OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Armenian genocide
News

Armenia turns away from politics of genocide, begins to embrace realpolitik by ...
According to Armenian political authorities and experts, the step taken by France with regards to the 1915 events was very effective in making its mark and also led the larger global public to begin perceiving the “Armenian Genocide” as a great crime ...

Sarkozy Vows New French Bill Against Armenian Genocide Denial
French President Nicolas Sarkozy has reaffirmed his pledge to draft a new bill making it a crime to deny that the 1915 massacres of Armenians in Ottoman Turkey constituted genocide. Sarkozy was instrumental in the recent passage of such legislation by ...

Khloe & Lamar Season 2 episode 4 talks Turkey
Khloe wants to support Lamar, but her Armenian heritage makes a move to Turkey more complicated, in light of the 1915 Armenian Genocide committed by Ottoman Turkey. She and her sisters represent Armenian culture and she doesn't want to let the Armenian ...

“Khloe and Lamar” to feature Armenian Genocide discussion
Net - “Khloe and Lamar,” the hit E! Network “Keeping Up With the Kardashians” spin-off viewed weekly worldwide by millions, will feature a discussion of the Armenian Genocide highlighting contemporary footage and photography by two veterans of the ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

ameerah1yemenia RT @crazyyafai: Why does this stupid world only realize #genocide when it's too late. #GenocideInSyria Rwanda Genocide Armenian genocide

crazyyafai Why does this stupid world only realize #genocide when it's too late. #GenocideInSyria Rwanda Genocide Armenian genocide

JOLATWEET So I decide to watch TV and @KhloeKardashian and Lamar are on E. really nice episode about Armenian Genocide.

zeynebcik @KimKardashian There is no such thing as Armenian Genocide

NairiPapuk RT @iamAyanAli: Tonight I shall study the armenian genocide because of @KhloeKardashian. Really wanna learn about it:)

LearnToGoogle Currently on Google: armenian genocide http://t.co/VsDxthBj

loveee_sarah I learned about the Armenian genocide today/ well yesterday from watching Khloé& Lamar

NairiPapuk RT @KimKardashian: Can't wait to watch Khloe & Lamar tonight on E! Tonights episode we are talking about the Armenian Genocide! TUNE IN!

jacquelineKad RT @carleensarksian: how sad that people are just now learning what the Armenian Genocide is because of @KhloeKardashian on tonight's episode. #wakeupworld

Discussions

How do i start my introduction on a argumentation paper on the Armenian genocide? by plesase help me people Q: its a controversioal topic, and im on the side of the Armenians in the big picture, but my thesis is on the denial of realities of the genocide, since Turks today deny that it ever happened.

A: Thank you for writing a paper on it... it's a shame so few know about it... When the Nazis questioned Hitler's plan, he replied, "Who remembers the genocide of the Armenians?"... an no one answered, "That's why it will work" he said. Chilling. I would open with that idea, hit the reader with a comparison they can understand and has a strong impact/emotional response. By the way, have you seen the movie Ararat? Very powerful movie about this topic.

For the record, DID the Armenian genocide happen? by . Q: Or were a lot of Armenians just the casualties of war? I see many people deny the Armenian genocide, and I am confused as to why if it did happen. What happened?

A: here for record http://www.armeniapedia.org/index.php?title=Armenian_Genocide_Quotes#Mustafa_Kemal_Atat.C3.BCrk "to all turks here are words of your leader (Ataturk) These left-overs from the former Young Turk Party, who should have been made to account for the millions of our Christian subjects who were ruthlessly driven en masse, from their homes and massacred, have been restive under the Republican rule" Prince Abdul Mecid "I refer to those awful massacres. They are the greatest stain that has ever disgraced our nation and race. They were entirely the work of Talat and Enver. I heard some days before they began that they were intended. I went to Istanbul and insisted on seeing Enver. I asked him if it was true that they intended to recommence the massacres which had been our shame and disgrace under Abdul Hamid. The only reply I could get from him was: 'It is decided. It is the program.' " Enver Pasha "One of the triumvirate rulers publicly declared on 19 May 1916... The Ottoman Empire should be cleaned up of the Armenians and the Lebanese. We have destroyed the former by the sword, we shall destroy the latter through starvation. In reply to US Ambassador Morgenthau who was deploring the massacres against Armenians and attributing them to irresponsible subalterns and underlings in the distant provinces, Enver's reply was... You are greatly mistaken. We have this country absolutely under our control. I have no desire to shift the blame onto our underlings and I am entirely willing to accept the responsibility myself for everything that has taken place. " now shut up

Why do turks still deny the armenian genocide? by Q: it's backed up by national archives, almost all historians, eyewitness accounts, holocaust scholars, and even pictures. plus why would armenia's national symbol with an armenian name be in turkey? or how about the ancient armenian churches and artifacts in eastern turkey? hmm? and every armenian you ask can tell you an armenian genocide story. how can they deny it? i just don't get it.

A: There are several obstacles on the way of Turkey acknowledging the events as "Genocide". 1) The majority of Turkish people genuinely believe no Genocide took place and will obviously vehemently deny the event. This is because for generations the Turkish government adopted the total denial policy; the children are taught from childhood that Armenians are nasty liars who try to blacken their names, that in fact Armenians committed crimes against Turkish people, and that any small amount of Armenians dying (they accept no more 100,000 deaths) in the period of 1880-1920 were just victims of World War I. In such a climate, acknowledging Armenian Genocide is like becoming a pariah - Hrant Dink (a Turkish journalist of Armenian descent) was gunned down in cold blood after he called for the recognition of the event as Genocide, Orhan Pamuk (Nobel Prize laureate) was charged, tried in court and found guilty of 'insulting national honour' for daring to talk about mass killings of Armenians and Kurds. 2. Recognition of Armenian Genocide might lead to compensations; a) Monetary compensation - I doubt Turkey would be categorically against this, if it were the only obstacle; the survivors of the Genocide are few, as are their direct heirs. However, if it were the question of compensation of ALL properties seized from Armenians, we are talking about billions, probably tens of billions of dollars. b) Land compensation - the lands cleansed of Armenians (Western Armenia), which historically always belonged to Armenia until Turkish invasion and subsequent Genocide, would probably have to be returned, at least partially. Those include not only important historical monuments (mostly built by Armenians) and places, but also important agricultural lands, mines, etc. 3. Turkey simply doesn't want to have the same fate as Germany - forced to apologize for their atrocities again and again. They find it much easier to simply ignore anything has happened at all.

How did the Armenian Genocide end? by icegurl356 Q: Okay, so I can see that some people have posted a question about how the armenian genocide ended, but I still have no idea... can you please help me? Like, what happened after it ended? What did the Armenians/Turks do?

A: Armenian Genocide started April 24, 1915. and ended when modern Turkey was established by Kemal Ataturk 1923. Talat Pasha and two others were prosecuted in Turkey. But Talat ran away to Germany. He was later shot by an Armenian Genocide survivor whose whole family was murdered. Read the links you will find much better information in detail. It ended with Armenians losing their ancestral homeland Anatolia. 1.5 million Armenians were killed. Remember on the other side of Turkey Greeks and Assyrians were also killed and deported, Why? Because they were also Christians. Either they had to convert to Christianity or die. Armenians have very long and interesting history. If you have read about Tigranes the Great he was labeled as "King of Kings. These were the Roman times when there was no Turk in Anatolia.

Was the Armenian Genocide a real Genocide? by Q: I must know if it was really a genocide or if it was just a bunch or prisoners of war. I want to know the truth, don't give me these lies! If it in fact was a genocide, did it inspire Hitler to start up the Holocaost against the Jews? I must know the truth! Is there anyone out there that knows anything about the Armenian Genocide? I don't want just sources, I want information, true information!

A: Yes the Armenian Genocide was a real genocide. It occurred in the early 1900's around the same time as WW1 i believe. It was the leaders of the Ottoman Empire (who were Muslim) killing the Armenians, who were a Christian minority. I think, not positive though, that the Ottoman's tried to use WW1 as a cover for what was happening in their country.

Events which precipitated the Armenian Genocide and other genocides.? by Tolik A Q: I need you to help me out with this question please. Events which precipitated the Armenian Genocide and other genocides. I need an event that caused the genocide

A: There's no "one" event. You can find info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armenian_Genocide#Prelude http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rwandan_Genocide#Civil_war

I need to find a particular about British officer reflecting on Armenian genocide? by Q: I'm trying to find a book which I read about one year ago but now forget the title & author. It is about a British officer stationed in Istanbul several years after the Armenian genocide. He reflects on the fact that he was also in Constantinople at the time of the Armenian genocide when his first wife was killed at a party invaded by Turks. He was spared because he was British & he now has guilt for being a survivor.

A: I think this might be what you are referring to: Ambassador Morgenthau's Story by Henry Morgenthau The classic memoir by the American ambassador to the Ottoman Empire who not only documented but also tried to stop the genocide of the Armenian people. http://www.amazon.com/dp/0814331599/

About the armenian Genocide. How do nationalist, secular and religious views differ in Turkey ? by Dr. Beemer Q: Each of these group has different political viewpoint. I was wondering where each of them stand on the Armenian Genocide conflict. How each of them want it solved? No Bad Words. I ask a question if you don't like it just don't answer. Most of you try to explain how the Armenian Genocide happened, thats not my question. My question is where do these political parties stand on Armenian Genocide issue.

A: I think secular view point will be the best toward Armenian Genocide, at least if they think democratic(which they should). But in general I agree with Mary here.

What do Armenians think of using the word genocide to depict the Armenian Genocide? by Q: I am writing an op-ed and I want to know what Armenians think about the term genocide? Also, does anyone know what Kim Kardashian thinks about it? I know the US has its opinions (or lack of), as well as Turkey, and France, but what does Armenia think? Please site sources and any good articles online I could use. Thanks!

A: I'm an Armenian , what do I think about the meaning of genocide ? It is an organizes killing of a nation or group of people. 1) Kill the leaders(politicians) Turkey called the most of Armenian leaders to Turkey to discuss the future relations and they all killed them.Some of them were taken to a Syrian(now a days) desert and murdered. 2) Kill the intelligence Turkey ordered to kill every Armenian writer and newspaper publisher,teachers and other people who could possibly escape and tell the rest of the world about what's going on. 3) Kill the men so they can't fight you back Turkey collected hundreds of thousands of Armenian men from villages and cities and told them they were being recruited to Turkish army(at that time Western Armenia was part of Turkey) but instead of taking them to military base they took them to a desert and killed them. 4) Kill everyone else Women,kids,elder....every were all murdered. 50% of entire Armenian population was killed between 1914-1917.The ones that were able to escaped they died in desert because of hunger and thrust.Some of them escaped to Easter Armenia. Turkish soldiers would find a pregnant Armenian woman and bet with each other whether the baby is a boy or a girl.Then they would kill the mother and take out the baby from inside her to see if it's a boy or a girl.I'm not even kidding you,you have no idea what kind of barbarian thing they have done to us. You know what the interesting thing is ? Few years later, new Turkish government recognized the genocide and they ordered to arrest the former Turkish leaders who commit it and they did actually put them in jail in Cyprus but later that year they escaped(so strange right ?) But soon Turkey realized that it's not a good idea to recognize the genocide so they changed their mind in order not to compensate the damage. Damage = 90% of Armenian lands were stolen + hundreds of millions of $$$ were stolen from Armenian banks(in modern currency it would be about 700Billion $)

What is your opinion on the Armenian genocide decision? by Q: President Bush, Condoleezza Rice, and Robert Gates have all been trying to convince Congress to not use the word "genocide" in their decision, in regards to the mass Armenian killings in the days of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of World War I, because it would show harsh judgment against one of our allies (Turkey). Turkey is insisting that the amount of Ottoman Turks killed matched the number of Armenians killed, so it shouldn't be ruled as genocide. What do you say? If you did believe it was a genocide, would you rule in favor of it in your decision, or would you rule against it, in order to stay in good relations with Turkey?

A: Would anyone make the same arguments if the tables were turned, and it was Germany denying the holocaust of the Jews? Would it be "irresponsible" of the U.S. to recognize the holocaust, because Germany was a key ally? If Iran was an ally in the war on terror…would the U.S. be ok with going along with Ahmadinejad’s holocaust denial, as long as Iran was kept happy? How long do you expect Armenian-Americans to sit around and have their history denied by the country they live, vote and pay tax in? Its been 92 years...let us have some dignity. Lastly, as Tom Lantos (of the house of representatives) stated: turkey needs the U.S., more than the U.S. needs turkey.

Why doesnt the US recognize the Armenian Genocide? by jeanhamilton20 Q: I am Armenian, and my family was split up because of the Genocide. It really pisses me off that you can't spend a living second without hearing about the atrocities and torture and whatever of the Holocaust. Yes it was bad but the Armenian Genocide was equally horrible and it is never mentioned in history books. And why is Turkey trying to deny it? Theyre actually teaching the new generation that the Armenians were the ones who massacred the Turks. Pieces of ****. What can we Armenians do about this?

A: America has it's own modern genocide called Infanticide AKA abortion

Do you beleive to the Armenian Genocide? by Sevim D Q: I am an Armenian, and i don't believe that Turks killed us. I have a lot of Turkish friends and i like all of them they are really friendly. Do other Armenians believe to the Genocide?

A: I dont beleive that genocide. I am Not Turkish. And i dont really beleive it. As i know , While Ottoman Empire was at the world war(when they were weak) Armenians came to their Northeast part of the lands. And they did not want to go back. When Tukey got the control of the Lands(Anatolia) They sent back the armenians. And people think that they killed them and they made a genocide. I know you all are going to give me the bad thumb but i think it is the real..Just think logicly and answer.. Does not it makes sence that armaniens attacked to Ottomans when they were weak. Or if they did a genocide what did America or England did. What about the slaves or what about the Native Americans. NAtive Americans were here before Americans. But when Colombus find here they killed everyone and they took Natives land. Or what about the people from Africa. Americans took them just about 300 years ago. They had slavery just about 300 years ago.. How close is it ??? Also Colombus did not discover the America.. Natives did. Colombus thought it was INdia. But Natives found it about 50 000 years ago..

What is the Turks explanation for the Armenian Genocide? by Q: I'm doing the Armenian Genocide for History Fair. I'm Armenian and Turkish, my great-great grandmother died in the Genocide. So here's my question- what is the Turks explanation for the Genocide? Don't give me any bullshit, stating it didn't occur. Also, if you used any resources, PLEASE send the website with your answer :)

A: The Turks claim it never happened, and that any Armenian deaths in WW1 were a result of normal combat operations against Armenian insurgents. Far from colluding in the Turkish denial,Britain and France stated clearly during WW1 that those responsible would be brought to justice after the war,but Britain had its own problems (for example with Ireland), and political turmoil in Turkey after WW1 prevented any of this ever happening. It's still a criminal offence in Turkey today to say the Armenian Genocide really happened.

What does Anonymous think of the Armenian Genocide? by Q: I want to join Anonymous but would like to know Where they stand on the Turkish Denial of the Armenian Genocide they commited.

A: Well anonymous is lot of hackers, and their not as organized on who is part of, so I guess each member has their own opinion.

What was the result of the armenian genocide? by Q: i need to know what the result of the armenian genocide is.

A: Well a lot of people died as you know. And many others moved to other places more safe.

Is Armenia still affected by the Armenian Genocide? by Q: For a school project,,, Are there any long lasting affects/damages from the Armenian Genocide still going on today? Thank you :) It's been kind of difficult to find good information on the subject.

A: Psychologically: Yes. to a large extend. No armenian child grows up without learning in detail about the horrors back then. Number of people: Maybe. A dropping number of Armenian speaking people may also be related to modern medicin and birth controll

Why did the Armenian Genocide happen? I am 18 (graduated from hs) and we never covered the Armenian Genocide..? by . Q: I am familiar with the Armenian Genocide because I am Armenian. We are required to take history classes and never covered it for a day.

A: In the Armenian case, Turks and Armenians were living harmoniously for years, but the Ottoman Empire was collapsing, and everyone was trying to take a piece. Bulgaria, Greece, some Arab countries were already formed. Russia gave the Armenians hope for a new country so they revolted against the Government. That is, they wanted an Armenia in the lands of the Ottomans. They stroke Turkish villages, many Turkish villagers died, many women were raped. Ottomans stroke back. There was blood shed on both sides. Turks decided to send Armenians away from their lands. ( By the way, this was a German idea, Germans and Turks were cooperating then ). This was not a great idea. Many of the Armenians were villagers or artificers (artisans ) that had nothing to do with the political ideas of their leaders. They were obeying the law and looking after their families. They had been living at the same places for ages. On the way , many many died. Many changed their names into Turkish ones and moved to other cities and started a new life. Many gave their children to their Turkish neighbours who kept them and raised them as their children. Some gangs attacked them, some people raped them, there was hunger, sickness...Many things which should not even be told happened to both Turks and Armenians. There were no camps, and the Armenians sitting quietly minding their business in other big cities at the Western parts of the country were not affected. But those who lived in the Russian border lost their lands and had to live elsewhere : in Armenia, in Canada, in US and so on. Mountain Ararat, ( the highest mountain of Turkey- a source for Armenian symbolism ) could only be seen in their dreams. So, they can't forgive Turkish people. ============================== P.S. I don't believe in a Genocide. Massacre? Yes Human tragedy? Yes I believe in the stories told by Armenians. They went through things they shouldn't have. But you should know that at the other side of the balance, there are people in Turkey that can tell you exactly the same kind of things done to them by Armenians.War is a terrible terrible thing. It brings out the worst in people. Genocide? Compare with what the Nazis did, and you'll see there was blood, sweat and tears, hot war in this case. No, I don't believe in a Genocide. Turkey has files and archives that it wants to be open to public. Turkey invites historians to do research on its files. Russia and Armenia also have files and archives. Turkey asks Armenia to open its files to public. They don't. They prefer lobbying. As an Armenian, you have every right to be biased. If you are really interested in history, you don't. The figures they give about the figures dead are most probably a lot more than the real ones. Not a day passes in Turkey, without someone known to public opening up the secrets of his family and saying that his grandmother/ grandfather was a secret Armenian. Does this make their tragedy less? No. But, I really believe that the intention to begin with was not to kill them, but to transport them elsewhere. You can read Bernard Lewis' ideas about that if you like. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bernard_Lewis I quote from elsewhere: ========================= Princeton University history professor, Bernard Lewis stated on April 14, 2002, at the National Press Club on C-Span 2: “That the massacre of the Armenians in the Ottoman Empire was the same as what happened to Jews in Nazi Germany is a downright falsehood. What happened to the Armenians was the result of a massive Armenian armed rebellion against the Turks, which began even before war broke out, and continued on a larger scale. But to make this a parallel with the holocaust in Germany you would have to assume the Jews of Germany had been engaged in an armed rebellion against the German state, collaborating with the allies against Germany. ============================= There are even scripts written by the ministers of Russia and Armenia at the time, but Armenia prefers to cover them up. I read some. You can do research and read them too. Not, that I blame them for covering up . If I were an Armenian, I'd probably do the same.

Does Nicolas Sarkozy attack France’s freedom of speech with new Armenian genocide law? by Q: Is it attack on France’s freedom of speech the effort of Nicolas Sarkozy's to create law that punishes denial of the Armenian genocide? Can you use a law to force people how to think, and not allow them to make decision based on historical facts? Is this something like big brother is watching you? Is this dictatorship? Please note that question is not if genocide happened or not!

A: not aware of that particular law, but yes. free speech is unconditional, the way i see it. the idea that one can't openly deny a truth is ridiculous. how else can the one learn the truth? the remedy to wrong speech is correct speech.

I need a website for the armenian genocide? by dmitridima Q: I'm looking for a website with information on how the armenian genocide began, what was going on during the genocide, and the events that followed afterwards. basiclly just an overview of the genocide.

A: This link to the website is the best for FAQ about Armenian Genocide. http://www.armenian-genocide.org/genocidefaq.html

What is your opinion on the Armenian Genocide? by ARMENIACHRISTIAN4LIFE Q: Many historians say that the Armenian Genocide did happen. Even the creator of the word genocide Raphal Lemkin came up with the word by seeing what had happened to the Armenians.

A: The Armenian Genocide was the first genocide of the 20th century. I really don't think the Jewish Holocaust, the Rwanda Genocide or the Darfur would never taken place or still be taking place if the Turks were justly punished for their crimes. It was Hitler who said something along the lines of "After all who remembers the annihalation of the Armenians" while encouraging the nazis to massacre the poles. He was deathly wrong of course because Armenians live and suffer the effects of genocide still, until today. The genocide was the biggest atrocity committed by the Turkish government, but it was not the first. Being naive, we believed that the Young Turks would help us in getting rid of the Ottomans, which they did but only to torture us even more. Yes a child should not be punished for his/her parents mistakes, but a child should accept his/her parents mistakes or else he/she will be making a mistake as well. Likewise, by denying the genocide Turkey is committing a much larger crime which will embarrass it after the truth is finally accepted around the world.

How is that Jews are denying the Armenian Genocide? by Zarzoorner Q: It is a very shameful act of the Israeli government and some group of Jews living in the USA to deny the Armenian Genocide, by saying that never happened, when 1,500,000 millions been massacred and killed the rest exiled from their home land, by the hand of Turks, it is a very sad to hear from Jewish people victims of there own to a similar tragedies by the Nazi's, all of Europe's have documentations and evidence of the occurrence of the genocide of 1915 that was the first genocide of 20Th century, in Europe it is a crime to deny the Armenian Genocide, punishable with a jail sentence, still Israel denies, plus to that, is helping Turkey to cover up, how can you justify this type of act from a similar victim's, similar tragedy. this just one of them: http://www.anca.org/press_releases/press_releases.php?prid=1259 http://www.turkishdailynews.com.tr/article.php?enewsid=71599 All my life i've been friends with jews and feel very close ties. http://www.rense.com/general21/den.htm http://rawstory.com/news/dpa/Israeli_Knesset_won_t_debate_Armeni_03142007.html For some of you. Please be respectful, this are not made up stories, I do understand you very well, I was shocked too, that's why I ask this question, please read the last 2 websites.

A: Well, how Jews feel when the black-minded president of Iran (Ahmadinejad) denies the Holocaust?! Jews became a victim of inhumanity and racism during WW2 and the same was happened for Armenians during WW1. Don't Jews understand the meaning of genocide? Of course they do and I'm sure they feel how painful it is, because they have experienced that horrible genocide in their history. As much as I know, its the Israeli government denying Armenian Genocide of 1915-23 and not the whole Jews. Israel is an ally of Turkey, Turkey is best friend of Israel in the region, is a Muslim country and plays important role for Israel. The reason Israeli government denies Armenian Genocide is all political. But it's not fair, because it has also happened to them.

Does video of the Armenian Genocide exist? by jacksonspaz Q: I'm making a semi-official music video for a band for a song that is about the Armenian Genocide. In addition to all my live footage of the band, I want something from the event. I've found plenty of pictures that would work, but I would prefer video, as it would have a better effect. But this happened in the early 1900s, and they tried to keep it secret. Does anyone know if any video at all of this exists? Or where I might find it? I realize this may be a sensitive issue. I'm only asking, please don't take offense.

A: Who would have filmed it? The Turks? You must be joking. Even today they deny it happened

What are the countries that have recognized Armenian genocide? by technology.master Q: I need the countries and dates in which they have accepted Armenian genocide. I don't need answers like: search web, an wikipedia link.... Ty. :)

A: 1. Uruguay (A Parliamentary Resolution was adopted in 1965, followed by a Law adopted in 2004) 2. Cyprus (A Parliamentary Resolution was adopted in 1982) 3. European Union (Parliamentary Resolutions adopted in 1987, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005) 4. Argentina (A Senate Resolution was adopted in 1993, followed by a Law adopted in 2004) 5. Russia (A State Duma Resolution was adopted in 1995) 6. Canada (Resolutions were adopted in 1996, 2002 and 2004) 7. Greece (A Parliamentary Resolution was adopted in 1996) 8. Lebanon (Resolutions were adopted in 1997 and 2000) 9. Belgium (A Senate Resolution was adopted in 1998) 10. France (Parliamentary Resolutions were adopted in 1998 and 2000, followed by a Law adopted in 2001) 11. Sweden (A Parliamentary report of 2000) 12. Vatican (In 2000) 13. Italy (A Resolution adopted in 2000) 14. Switzerland (A Resolution adopted in 2003) 15. Slovakia (A Resolution adopted in 2004) 16. The Netherlands (A Resolution adopted in 2004) 17. Poland (A Resolution adopted in 2004) 18. Venezuela (A Resolution adopted in 2005) 19. Germany (A Resolution adopted in 2005) 20. Lithuania (A Resolution adopted in 2005) 21. Chile (A Resolution adopted in 2007) Here are links that would be helpful; http://genocide.am/article/recognition_of_the_armenian_genocide.html http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/states.php http://www.genocide-museum.am/eng/provincial_governments.php

Why did you make a falls promise about the Armenian Genocide ? by Q: Dear mr. Obama you had given your word that once you become a president you will recognize the Armenian Genocide. What happened ?

A: He cannot recognize something that never happened. Armenian people prefer talking to searching and reading the history. Here's the actual events: At those times, all over the Anatolia, we were fighting against English, French, Greek, Italian, Russian, Armenian and lots of ethnic minorities trying to obtain soils and also guerillas who only kill, steal and rape. Because they attacked our homeland, we responded to protect our homeland. We had not even a country. Ottoman Empire was just occupied and Ottoman Emperor and diplomats left us alone with enemies. That was local people who just resisted to protect their own place at first then these local people were combined and turned into a public ressitance. Women carried guns for soldiers and every man no matter healthy or not had to fight due to lack of soldier. This is how Turkish Republic was established. In a situation like that, why Turkey want to exterminate all Armenian people as if there's nothing to worry about except slaughtering Armenians? Turkey just forced to Armenians to migrate. While migrating, many Armenians died of hunger, poverty and sickness. Also, there were guerillas killing and stealing from not only Armenians but also Turks. In this chaos, of course, lots of people died and were killed. Not just Armenians were killed, many Turks were also killed by Armenians. There are lots of Turkish graves as much as Armenian graves. We both killed each other. That was such a war and chaos. In Turkey, there are reports and sources, which are open to public, explaining everything about this issue but people prefer saying "Turkey! admit genocide!" instead of searching sources and learning the actual events. Because, Armenian government has other plans upon Turkey and provoke its nation against Turkey. If Armenian army had never attacked against Turkish people, now there would be no dead people. Turks and Armenians used to be neighbours living together nicely in a peace once. If you don't believe me, maybe you know Charles Aznavour ,who is in the Armenian diaspora, said that we ought to abandon the term "Armenian genocide" and Turks are our friends in a French tv programme. Here is the link for those who think I am making up a story : http://eastbook.eu/en/2011/09/topic-en/politics-en/armenia-12-09-2011-charles-aznavour-on-how-to-talk-with-turkey/

Why are there no movies in Hollywood about the Armenian Genocide or the Ukrainian Genocide? by Q: I only see movies about the Holocaust of which there are upwards of 10,000 but i dont think there is one about the Armenian genocide, the Ukranian famine where millions of ukranians died, the native americans, the genocide of chinese at the hands of the japanese etc. Why is that? Killing of Bosnian muslims and Croatians by Serbs... up to 1 million. No movie. Equalize the Damage: that was a horrible list, you just made my argument appear stronger.

A: Custer's Last Stand (1936) They Died with Their Boots On (1941), depiction of the Battle of Little Big Horn Fort Apache (1948) She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (1949) Rio Grande (1950) Only the Valiant (1951) Major Dundee (1965) Custer of the West (1967) Little Big Man (1970), depiction of the Battle of Little Big Horn Soldier Blue (1970) Ulzana's Raid (1972) The Court-Martial of George Armstrong Custer (1977) (TV) Dances with Wolves (1990) Son of the Morning Star (1991), depiction of the Battle of Little Big Horn (TV) Geronimo: An American Legend (1994) Crazy Horse (1996) (TV) Buffalo Soldiers (1997), (TV) The Miracle Men (2002), (TV) Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron (2002) Hidalgo (2004), the early part of the film depicts the 1890 Battle of/Massacre at Wounded Knee

Why is Turkey fighting so hard to deny the truth about the Armenian Genocide? by sober_fober Q: I am Armenian, and because of the Genocide my family has split up and is now all over the world, the land where both my parents ancestors are from is now Turkey, I know this for a fact...but Turkish government still denies these events even happened. shame on them.

A: You already have a lot of answers about the Armenian Genocide, so I will provide you some independent websites which will prove that the Armenian Genocide is a fact. The last link is the most informative. Source(s): http://www.unitedhumanrights.org/Genocid... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armenian_ge... http://www.geocities.com/CapitolHill/Con... http://imia.cc.duth.gr/turkey/index.e.ht... http://www.april24.net/ http://www.armeniapedia.org/index.php?ti... http://www.theforgotten.org/site/intro_e...

How could the Armenian genocide have been prevented? by Legitsht Q: How could the Armenian genocide have been prevented?

A: With difficulty, given that Armenia is somewhat in the back of beyond, and that the world was preoccupied with the aftermath of WW1 and the fighting between Red and White Russians.

Why does Bush not want Congress to recognize Armenian genocide when in 2000 he said otherwise? by prekinpdx Q: Here's what he said in 2000: "The twentieth century was marred by wars of unimaginable brutality, mass murder and genocide. History records that the Armenians were the first people of the last century to have endured these cruelties. The Armenians were subjected to a genocidal campaign that defies comprehension and commands all decent people to remember and acknowledge the facts and lessons of an awful crime in a century of bloody crimes against humanity. If elected President, I would ensure that our nation properly recognizes the tragic suffering of the Armenian people." Now that congress is 'recognizing the tragic suffering of the Armenian people' why is he against it? He was elected President and now he doesn't want it recognized. Why the change?

A: Well,things have changed with Turkey being an ally against terrorism. He doesn't deny the genocide,it's just that the dems are bringing it up when it could alter relations with Turkey. So much for dems and diplomacy.

Who here is knowledgable about the Armenian Genocide? by Azn Spazzd Freakaddict Q: What arguments did aggressors of the Armenian Genocide make to justify their actions? Basically, what were their reasons for why they decided to go on a killing spree?

A: According to the Turkish government, they did not initially decide to go on a killing spree. It was a forced evacuation, a relocation of politically suspect minorities, a pogrom, gone tragically and thoroughly wrong, like the Trail of Tears Amer-Indian relocation or the Bataan Death March. This is not counting the 1915 bloodbath in Constantinople. Greek and Assyrian ethnic minorities in Turkey received similar treatment. Forced marches of ill-clothed men, women, and children through barren snowy passes guaranteed a high mortality rate. Regardless of the initial goal, 1.5 million Armenians disappeared from the Ottoman Empire. Check the links for better detail. I had an Armenian uncle whose family emigrated at the right time.

How many people knew of the armenian genocide? by Good Questions haha Q: in 1915 a genocide of 1.5 million armenians was committed by Turkish soldiers and there government still denies it to this day http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armenian_genocide

A: The Armenian Story has Another Side By Norman Stone, a historian and the author of "World War I: A Short History" All the world knows what the end of an empire looks like: hundreds of thousands of people fleeing down dusty paths, taking what was left of their possessions; crammed refugee trains puffing their way across arid plains; and many, many people dying. For the Ottoman Empire that process began in the Balkans, the Crimea and the Caucasus as Russia and her satellites expanded. Seven million people -- we would now call them Turks -- had to settle in Anatolia, the territory of modern Turkey.In 1914, when World War I began in earnest, Armenians living in what is now Turkey attempted to set up a national state. Armenians revolted against the Ottoman government, began what we would now call "ethnic cleansing" of the local Turks. Their effort failed and caused the government to deport most Armenians from the area of the revolt for security reasons. Their sufferings en route are well-known.Today, Armenian interests in America and abroad are well-organized. What keeps them united is the collective memory of their historic grievance. What happened was not in any way their fault, they believe. If the drive to carve out an ethnically pure Armenian state was a failure, they reason, it was only because the Turks exterminated them.For years, Armenians have urged the U.S. Congress to recognize their fate as genocide. Many U.S. leaders -- including former secretaries of state and defense and current high-ranking Bush administration officials -- have urged Congress either not to consider or to vote down the current genocide resolution primarily for strategic purposes: Turkey is a critical ally to the U.S. in both Iraq and Afghanistan and adoption of such a resolution would anger and offend the Turkish population and jeopardize U.S.-Turkish relations.Given this strong opposition, why would Congress, upon the advice of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, make itself arbiter of this controversy? What makes the Armenians' dreadful fate so much worse than the dreadful fates that come with every end of empire? It is here that historians must come in. First, allegedly critical evidence of the crime consists of forgeries. The British were in occupation of Istanbul for four years after the war and examined all of the files of the Ottoman government. They found nothing, and therefore could not try the 100-odd supposed Turkish war criminals that they were holding. Then, documents turned up, allegedly telegrams from the interior ministry to the effect that all Armenians should be wiped out. The signatures turned out to be wrong, there were no back-up copies in the archives and the dating system was misunderstood. There are many other arguments against a supposed genocide of the Armenians. Their leader was offered a post in the Turkish Cabinet in 1914, and turned it down. When the deportations were under way, the populations of the big cities were exempted -- Istanbul, Izmir, Aleppo, where there were huge concentrations of Armenians. There were indeed well-documented and horrible massacres of the deportee columns, and the Turks themselves tried more than 1,300 men for these crimes in 1916, convicted many and executed several. None of this squares with genocide, as we classically understand it. Finally, it is just not true that historians as a whole support the genocide thesis. The people who know the background and the language (Ottoman Turkish is terribly difficult) are divided, and those who do not accept the genocide thesis are weightier. The Armenian lobby contends that these independent and highly esteemed historians are simply "Ottomanists" -- a ridiculously arrogant dismissal.Unfortunately, the issue has never reached a properly constituted court. If the Armenians were convinced of their own case, they would have taken it to one. Instead, they lobby bewildered or bored parliamentary assemblies to "recognize the genocide."Congress should not take a position, one way or the other, on this affair. Let historians decide. The Turkish government has been saying this for years. It is the Armenians who refuse to take part in a joint historical review, even when organized by impeccably neutral academics. This review is the logical and most sensible path forward. Passage of the resolution by the full House of Representatives would constitute an act of legislative vengeance and would shame well-meaning scholars who want to explore this history from any vantage point other than the one foisted upon the world by ultranationalist Armenians.

Armenian genocide? by beach_blondie_16 Q: if the conflict has ended, how was it resolved? Does the prejudices remain? if so, what forms do they take today?

A: The Armenian Genocide has ended, the conflict continues. The Turkish government does not accept responsibility. They continue denial. The Turkish government has opened its "archives" for debate with historians from both countries. But keep in mind that Turkey has prosecuted every historian, intelectual, writer and politician who ever mentioned Armenian Genocide in Turkey. Nobel price winner orhan Pamuk prosecuted. Writer Elif Shafak prosecuted. Intelectual Hrant Dink prosecuted, later assassinated by nationalists. There are more than 300 about whom the world knows nothing. Armenians live in fear in Turkey. The "historians" as Turkey calls them are actually lawyers defending Ottoman Empires crimes. There is no freedom of speech in Turkey. As long as there is the article 301 which is used to prosecute anyone who insults "turkishness" the conflict will never end. BTW Turkey has no diplomatic ties with Armenia which is landlocked between Turkey, Azerbaijan (no ties as well) and Georgia.

ARMENIAN GENOCIDE.................................? by Q: How big was Armenia in square miles before the Genocide and after.

A: it was at the same size, during WWI armenians went armed by the help of british agents and begun a bloody rebellion against turks in order to expand their country, they killed countless turkish civilians and ottoman army just reacted to their treachery.

In the Armenian Genocide, how were the Armenians distinguished? by Q: Like.. You know how during the Holocaust they had to wear stars so that people would know they were Jewish? Well, what did they do during the Armenian Genocide? Was there anything they had to wear or do in order to separate themselves from other people?

A: Religion, language, clothing, communities. Those people had been there for ages, everyone knew who was who and who was what in those backcountry areas and in the towns.

What stages lead up to the Armenian Genocide? by Q: I am doing a presentation on the Armenian Genocide and I need to find the steps that lead up to it. Like the holocaust started with German invasion, the yellow stars people had to wear etc. Was there anything like that for the Armenian Genocide?

A: In the Armenian case, Turks and Armenians were living harmoniously for years, but the Ottoman Empire was collapsing, and everyone was trying to take a piece. Bulgaria, Greece, some Arab countries were already formed. Russia gave the Armenians hope for a new country so they revolted against the Government. That is, they wanted an Armenia in the lands of the Ottomans. They stroke Turkish villages, many Turkish villagers died, many women were raped. Ottomans stroke back. There was blood shed on both sides. Turks decided to send Armenians away from their lands. ( By the way, this was a German idea, Germans and Turks were cooperating then ). This was not a great idea. Many of the Armenians were villagers or artificers (artisans ) that had nothing to do with the political ideas of their leaders. They were obeying the law and looking after their families. They had been living at the same places for ages. On the way , many many died. Many changed their names into Turkish ones and moved to other cities and started a new life. Many gave their children to their Turkish neighbours who kept them and raised them as their children. Some gangs attacked them, some people raped them, there was hunger, sickness…Many things which should not even be told happened to both Turks and Armenians. There were no camps, and the Armenians sitting quietly minding their business in other big cities at the Western parts of the country were not affected. But those who lived in the Russian border lost their lands and had to live elsewhere : in Armenia, in Canada, in US and so on. Mountain Ararat, ( the highest mountain of Turkey- a source for Armenian symbolism ) could only be seen in their dreams. So, they can’t forgive Turkish people. ============================== P.S. The man in the street in Turkey thinks that Armenians were combrades back then. That they backstabbed us. That everything about the genocide is a conspiracy theory against Turkey. Me? I’ve researched a little to understand what happened. I don’t believe in a Genocide. Massacre? Yes Human tragedy? Yes I believe in the stories told by Armenians. They went through things they shouldn’t have. But you should know that at the other side of the balance, there are people in Turkey that can tell you exactly the same kind of things done to them by Armenians.War is a terrible terrible thing. It brings out the worst in people. Genocide? Compare with what the Nazis did, and you’ll see there was blood, sweat and tears, hot war in this case. No, I don’t believe in a Genocide. Turkey has files and archives that it wants to be open to public. Turkey invites historians to do research on its files. Russia and Armenia also have files and archives. Turkey asks Armenia to open its files to public. They don’t. They prefer lobbying. Not a day passes in Turkey, without someone known to public opening up the secrets of his family and saying that his grandmother/ grandfather was a secret Armenian. Does this make their tragedy less? No. But, I really believe that the intention to begin with was not to kill them, but to transport them elsewhere. You can read Bernard Lewis’ ideas about that if you like. ======================================… Princeton University history professor, Bernard Lewis stated on April 14, 2002, at the National Press Club on C-Span 2: “That the massacre of the Armenians in the Ottoman Empire was the same as what happened to Jews in Nazi Germany is a downright falsehood. What happened to the Armenians was the result of a massive Armenian armed rebellion against the Turks, which began even before war broke out, and continued on a larger scale. But to make this a parallel with the holocaust in Germany you would have to assume the Jews of Germany had been engaged in an armed rebellion against the German state, collaborating with the allies against Germany. ============================= There are even scripts written by the ministers of Russia and Armenia at the time, but Armenia prefers to cover them up. I ‘m Turkish. If I were an Armenian, I’d probably do the same. =============================== Figures? Turkey insists that about 300-350.000 died. Armenia used to insist on a figure of 1.000.000, now they raised it to an unbelievable 1.500.000 out of the blue. The correct figure probably lies somewhere between the 350.000- and the 1.000.000, maybe 600-650.000. Not that, this is a small figure. But Genocide means that you want to wipe out a race. This was definitely not the case in this tragedy.

What do you think about the controversy surrounding the Armenian Genocide? by GiR 2.0 Q: I think it does exist. Or did happen. And no, I didn't just hear about this from System of a Down. I'm not Armenian, but I've passed by a book on the library on the subject, read it and have been shocked. I do not hate Turks for it, but come on, just put it to rest and admit it happened. If Turks won't agree about the accuracy about the genocide, then they could AT LEAST TRY to agree on what lie they're trying to go for. Some people say Armens (abbreviation, folks) wiped out because of disease, then nutjobs say the Armens made the genocide, and the vast majority of people just deny it's existence. At least agree on a lie, people. And besides, why just say it happened. It happened in the past. Only idiots would see Turks as monsters. Think about it. And just settle on something already. I'm tired of SoaD just whining about it. I'VE READ MORE THAN ONE BOOK, PEOPLE!!!! Okay? I just STARTED off reading a single book. I found more books on the subject, some against the genocide, and that's how I've compiled that in 1915, the Ottoman Empire nearly annihilated the Armenian. And what do you mean I'm Armenian! I'm Hispanic!! I was never born in any part of Armenia, I don't speak any part of Armenian...I WAS BORN IN TEXAS TO AMERICAN PEOPLE, FOR GOD SAKES!!! Why would I stand up for something if I've just read ONE book? I HAVEN'T. I read more than one. Does it make me right? No. And besides, why would Armenians make up a story of genocide if it never happened? You explain the photos, you explain the anger. Maybe I'll believe you.

A: Leave simply books aside, all the world was fooled by CIA reports on Iraq. Bush fooled all the world about Iraq. They said Iraq had weapons of mass destruction and relations with terrorists. Which one of them was true? None of them. So if Bush can fool all the world, Turk haters can do it too. You read only one book. Do you know how many books exist that state there was no Armenian genocide? How could one make a judgment about an event before listening to what two sides tell? To answerer : All the legislations are about Ottoman Empire, and has no affect on Turkey. Neither international nor local decisions are made against Turkey as it cannot be done. Turkey, therefore, has no worry as you said.

Why are atheists preoccupied with justifying the Armenian Genocide by criticizing Christians? by Q: Why are atheists preoccupied with justifying the Armenian Genocide by criticizing Christians? Isn't true that the more you vilify Christianity, the more it appears that you are justifying the Armenian Genocide by the Turks?

A: Genocide, eh? Disagreement is not murder, professor.

Did Obama flip-flop on the Armenian Genocide issue when he urged Congress to vote against a resolution of it? by Q: As a candidate, he said he'd be all in favor of the US Congress recognizing the Armenian Genocide. But when he got elected, and felt that he needed Turkey's support for the Iraq War, he cynically betrayed the Armenian victims and their families again. Disgusting.

A: That was one of his campaign promises that he bailed on early in his administration yes.

Who would like to join me in making an Armenian Genocide debate forum? by www.tubletech.co.nr Q: I want to make an Armenian genocide debate forum where Turks and Armenian's can debate in a civilized manor. I need Turks, Armenians and other people to help me create and promote this forum. Please let me know if interested.

A: Debate? The Armenian Genocide is a well documented fact, and this dark page of Turkish history is only unaccepted by a few ultra fanatic Turks whom have absolutely no intention of ever accepting it under any circumstance. A position only supported by the words "you lie" and a few Turkish government paid off historian accounts, and some horrid anti/Armenian blogsites, against one supported with thousands of eye witness accounts, hundreds of reputable historians, and official court transcripts is a position not caring of the facts, but more so ignoring them So basically your asking if I want to be subjected to racist slurs, callous remarks, and ignorant biases all in an effort to get a few Turks, left overs from a failed humanity whose backward ideals were spawn from "Muslims can not make Genocide" "it is a crime to insult Turkness" and "Armenians deserve to die" to recognize a Genocide they are glad happened... I'll pass.... Too many Turks out there who share my views, my grief, and genuinely seek friendship with me (beautiful people with beautiful hearts) for me to be trying to befriend the ones who clearly don't... But thank you for taking an interest though.

Why would Turkey cancel a peace agreement with Armenia if the US government recognized the Armenian Genocide? by Samian's Nineteenth Account Q: I know that Turkish people say it wasn't a genocide, while the Armenians do. Also, I know that Turkey and Armenia are trying to get a peace agreement signed so both nations will have open borders and normal diplomatic relations. What I don't get is, why would Turkey cancel the deal if the US Congress recognized the Armenian Genocide as an actual genocide? It doesn't directly affect Turkish-Armenian relations, does it?

A: It is not a peace treaty. Just a protocol with a very fuzzy content. The most obvious part of its content is the opening of borders. What you wonder is just about the very nature of international politics. Every country (usually stronger ones) uses carrot-stick or similar tools to shape others' behaviors. That's why USA keeps sanctions on Iran (stick) but funds Egypt and Israel regularly every year (carrot). Turkey would not even consider opening its borders to Armenia unless they stop their occupation of Azerbaijani territories (Nagarno-Karabag). Yet, these genocide claims are seriously hurting Turkey's image. So, if it will be recognized by the US congress anyways, why should Turks give away without receiving anything in return? I am really sad about the severe conditions in Armenia, and support the opening of the border. But, there is no charity in politics :(

How does the Armenian Genocide relate to Benjamin in Animal Farm? by Q: In the book Benjamin realized that the pigs were mistreating them but kept silt. How does this relate to THE TURKS during the Armenian Genocide? Tags:Book BooksEEssay Got a paper due Monday please help.

A: the turks knew what they were doing and nothing to stop them esp from the armenians whod seem not to have made a huge outcry. being silent and complacent led to the killings. soits similar in certain ways to Benjamin who knew what was going on but kept silent and allow events to take place without any opposition or comment

What is a song from Armenia about the Armenian Genocide? by dr_tran77 Q: I need a song that is about the Armenian genocide sung in Armenian and it has to be about the genocide.

A: Please, visit http://www.armeniapedia.org/index.php?title=Songs_of_the_Eye-witness_Genocide_Survivors You'll find lyrics for numerous songs about Armenian Genocide but with Turkish lyrics and English Translations. Search for Komitas and also System of a Down.

Why is the recognition of the Armenian Genocide so important for regional parliaments and other lawmakers? by Grace Q: On 15 September 2005 a United States Congressional resolution, which did not pass, on the Armenian Genocide "Calling upon the President to ensure that the foreign policy of the United States reflects appropriate understanding and sensitivity concerning issues related to human rights, ethnic cleansing, and genocide documented in the United States record relating to the Armenian Genocide, and for other purposes." found that: "The Armenian Genocide was conceived and carried out by the Ottoman Empire from 1915 to 1923, resulting in the deportation of nearly 2,000,000 Armenians, of whom 1,500,000 men, women, and children were killed, 500,000 survivors were expelled from their homes, and which succeeded in the elimination of the over 2,500-year presence of Armenians in their historic homeland." The BBC reported that 16 December 2003, "The Swiss lower house of parliament has voted to describe the mass killings of Armenians during the last years of the Ottoman Empire as genocide. [...] Fifteen countries have now agreed to label the killings as genocide. They include France [in 2001], Argentina and Russia.] On 12 October 2006, French lawmakers "approved a bill making it a crime to deny that mass killings of Armenians in Turkey during and after World War I amounted to genocide. Turkey quickly objected, with its Foreign Ministry saying that the decision "dealt a heavy blow" to Turkish-French relations and 'created great disappointment in our country.'" (Source wikipedia) This year, regional parliaments in Australia recognized the Armenian Genocide. There are many other regional parliaments of federals states worldwide dealing with the issue. Here is a list of some genocides since 1915: - Nazi Germany and occupied Europe (1933-1945) - Australia 1900-1969 - Stolen Generation - Guatemala 1968-1996 - Guatemalan Civil War - Cambodia 1975-1978 - Pol-Pot / The Red Khmer - East Timor under Indonesian occupation - Bosnia and Herzegovina 1992-1995 - Rwanda 1994 and currently Darfur. My question is: Why do some parliaments care only about one single event and that event is the one concerning the Armenian Genocide of 1915 and don't take other genocides (see list), including the one taking place in Darfur this very hour? Why isn't there any pressure on Serbia for the recognition of the Genocide committed by the Milosevic Regime? Why does an Australian regional parliament care about a subject taking place almost 100 years ago and in a country which is thousands of miles away?

A: Turkey wants to take what it feels is its rightful place as a leader in the world community. After all, Turkey is the most successful democratic Muslim nation on earth. They wish to join the European Union. Some people believe that, before Turkey wields its authority as a world leader, it should fess up to some of the atrocities that were committed in the years leading up to independence. Modern, democratic, capitalist nations do not go about slaughtering innocents of minority ethnic groups; those nations that have bend over backwards to issue very public "mea culpas" (Germany and the Holocaust of Jews, Poles, and others) or suffer the consequences in terms of international relations for minimizing the horror (Japan and the violence done in China in the 1930s). Many nations around the world want Turkey to do the right thing if they want a seat at the table of power in Europe and the world.

How did the Armenian Genocide start? by Q: I'm doing an essay all about Genocides, and need a little help on the Armenian-Turkey Genocide. Please!!!

A: These sites should help you. http://www.historyplace.com/worldhistory/genocide/armenians.htm http://www.teachgenocide.org/

Why is the Armenian genocide not taught in school? by complex simplicity Q: Im armenian and i get offended that everybody Else's races history is taught in school and the genocide is not recognized so many people don't even know what armenia is. Why didn't the educational law pass for our genocide to be officially recognized. And plz i don't want to hear that its not relevant.

A: Your talking about in the US right? Yes the Armenian genocide is part of the educational curriculum just as the Holocaust. In some schools it is well documented and discussed, and in some not so great but it is suppose to be in all the HS history textbooks of the states that have officially recognized the Armenian Genocide. It is history, and if your city's school books are not reflecting it, then you must contact the school dept, and inquire why it is not. But I figure by 2012 all school textbooks will be updated, and all will include chapters on Turkish crimes against humanity during WW1, along with all the facts about the Armenian Genocide. Also you may not be aware of this, but many US public school systems even introduce these facts at the jr high level.

Did the Germans play a role in the Armenian Genocide? by Q: There's a documentary called "Germany, Turkey, and the Armenian Genocide" that says they hated the Armenians, but did the Germans have a role? Or was it the solely the planning of the Ottoman government and military leaders at the time? And for any wise guys/girls on here, don't give me any "TURKEY IS EVIL!" crap or "THE ARMENIANS AND TURKS ONCE LIVED IN HARMONY, BUT THEN THE ARMENIANS REVOLTED AND KILLED THE TURKS!" crap.

A: There was no uniform German official position. Vahakn Dadrian has stressed active German complicity in the massacres, and, like Christoph Dinkel and Artem Ohandjanian, has even invoked German ‘stimulation’ of killings and expulsions, with particular reference to the role of German military representatives in Turkey.Anti-Armenian language is frequently cited as evidence of the antipathy of German diplomats and particularly soldiers http://www.hist.net/kieser/aghet/Essays/EssayBloxham.html For more, http://www.zoryaninstitute.org/Genocide/genocide_biblio_German_Involvement.htm

ARMENIAN genocide???? by ~ anii bananii ~ Q: April 14, 1915...almost 1 million armenians were killed by the turks. we need to recognize this and do something about it... im a proud armenian...what do u think of them??

A: Think about the Armenians in Istanbul (capital of that time) they did not attack Ottoman army from backside, they did not attack Turkish villages, (kill, rape, etc.) they did not cooperate with any other third country against Ottoman empire, (Those all stated in some propaganda documents prepared by (Pasdermadjian) Armenian lobby to present US Congress, declared by Türkkaya Ataöv. God bless him) So is it logical that a General (or a King) decides to "systematic killings of a race" and forgets its capital city or even all the west of the Anatolia? So Armenian people in Istanbul are still living in Istanbul with their churches, unions and all of their rights. People died because of disease and gang attacks. As it was same for all the people, from any race, who lived in Anatolia that time. Please also remember the Armenian gangs. Pasdermadjian says it is 40 thousand armed man. Number of Armenian people who were forced for resettlement is all the time abused by Armenian lobby. Here is the personal diary of Talat Pasha who decided for settlement and killed by an Armenian in Paris. http://hurarsiv.hurriyet.com.tr/goster/haber.aspx?id=4306451&yazarid=28 Armenian people, wake up! You were used by major players of the world as a gunmen against Ottoman Empire. Today you are still used against Turkey. FIND SOMETHING OTHER TO UNIFY YOUR NATION, LEAVE THE HOPE OF GETTING A PART OF TURKEY OR MONEY FROM TURKEY and Listen to the last words of Artin Penik an Armenian citizen of Turkey who burned himself to protest so called genocide. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uh2f2qsc5Yg&feature=PlayList&p=CD8C264E88F34D48&index=0

How is the Armenian genocide similar to the genocide that you researched? by Q: Research the Armenian genocide and one other case of genocide in history on the Internet or in an encyclopedia (some topics to search in are World War II, the Gulf War, or Darfur). Then, answer the following questions in paragraph form: 1.How is the Armenian genocide similar to the genocide that you researched? 2.How is the Armenian genocide different from the genocide that you researched?

A: Alright, well, I researched both the Armenian Genocide and the Rwandan Genocide, and so I'll give you a comparison between the two. Here's how both genocides are similar: They were aimed at a specific group of people, and both the killers and the people being killed committed terrible crimes against each other. Also, both sides in each case have been actively pressing in lobbying/political campaigns against each other. Yet, much of the evidence that has been found has proven that both cases were genocides that were being committed against a specific minority. In addition, both cases involved the governments of the time trying to cover up the killings. The world pretty much stood by and did nothing in either case, and in both cases, the ethnic groups who were being targeted for genocide oftentimes had a lot of people who were successful, talented, and/or well-educated. However, there are differences as well. In the case of the Armenian Genocide, about 1-1.5 million Armenians alone perished, while in the Rwandan Genocide, about 800,000 Tutsis died. The Armenian Genocide actually involved more than just the Armenians, as hundreds of thousands of Greeks and Assyrians perished, making the total probably exceed 2 million. Meanwhile, the Rwandan Genocide was targeted only at the Tutsis. The Armenian Genocide was carried out in a much more carefully planned manner, while it seems that the Rwandan Genocide was carried out more military style. The Armenian Genocide happened during a time of war (in World War I, that is), while the Rwandan Genocide happened during a time where there weren't too many conflicts taking place (with the exception of the Bosnian Genocide).

Armenian GENOCIDE!!!? by LeveL 6 [Suspended] ! * Q: Ok so i have some Turkish friends who denie that fact that there was any Armenian GENOCIDE.. I have read books and watch countless videos about this subject... And i always try to explain to them that there was a GENOCIDE... Can anybody else give me some more information so i can STICK it to them and they can just be quite for once... Please and Thank You.. :)

A: There was no proper book written by turks, until recently and after the computer age, Turks start the propaganda against the Armenian Genocide. but there are thousands of books and eyewitness's written documents and etc. about the truth about Armenian Genocide. All the Armenian related websites are in this one link, in many languages. http://www.ourararat.com/eng/e_link.htm the best one is: http://www.armenian-genocide.org/ And here is the new news! http://www.asbarez.com/index.html?showar...

armenian genocide? by Kodak Moment Q: i just don't really understand the whole armenian genocide concept. like what was the ending? how did it actually end. did america get involved because thats what i thought and stuff. and i just cant seem to figure out the armenian genocide results. other than the trauma it created. thanks :) im just trying to understand it better.

A: "The Young Turks" were more fundamentalist moslem rulers who took over rule in Turkey after the previous rulers seemed week and failed to keep the Greek territories in their Ottoman Empire. The fundy moslem "Young Turks" were fundamentalist moslems and had disdain for Christians. They were very power-hungry rulers, very vengeful, and put the blame on Christians, just like Hitler blamed Jews and made them the scapegoat of the nation's problems, starting their victims with servitude and persecution, then accelerated it to genocide when the rest of the world got distracted by World War One. America was trying their influence to stop the persecution in Armenia, but a combination of diplomatic propaganda (like China's trying to justify or deny Human Rights violations), and cost and distance barriers, and more media attention on WW I developments in western Europe distracted attention from Armenians. The Armenian genocide started to get bad when WWI was flaring up. A vast majority of Armenians were humiliated and destroyed either slowly through physical exhaustion and injuries and starvation, or suddenly by being slaughtered or shot.

Armenian Genocide? by ugh Q: I need to know about the Armenian Genocide, i plan to write a poem and enter it into a competition making people aware of this terrible event. I myself knew nothing of Armenian's even existing before i met my girlfriend but now i want to help other people realise that these beautiful people existed, i plan to do that by sharing the stories of the Armenian Genocide. Please don't give me links as i've read so many of them, if you can put into your own words some things that happened throughout the Armenian Genocide i would be so grateful, anything you know about it will be appreciated. I'm not asking for survivors etc. just people with an understanding! :o) Thank you & God bless.

A: "I should like to see any power of the world destroy this race, this small tribe of unimportant people, whose history is ended, whose wars have all been fought and lost, whose structures have crumbled, whose literature is unread, whose music is unheard, whose prayers are no longer uttered. Go ahead, destroy this race. Let us say that it is again 1915. There is war in the world. Destroy Armenia. See if you can do it. Send them from their homes into the desert. Let them have neither bread nor water. Burn their houses and their churches. See if the race will not live again when two of them meet in a beer parlor, twenty years after, and laugh, and speak in their tongue. Go ahead, see if you can do anything about it. See if you can stop them from mocking the big ideas of the world, you sons of bitches, a couple of Armenians talking in the world, go ahead and try to destroy them....for when two of them meet anywhere in the world, see if they will not create a new Armenia! " William Saroyan 1935. We are few but they call us Armenians We do not put ourselves above anyone Simply we also should admit that we, only we have Mount Ararat And that it is right here on the clear Sevan that the sky could make its exact duplicate Simply David has indeed fought right here Simply the Narek was written right here Simply we know how to build from the rock, a monastery How to make fish from stone, how to make man from clay To learn to become the student of the beautiful, the kind, the noble, and the good We are few, but they call us Armenians We do not put ourselves above anyone Simply our fortune has just been so different Simply we have just shed too much blood Simply in our lives of centuries long When we were many and when we were strong Even then we did not oppress any nation See, centuries have come and centuries have passed Yet over no one have we become tyrants If we have enslaved, only with our eyes And if we have ruled, only with our books If we have prevailed, only with our talents And if we have ever oppressed, it has only been with our wounds Simply with us death had fallen in love Yet we willingly did not give ourselves And when we were forced to leave our own land Where ever we reached, where ever we went Everywhere we left indelible trace We have joined efforts for everyone, always We plowed everywhere, we built bridges, we tied arches We plowed everywhere and we brought forth crops We gave everyone mind, proverbs, and songs Another words we defended them from spiritual coldness Every where we left our eyes reflection A peace of our soul and a sacrament from the heart itself We are few, truly, but we are Armenians And by being few we do not succumb Because it is better to be few in life, then to control life by being many Because it is better rather to be few, then to be masters by being many Because it is better to be few, then to be swindlers We are few, yes, but we are Armenians And we know how to sigh from yet unhealed wounds But with a new juice we rejoice and we cheer We know how to thrust into the foe's side And how to lend a helping hand to our friend How to repay goodness which was done to us by compensating for each one by ten And the benefit of it just in the sun We vote with our lives, not only with our hands Yet if they desire to rule us with force We know how to smoke and how to quench their fire And if it is needed to disperse darkness we can turn into ashes like burning candles And we know as well how to make love with lust And we do this always by respecting others See we do not put ourselves above anyone, but we know ourselves We are called Armenians And why should we not feel pride about that We are, We shall be, and become many. Paruyr Sevak. We are few... http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlDnq_pcNew Artists http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=97HDyvlIGV4&feature=related Inventors http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=C-XeraUMqeI&feature=related Armenia first country to accept Christianity as a state religion 301 AD. (History channel) http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=LcwbMva0iXU&feature=related Armenian Genocide BBC. http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=JJ-HcshI3cA Hidden Armenians. http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=h69Zz0sV0GY

Images
Videos
France outlaws Armenian Genocide denial French senate passes 'Armenian genocide' bill Sarkozy set to enforce Armenian genocide bill Pamela Geller about Armenian Genocide and Hitler French Senate debates Armenian 'genocide' bill BBC Documentary: Armenian Genocide - 'The Betrayed' - part 1/5 The Armenian Genocide Armenian Genocide - Armenia, November 2008 Turkey cuts ties with France over Armenian genocide denial law Schiff Presses Clinton on Remarks Mischaracterizing Armenian Genocide The Armenian Genocide (Part 1 of 4) اسلاميات دوت كوم Armenian Genocide French Senate Passes Armenian Genocide Law (Viva La France) Anonymous: Operation Armenian Genocide (Update 2012, February) Re-Engaged (Official) French senate backs Armenia genocide bill The Armenian Genocide Israel debates Armenian genocide claims Turkey-Armenia relations more 'important' than 'genocide' law Armenian Genocide - Grandma's Tattoos (documentary, in english) Armenian Genocide !! International Conference on the Armenian Genocide, part 1 FRANCE & ARMENIA MADE GENOCIDE: Armenian Genocide Lie ( Turks witnesses 1 ) Armenian Genocide - 60 Minutes BBC: Armenian Genocide documentary Armenians hail French 'genocide' vote Khojaly Propaganda against the Armenian Genocide Turkish fury as French MPs back Armenia genocide bill Survived Armenians from GENOCIDE - Documentary 1915 ARMENIAN GENOCIDE on ARENA with Michael Coren nicolas sarkozy and armenian genocide The Genocide of Armenian Christians by Masonic Atheists and their Muslim servants. SPOKEN WORD poem - Devils waiting list [ARMENIAN genocide law] France faces sanctions over Armenian genocide bill The Armenian Genocide Telling the Truth About the Armenian Genocide by Christopher Hitchens 'Armenian Genocide' is an Imperialist Lie - Büyük Yürüyüş - Paris.wmv Armenian Genocide Documentary French law criminalizes ' Armenian genocide ' denial Sözde ermeni soykırımı Armenian Genocide Lies 1/7 Conservative Senator Nancy Ruth downplays the Armenian Genocide The Armenian Genocide: 2012 Sarkozy uses 'Armenian Genocide' for reelection Israeli MKs to discuss recognizing Turkey's Armenian genocide Turkey slams France over Armenian genocide vote The Armenian Genocide (Part 3 of 4) اسلاميات دوت كوم France passes Armenian genocide bill ✔, Viva France ❤ and thank you Sarkozy ✌ The Murder Of A Nation: Armenian Genocide Serj Tankian - '1915' - NEW SONG 2012!!! (Armenian Genocide) Turkey criticizes France's criminalizing of Armenian genocide denial - PressTV 111215 France Armenia Genocide Bill: Turkey Withdraws Ambassador
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-21 08:37:39