OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Barry bonds
News

Legendary Giant Barry Bonds faces day of reckoning
Ex-Giant Barry Bonds is facing the possibility of jail time as his case goes to sentencing. Beloved by some, reviled by others, Major League Baseball home run king Barry Bonds could be sent to prison today for obstructing a federal investigation into ...

Ex-PSU officials to confront charges
Playing hardball: Will judge sentence Bonds to prison today? If Barry Bonds' sentencing, scheduled at 2 pm ET on Friday, hinged on fame, basebal... Atlanta routs Jacksonville in loud statement at home. Busted Bears receiver secretly was major drug ...

Bonds to face judge...McQueary describes scene in shower...Falcons beat Jaguars
SAN FRANCISCO (AP) — Former baseball great Barry Bonds will learn his sentence today for being convicted of obstruction of justice. US District Judge Susan Illson is scheduled to sentence Bonds in San Francisco. The federal probation department is ...

Barry Bonds Learns Fate Friday
Prosecutors are recommending a 15-month prison sentence for former Giants slugger Barry Bonds, while lawyers for Bonds say prison time is "unfair and unwarranted." He was convicted in April of one count of obstructing justice. ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

dakizuki Barry Bonds scheduled to be sentenced at 11 a.m. http://t.co/FTqEwK7E

OaktownFred He's a cheater and liar @RAIDER_510: So barry bonds gets sentenced today? I dont care hes still a legend to me

Tantalusone RT @KRON4WTran: outside the federal courthouse in san francisco waiting for barry bonds to arrive for his sentencing

sususuza RT @mandymcmn11: Ryan Braun tested positive for steroids and yet the media has not blown it up like they have with Barry Bonds. #FreeBarry @MsShikariBonds

MADEBYaL Im outta here baby!!! N heres another HIT Barry Bonds

aschifferle Judgement day for Barry Bonds. One of the all-time greats

andrew_harmon RT @FedcourtJunkie: In court for #DOMA args, will live tweet for a little while before going next door for Barry Bonds sentencing

AmyBrachmann Looking forward to hearing Barry #Bonds' punishment today. That might be harsh, but I never liked the guy. #MLB

Gordon_Walton Barry Bonds sentencing for obstruction conviction re-ignites debate over feds’ steroids probe http://t.co/6abBkkTC

sofiacake RT @fcsfinest1: Good luck to Barry Bonds today, during sentencing for "obstruction of justice." When does #MLB go on trial...guilty? #SFGiants

ginamariechecke RT @mandymcmn11: Ryan Braun tested positive for steroids and yet the media has not blown it up like they have with Barry Bonds. #FreeBarry @MsShikariBonds

Margaret_Neal Barry Bonds to be sentenced today for obstruction of justice http://t.co/rwaMvCUE

WhittierNews Live coverage: Barry Bonds scheduled to be sentenced at 11 a.m. http://t.co/8tsvAce7

Bookpimp1 Yes, the "Wheels of justice" turn slowly, but how nostalgic are we on the subject of Barry Bonds' punishment for lying about steroids? #mlb

Black_Pearl415 They still fuckin with Barry Bonds ??? Smh they always wanna make a example off some bullshit

Discussions

Barry Bonds the best ever to play the game? by Terrell A Q: Barry Bonds is the best there ever is, best there ever was, and the best there ever will be. He is without of a doubt the best batter ever in baseball. Arguably, the best player in baseball (if you think batters are better than pitchers) . He is the only player to hit over 70 home runs in a single season and will have the all-time home run record (99% probably). Only thing that can stop him is injury or criminal proceedings, because MLB will not do anything without criminal proceedings. Barry Bonds is the best there ever is, best there ever was, and the best there ever will be.

A: You are only looking at batting stats but he not a great fielder. He kinda sucks out there (now at least.) I personally dont think he's on or ever took steroids. even if he did take them it would be in the 90's making it LEGAL. Perjury charges will be the only thing to keep bonds off the homerun record, but an injury will also do it.

How much is a Barry Bonds piece of worn jersey card worth? by Joel C Q: I have a Barry bonds card with a piece of his worn jersey on it..may you please tell me how much its worth?!?!

A: I'd have to say about $20-$40 right now with only a piece of his jersey. If it was autographed with a jersey piece, it would rise up to $75-$100. Limited edition jersey cards with "out of #XX" serial numbers are worth close to $75. I had a "10 gem mint" Beckett Graded Topps Barry Bonds card with an autograph, limited edition # to his jersey number 25, and a jersey piece in it and sold it on EBay for $4,500. It all depends on what type of insert card you pulled and if it is a limited edition.

How many times did Hank Aaron go to the playoffs in his career as oppose to Barry Bonds? by Q: Who went to the playoffs more, Barry Bonds or Hank Aaron, and who have more world series championships?

A: Hank Aaron was a three-time participant in the postseason (1957 and 1958 World Series, 1969 NLCS), while Bonds was in the postseason at least seven times (1990-1992 NLCS, 1997 NLDS, 2000 NLDS, 2002 World Series, 2003 NLDS). Aaron has a World Series ring from the 1957 Braves winner.

Why is Barry Bonds singled out for steroid use and not all the other guys who have used? by Boxer44 Q: Jose Canseco named alot of players in his black book who have used in his presence. Among them was Mark Maguire.Why black ball Barry Bonds?

A: I believe that he is having trouble not only because he used steroids but because he lyied and misslead the investigation when he was questioned about it.

How much should I sell Barry Bonds rookie card for once he breaks the record? by altoidman2301 Q: I have a Barry Bonds rookie card. It's a TOPPS card and I was curious the value of such a card once he breaks Hank Aaron's all-time record. I know some of you will say give it away because you hate him, but please only answer if you have a notion how much this card will go for online or over the counter.

A: If the card is in Mint condition -- seriously as close to perfect (sharp corners and edges, well-centered, no surface abrasions) then get it graded by PSA or BGS. If it scores a 9.5 or (don't hope for this) a 10, it'll be worth a LOT more. Bonds' rookie cards were released during the late-80s card glut, when print runs were calculated by forests cut down. There's more than enough Bonds cards, so it has to have something rare about it -- the imprimatur of extremely high good condition -- to command serious interest. Also, sell soon BEFORE he passes Aaron, because that's when the market frenzy occurs. Once Bonds hits #756, well, metaphorically that's the time to light up cigarettes and see what's on TV.

How can you ban Pete Rose for life but still let Barry Bonds corrupt this great game? by bulian1 Q: All pete did was put in some sports bets WOW big deal who doesn't not saying he was right to do it, but Barry Bonds ruined the greatest record in american sports history by cheating to get it. How can you allow a CHEATER to continue to taint the game while the gambler gets a lifetime ban?? If u don't think cheating is deserving of a ban especially when you use it to break such a signifigant record then your an idiot

A: Amen.... everyone is going to say this and that about rules in the books and blah blah blah.... No-one will deny that Pete Rose was wrong in doing what he did BUT his individual stats were NEVER compromised or questioned. He obtained those stats ALL on his own.... The books will open up for him. Especially if all these other drug clowns make it in.

I caught what could be the last ever baseball hit into the stands by Barry Bonds (a fould ball ) Any value? by kylesac1 Q: I recently attended Barry Bonds final home game Vs. San Diego on 09/26/2007. I was lucky enough to catch a Barry Bonds foul ball. While this may not seem to be unordinary, it ended up being the only ball hit into the stands by Bonds during the game. This more than likely will be the last game ever played by Bonds as a Giant and even possibly his career if he retires. The ball has special " Bonds game ball" markings , but not a hologram as I would have suspected. I was thinking of having the ball authenticated , but didn't know if it would be possible or even worth the trouble. If Bonds does retire it could be the last actual game ball ever hit into the stands by Bonds. Any Collectors out there know what this ball may be worth? Thanks!

A: No, even if it is authenticated and autographed, Bonds is not very popular with fans, because of his caustic personality.

whats the chance Barry Bonds get at least a hit? by jackiebab Q: In the 2002 baseball season, Barry Bonds had the highest batting average in the major leagues at 0.370. Suppose the probability Barry Bonds gets a hit during a particular at bat is 0.37. If Bonds gets 5 at bats in a game, what is the chance he will A) get exactly 3 hits? , B) get at least 1 hit?

A: This is binomial distribution. The formula is P(exactly x hits) = 5Cx * p^x * (1 - p)^(5 - x) where 5Cx is the choose function. So, by the formula: P(0 hits) = 5C0 * (.37)^0 * (.63)^5 = .0992 P(1 hits) = 5C1 * (.37)^1 * (.63)^4 = .2914 P(2 hits) = 5C2 * (.37)^2 * (.63)^3 = .3423 P(3 hits) = 5C3 * (.37)^3 * (.63)^2 = .2010 P(4 hits) = 5C4 * (.37)^4 * (.63)^1 = .0590 P(5 hits) = 5C5 * (.37)^5 * (.63)^0 = .0069 A) P(3 hits) = .2010 B) P(at least 1 hit) = 1 - P(0 hits) = 1 - .0992 = .9008

How much money has the govt spent on the Barry Bonds investigation/trial? by trippinbillie1010 Q: Barry bonds allegedly lied to investigators in 2003. Ever since then, the govt has spent tons of taxpayer money trying to "catch" Bonds. Anyone have any idea how much money has been invested/spent in this? in 2008, I heard it was in the Millions range.

A: I've been lookin for this too - in a few of them all I can find is figure between 10 - 50 million....of federal tax money. best part is he probably won't get any serious jail time, maybe house arrest, fines or probation. love this country :)

Will Roger Clemens and Barry Bonds get into the Hall of Fame after they were found guilty of steroid use? by LuvBug5 Q: After the Mitchell Report, I cannot decide whether I would send Roger Clemens and Barry Bonds to the Hall of Fame. Opinions?

A: The answer to your question is not a simple one. Right now it appears that both players used steroids prior to the implementation of the drug testing plan and before in was banned by MLB. It could turn out that MLB will do nothing to these players that will keep them from their eligibility into the HOF. However, they still have to be voted in and the writers that vote players into the HOF might not vote for them if they are found to have actually used the drugs. It will be interesting to see how this plays out.

Do you think Barry Bonds should opt out of being inducted into the Hall of Fame if an asterisk is added? by Q: Barry Bonds stated, "You can't, you cannot give people the freedom, the right to alter history, you can't do it. There's no such thing as an asterisk in baseball." He has gone further to say that we would refuse induction if this happens. "I won't go. I won't be part of it, I won't be there, you can call me but I won't be there." How do you feel about this, should this be as big an issue as he is making it?

A: I remember Gerry Templeton, shortstop for the St. Louis Cardinals in 1980. He said of the All-Star Game, "If I ain't startin', I ain't departin'!" Well, he departed - for San Diego, for a little-known shortstop named Osborne Earl Smith. The rest, they say, is history! The moral of the story: Barry, don't let the door hit ya, where the good Lord split ya! The more he whines, the less likely he's going to get elected in the first place. Personally, I hope they keep him off the ballot for a few years just for spite! LOL

How many career home runs will Barry Bonds hit? by Eric Q: When it is all said and done, and he finally retires, how many home runs will Barry Bonds have in his career? He has 762 home runs, and he plans to play again next season. I'm looking at 767 - 790 after next year. Will he retire then? Will he get to 800?

A: 790-795 is my prediction. I'd like to see him get 800, but I don't know if he can get 38 HRs, especially if he gets signed to another team with no good hitters in the lineup to protect him. Will he retire after 2008? Only Bonds can tell you that. I think he's good for another 3-4 years at DH. It all depends on who wants to have him around and if he wants to just spend time with his family. I think if he wins a World Series next year, he might retire.

Why do the media and all sports networks help the MLB get rid of Barry Bonds? by Phantom_1 Q: Why try and help a slumping sport? Major League Baseball is now officially overated. All this Barry Bonds blasting is becoming ridiculous. Don’t you realize when Barry Bonds retires a " Little Black Book" will come out ripping apart Major League Baseballs secrets. Just be patient and see the wrath of BONDS!

A: First, your assertion that baseball "is officially overrated" is totally absurd!! Who, for example has made that decision "official"? Secondly, the media nor anyone else is trying to get "rid" of Barry Balco Bonds. They are attacking his use of steroids, his dishonesty, and his allowing his trainer to take the rap for him. Bonds discredits himself, and NO ONE fears his "secrets" being told. He is so deep into dishonesty and steroids that no one will believe him anyway. Chow!!

Does anyone know what happened to Barry Bonds the Baseball player? by Charles H Q: Barry bonds was arrested for perjury did but he get a jail sentence? I have not heard of him since 2007.

A: He retired and went to stereoid heaven hahaha

If Roger Clemens is guilty should he have the same fate as Barry Bonds? by [email protected] Q: Meaning should Major League baseball's position on Bonds be exactly the same on Clemens relative to records, Hall of Fame and legacy? Should Clemens play his contract out and then dumped like Barry?

A: I think that he will remain with the Yankees until he's indicted for lying to congress on Capitol Hill, if they find proof that he lied. The SF Giants did not "dump" Barry Bonds. They waited for him to file for free agency and did not act upon it by signing him or trading him when the deadline came and passed. Barry, not the SF Giants filed for free agency, releasing his own commitment to the team because they were on a season by season basis anyways. I believe that all of the records that Barry and Roger set will remain as such because there is no proof that the drug use occurred when the records fell. Both of them will definitely end up HOF'ers!

Does Barry Bonds still hold the record for homeruns? by Allan L Q: Does Barry Bonds still hold the record for homeruns? Or did they take it off cuz of the Roids.

A: MLB does not edit the historical statistical records except in cases of error or oversight. The stats are just that -- a record of what occurred on the field. Bonds hit 762 home runs, and 73 in the 2001 season. These are still the high marks across the history of the major leagues. Less enlightened minds will attempt to attach meaningless conditions. Futility IS a difficult lesson to learn.

What would an average price for a Barry Bonds rookie card be worth? by LIFE-SAVER Q: I have several different Barry Bonds rookie cards and was just want to know what the value would be. Thanks

A: Value in dollars or in steroid doses?

Is Corey Patterson a better baseball player than A-Rod and Barry Bonds simply because they used steroids? by Tony Q: Like for example if I ask a question of who is better baseball player between Mitch Maier and Barry Bonds, you would say Mitch Maier is better because Barry Bonds used steroids? Even if the player is hitting .050 lifetime as a left fielder for 20 years with no awards, they can also be better than Barry Bonds even if they were clean and never took any peds and had class.

A: Better morally, but that doesn't really mean anything. This is the problem that comes with judging players from the steroid era, because even before he took steroids Barry Bonds was going to be a fantastic player as evidenced by his play as a Pittsburgh Pirate while he was skinny and didn't have a massive head. One can really only guess how much better steroids actually made these players, but it doesn't automatically put them at a skill level lower than the likes of Mitch Maier (no offence to him). For example, if I took steroids, I still would never make contact with a 100 mph fastball, so a certain skill level is apparent even in the players who took steroids their entire careers. The true talent of some of these players, sadly, will forever remain a mystery.

If Barry Bonds makes it to the Hall of Fame, should Marion Jones get her medals back? by ----no more questions---- Q: Some people say that Barry Bonds should be in the hall of fame even if he is guilty of lying to the grand jury. If he does get inducted to the hall of fame, shouldn't Marion Jones get her Olympic gold medals back? I think that Marion Jones would have won those medals without steroids anyway. What do you think?

A: Steroids were made illegal in baseball in 1991, so Bonds should not be in the hall of fame if Jones cannot get her medals back. Maybe both should be banned. -------------- "In truth, steroids have been banned in baseball since 1991 -- in a policy baseball officials made little effort to publicize" http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/eticket/story?page=steroidsExc&num=19

Have the Giants actually rebuilt any of their offense since Barry Bonds retired? by Anu R Q: I don't really follow the Giants, but I know their fielding and pitching is great. But has the team rebuilt any of the offense they used to have with Barry Bonds?

A: The offense has died down a lot since the end of the Bonds era. The Giants have switched from an all-hitting team, to an all-pitching team. The offense is slowly rebuilding with young guys like Pablo Sandoval and Buster Posey making a name for themselves.

Why is a Barry Bonds Topps 1986 baseball card worth so little? by Victroller Q: In going through some of my childhood things, I found a Topps 1986 Barry Bonds baseball card and have been researching its value. The card was kept in a baseball card album and is in near mint condition, as best I can tell. 1986 was his rookie year, and he played for the Pittsburgh Pirates, back then. Yet this card seems nearly worthless. I understand that a card is only worth what people will pay...yet this is Barry Bonds. Why is it selling on eBay for only a few dollars?

A: Trust me I feel your pain on this one... But the reason that card, and really all cards from this era are worth so little, are because so many of us really got into collecting in the mid to late 80's. People were starting to talk about how much cards from the earlier era were selling for around this time and things went crazy, companies like Fleer, Bowman, Upper Deck, etc. etc. starting popping up to compete with Topps who was king as everybody wanted to collect. Now, that is the reason that cards from the 80's and 90's pale in comparison to other years. Now, the other guy was right too about people not liking Barry Bonds, but the other thing that made card values across the board drop is eBay. We now see how many of each card actually exist out there and unfortunately its a lot more than we'd like. So prices of cards, unless you get them graded and they grad a perfect 10, aren't worth much.

What is the deadline to sign Barry Bonds? by mondex Q: I am not a huge baseball fan, but I am curious to see if anyone is going to sign Barry Bonds. The trade deadline for unrestricted trades is July 31st, and apparently off waivers at the end of August. Since Barry is not playing for a team, I don't understand when the deadline to sign him is. Can someone explain to me, given his situation, when is the latest anyone can sign him to play this year. To be honest, I am hoping no one signs him given the attitude he had over years (I think he would poison a team), so I just want to know when all this "Barry is available" talk will end this season. Thanks

A: in barry's case, i don't think there is one, because he is a free agent, but i think sept 1 is the date one must be on a roster to be eligible for post season (but i could be wrong on this in barry's case). And i agree--barry would no doubt poison the clubhouse--except maybe with the yankees--he would not be such a big cheese there, with derek and arod and everyone.

Do you guys remember which game Barry Bonds was intentionally walked with the bases loaded? by Joey Q: I can't remember who the team that did it or when, but I know for a fact that Barry Bonds was intentionally walked with the bases loaded. I find that just comical.

A: Barry Bonds was intentionally walked with the bases loaded on May 28, 1998. http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/SFN/SFN199805280.shtml It has happened five other times in history. 08/02/1881 Abner Dalrymple 05/23/1901 Napoleon Lajoie 05/02/1928 Del Bissonette 07/23/1944 Bill Nicholson 08/17/2008 Josh Hamilton

Is it just me or does espn show favoritism for barry bonds and the yankees? by staticjeff Q: every time i turn on espn its always something about barry "steroid" bonds or the stupid yankees. espn tried to have a show about bonds that tanked. i hardly ever see anything about the braves anymore.

A: Nah man Barry Bond deserves RESPECT and the Yankees do to cause of the run their on!!!

How do you feel about Barry Bonds? by paul s Q: I know that he looks like hes taken steroids, but he has not been charged or convicted. And you have to admit over 750 homeruns is alot and you still have to hit the ball over the fence 750 times. I am not a Barry Bonds fan but he is a certain hall of famer. What is your opinion?

A: I like woman, don't get me wrong I like him as a friend.... he he seriously I'm not sure, it sure does cast a cloud over him, as does some of his comments and attitude in the past, but I'm not sure how much that bugs me.

Which team do you see Barry Bonds playing for in 2008? by Mr. Knowledgeable VI Q: If San Francisco Giants outfielder Barry Bonds decides to play in 2008, he will be playing for another team since he is not elgible to play for the San Francisco Giants. Do you believe he will play for another season in MLB in 2008? Why or why not? Also, what teams do you see Barry Bonds playing for?

A: either the Indians or Rangers

What if Barry Bonds never broke the all time homerun record? by bunky Q: I realize he did cheat, but would all this talk about him be going on if he just juiced up & didn't break the record or is it because it's one of sports all time records. Just curious. Not a fan or hater of Barry Bonds Thanks for answering my question. The answers so far are really helpful & what I was expecting.

A: Barry Bonds breaking the HR record killed my dog

What is the proof of Barry Bonds cheating and using steriods? by St. Louis Cardinals Fan Q: I just started following Barry Bonds as he neared the new homerun record about a month ago and heard about all this speculation of him cheating and using steriods. Information on this?

A: Barry is currently under investigation so the evidence that has been collected to this point is being kept secret. It won't be made public until charges are filed (or MLB decides to take action). He did appear before a grand jury and admitted to taking two products that were steroids but claimed others lied to him by saying he was told they were something else. His testimony was supposed to be secret too but someone leaked it to SF Chronicle reporters. The two links from Ummfada will pretty much get you up to speed on the issue... especially if you read several of the other SFGate articles too. BALCO, the company developing and selling the products was busted and put out of business. Five or six other Major League ballplayers testified they got their steroids through Barry. Barry got them from life-long friend, Greg Anderson, who pleaded guilty to drug dealing charges. Greg is now rotting in prison, refusing to testify. PS: The analogy of the guy traveling across country is fair. (at this point) We can see something is not right and someone if not telling the truth.

Why does anyone care whether Barry Bonds used steroids or not? by Next year is our year! Q: I know this issue hasn't been brought up lately, but why would anyone care whether Barry Bonds used steroids or not? I understand that he may or may not have broken the rules, but come on...Mark McGwire was as big as Batista back when he was playing(because of Andro)and no one said a damn word about it. Sammy Sosa was on 'roids to and I don't hear anyone saying anything about him. So why all the fuss about Bonds?

A: Well, because he's the face of baseball and the Homerun king. You always have to go after the top athletes. No one cares if, say Jim Sorgi used them. He's the backup to Peyton Manning, so no one would care. Now if say, Brette Favre (which he's not) were accused, then that would be a story.

Why are people unsure about Roger Clemens drug use but are certain Barry Bonds used drugs? by 3rd parties for REAL CHANGE Q: There is more physical evdience against Clemens but the circumstantial evidence around Bonds is enough to convict him. This junk about Bonds being rude to the media, and thats why people have already convicted him, is nonsense. In my opinion, people have to see Roger Clemens as just as guilty as Barry Bonds, given all of the evidence against both of them.

A: The suspicion around Bonds had been there for some time. His physical appearance was very different from when he started his career to when he was breaking home run records. Clemens appearance has not really changed. Bonds has had books written about him. The whole Clemens thing was sprung on us rather quickly.

Do you think Barry Bonds is disappointed for not winning a ring with the Giants? by Mike Q: BQ: Do you think Barry Bonds was the roadblock in the Giants way to win a World Series during his tenure as a Giant?

A: I'm sure he's disappointed, but he's not regretting it. It's baseball not basketball. Unlike basketball, one person can't single handed will a victory like a Kobe or Jordan. He wasn't a road block. Look at his stats in that world series. He arguably could have been the MVP as a player on the losing team. I believe he was better than Glaus who won the WS MVP. He wasn't the roadblock, he didn't take out Russ Ortiz in a 5-0 lead with like 7 outs to go.

What exercise did Barry Bonds do to make his head grow? by NONAME Q: You say Barry Bonds is clean. He's never tested positive for anything. Barry worked out and put on muscle. Does he have a head mass workout that no one else is aware of? I searched Muscle & Fitness magazine online, and I couldn't find one head workout. So tell us please, what made Barry's head grow?

A: He stuck a bunch of needles full of HGH (Human Growth Hormone ), which Major League Baseball dues not test for,in his rear end. For further info see book " Game of Shadows." His shoe size has also grown by 3 full sizes

Is Barry Bonds the smartest hitter in baseball? by Craziee Panda Q: We all know Bonds is a cheater. But that isn't my question. A reporter asked Shawon Dunston if Barry Bonds is still capable of playing baseball today. Dunston says "Barry Bonds is the smartest baseball player. He isn't the nicest, but he definitely is the smartest. He doesn't get enough credit for that". True?

A: I think it was a combination of experience and having a good eye from seeing so many pitches and pitchers fearing him. So many pitchers got behind in the count on Bonds trying to be to careful. Once they got 2-0 or 3-1 in the count they would usually walk him. If you look at Bonds stats you will see he drew walks like crazy. He was walked 232 times which is insane. http://www.baseball-reference.com/players/b/bondsba01.shtml?redir

Why can't the guy that caught Barry Bonds record breaking home run ball keep it? by Conche Q: Matt Murphy, the 21-year-old who owns Barry Bonds' record home run ball, will auction it off. He said that he can't afford to keep it. Why is that? Is it because he has to have insurance on it?

A: It's funny that all these "experts" on tax law have a different opinion, but the IRS has never said they are taxing him for it. The most sensible opinion I heard from a tax attorney was on the radio. He stated that right now the ball is worth basically the retail price of a ball, and would only be considered worth more if he were to sell it for more then that retail price. Then he would be taxed on what it gets in auction, not what the "perceived" value is. maybe my opinion on this isn't popular, but it's rather difficult for me to feel sorry for a man who will make a couple hundred thousand bucks because a baseball happened to come his way. The other thing I find funny is that he says he didn't want to sell it, that he would rather keep it to show his grandchildren, but yet he agreed with his buddy that if one of them got the ball, they would split the proceeds - 51% to the one who caught it, and 49% to the other guy. Does this sound like someone who wasn't planning on selling the ball? Or worse yet, did he enter this agreement with his friend hoping that if his friend caught it he'd get that 49%, but if he caught it, he would keep it and stiff his buddy? I think this guy has had his 15 minutes of fame, liked it, and is only trying to get more publicity. I wish he would just quit complaining about what a raw deal he got and sell the damn thing already.

How can I make my feet grow like Barry Bonds? by rmrndrs Q: Can someone explain to me how a person can make their feet and head grow in adulthood like Barry Bonds did?. What kind of diet or excercise will do this for a person? How can I grow from shoe size 10 1/2 to 13. I am 40 years old. How can I accomplish this? It needs to be done in a legal, natural and safe way. How can I do it?

A: Get you some anabolic steroids and start shooting them into every pore you have. Go Dr. shopping if you have to, just like the pros do. That oughta work. It worked for him. p.s. Say bye-bye to your 'nads, they'll disappear just like your sex drive. ENJOY being a eunuch, but you'll have bigger feet.

Why is the sports fan who caught the ball from Barry Bonds' 756th home run being sent a tax bill? by Roderick C Q: As we all know, around this great country of ours, Barry Bonds scored his 756th home run recently breaking the all-time home run record of 755 set by Hank Aaron. A sports fan from New Jersey caught that ball which has a specified value to it. He was recently informed that he would be receiving a tax bill just for catching the ball. Why would he be receiving a tax bill if he has not sold the ball to anyone which would earn him 1 million dollars? From what I read, the government would collect roughly $100,000 to $200,000 in taxes. Please advise.

A: Congratulations - you've just made this topic the most over rated topic in the history of Yahoo. The IRS has not sent him a bill, nor will they unless he sells the ball. Note that in all of the articles written about this, none of them has actually talked to the IRS, only to "experts". As many of these "historic" balls that have been out there the last few years ( McGwire's 70th, Bonds' 73rd, etc.) we have not yet heard of this issue before. The law has not changed since then, and none of those people received a tax bill from the IRS ubtil they sold the ball. This dude is just trying to get some sympathy. Sorry, but I can't feel sorry for someone who's gonna make the money he will just because a baseball happened to come his way. The guy said that he didn't want to sell it, but before the game he made a deal with his buddy that if one of them caught the ball, they would split the proceeds - 51% to the guy who got the ball and 49% to the other one. Does this sound like a man who didn't plan on selling it? Then he says that he hopes whoever buys it donates to the Hall of Fame. Why doesn't he just do that ? Then he wouldn't pay taxes on it because he could then deduct the value of the ball from his income. Sorry to say, but this guy is talking out of both sides of his mouth. He's had his 15 minutes of fame and liked it, so he's trying to get even more publicity. I'll be real glad when he sells the thing and disappears from sight with his money.

Do you think what Mark Ecko did to Barry Bonds' home run ball could be considered slander? by Mako Q: He is getting an asterisk branded on it and giving it to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Now, the ball isn't Barry's, but, I think it could be considered slander, since the public is accusing Bonds' when nothing has been found to make him guilty. What do you think? Do you think Bonds could sue Ecko for it?

A: Yes, why not. Ecko is a clown. He looks like K-Fed's father. http://marceckoenterprises.com/images/marc/320//3.jpg

BARRY BONDs? by Hawkbravefalconfan Q: How come he was so small with the pirates and then all of the sudden he turns into the incredible hulk. From 1990 to 2000 the most he had ever hit was 49 homers then all of the sudden he hits 70 thats a 21 homerun swing in one year so we know when bonds started taking steroids you can also look at sosa's stats and you will find the same thing you can tell when they started taking steroids by looking at their stats look for yourself for bonds he started in 1999 its obvious

A: Most sensible minded people are aware that Barry was on steroids and so were a lot of other players. Baseballs owners pretended like they did'nt know anything because it was good for business and look at what they've done. They owe Hank big time, bottom line is the owners and Selig are just as guilty as the juiced up players.

How is Shawne Merriman any different than Barry Bonds? by lowestfrequency Q: Barry Bonds and other baseball players have cast a shadow over certain accomplishments due to their involvement with performance-enhancing drugs. Fans and media would love to see an asterisk by any and all records set by players convicted of cheating. So why not Shawne Merriman? It wasn't just Bonds - Palmiero, Giambi, etc. Some very average baseball players are under the same negative connotations as Barry. Merriman used performance-enhancing drugs...isn't that the bottom line?

A: Bonds was on his way to breaking the most prestigious record in baseball and Merriman was just a defensive player of the year candidate. Merriman also admitted he did it and apologized to all his fans. Bonds has constantly denied the accusations as his huge head is slowly shrinking.

Why is Barry Bonds looked down more than other baseball players who was alleged to use steroids? by Heat Fan Q: There is evidence that suggest that Sammy Sosa, A-Rod, and Rafael Palmeiro and a belief by some that Mark McGwire and Ivan Rodriguez used it yet they are not scorned by the media as BArry Bonds. Also before the period that Bonds was alleged to use steroids he was a hall of famer because he could hit for average, some power, a great defensive player, and could steal well.

A: Because he is an arrogant liar, and because his record-breaking rampage did the most damage to the history of the game.

How much is a Origanal Barry Bonds card, after he dies If i waited a couple of years? by kate m Q: Hey i just got this new card. Its a Barry Bonds Base Ball Card. And if this helps his hits on the card are 2157 and team Giants (of course) so i was just woundering and my friend said after he died it would be like 50 grand i dont know if he is right so that is why i am here. Oh and it is a ORIGANAL card the newest card i think. But if you need like his homeruns they are 494 so does anyone know what it is worth and or where i can find out.

A: "...after he dies If i waited a couple of years?" WTF? I mean if he (Barry) was going to die in two years don't you think Canseco would be dead by now?

Since Barry Bonds has broken the homerun record, will the value of his baseball cards go up? by KIKI Q: I have two 1992 Topps Barry Bonds baseball cards. One of them is a regular 1992 Topps card, and the other one is a 1992 Topps All-Star card. Have the value of both of these gone up?

A: Baseball cards are only worth what you can get someone to pay and if he remains this unpopular I would say it is only downhill.

What is the difference between Barry Bonds fans and Patriot fans? by dude58677 Q: It was obvious that Barry Bonds used steroids with the Balco scandal and the Patriots have been caught cheating with the Spygate. Fans of both Bonds and the Patriots say that there role models are the best despite cheating. How are these inseperable? Jerriicco, of course Barry Bonds plays baseball and not football but him and the Patriots are both cheaters in sports. LOL, there is the typical copout from Patriots fans "get over it". Really, it's just a simple question.

A: I agree 100%. They are both cheaters but for some reason everyone hates Barry Bonds and loves the Patriots.

How did Barry Bonds learn his exact steroid testing date months ahead of time? by b m Q: In my opinion, the most shocking news in the Mitchell report was the fact that Barry Bonds and his trainer were told the exact date of his official "random" steroid test approx 3 months ahead of time. Is it known how this information was leaked to Bonds? Did the MLB front office tell him on purpose so he wouldn't make baseball look bad with a positive test?

A: Thats a great point. Idt MLB would do that or they wouldnt have allowed the Mitchell report to ever begin. Thats a very interesting point. If thats true though then they have sum explainin to do. The game of baseball will never be the same cuz of the "Steroid Era" Its my fav sport and everyone who doesnt know much looks down on it now. Makes me sick

Who the difference between Barry Bonds or Bill Belichick? by MuddButt Q: The only one I can think of is that Barry Bonds did get caught. Oh and their both cheaters. I mean What's ILconservative-- You are so true on belichick's dressing. He looks like he stinks wearing those damn sweatshirts.

A: Bonds is a liar and a cheater Belicheck is just a cheater

Is Barry Bonds the most dominant baseball player in the 40 billion year history of the world? by Q: Since the evolution of the gases, cells,organisms etc..of the world some 40 billion years ago is Barry Bonds considered the most dominant baseball player?

A: Since the evolution of STEROIDS.

BaRRY BoNDS?!? by yo! Q: stupid barry bonds tied hank arron! i think that they should take away all the homeruns that he hit with steriods? or a least put one of those star things. what do u think? and i hope alex rodriguez beats him because barry bonds didnt have 500 at the age alex is. so i have a feeling alex will have more.

A: steroids?...why do you think he hit any on steroids?...has he tested positive any of the times that major league baseball randomly tested him? I know that they do actually test people because Darryl Strawberry failed many times...but i've never heard of barry bonds failing a drug test administered by his employer, Major League Baseball... weird assumption...its funny what people will believe just so that they can lessen the feats of others..without any PROOF or FACTS... for every person out there who claims that they "know" bonds took steroids, there is a person who can claim different... personally, without proof, people like you are just perpetuating the lie...it doesn't matter what you THINK he did...it only matters what you can PROVE he did... steroids are illegal, and i don't see any police department arresting him... steroid use in baseball, administered by a doctor or not, is illegal, and i don't see barry bonds getting suspended or fired from his job... proof people...you need proof...stop being brain dead sheep that are led around by a media and opportunistic conmen that are creating a story to make money for themselves...

barry bonds? by SteveDel0 Q: Do you think Barry Bonds will get his 800th homerun today? if he does, do you think It will make history? or be forgotten? sigh, guys, this was obiously a joke, damn ok not really Well, you MUST admit getting his 800 homeruns will be pretty impressive though so my question still makes sence, even though I meant 755 lol lol, thanks for the laugh guys

A: today? you think he will hit 56 HRs today? lol if he hits 800 in his career i will be surprised. at most he has one year left after this, where he will go to the AL and DH for a team that needs a bat. of course he will end up making ridiculous money for it, but thats only so he could get to 800. sure, hitting 800 homers wont be forgotten, especially from a guy like bonds. the whole steroid controversy will loom over his head forever, and if he does reach 800 that might make it worse. of course this is all until a-rod reaches 800 in about 8 or 9 years.

Barry bonds? by ASKER1213054295 Q: how do you feel about barry bonds? I think hes a cheater and shouldnt have the record

A: Anyone who calls Barry Bonds a cheater is uneducated in regards to baseball and are only spewing back what the media tells them. The reason the media is so hard on Barry Bonds is because when they try to get a rise out of him he ignores them or tells them they asked a stupid question. Important Things to know about Barry Bonds record: - He accomplished it in half the time it took Aaron - He has never cheated - even during the time he allegedly took steroids it was not against the rules in MLB - Despite the many times he has been tested, he has never been caught using steroids - Even if he was on steroids he still has outperformed any other player who was on steroids - There was no testing in Aaron's day, I don't suggest he used any sort of substance to enhance his play, but there is as much evidence of Bonds using steroids as there is of Aaron using steroids. The media has created a farce to persecute a great ball player simply because he won't talk to them. He refuses to follow their rules and so they bash him and the majority of the public have condemned him even though their has been no evidence. It is a disgrace the way people treat this record which is truly amazing and cause for celebration. He also holds the record for most single season homeruns He holds the record for most MVPs with 7 (the next closest is 3) He is the only player to have 500 homeruns and 500 stolen bases He has 8 Gold gloves. Barry is by far the greatest ball player to ever play the game, and unless he fails a drug test leave him alone and enjoy the show.

Barry Bonds? by X Q: What would you do if barry bonds stopped at 755

A: I could care less. Personally I'd rather see someone like A-Rod break the homerun record.

Images
Videos
kanye west ft lil wayne barry bonds Barry Bonds homerun # 758 ESPN Sportscentury- Barry Bonds (2006) (Pt. 1 of 3) Thank you Barry!! (A Barry Bonds Tribute) Barry Bonds Freestyle- Limitless Coming Soon Kanye West Lil Wayne - Barry Bonds Remix 2011 (KracK) Barry Bonds Home Run Tribute Barry Bonds 71st Home run beating Mcgwire Jim Leyland cusses out Barry Bonds Kanye West Featuring Lil Wayne - Barry Bonds[REMIX] NY Orders Evacuations and Shuts Down Transit Barry Bonds - D'Aaron Anthony Barry Bonds-R3K Remix Barry Bonds and Steroids Barry Bonds leaving SUR Lounge in West Hollywood! Kanye West - Barry Bonds Ft. Lil Wayne (Instrumental w/ Lyrics) Paul Henderson Discusses Barry Bonds Perjury Trial on CBS Barry Bonds 756 Barry Bonds Verdict: Guilty Matt Ceezy - Barry Bonds Dwyane Wade vs. kids in knockout game at his All-Star Basketball Camp Sean Scott Barry Bonds 1 Jury Selected in Barry Bonds Perjury Trial Barry Bonds Barry Bonds VS Eric Gagne Bigger Joke: Manny Ramirez Or Barry Bonds ESPN Sportscentury- Barry Bonds (2006) (Pt. 2 of 3) Barry bonds fight Hank Aaron vs Barry Bonds on the Blitz Hardcore Podcast ESPN Sportscentury- Barry Bonds (2006) (Pt. 3 of 3) Barry Bonds game used PC & 1 year on the Tube Barry Bonds - Cut Out Breast Implants, Burn House Down No Verdict Yet in Barry Bonds Case Dominican Republic Global Film Festival - 2010 - Panel Discussion with baseball player Barry Bonds Defense Rests in the Barry Bonds Perjury Trail Barry Bonds #73 Complete Barry Bonds Refractor PC Barry Bonds Steroid Use COD Black Ops on WMD | MrTy415 runs into Barry Bonds Barry Bonds DubStep Remix Part 1 - Sports Memorabilia Expert Joe Orlando Talks Collecting Bats, from Babe Ruth to Barry Bonds Steroids Should be Legal in Sports!? Was Barry Bonds Justified? - JRSportBrief in Little Italy! I'm Coming home Barry Bonds: J Cole/ Kanye Mashup Barry Bonds Cards For Trade Barry Bonds Steroid Perjury Trial: One Woman's True Story of Testicular Atrophy & the Man She Loves Robert Garrigus golf swing versus Barry Bonds swing Bailey - Black and Orange ft. Barry Bonds Barry Bonds' Former Mistress Testifies at Trial Mike Tyson Talking Barry Bonds on Afternoon Gridlock Barry Bonds Speaks Out
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-04 06:32:52