beyond the nursing stage however so isn't a major consideration.

What sense does breast feeding make if you can't do it for long? by Q: Ok breast feeding is a great benefit but what happens when they reached the age where you no longer breast feed you have to give them formula right? If so what sense does make to breast feed in the beginning? Please answer both questions accurately and intelligently I appreciate it. . .

A: I enver switched to formula, you don't have to do that, people just choose to. You think men have always aha formula? Alos, a little breastmilk is better than no breastmilk either way. My first nursed until he was nearly 2 1/2 years old and my second son is 2 1/2 months and won't be weaned anytime soon

Has this happened to you after breast feeding your baby, My baby is now 16 months old? by OH! Q: I breast fed my baby for close to six months, my baby is now 14 months and is off the breast and bottle. I can't explain why I am feeling soreness on my nipples as though I was still breast feeding. Can't this be a reaction of the body being that I use to breast feed. By the way I have asked this question for someone else.

A: Could be alot of things. Could be that you haven't dried up completely, could be that you're pregnant, could be that you're about to have your period. But no it's never happened to me personally.

What sort of music can i use for a breast feeding in public documentary? by Q: I am doing a breast feeding in public documentary for my Film and TV class and i need some corresponding music that fits the film type. Can you think of any music that can be relevant for breast feeding in public? By the way, i am for breast feeding in public I already have brim of asha fatboy slim and Depeche Mode - Just Can't Get Enough I need maybe three or four other songs. PLEASE!!

A: reggae

My wife has been exclusively breast feeding our 3 month old daughter. How can we get her to take a bottle? by joey.carter28 Q: My wife has been exclusively breast feeding our 3 month old daughter. How can we get her to take a bottle? We have tried different "nipples" and she doesn't want to take any of them. What is the best way to transition to bottle feeding smoothly. My wife still wants to breast feed, but we also want the option to bottle feed so we can go out once in a while. Any suggestions?

A: Try putting a little bit of expressed breast milk on the nipple of the bottle. It takes a while sometimes though.

What happens to your breasts after breast feeding? by onlythelonely Q: What are the effects of breast feeding on the breasts? I heard they shrink sometimes, can become saggy or otherwise. I'm breast feeding my children regardless, and I know this isn't the case 100% of the time, but can that happen for some women?

A: The latest medical research says that breastfeeding does not increase sag rates. Sagging is caused by gravity and poor health or lack of exercise. The Coopers ligaments that hold them up need to be exercised like anything else. After weaning they will shrink as the glands that produce milk are not needed. Use them or lose them! You can keep them bigger by nipple stimulation. Makes them think they are still needed.

What do you think of women breast feeding in public places? by AnimeChick Q: I don't have anything against women breast feeding thier kids but i don't think it should be allowed in public places because what if there is children around and it could make people uncomftorbale, and also if they are going to breast feed in public at least have a blanket or something to cover your boobs up.

A: I think it should be allowed, I mean that is the best thing for the baby why should women be penalized for that?

How much danger is there with breast feeding while taking pain pills? by Chris D Q: My wife just had a c-section and they gave her a perscirtion for hydracodine. She is breast feeding. Is there a risk, because we were not warned if so. Also is there a safe way to do them both?

A: I was on vicodin and ibuprofen after my c-section 6 weeks ago and breastfeeding. They told me there would be no risk, however the baby just may be sleepy. If you have any concerns however, just have your wife call her doctor. They can give her something else or adjust her dosage. Congrats on the baby!!

Breast feeding to avoid pregnancy with minipill, how did that work for you? by MsQuack Q: I'm 29 weeks and plan to breastfeed when the baby is born. My doctor and I discussed birth control methods last visit and he said since I'm breast feeding that would be about 85% effective at preventing pregnancy and a mini pill would bring it up to 99%. Anybody have any experience with this? Did it work for you?

A: i breastfeed and i have been taking the mini pill since my daughter was 6 weeks old and i have not gotten pregnant yet...i thought that when my daughter was breastfeeding less i would have to switch to a stronger pill but my doctor told me i don't have to so i am still taking it i only nurse my daughter at bedtime and i have been only nursing her at bedtime for about 4 months now and i always take my pill on time and i have still not gotten pregnant...just make sure you always take your pill on time!!! but there was another question that was asked on here a while back and it was another girl or woman taking the minipill while breastfeeding and she did get pregnant...but i don't know if she missed a pill or didn't take it at the right time...

I am breast feeding my newborn and was wondering how long will be breasts feel tender and super large? by Chonserelli Q: I plan to breast feed at least 6 months and was wondering during that time frame of 6 months will my breasts continue to feel so tender and large. Or does breast feeding get easier and do my breasts get back to their normal size while breastfeeding?

A: After my milk came in, my boobs only hurt for a week. Some people are saying a whole month? I guess everyone is different..goodjob for making the decision to breastfeed as you are giving baby the best start possible(= As for the melons returning to normal size...yes they do, well at least mine did! Unless you go longer than normal without feeding. Then they'll get engorged. Pump if need be. Goodluck!!! And YES it definately gets easier..

How many of you quit breast feeding after your baby bit you? by Q: I breast fed my babies for the first 6-8 months. I also pumped my breast milk into a bottle for my babies, while I was working. After their teeth came in, all of my babies were put on formula. I personally don't like to be bit. Ouch, those little teeth are sharp! Now my babies are 8, 7, 5, and 4. They are all very bright, healthy, happy, and doing well in school. How many of you quit breast feeding after your baby bit you?

A: I didn't. I would shriek (involuntarily) and he would cry from the noise I made, and then I'd spend like 5 minutes calming him down and we'd nurse again. It didn't take too long for him to figure out to stop. When he was teething he'd always get a little bitey again, but we made it through. Still nursing at 2 years and now he certainly knows not to bite.

Have any breast feeding survival tips for the first week? by Mommytothree Q: I was never able to get through the first week breast feeding with my first two babies. I was always afraid they'd starve because I had no milk yet. I know they're not supposed to have great hunger for the first few days, BUT THEY CRIED??!! I really want to establish breast feeding this time around. Please give me your week 1 survival tips.

A: Hi there, I have breastfed both of my sons for 2 years each and I found that even though it is really sore and tiring you just have to break through the pain to get it established if it is sore. My first son my nipples were so cracked the midwife said she had never seen anything like that before and I sat on the bed crying cos I couldnt do it anymore but then I just went through the pain for a couple more days and it got heaps better.The main thing to remember is that they are not hungry that puts alot of mothers off B/F but they are fine and in a few more days there will be heaps of milk.I think the biggest mistake is giving them a bottle bcos then the breast will not be enough for them Best of luck Any questions just ask:)

How likely am I to get pregnant while breast feeding and supplementing? by maysindixin84 Q: My baby is 4 months old, and I've been breast feeding and supplementing with formula. I was on the mini pill but I was uncomfortable taking it. Also my period came back right away after i had my baby, it never stopped even when I was breast feeding exclusively. So how likely am I to get pregnant?

A: its a very likely chance that u could. my friend was 100% breastfeeding and got pregnant soo you never know, my advice if u dont wanna be prego again then i'd use b.c.

What do your boobs and nipples look like after breast feeding? by ladeeluk000 Q: Is the effect on them different if you pump breast milk rather than actually breast feed? What are the differences between pumping and breast feeding (other than in regards to the baby)? Do you burn as much calories?

A: My breasts look like I have given my babies a wonderful start at life. I earned every stretch mark I have. Honestly, they are wonderful. My husband loves them, and mine are way bigger than before I started having kids. They are a little saggy, but that's from no longer nursing, and they don't get full anymore. Since I have large breasts anyways, I can't be certain that it was the nursing that made them fall some. Pregnancy is what changed them for me, not the breastfeeding, aside from them being more sensitive now. I couldn't pump well at all, so I have limited knowledge about that. What I do know is that baby will always be able to get more than a pump and many women have troubles pumping only and eventually dry up. (Many, not all)

Whats the difference between breast feeding from the breast and feeding the baby pumped beast milk? by Ethan's Mama Q: The baby is getting the same milk, but instead it will be pumped from the breast into a bottle for the baby.. What is the difference? if all the baby needs is the milk to be healthy why are so many people making a big deal about feeding the baby from the boobs? You're holding the baby so the baby is still close to you

A: Pumping and bottle feeding is much more classy then feeding from the breast.

How old is too old to continue breast feeding? by GoldBug Q: I am a stay at home mom and my daughter just turned three. She doesn't want to stop breast feeding, and the only thing negative about it to me is the reactions of others. I heard about La Leche, but it's my own family and friends who seem to pass judgment. ( my husbands family never nursed so they have no idea) I only nurse in my home, and never around others, other than my husband and my other kids. They are 11 and 14.(also were nursed till 12 mo and three years)How old is too old to continue breast feeding?

A: LOL ... criticism? Why whatever do you mean? JK I know your situation ALL to well. Sure it's okay to still be breastfeeding. There's no evidence *anywhere* to suggest that this isn't beneficial. However, it's vastly unaccepted in our culture. There's a reason why NO reputable organizations put a limit on the age. Every mom is different. Every child is different. Every nursing relationship is different. You have to go with what you feel comfortable doing. I was in this same situation around the same age, and I decided to focus on weaning. I did it in a very gentle and kind manor, so it was drama free. 3 was simply past MY comfort zone. 1 is the limit for others ... everyone has their own idea, and since there is no general rule of thumb, everyone thinks their way is the right way. I hope you can keep others criticism aside, introspect, and find out what the right thing for your family is. If you want any advice or support, feel free to email me!

What are the advantages and disadvantages of breast feeding? by *Robert & Kalika's Momma* Q: I have a 18 month old and our daughter is due July 5th, how hard is it to breast feed when you have an older child? And what are the advantages and disadvantages of breast feeding?

A: I love breastfeeding! My son is almost 8 weeks old and I love the time we get to spend together while he is nursing. I mean, you feed your baby for 10 months and then suddenly that link is severed, breastfeeding keeps that link. It is wonderful bonding! Not to mention free! Also, there is no better food for your baby, your milk is made JUST for your child. Your baby not only gets full, but also your immunities. Breastfeeding also helps with mom's weight loss, as well as getting your uterus back down to its normal size. I honestly can't think of any disadvantages, all the leaks and engorgement is 100% worth the experience!

What do you think about the experience of breast feeding? by Noelle C Q: -What does it feel like? Does it hurt? -Do you feel comfortable breast feeding in public places? -How do you feel about breast feeding around older chidren? -Do you think it is okay to breast feed older children (4-5 years old)? -Was it ever difficult for your children to suckle your nipple due to small size? Thanks :) I am almost sure I will choose to breast feed, but just wanted some other insight. I am already aware of the numerous benefits.

A: I did all my reading when I got pregnant, and I was determined to make it to at least one year and I would have walked through fire to get there (and I did). For most, it doesn't hurt if the baby latches on correctly and a lactation consultant can help if the baby isn't latching correctly. For me, it did hurt. The first few months were really painful. I checked with a lactation consultant and the latch was perfect. I just had really sensitive nipples. Plus my daughter had reflux, so she pretty much nursed every 30-45 minutes around the clock. But regardless, I was going to make it to a year, no matter how much it hurt. I figure if I bring a child into this world, it's my duty to give her the healthiest start, so I just beared through the pain and would not let myself make any excuses. After a couple of months, the pain subsided and it was pretty much smooth sailing from then on. I had some plugged ducts and I leaked everywhere and anywhere and anytime, but those were just inconveniences more than anything else. At first it made me a little uncomfortable to nurse in public, simply because I really hadn't seen it except a few times here and there. So I bought one of those covers and tried to find a private place to nurse. After a while, it felt "more natural" to me to breastfeed and I realized that I was probably drawing more attention to myself by covering and hiding than I would if I just nursed wherever I was. So I started doing just that, and I realized that my theory was right. 99.9% of the time, people had no idea. In fact, my dad had a massage right in front of me and the massage therapist, even though carrying on a conversation with me, had not realized I was nursing until I mentioned that her full belly was why my daughter fell asleep. I pretty much nursed wherever after that. I pulled up my shirt just enough, and I nursed walking through the mall, in restaurants, at an air show...whereever she got hungry and most of the time, no one even noticed. I don't feel weird about breastfeeding around older children. In fact, I think it's important for them to see that there is another way of feeding a baby than with a bottle. I mean, I was so used to seeing bottles that I had actually thought that formula was an essential part of feeding a baby until I got pregnant and started reading! As for breastfeeding older kids...I'm on the fence there. I'm all for breastfeeding to about 3 years old, but then it starts to seem a bit excessive. No, it was never difficult for my child to suckle. Breast size or nipple size has nothing to do with it because they don't really suck on the nipple. They take in the area around the nipple (the areola), so your nipple size really means nothing. Anyway, in the end, I nursed both my kids for just over 2 years each. Now they are 5 & 8 and I really miss that time. It was such a nice thing to just be there at 3 am in the dark and quiet just singing or rocking my baby and nursing. My children are very affectionate even today, but there's just something about nursing that is calming and just sweet...it's hard to explain.

What happens to your breast after pregnancy and breast-feeding? by Q: I have been reading about how during pregnancy your breasts will become larger to prepare for the baby. I am assuming they stay that size during breast-feeding as well, right? After your body is back to normal, and you are no longer breast-feeding, what happens to your breast? Do they shrink back up, or stay the same size? How will they feel and look?

A: well the breast will swell with breast milk. so the breast will change size over the course of breast feeding.

Would it be wrong to stop breast feeding once I start back to work? by Q: I had planned on breast feeding for at least 3-6 months, but since my baby girl has had so many problems latching on I just pump now. How long did you guys breast feed and is 6-8 weeks long enough?

A: A lot of moms stop breast feeding when they go back to work. My son is 6 weeks old and I had to stop feeding him at like 2 weeks because I got into something I was allergic to and was on medication that isn't safe for him. I tried to pump but I dried up. I was very upset but the dr said it was okay. I have my son on Enfamil Premium Lipl. Its suppose to be as close to breast milk as it gets. Hope all goes well for you :)

How can I start breast feeding if I have no breastmilk? by Sweet Cheeks Q: I had my twins on Friday, they were born at 35 weeks by c-section. They are currently at the NICU at the hospital and I would like to take them some breast milk to start feeding them, but I have no breast milk. I have a manual pump that my mom brought me and I tried it but nothing happens. After pumping for a couple of minutes, theres only like 2-3 drops of colostrum. Am I supposed to keep trying until something comes out? Or is there anything I can do to make it start flowing?

A: Congratulations on your twins! I completely understand what you are going through. I needed to pump my breastmilk while my 35week gestation son was in the NICU for 3 weeks. However for the first 4 days I would only get 1-2 drops of colostrum after 20 minutes of pumping! It may not seem like a lot, but give that colostrum that you are getting to the nurses; even a little bit will help. My milk took about 5 days before it came in. And it was a week before I felt like I was actually getting a respectable amount. You really need a more powerful pump than a manual one. Especially as you are getting your milk supply started. With as much as you will be pumping you need a powerful one. A manual one will take you about an hour to get out of one breast what you can in 10 minutes with a hospital grade one. Plus you can pump both breasts at the same time. Ask the NICU nurses or the hospital's lactation consultant where you can rent one today! Also sometimes your insurance will pay for the pump rental while your twins are in the hospital if you get a prescription for it from their pediatrician or neonatalogist. To bring in your milk by pumping, you have to pump at least 8-12 times a day for 10-20 minutes (this means waking up in the middle of the night.) I know it seems like a lot, but it can be harder to stimulate the milk supply when pumping and not breastfeeding. It is important to drink a ton of water. Also I found that taking fenugreek capsules and blessed thistle (not milk thistle) from health food stores helped to increase my supply once the milk started flowing. Please don't get discouraged. It is difficult enough to breastfeed and then when you add having your dear babies in the NICU it is even more frustrating. Just know that even if you aren't able to produce what you think is a lot of milk that even little amounts will help your little babies. Good luck!

What are the rules with breast feeding and drinking alcohol? by Q: I turn 21 in a week and I had my son 4 weeks ago, so obviously I'm still breast feeding. I plan on going out and doing the traditional 21st Birthday Bash, but I've read a lot of conflicting information on the internet about what to do as far as breast feeding goes. Should I pump and waste? How long after is it safe to nurse? I have milk froze for the night of and part of the day after, but I just need to know for sure when it's okay to nurse again.

A: It's good that you have breast milk frozen. Make sure you have as much frozen as possible. Dumping and wasting once thru the night is a good idea simply so your breasts don't become impacted and sore. I think that by the time you are no longer feeling the effects of the alcohol, it should be out of your breast milk. But depending on how much you drink, the timing can be much longer. So if it were me, I'd pump enough ahead of time to get the baby through the night and then some. Have more breastmilk saved than you might think is necessary because you never know, as the evening progresses, you may be out longer than you plan or you may have a drink later than the planned stopping time or more to drink altogether than you plan. It takes approximately 3 to 4 hours for the alcohol from one drink to leave your breastmilk. So you need to keep this in mind when deciding how much alcohol to drink. The more you drink, the longer it will take for the alcohol to leave your breastmilk. I know it's your 21st birthday, but you may want to still drink in moderation. Here's a reputable site with good information; it's the La Leche League. http://www.llli.org/FAQ/alcohol.html

What are the benefits of breast feeding? How much more does it help with baby's development and such? by I.Love.My.Baby.Iris. Q: I'm 30 weeks pregnant and still don't know if I want to breast feed. No one in my family has,so it has just been natural for me to not really put much thought into breast feeding. Although everyone tells me that breast feeding is more healthier,I was wondering why is this? Are there not any good formulas that work just the same? Any help/advice would be great. Also,if I did breast feed what foods and stuff do you normally have to eat or not eat? Thanks.

A: Breastfeeding is more than a lifestyle choice — it's an important health choice. Any amount of time that you can do it will help both you and your baby. There are many benefits of breast milk for mothers, babies, and others. Benefits for Babies, Moms, and Families Breastfeeding is normal and healthy for infants and moms. Breast milk has disease-fighting cells called antibodies that help protect infants from germs, illness, and even SIDS. Infant formula cannot match the exact chemical makeup of human milk, especially the cells, hormones, and antibodies that fight disease. Breastfeeding is linked to a lower risk of these health problems: In Infants: In Moms: Ear infections Stomach viruses Diarrhea Respiratory infections Atopic dermatitis Asthma Obesity Type 1 and type 2 diabetes Childhood leukemia Sudden infant death syndrome or SIDS Necrotizing enterocolitis, a disease that affects the gastrointestinal tract in pre-term infants Type 2 diabetes Breast cancer Ovarian cancer Postpartum depression (PPD) Studies are still looking at the effects of breastfeeding on osteoporosis and weight loss after birth. How small is a newborn's tummy? Photo courtesy of La Leche League International Breast milk is different from infant formula. Colostrum, the thick yellow first breast milk that you make during pregnancy and just after birth, will give your baby the best start at life. It is known as "liquid gold." It is very rich in nutrients and antibodies to protect your baby as he or she first enters the world. Although your baby only gets a small amount of colostrum at each feeding, it matches the amount his or her tiny stomach can hold. A newborn stomach is only the size of a large marble at first! Your milk changes over time to meet your baby's needs. Your breast milk that begins to be made by the third to fifth day after birth has just the right amount of fat, sugar, water, and protein that is needed for a baby's growth. It will be a thinner type of milk, but just as full of all of the nutrients and antibodies for your baby. For most babies, breast milk is easier to digest than formula. It takes time for their stomachs to adjust to digesting the proteins in formula because they are made from cow's milk. Premature babies do better when breastfed compared to premature babies who are fed formula. Additional Resources For more information on infant formula safety issues, visit the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. When you breastfeed, there are no bottles and nipples to sterilize. Unlike human milk straight from the breast, infant formula has a chance of being contaminated. Breastfeeding makes your life easier. You do not have to purchase, measure, and mix formula. There are no bottles to warm in the middle of the night! Breastfeeding can save you between $1,160 and $3,915 per year, depending on the brand of formula. A mother can satisfy her baby's hunger right away with breastfeeding. Breastfeeding requires a mother to take some quiet relaxed time for herself and her baby, helping them bond. Physical contact is important to newborns and can help them feel more secure, warm, and comforted. Breastfeeding mothers may have increased self-confidence and feelings of closeness and bonding with their infants. Breastfeeding during an emergency can save lives. [Return to Top] Benefits for Society Breastfeeding saves on health care costs. Total medical care costs for the nation are lower for fully breastfed infants than never-breastfed infants since breastfed infants typically need fewer sick care visits, prescriptions, and hospitalizations. Breastfeeding contributes to a more productive workforce. Breastfeeding mothers miss less work, as their infants are sick less often. Employer medical costs also are lower and employee productivity is higher. Breastfeeding is better for our environment because there is less trash and plastic waste compared to that produced by formula cans and bottle supplies. [Return to Top] The U.S. Surgeon General Recommends Breastfeeding The U.S. Surgeon General recommends that babies be fed with breast milk only for the first six months of life. This means not giving your baby any other food or drink — not even water — during this time. Drops of liquid vitamins, minerals, and medicines are, of course, fine, as advised by your baby's doctor. It is even better if you can breastfeed for your baby's first year or longer, for as long as you both wish. Solid iron-rich foods, such as iron-fortified cereals and pureed vegetables and meats, can be started when your baby is around six months old. Before that time, a baby's stomach cannot digest them properly. Solids do not replace breastfeeding. Breast milk stays the baby's main source of nutrients during the first year. Beyond one year, breast milk can still be an important part of your child's diet Aside from all this useful information, I breastfed

How do you feel about breast feeding in public & until what age should kids stop being breast fed? by Peace, Love, and Happiness Q: I don't really mind when women breast feed in public as long as they're covered up and don't go around flopping their boobs around like a few women I've seen. I belive that by the age of 2, mothers should officially stop breast feeding their children. If I was a mom I would officially stop at age 1. Some mothers go far enough to breast feed until their child is 5 or 7 which is ridiculous.

A: I believe that breast feeding is great! in public i don't mind seeign women feed their child. but for crying out loud use a blanket and cover it up! there is NO reason i need to see your boobs flying everywhere. personally i would never breast feed an older child (2 yrs on) and even that is stretching it. i'm thinking i will exclusively pump after baby grows teeth. there is nothing wrong with bottle feeding as long as the baby is getting nutirents. I do think it's an issue when a older child breastfeeds to soothe themselves because they don't learn techniques to self soothe. just my thoughts.

When breast feeding and formula feeding, what formula is the closest to breastmilk? by terae_99 Q: It's my 1st pregnancy and I am planning on pumping breast milk and formula feeding...What formula is the closest to breast milk?

A: Enfamil claims to be the closest to breastmilk. I use the Walmart kind because it is identical to Enfamil but half the price!

breast-feeding? by Kat S Q: Okay I'm not pregnant or anything and I'm not having sex but I was told this by a friend whose sister is breast-feeding her baby that is losing the baby wieght fast too. She told me that new momthers who breast-feed lose the wieght faster than those who don't. Is that true?

A: For some BUT some women also feel the need to eat a lot (and I mean need literally. It can really drain you sometimes) while BFing so it counter acts it.

Breast Feeding? by Ms.NewBooty Q: My sister in law is breast feeding, the baby is 9 months old, she is feeding him cooked hamburger meat, but no baby food. Is this okay? How long are your breast supposed to hurt after you have had a child, and are breast feeding? What is the most painful part?

A: So-called "baby food" mush is not healthy. The vitamins are all processed out of what once was nutritious food. It also tastes somewhere between awful and vile. If a baby is *ready* for food, there is no reason not to give actual food instead of mush. If the baby isn't ready for food, there is no reason to give *anything* other than breastfeeding. Breastfeeding should *never* hurt. It can be uncomfortable for some women the first few days, but more than just a bit of pain is a sign of a problem. Fix the problem, no more pain!! If you have pain when nursing, talk to a local La Leche League Leader (see sources section below). Her help is *free* (although she'll undoubtedly welcome a donation to the organization).

Breast feeding? by Jasen S Q: My wife has pains in one breast while breast feeding. She says it hurts from the inside like needles trying to poke through. The doctor says our baby isnt latched on right but its only in the one breast and we have tried many positions. Any suggestions?

A: Well, if the spot is warm and red, she could have mastitus. It's an infection of the milk ducts and it occurs when the baby doesn't empty the breast all the way. I would suggest that after the baby feeds on that side, pump the rest of the milk out. If you don't have a breast pump, you can hand express the milk. Start at the top where the breast meets the chest wall and squeeze gently as if kneading bread. Rotate your hand around the breast and gradually move down towards the nipple. At this point you can stay in the nipple, areola area. Squeeze firmly, but gently where the areola meets the skin and sort of roll your fingers towards your nipplle. Repeat this until there isn't any milk coming out. (or it's just a bit) Don't give up on the theory that the baby is latching on wrong. Sometimes the mother has a hard time getting comfortable with the baby on her non dominate side. Keep trying. If the nipple itself hurts while the baby is latched on, use your pinky finger to break the seal of the baby's lips on your breast and gently pull it out. Try again. Make sure your nipple is in the center of the baby's mouth and that it took most of your areola into it's mouth. Also make sure that the baby's ear, shoulder and hip are in a straight line. If the baby's head is turned, it may be sucking unevenly. use pillows, blankets anything you can to make it more comfy. Try different chairs, even the floor. It may also work well if you lay on your side with the breast closest to the matress as the one you're nursing from. It's easier to get the baby aligned that way!! It also gives your arms and back a break! Good luck!!! Dont' give up yet...

breast feeding? by Aloha! Q: so im planning on breast feeding my daughter but i was wondering if when out in public, i dont really wanna breast feed so i was going to pump. well i got to thinking: will the breast milk go bad? so if im out and about and she gets hungry can i feed her a bottle that i pumped before we left the house?

A: Pumped breastmilk is good at room temperature for 8-10 hours. Don't worry- your baby won't eat spoiled milk, anyway :) ETA: From http://www.breastfeed-essentials.com/storagehandling.html: STORAGE Human milk has been found to have properties that protect it from bacterial contamination which allow it to be stored longer than was previously thought. Guidelines for breastmilk storage are as follows: Freshly expressed breastmilk may be kept at room temperature for up to 10 hours (colostrum or milk expressed within 6 days of delivery can be stored 12 hours at room temperature).

Images
Videos
A New Born Breast Feeding Video A Many Woman Expressing Milk and Breast Feeding Pumping and expressing breast milk BABY SHOW EP.1 baby breast feeding from mom standing on her head Breast Feeding.avi Breast feeding(GROUP 1 E-LEARNING) Breastfeeding milk end only 2years old The women that her breast feeding to baby pig Breast Feeding - by Philips AVENT Flirting with Disaster (7/12) Movie CLIP - The Proper Breast Feeding Technique (1996) HD A Breast feeding new born baby Video New born baby Breast Feeding How to Pump and Store Breast Milk Video - About.com Mother Breast Feeding Her Baby Video A Proper Breast Feeding Yoga Mom breast feeding Baby Breast Feeding To Husband Salma Hayek Breast Feeding (Video) Things that made breast feeding easier Low Breast Milk Supply? A Breast Feeding A Baby Nursing Video A Breast Feeding Video Mother and Son Breast Feeding and My Son - Comedy Time Your Diet and Your Breast Milk (Baby Health Guru) BREAST MILK LADY WITH BOOBY MILK TRUCK Breast feeding: difficult cases (1935), pt 2 of 2 Breastfeeding Another Woman's Baby A Best Breast Feeding Technique Video A Great Video Mother Breast Feeding Child Selling Breast Milk ice creams A Breast Feeding Positions and Information Video TIME's breast-feeding toddler and some more random shit A Important Information on Breast Feeding Public Breast Feeding OMG!!! Clothing designed to make breastfeeding easier by Mother & Baby TV A Breast Feeding with Tube Basic Tips on Breast feeding Breast Milk Supply A Woman Breast Feeding Video Cheese From Human Breast Milk A Baby Laughs at Breast Feeding Video Breast Feeding A Breast Feeding in Hospital Bed mControl - Extended Breast Feeding Toddler 3 Years Old Breast Feeding Issues - Vasospasm Turns Pink Breastfeeding tips for Indian mothers - Expression of Breast Milk Manually Breast feeding Nevaeh Kelly THE WORST SONG EVER! Breast Feeding & Lullabies - JAE TRACIE's RANDOM THOUGHTS Breastfeeding Facts, Breast Milk Baby Benefits, Nutrition Parents Angry Over Breast Milk Baby' Breastfeeding Dolls: Too Much Too Soon? (03.30.11)
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-03 12:39:35