OpinionCenter.li   Random page
Update this page |
Academy Awards 2013
News

Oscars 2013: Academy Awards coverage
Follow our merry band of reporters, bloggers and movie critic Ann Hornaday as we covered the 85th Annual Academy Awards. We tracked everything from the red carpet to the best picture, with reports from Dan Zak straight from the Dolby Theatre and beyond ...

2013 Academy Awards
24, 2013. From second left, actors Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Seth MacFarlane and Daniel Radcliffe perform onstage during the 85th Annual Academy Awards at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. Chris Pizzello / CHRIS PIZZELLO/INVISION/AP. Related Content ...

In Photos: The 2013 Academy Awards
15 years after winning the Best Original Screenplay award with his buddy Matt Damon, Ben Affleck returned to the Oscar stage to accept the prize for Best Picture for 'Argo.' The evening's other winners included 'Life of Pi,' Jennifer Lawrence, and ...

Academy Awards 2013 nominees and winners
Here is a complete list of the 85th Annual Academy Award nominations. Winners will be updated in bold. The Oscars will be telecast Feb. 24 on ABC. 1. Best picture: "Amour," "Argo," "Beasts of the Southern Wild," "Django Unchained," "Les Misérables ...

submit to reddit

Real-time

sara_yumii Adele Performs (HD) "Skyfall" at the 2013 Oscars | 85th Academy Awards http://t.co/UAbpXUMOsX

Nandoniz http://t.co/Pe7gMoTHpP ← ทำไมฉานนนนนน ไม่ดูวววววววววว ออนไลนนนนนนนนนนน์ #กรีดร้องอย่างน่าเวทนา #อะเวนเจ้อเอชแชมเบ้อ

JovinBachwa Welcome to Jovin Bachwa's Blog : List of Nominees and Winners at the 85th annual Academy Awards http://t.co/en2BHgXcOH

krcabalida Photoset:  Academy Awards 2010 and 2013 http://t.co/HEKU5Hy4eo

crystalbennes Whoa, lady on the left! Big hair, big shoes, little dress. http://t.co/247qZ9qxmo.

JovinBachwa Welcome to Jovin Bachwa's Blog : List of Nominees and Winners at the 85th annual Academy Awards http://t.co/vOW89adTYZ

ala_wing テンプルナイ 第85回アカデミー賞作品賞は『アルゴ』 http://t.co/nljJZYIoOT

MUK_ROMERO Gostei de um vídeo @YouTube http://t.co/YC9t30Cd1s SONG "We Saw Your Boobs" The Oscars 2013 The 85th Academy Awards OSCARS 2013

fashionsackerl CONGRATS TO Christoph Waltz in Prada 85th Academy Awards Los Angeles, February 24, 2013 The Oscars 2013 -... http://t.co/hPmtqxePYb

PopMovies [Photo] #Oscars2013 du meilleur film pour Argo http://t.co/BXO6kW36q8 #BenAffleck #Oscars cc @warnerbrosfr

DanCabaleiro RT @pagesixla: Oscars GIFs: The 2013 Academy Awards, From Laughing Tommy Lee Jones To Falling Jennifer Lawrence http://t.co/yRKTg7xDAv

_oswinoswald C'est décidé, vous devez faire un film ensemble. Vous n'avez pas le choix ! http://t.co/4vtmZDKpKQ #Oscars2013

ChazogBader Ik vind een @YouTube-video van @chazogbader leuk: http://t.co/B5omyNj3yU Oscar 2013 Academy Awards - Les Miserables BEST ACTRESS Anne

_CelebNews_ #CelebrityGossip Anne Hathaway Scores Best Supporting Actress Oscar - The Gossip Girls: E! ... http://t.co/LOyvVBrKP7 #Celebrity #Gossip

larasatirozano RT @MileyCyrusIndo: Miley arrived at the 2013 Elton John AIDS Foundation Academy Awards on 24th of February in West Hollywood. #3 http://t.co/h1X3ruy3RK

Discussions

(BAFTAS 2013) British Academy Film Awards Question below>>? by buttons Q: Okay so Stephen Fry's closing speech of the BAFTAS 2013 was soooo inspiring but I can't find a video of it online AT ALL can someone link me to it or even quote it or take the time to upload it for me if you have it recorded or even link me to the WHOLE ceremony so I can edit the vid myself Would be super appreciated thanks!!! I just want the closing speech :) but anything that can help me please would be great! Xxxx

A: Is this it?: It has always been true to say that we live in dark and difficult times, but it has never been truer than today. In times of austerity, doubt, darkness, and fear, films can allow us to escape from the burdens and hardships of life. And they can shine a light on injustice. Films can reduce us to quivering wrecks with laughter, to help us forget and it can stun us with truth to help us remember. There’s no right or wrong genre or style of film. Next year more stories will have been put together to remind us that the art of movie storytelling is more alive than ever, blessed with as much creative talent as it ever has been in its history. I am so proud to have been allowed to stand here tonight as your host. Let’s all keep lining up for tickets and sitting in the dark. Support your local cinema, live and love film. From us all, thank you and goodnight.

Best Actor 2013 Academy Awards Predictions? by Q: My guesses, I would pick DDD any other nominees??? 1) Daniel Day-Lewis- Lincoln 2) Joaquin Phoenix-The Master 3)Denzel Washington-Flight 4) Anthony Hopkins-Hitchcock 5) Hugh Jackman-Les Miserables

A: Joaquin Phoenix delivered the best acting of 2012 i believe......I wouldn't mind it if Daniel took home his 3rd Oscar, both very deserving of the win. John Hawkes has to be looked at also for his role in The Sessions.

YouTube documentary ideas about my experience? by Q: Leading up to my suicide in 2013. Don't judge. It will start in December 2012 and will end in spring 2013. It will be my self documentary and record my experiences with friends and making a small difference in their lives and others and probably jokingly hint if they will miss me. We are going snowboarding and ill bring my camera and record myself and others. I have a bucket list that I will do during that time and give interviews of others. I'll interview people why they want to live and give my reasons of changing people's minds about suicide. I won't do how to commit suicide; I am only suggesting my own justification like people think they have your best interests at heart,,,suicide is a permanent solution to.....they call us cowards and mean names but look who is the coward and doesn't know what it's like." I am not dumb enough to post it every week, so I will post all of them the day I will finally do it an dprobably record that too. I hope to change people's opinion and I've got nothing to lose. It is at least I can do in a way. I wil suggests pros and cons of suicide and considerations. Each week, I will reflect my views leading up to my suicide and don't want others to copy me. This is a rational suicide because it is my choice, my body, my life and only my life, and a right given under the Declaration of Independence the right to life as well as the right to die and pursuit of happiness. Answer it properly or don't bother. I'm not looking for an academy award.

A: You sound like a really awesome person.I was beaten my whole life and chose to not let the hate eat me like a disease until i was hateful and mean. That was a chose I made.Your right it does not make you a coward to commit sucide because it takes a strong willful person to take their own life.It doesnt even make you selfish because its your life.Ive recently lost 6 kids to the dcfs gustapo and i still made a chose to stand above the evil invoved in the false allegations they pursued.However, I promise you this it feels a heck of a lot better to rise above the evil and be like God leaving everyone to wonder how Im still so happy then to allow them to push me to getting rid of myself .Thats what they want and even though it doesnt show weakness it shows that you dont realize that I would hug you and forever be their for you if I knew you which means as few as us special people exist they are out there.You sound amazingly talented and lovable.Let all that energy you want to put into this project awake your ability to make a difference in others lives like mine who desperately would love help or friendship.Im beautiful on the outside and inside my wild and fun nature makes people hate me. Start letting your beauty or handsomness shine and make others question how the heck your dong it.That is powerful! Hope I helped.Rember sucide is hell because its not you.You are here for a reason.Figure that reason out!

Best Actor 2013 Academy Awards Predictions? by Q: My guesses, I would pick DDL any other nominees??? 1) Daniel Day-Lewis- Lincoln 2) Joaquin Phoenix-The Master 3)Denzel Washington-Flight 4) Anthony Hopkins-Hitchcock 5) Hugh Jackman-Les Miserables @Alex you got to be kidding me lol

A: Didn't you just ask this question? Anyway, here are my thoughts... These guys are shoe-ins: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln John Hawkes, The Sessions (I've seen this one. He deserves it!) Hugh Jackman, Les Miserables Joaquin Phoenix, The Master Seems likely: Denzel Washington, Flight Other possibilities: Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook Jamie Foxx, Django Unchained Anthony Hopkins, Hitchcock Bill Murray, Hyde Park on Hudson I think Phoenix or Jackman will probably win. Day-Lewis and Washington both have two Oscars a piece, so the Academy will want to spread the love to other actors. And they would probably expect Hawkes to just feel honored to be nominated. Jackman has the showier role, so my bets are on him right now.

Could I get into University of Miami? by Q: I am a Junior in HS. W-GPA: 3.8 UW-GPA: 3.5 (Top 10% of class) (I got a 4.3 2nd semester of soph. year. I got a 4.75 this previous semester, so my cumulative GPA will obviously increase much higher by the time I apply as a senior, if i continue with getting a 4.75 or higher my next 2 semesters) I took 2 AP and 1 Honors course sophomore year. I am currently in the I.B. Diploma Program (Weighted 5.0): I take HL Visual Arts, Theory of Knowledge, SL Spanish III, HL English, SL Mathematics, HL Biology, & HL History. Extra Curricular: I am in Air Force JORTC as a C/Captain and currently a Flight Commander. I am in Air Force Civil Air Patrol as a C/SrA. I am in Varsity Tennis. I am in Mock Trial. I am the President/Founder of a philanthropic club at my school within Operation Smile (We raise money for kids around the world who suffer from facial deformities & also participate in group community service to create awareness). I am in National Honor's Society. I take private-pilot ground school courses and I sometimes fly planes or gliders whenever I can sign up. (Note: These are consistent EC's) Additional: I did the I.B. Personal Project. I wrote a small book about the Law of Attraction. (not published) ACT: N/A. I plan on taking it either in April or June of this year. I need at least a 29. I'm currently studying for that daily with the Princeton Review 2013 Cracking the ACT. I roughly only have about 70ish community service hours, but I plan to have at least 100 by the end of this semester. Other than activities within my Operation Smile Club, I've done neighborly help. I've participated in the Waldo Canyon Fire cleanup by making sand-bags and I received a Civil Air Patrol Disaster Relief Ribbon that has been a Presidential Recognition. Summer Programs: 1. 2011 - I attended the National Youth Leadership Forum on Medicine at UCLA (University of California, Los Angeles) 2. 2012 - I attended Summer Leadership School at the USAFA (United States Air Force Academy): I was an element leader and our flight won Honor Flight. 3. 2012 - I attended the Colorado AHEC (Area Health Education Center) Summer Health Career's Institute Award: 2012 USAA (United States Achievement Academy) World Languages Award. Ethnicity: Full Hispanic I live in Colorado.

A: Almost all students who are admitted have at least a 3.75 unweighted GPA.

academy awards........? by Q: I would like to know what awards show aired on Wednesday of January 2013.

A: People's Choice Awards

What movie will win "Best Animated Feature Film" at 2013 Academy Awards? by ✿ Ashling Airlia ~ Lotus Svetlana ✿ Q: Animated Feature Film Nominees: "Brave" "Frankenweenie" "ParaNorman" "The Pirates! Band Of Misfits" "Wreck-It Ralph"

Question on military school admissions? by Q: How might one go about getting into West point or the naval academy? Do you have to be in high school to apply? Or can you go after you've graduated and finished part of college. And what are disqualifiers to join? I am about a year out of high school, got great grades, went to college, couldnty afford it and am thinking of going to westpoint or the naval academy. Is it hard to get in? How would i do it? Or am i ineligible. Thanks

A: US Citizen between 17 and 22 on July 1 of the year of induction to the service academy. To earn an appointment, a precandidate must be of good moral character and be found scholastically, physically and medically qualified by the service academy and have a nomination. Selection decisions are made by means of the whole person score. 60% Academic Composite; 20% Extracurricular Composite; 20% Admissions Panel-CFA, Interview, Writing Sample, Letters of Recommendation. Academic Composite = PAR + SAT/ACT Scores. PAR= Weighted GPA + Class Rank based on weighted GPA [PAR is an abbreviation for prior academic record] The Pie chart at the top of page 7 of the 2009-2010 Usafa Catalog details the weighting of the whole person score. Helpful to read the entire chapter on Admissions of the Usafa, Usma and Usna Catalogs: http://www.academyadmissions.com/img/assets/PDF/Entire_Catalog.pdf West Point and Annapolis are very competitive. Around 13,000 - 15,000 apply and there are around 1500 offers of appointment made to fill a class of around 1200. http://www.usna.edu/admissions/documents/Class%20Portrait%202013.pdf http://admissions.usma.edu/moreInfo/Profile2013.pdf Usafa's Class Profile is more helpful since it does not include the scholastically less than competitive students recruited to the prep schools for athletics and other academy goals: https://admissions.usafa.edu/RRC/Class_of_2013_profile.pdf There are three rounds of competition for an appointment: 1) National competition for an Loa(letter of assurance) http://www.usna.edu/admissions/steps10.htm 2) Competition within one's nominating sources. 3) National Competition for declined offers of appointment strictly according to whole person scores. Each MOC( member of congress=candidates rep and senators) can have five Cadets or Mids he nominated and were charged off to him at each service academy at any point in time. For each vacancy, he can nominate ten candidates to compete for the appointment. Appointments based on a Loa are not charged off to the nominating MOC as one of his 5 Cadets at West Point or 5 Mids at the Naval Academy. If you are out of college, your best chance is to enroll in a college with an Rotc/Nrotc Battalion and join while taking the same curriculum as a first year West Point Cadet/Naval Academy Midshipman, and apply for an appointment. Each Battalion Commander can nominate Cadets/Mids to West Point/Naval Academy. Many community colleges have cross town school arrangements with Rotc battalions or Afrotc detachments. http://airforcerotc.berkeley.edu/_crosstown-schools.htm All Rotc, Nrotc, Nrotc Mo Scholarships pay full tuition and certain Universities award full or partial room and board to Scholarship Cadets/Mids. Rotc Scholarships generally are the most widely available and less competitive than Nrotc or Nrotc Mo. Nrotc and Afrotc are awarded primarily to Engineering, Math and certain Science Majors. You may still be eligible to apply for 4 year high school scholarships depending on the number of units completed. You can apply for in college scholarships which are under the control of the battalion. Scholarship selection decisions are made according the the whole person score using the same general criteria as the service academies. Regardless of the number of prior college credits earned, all Cadets and Mids spend four years in residence at West Point or the Naval Academy. Good basic description of Nrotc by reading the Faq on the website of the nation's first Nrotc Battalion: http://navyrotc.berkeley.edu/faq.shtml Good description of Army Rotc: http://army.berkeley.edu/faq.shtml Good Luck!

Could Katy Perry win an Oscar for "Wide Awake"? by Q: Is it possible that Katy Perry could be nominated/win a 2013 Academy Award for her song "Wide Awake"? It's supposedly written for her doc film "Katy Perry: Part of Me 3D" and I was just wondering if it's liable to be put into the Best Original Song category at the Oscars. What do you think?

A: Its very possible actually. There isn't a huge crop of original movie songs and hers is probably the most popular, though not the best

Costume Design: Which of these films had best of all 2012 films? by teejayniles Q: The 2013 Academy Awards balloting brought forth just five nominations -- are these they the most outstanding? -- which is by far the best? Anna Karenina Jacqueline Durran Les Miserables Paco Delgado Lincoln Joanna Johnston Mirror Mirror Eiko Ishioka Snow White & The Huntsman Colleen Atwood Thanks for your information and estimation -- have a great day

A: Oscar voters give this award to British designers and dressmakers -- therefore Jacqueline Durran will win

Foreign Films -- best of the 2012 nominess? by Grayson B. Q: Which of these in the Academy Award set for Feb. 24, 2013 do you predict to win the OSCAR? AMOUR - Austria KON-TIKI Norway NO Chile A ROYAL AFFAIR - Denmark WAR WITCH Canada thanks for your analysis and best evaluation

A: I predict a win for Heneke's AMOUR

What are the odds that The Rock will announce that he wants to return for a short term full time run with WWE? by Q: after WM 28 of course

A: I see his name on credits of of a few movies for 2012 & 2013 so he does have other things going on! Despite what people tell ya this has been one of the busiest guys in hollywood and while he may never win a academy award he probably has most actors jelous of the amount of work he gets. So he probably won't have time for WWE

Air Force Academy Acceptance? by Q: I am waiting for my letter from the Air Force Academy regarding an appointment. Recently, I received a call from them informing me that they were seriously considering me for admission. They wanted me to retake my fitness test to improve my scores and I did improve them a little. I have a nomination and everything, I was just wondering what my chances were at getting accepted. Thanks!

A: There is no way to tell chances of being offered an appointment from the information in this question. One thing is for sure, competitive admissions are going to be tighter than ever this year since the Class of 2016 is going to be hit with the biggest share of the cutback that is bringing the size of the Cadet Wing from 4,400 Cadets two years ago to 4,000 Cadets by October 2012. Last year recruited candidates-athletes and diversity- were not affected by cutbacks at all, regardless that the Academy stated the cuts would be felt by all. This made the competition for competitive slots extremely tight and with significantly less slots this year and if the cuts are again not spread to non-competitive slots, it is going to be even tighter. Only about half the slots are going to be openly competitive. The median Sat Math for competitive slots will likely be around 720, Cr around 690. The median for competitive slots is the overall 75th percentile since only around half the slots are openly competitive. Apparently, very few Loa's were awarded based on scholastic excellence, so those candidates are now competing within their nominating sources. Normally super qualified Candidates receiving an Loa based on scholastic excellence are not in the competition at this stage. A candidate receiving an Loa is not required to be charged off to the nominating Rep or Senator. This allows more than one candidate to be appointed for each vacancy a Senator or Rep has. At any point in time, each rep or senator can have five cadets he nominated and were charged off to him in residence at the academy. For each vacancy due to graduation or otherwise, he can nominate up to ten candidates to compete for an offer of appointment to fill the vacancy. The information at the following link was before Usafa's current diversity initiative/directive etc which began with the Class of 2013. Legacies-children of service academy alumni- were hit hard for the Class of 2015 with about 65% of the slots for the Class of 2015(86 Slots) as opposed to the Class of 2014(139 Slots.) Male legacies were hit hardest with only 61% of the slots for the Class of 2015(55 Slots) v Class of 2014(89 Slots.) http://i40.tinypic.com/rthv9i.gif 2015: http://paulryan.house.gov/UploadedFiles/USAFA_2015.pdf 2014: http://paulryan.house.gov/UploadedFiles/USAFA_2014.pdf Good Luck!

When are the 2013 Oscars on ? by Q: And what month and what day is it on?

A: The 85th Academy Awards nominations will be announced on Jan. 15, 2013, and the Oscar® telecast will be presented on Feb. 24.

Is Downton Abbey Nominated For An Oscar? by Q: the 2013 academy awards, is downton abbey nominated for an oscar tomorrow?

A: no- emmys are for TV- oscars are for movies

Oscars 2013 betting (Best picture and Best leading actress)? by Q: Hello from Czech republic. I would like to put money on winners of Academy awards in categories Best picture and Best leading actress.. Can you help me who in general opinion has the biggest chance to win? Beasts of the southern wild's course is 1:133 and Quvenzhané Wallis 1:40. I know it means there is a little chance for them to win but what the american public thinks of them? or who are the biggest favourites? Thank you

A: I believe Best Actress is locked to Jessica Jastain. Best Picture would probably go to Lincoln.

Is the song "Skyfall" by Adele the BEST SONG? by teejayniles Q: there are five nominees in the Academy Awards list of nominees (Feb. 24, 2013): which is most deserving of an Oscar -- which will win? "Before My Time" - from CHASING ICE "Everybody needs a best friend" - From TED "Pi's Lullaby" - from LIFE OF PI "Skyfall" from the James Bond film SKYFALL "Suddenly" from the musical LES MISERABLES thanks for your information and best estimation / evaluation!

A: ALL the songs from Les Miserables are wonderful, so it seems silly to single just one out. Adele almost surely has this wrapped up.......since the Bond franchise is WITHOUT a single Oscar. A win for Adele, would get a BOND credit, in the Academy history books......and I am pretty sure....in this 50th anniversary of Bond, that's pretty much a LOCK.

Did you feel "Dark Knight Rises" was best action film of 2012? by Rebecca of Faraway Farm Q: I didn't get to see it in the theater during Summer and early Fall 2012 -- I bought Thursday the DVD - what do you like the best about it? Will it be in the running for the 2013 Oscar BEST PICTURE category?

A: Dark Knight Rises, and The Avengers (but I feel like tA are so loved because of the awesome characters/actors and not because the whole film would be so mind-blowing. I loved it, though.). The Dark Knight Rises was honestly the movie of the summer. I liked the whole scenery, epic shots of battles and Hans Zimmer music which was phenomenal as always. When I left the cinema I couldn't wait to watch the Behind the Scenes documentaries because when you see the final result Nolan actually makes you want to watch how the scenes were build, the development of the costumes, how the mob fights were choreographed ... It's so obvious how much thought was put into every detail and aspect of the movie and I'm sure Batman fans really appreciate how dedicated the crew was. Yes, I can see it in the Best Picture category, If LotR could win the BP at the end of the trilogy, I can't see why Nolan couldn't make a serious contender. He got so much praise for his take on the Batman universe, not to mention he also included topical issues and conveyed them within the plot (Wall Street Movement, terrorism, flaws within the legal system, the abuse of power, police corruption etc.) Academy Awards jury loves that sociopolitical awareness stuff, just look at the previous winners (The Help, Pianist, The Hurt Locker, Crash). They always deal with some serious topic beside the basic plot.

Anyone know where I can download the torrent for the 2013 BAFTA? by Q: I want to watch the 2013 BAFTA, but I can't find the torrent for it so far. Can anyone give me the link to download the torrent for it? Thanks.

A: i found it here: torrent download site http://fenopy.se/torrent/british+film+academy+awards+2013+hdtv+xvid+afg/OTYzNTQ4Ng

2013 oscars, no one thanked God? by Q: I noticed at this years 2013 Oscars that no one thanked God at all. This is the first Academy Awards where I remember that ever happening. Given that people thanked everyone they knew their whole lives, and of course THEMSELVES, it seemed pretty ungrateful and bratty. However if none of them believe in God I wouldn't want them to fake it. What do you think: Was it ungrateful? Bratty? Do you think it reflects that if these are the kind of people making the movies, no wonder our society is so messed up, and what credibility do they have to argue for anything much less gun control or other major issues in our society? Or do you think, who cares about any concept of God and or/ God can just fvck off? Let me know.

Are they going to make a movie for the book "the giver"? by Q: I've heard rumors that they were, but I'm not sure, I really hope they do someday, even if they aren't now.

A: According to Wikipedia: "A film adaptation has been discussed for quite some time. According to IMDb, a film is in development with a 2013 release date. Director David Yates is set to helm the movie and Academy Award winners Dustin Hoffman and Jeff Bridges have been linked to the film. As announced, casting will begin in January 2012."

Is there actually going to be a WoW movie? by Q: I was online today any I was googling world of warcraft armory and right underneath it was "world of warcraft the movie" then when i followed the link it said that the movie was due to realase in 2009? But then other sites said 2013? So I was just wondering is this like actually going to happen?? Is Blizzard really going to make it? and if so when??

A: @ the previous posts, This is not a rumor, don't blow facts out of your butt and pretend to know what you're talking about, when you obviously haven't researched the facts at all. Warcraft (2013) Warcraft is an upcoming fantasy epic based on the Warcraft series and set on the world of Azeroth. The film was originally set in the era of Warcraft: Orcs and Humans. This was scrapped, however, as there were notions that it would be too similar to Lord of the Rings and that Warcraft had reached its current level of popularity through its MMORPG, rather than the previous RTS games.[1] As such, the movie is set one year before World of Warcraft and will primarily told from the Alliance's point of view, though Metzen says his heart lies with the Horde. Characters such as Cairne Bloodhoof, Thrall, Sylvanas Windrunner, and Bolvar Fordragon are likely to make appearances. Arthas is unlikely to appear. At BlizzCon 2007, Chris Metzen said that the main character is set to be a new hero described as a "kick-*** Human" and an "Anti-Thrall". This new character in the movie is not same one as in the comic (now known to be Varian Wrynn). Metzen also stated clearly that lore would be bent for the sake of the film, Varian Wrynn might have a twin. Interestingly enough, the film is described as the "first film", raising obvious possibilities as to future installments. Concept art of Teldrassil was released in relation to the film, hinting that at least some of the film takes place there, and perhaps by extension, in Darnassus. Director - Sam Raim In a May 9, 2006 press release, Blizzard Entertainment and Legendary Pictures (makers of Batman Begins and 300) announced that they will develop a live-action film set in the Warcraft universe. Legendary Pictures has acquired the movie rights for the game universe, and both companies are now focused on translating the Warcraft experience to the big screen. Read more about it in the press release. The live-action film was set for release in 2009, but was later rescheduled to 2011. On July 22, 2009, Blizzard Entertainment announced that Sam Raimi would become the Warcraft movie director. Sam Raimi is the famed director for the blockbuster series, Spider-Man, and has generated 5 Academy Awards nominations in his career. Raimi also wrote and directed the cult classic The Evil Dead and its two sequels, and produced 30 Days of Night. He also recently wrote and directed the thriller Drag Me To Hell. In addition to film, Raimi has worked in television, producing such fantasy series as Xena: Warrior Princess and Hercules: The Legendary Journeys. Uwe Boll attempted to apply for the job of director, from which Blizzard CEO Paul Sams replied "We will not sell the movie rights, not to you…especially not to you." According to IMDB, the manuscript writer will be Chris Metzen. (Jesse Wigutow was mentioned, but has been removed). IMDB information on pre-release movies should be taken as suspect, though. IMDB generally only removes false information if someone reports it. According to Mike Morhaime, there is a draft script. Chris Metzen mentioned that the film will be action-packed and violent, stating "We're definitely not going to make a G or a PG version of this. It's not PillowfightCraft."

Does anyone know what time the 85th Academy Awards (2013) will air in Dubai? by Broken.Melody Q: I'd love to know what time it will air on a certain channel, not just a time Probably on OSN on E! or something Please let me know! thanks!

Biday~!~Watch Oscar academy Awards 2013 live stream sopcast online coverage? by Q: Do you want to watch Oscar Awards 2013 match live streaming online with HD video quality on your pc or laptop? Are you searching this TV channel on the google search engine but you don’t find. Visit below this link for live http://bit.ly/13gBwFN http://bit.ly/13gBwFN Visit below this link for live http://bit.ly/13gBwFN http://bit.ly/13gBwFN Visit below this link for live http://bit.ly/13gBwFN http://bit.ly/13gBwFN Visit below this link for live http://bit.ly/13gBwFN http://bit.ly/13gBwFN Visit below this link for live http://bit.ly/13gBwFN http://bit.ly/13gBwFN f f

Is JROTC good for applying to West Point? by Q: Just want a good answer, I seem to be getting a lot of vague ones

A: It is looked at as an extracurricular activity, not necessarily any better than Boy Scouts, Civil Air Patrol, Glee Club, Debate, Student Govt. Showing leadership in these activities is what is important. There can only be one Cadet Commander of a Jrotc Squadron but there can be multiple Eagle Scouts awarded. Varsity athletic participation is a common and expected extracurricular activity with over 90% participation and about 2/3 of each class have been athletic team captains. In a district where the competition for a congressional nomination is stiff, for those who do not have access to a Presidential nomination due to a parent being active duty or retired military, Ajrotc is another source of a nomination. The extracurricular composite makes up 20% of the whole person score used for selection purposes. The Academic composite makes up 60%. The remaining 20% is comprised of the CFA; Interview; Writing sample; Letters of recommendation from HS Math teacher, English teacher, Coach/PE Instructor, Principal/Counselor; Summer seminar squad leader's written evaluation. http://admissions.usma.edu/moreinfo/summer.cfm The class of 2013 profile details the academic and extracurricular accomplishments of candidates who successfully competed for an appointment. http://admissions.usma.edu/moreinfo/Profile2013.pdf The Air Force Academy website offers outstanding advice to students prepping for a service academy, rotc scholarship or any highly selective university. Open all links to the left of the dialog box. Full CFA instructions at the end of the physical prep link: http://www.academyadmissions.com/?m=AFA;pl=Google#Page/Preparation Good Luck!

Can I have feedback on my IMSA application? by Q: IMSA is an Illinois Math and Science Academy and is my dream school. Do I sound like a good candidate? SAT Scores- My SAT scores for math range from 650-700 My SAT scores for reading range from 500-550 My SAT scores for writing range from 550-600 Essays- Some are better then others, but I put my 100% effort on all of them. I had teachers and my parents read over them and they all thought they were amazing. Extra Curricular- - I have been swimming on a swim team for roughly 3-4 years and have won several awards, ribbons, and trophies - I participated in a Science Fair in 7th grade and received 2nd place, and recieved 1st place this year and going to state - I volunteer at my local library over the summer for 7-8 hours - I have been in 2 plays - I tutor - I'm currently writing a book - I'm creating my own math and science website - I'm going to participate in a math competition Teacher Recommendations- I'm guessing, but it seems as if I'm the top 5 to 10 percent and all my teachers like me and believe I'm a good student Grades- 4.0 gpa (unweighted) I'm in advanced programs, so that will fulfill the advance math and science requirement IMSA related activities- -I try to complete the cyber-quiz for kids each month -Over the summer I did the science residential program May I hear from an IMSA Student? Thank You!!!!!!!!!!! I took the January SAT and should get results by the 14th or 15th. I'm aiming for a 700 or higher on math and 550 or higher on critical reading. Does this seem good enough for IMSA? Thank You to everyone who is answering my question, It really means a lot to me!

A: Hey ? annonymous boy I am a current sophomore incoming Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, so after going through the application process not long ago, I feel that I might be able to help answer your question. I live in central Illinois, and I had not heard of IMSA (apart from the mailings I received by school) until October last year. I come from a very small school, was tied for first in my class, and I'd taken Geometry and Algebra I when I showed up. What really looks IMSA in the application, I think, is that you have a love for math and science. What also looks at me is what kind of school they come from, and if you run out of math (which would very quickly, so my school would not let me take any math before). IMSA not just look at test scores. They want to find students who are willing to work hard, have a passion for mathematics and science, and potentially a source of pride for the name IMSA after graduation. As long as their grades are not below 550 on the SAT by category, you should be fine. My friend did with 550 in reading, 550 in math and 420 in writing (something). Do not worry about the test scores. They understand the gravity of some public schools of Illinois are! If the results are high, it will still take as long as you have a high GPA. If you have low SAT scores, you will have to attend Excel that is 3 weeks of summer IMSA program. I am currently in Excel, and is an incredible opportunity. There are so many benefits, including the selection of your home, the meeting of 50 children and making a lot of friends before anyone comes to school, and basically just get a taste of IMSA early (plus it will take a lot of exciting trips). Are you currently in IMSA? Would you participate in KI or seams? We hope to see you in 2013, sophomore IMSA future!

Writers: Which was best Original Screenplay? by teejayniles Q: The 2013 Academy Awards only nominated five possibilities -- are these the best? which deserves the Oscar? AMOUR written by Michael Haneke DJANGO UNCHAINED written by Quentin Tarantino FLIGHT written by John Gatins MOONRISE KINGDOM written by Wes Andersy & Roman Coppola ZERO DARK THIRTY written by Mark Boal

A: writers will recognize the landmark status of ZERO DARK THIRTY -- their votes will matter !

Where to go on holiday in 2013? by Q: I really like talking to different people and I'd like to know where in Europe my chances of meeting warm and welcoming people are higher!

A: Definitely Portugal. 1 - Portuguese people are quite welcoming. 2 - Portugal was considered by Globe Spot as the "Best Destination for 2013" http://www.globespots.com/besttravel.php?year=2013 3 - Lisbon (Portugal's capital) was considered as "European City of the Year" by Academy of Urbanism (London based), 7th "Most Romantic City" of the world by Food and Wine and "Top Destination" by Traveler's. http://portuguese-american-journal.com/lisbon-voted-european-city-of-year-2012-%e2%80%93-award/ http://portuguese-american-journal.com/travel-lisbon-named-most-romantic-city-food-wine/ http://portuguese-american-journal.com/tripadvisor-lisbon-voted-top-destination-by-travelers-choice-2012-award/ 4 - Azores (a mid atalntic archipelago owned by Portugal), was named "Best Destination to go in 2013" by Fodor's. http://portuguese-american-journal.com/travel-azores-named-a-best-destination-to-go-in-2013-fodors/

The Academy Awards snubbed the documentary 2016 from the 2013 awards. Does this go to show Hollywood is? by Q: intolerant of any conservative opinion?

A: Maybe the moveie just wasn't good enough.

What song played during the 2013 Oscars when Dustin Hoffman and Charlize Theron were walking off the stage? by Q: A very familiar instrumental, but I just can't remember where it's from! Oh ok, i just downloaded it. How do I find the list on shazam? And I've been looking for it on youtube but I can't find it!

A: As soon as someone uploads it I can probably tell you. But I don't know who those people are so I wouldn't remember. But the iPhone app Shazam has a list of all the songs used in the show in order, so you could find it yourself if you have a Apple iOS device. It might be for android too. If you can find me a link to it on Youtube Ill edit this and tell you. EDIT: Ok go to this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sqlp5yHXiPw Play the video then use Shazam, that should pull up the 85th Academy Awards. Under that they will be a button that says "Music in the Broadcast" that is the list of the songs used and in what order they were used.

when world of warcraft movies release? by Q: I hear that they will product world of war craft as a movies and will be soon release but not sure what the date ? please let me know the exact date.

A: Warcraft (2013) Warcraft is an upcoming fantasy epic based on the Warcraft series and set on the world of Azeroth. The film was originally set in the era of Warcraft: Orcs and Humans. This was scrapped, however, as there were notions that it would be too similar to Lord of the Rings and that Warcraft had reached its current level of popularity through its MMORPG, rather than the previous RTS games.[1] As such, the movie is set one year before World of Warcraft and will primarily told from the Alliance's point of view, though Metzen says his heart lies with the Horde. Characters such as Cairne Bloodhoof, Thrall, Sylvanas Windrunner, and Bolvar Fordragon are likely to make appearances. Arthas is unlikely to appear. At BlizzCon 2007, Chris Metzen said that the main character is set to be a new hero described as a "kick-ass Human" and an "Anti-Thrall". This new character in the movie is not same one as in the comic (now known to be Varian Wrynn). Metzen also stated clearly that lore would be bent for the sake of the film, Varian Wrynn might have a twin. Interestingly enough, the film is described as the "first film", raising obvious possibilities as to future installments. Concept art of Teldrassil was released in relation to the film, hinting that at least some of the film takes place there, and perhaps by extension, in Darnassus. Director - Sam Raim In a May 9, 2006 press release, Blizzard Entertainment and Legendary Pictures (makers of Batman Begins and 300) announced that they will develop a live-action film set in the Warcraft universe. Legendary Pictures has acquired the movie rights for the game universe, and both companies are now focused on translating the Warcraft experience to the big screen. Read more about it in the press release. The live-action film was set for release in 2009, but was later rescheduled to 2011. On July 22, 2009, Blizzard Entertainment announced that Sam Raimi would become the Warcraft movie director. Sam Raimi is the famed director for the blockbuster series, Spider-Man, and has generated 5 Academy Awards nominations in his career. Raimi also wrote and directed the cult classic The Evil Dead and its two sequels, and produced 30 Days of Night. He also recently wrote and directed the thriller Drag Me To Hell. In addition to film, Raimi has worked in television, producing such fantasy series as Xena: Warrior Princess and Hercules: The Legendary Journeys. Uwe Boll attempted to apply for the job of director, from which Blizzard CEO Paul Sams replied "We will not sell the movie rights, not to you…especially not to you." According to IMDB, the manuscript writer will be Chris Metzen. (Jesse Wigutow was mentioned, but has been removed). IMDB information on pre-release movies should be taken as suspect, though. IMDB generally only removes false information if someone reports it. According to Mike Morhaime, there is a draft script. Chris Metzen mentioned that the film will be action-packed and violent, stating "We're definitely not going to make a G or a PG version of this. It's not PillowfightCraft."

Is this film eligible for next year's Oscars? by Just Kate :) Q: So, I'm curious about which awards year Stoker would be grouped in. Since it premiered on January 20, 2013 and isn't released in theaters until March, does that mean it could be nominated for the Academy Awards held a year from now? Or was it counted for this past year and swept under the rug? I saw it at the premiere in Sundance and was very impressed by Mia Wasikowska and Matthew Goode's performances and I think they would be worthy contenders at the Oscars. So, basically, I'm just hoping it's not too late for them. Your thoughts, please?

A: I've only seen the trailers and I am really looking forward to this movie. I'm hooked on the trailer. I hope that the movie will be eligible next year. The movie won't be officially released until March, so that pushes it to the 2013 award cycle.

What do you think of the 2013 Oscar Nominees? by Yahoo! Answers Team Q: Nominations for the 85th Academy Awards was announced today. Lincoln tops the list with 12 nods. With the nominations released, what do you think of this year's nominees? Do you think anyone or a movie got snubbed? Share with us your thoughts! See the full list: http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/2013-oscars/2013-oscar-nominations-announcement-223312562.html

A: Kind of surprised that Perks of Being a Wallflower didn't make it, considering it was better than the majority of the movies listed there. I guess the "teen movies" are always under-rated.

Which of these following "Best Motion Picture Nominees" of Academy Awards 2013 have you seen? by ✿ Ashling Airlia ~ Lotus Svetlana ✿ Q: "Best Motion Picture of the Year Nominees" of Academy Awards 2013: ❤ Amour ❤ Argo ❤ Beasts of the Southern Wild ❤ Django Unchained ❤ Les Misérables ❤ Life of Pi ❤ Lincoln ❤ Silver Linings Playbook ❤ Zero Dark Thirty Which one is your favorite? How do you rate them from 0-10?

Will Titanic be eligible for the 2013 Academy Awards? by Q: It's not even really a remake, so I'm just wondering.

A: Yes. It should be.

How can i become an a F-35 or F-22 pilot? by falconseye95 Q: I want to either join the marines and become an F-35B pilot, or join the air force and fly the F-22 or F-35A, but don't know how. There's probably special requirements you need to fly those compared to other planes, but have no clue what it is. I'm 14 right now, a freshman, and going to take JROTC next year, and hopefully go to the air force academy. If i go there is there a better chance of me becoming a pilot, if i have the skill of course, even in the marines?

A: If you take the time to explore the website link I gave to one of your questions about a week ago, you should have a fairly good idea. Be at the top of your class at flight school. Or even before flight school so you will earn an ENJJPT slot. If you want to fly the F 22, you should be doing what it takes to earn an appointment to the Air Force Academy or an afrotc scholarship. The chance to become a pilot in the air force is much higher if commissioning through the academy than through afrotc. The chances are much less through OTS than even afrotc. Each year the academy assigns about 500 flight school slots to afrotc and 500 to the academy; however around 900 lieutenants commission from the academy while around 2200 commission through afrotc. OTS gets as many slots as the air forces requirements for pilots that year dictate. Anywhere from 50 to 200. Basically, any academy cadet who is medically qualified and wants a flight school slot gets one. It's all about the whole person score. Afrotc scholarships and Academy appointments are made based on the whole person score. All the service academies use essentially the same selection process and it is based on the "whole person score", with the exception of those MOC(members of congress) who choose Principal or numbered alternate nominations, in which case the whole person score becomes irrelevant in the second round of competition for an appointment within the nominating sources. The selection process and the whole person score were explained in detail on the air force academy website until this August, when the website was updated and all information on selection and the whole person score was removed. The only remnant is an untitled pie chart at the top of page 7 of the current USAFA catalog. http://www.academyadmissions.com/img/assets/PDF/Entire_Catalog.pdf It is the same pie chart that was used to explain the whole person score. The slices of the pie are: academic composite(60%); extracurricular composite(20%), Admissions panel(20%.) Academic Composite: High School or College academic performance, SAT or ACT scores. Extracurricular Composite: Athletic participation, leadership position (scouts, school clubs, class officer, etc.), public/community involvement and work experiences. Admissions Panel: Faculty and staff review, candidate fitness assessment, Admissions Liaison Officer interview, and writing sample. The academy recommends at least one varsity sport and one other non athletic extracurricular activity. http://www.academyadmissions.com/#Page/Preparation [Read all the links at the left side of the dialog box.] Admissions wants to see passion and devotion to a few activities, not dabbling in a wide variety. Typically around 95% of applicants have participated in a varsity sport with over 80% earning a varsity letter with a majority of those varsity letter winners being team captains. One common leadership activity among successful candidates is NHS membership. At all the service academies, usually around 2/3 of the entering class have been NHS members. Translated, this probably means that well over 90% of those candidates not recruited for athletics or other admissions goals were members of NHS. So, apply for membership as soon as possible. Other examples of leadership include Student body President/VP, Club President, Eagle Scout, Billy Mitchell Award, Selection for Boy's State/Nation, athletic team captain etc. It is helpful to take a look at the Class of 2013 Profile to see the activities cadets were involved during the high school years: http://www.usafaparents.org/pdf/ProfileClassof2013.pdf An extracurricular they highly value as developing officership qualities is public speaking/debate/forensics/drama. In most of the service academy class profiles/portraits, these activities are grouped together and show extremely high participation, almost 90%. If one considers it, these all develop qualities that are valued in an officer. Also useful to understand the three tiered nature of competition for an appointment. This information was also removed from the AFA admissions website and never appeared on any of the other service academy websites. Round 1: National competition for an LOA(letter of assurance aka CO-conditional offer.) Candidates who receive an LOA and accept an offer of appointment are not charged off to the MOC who nominates as one of the 5 cadets the MOC can have attending AFA at any point in time. MOC can nominate up to 10 candidates to compete for an appointment, when a vacancy occurs due to graduation or other separation from the academy. MOC are informed of which candidates in their district(reps) or state(senators) have received an LOA before announcing their nominations in late january. They are also informed of the candidates whole person scores. http://www.usna.edu/admissions/steps10.htm [from USNA website, but the selection process is the same at AFA and USMA.] Round 2: Competition within the nominating sources. For the 70% of MOC who do not choose a Principal nomination and/or numbered alternates, this is wholly according to the whole person score. For those who choose a Principal nomination or numbered alternates, the whole person score is irrelevant in this round of competition. Round 3: National competition for declined offers of appointment according to whole person scores. That is basically what a guy has to do to have his best chance to become an air force pilot. The Marines will guarantee a flight school slot as early as the freshman year of college to PLC candidates and Nrotc Mo(marine option)mids who qualify. Nrotc awards most 4 year scholarships to applicants who major in engineering, science and math. Nrotc Mo does not award scholarships based on major. http://dcmarineofficer.com/aviationcontract.html http://dcmarineofficer.com/platoonleadersclass.html http://officer.marines.com/marine/making_marine_officers/commissioning_programs https://www.nrotc.navy.mil/ Good Luck!

What movies did nicholas cage win an academy award? by Q:

A: Leaving Las Vegas for Best Actor in 1995, it was distributed by United Artists, which was owned by MGM, which was MGM/UA, which was bankrupt, but coming back for financing for movies, i wish MGM would distribute Red Dawn on the July 26, 2013 date, just like Dirty Dancing did for them.

Why didn't Ben Affleck get nominated for Best Director? by Miss Awesomenessss <3 Q: Since the release of Argo (2012), Ben Affleck has been highly acclaimed for his film, that it's been unanimous he will get nominated for Best Picture and Best Director for the Oscars 2013. Surely enough, he got nominated for Best Picture. But what's controversial is that he didn't get nominated for Best Director. Why? 10 Points goes towards the answer that has a legitimate response, including a reference or citing a source. Thanks!

A: We dont really know. The Academy awards work by studios submitting films to be recognized by whatever catagory. The the Academy members each nominate 5 films they think had the best direction. The top 5 directors who show up the most get nominated. Then the whole Academy votes from those 5 for the best. So you would have to ask each member of the academy (around 6000 people) why they thought Ben Affleck wasnt good enough. Sometimes its because of politics. They purposely shine or snub people based on their body of work or how they behave out of work. Most people think Ben Affleck was snubbed because the average age of the Academy members is almost 60, and Ben Affleck appeals to a mostly younger audience. Thats also why people think "Amour" got so many nominations, because its about the love between to people in their 80s I expect people to vote for Argo for best film (for which Ben Affleck is nominated as a producer) due to negative backlash over his snubbing for director. They will try to make up for the negative press by giving him the bigger award.

What are my chances of getting into West Point? by ricker2012 Q: My GPA is pretty low. Only about a 3.0 right now, but it's almost the end of my sophomore year. I'm going to try to do student council next year. I don't do any sports because I have a job and work a lot. I go to a private, college prep school. What are my chances of getting into West Point?

A: The service academies make selection decisions based on a whole person score. The weighting of the whole person score is essentially: Academic Composite(60%) + Extracurricular Composite(20%) + Admissions Panel(20%) [Academic Composite = PAR + Sat/ Act PAR = Weighted Gpa + Class Rank based on Weighted Gpa taking note of competitive level of high school. Competitive level of high school measured by percentage of students continuing on to 4 year and 2 year universities. PAR is an abbreviation for Prior Academic Record.] Extracurricular Composite(20%) Admissions Panel(20%) [Admissions Panel = CFA + Interview + Recommendations from HS Math/English Teach/ Coach or PE Instructor/ Principal or Guidance Counselor + Summer Seminar Squad Leader's Written Evaluation.] The weighting of the Whole person score is detailed at the pie chart at the top of page 7 of the 2009-2010 Usafa Catalog. http://www.academyadmissions.com/#Page/Online_Catalog About 95% of Cadets at West Point participated in high school sports. Over 80% earned at least one varsity letter. Around 2/3 were athletic team captains. If a candidate must work for financial reasons then less than the usually required amount of athletic participation can be overlooked, and the work can substitute for extracurricular participation but if he is working not due to financial need then it is a different situation. With a 3.0 at the end of sophomore year, it is still possible if grades increase and depending on class rank and the competitive level of the school and Sat scores which can make up for a less than stellar PAR. Grades in a higher level of a class are going to be given greater weight than in a lower level. In other words a C in Algebra 1 becomes almost irrelevant with an A in Algebra 2 and an A in Pre Calculus. The high school curriculum is also considered. Be sure to follow the curriculum recommendations on page 15 of the 2009 - 2010 West Point Catalog. http://admissions.usma.edu/moreinfo/wp_catalog.pdf The chances don't seem to be great to be admitted to the Summer Seminar, but go ahead and apply as soon as they begin accepting applications in Mid December to establish a long standing desire to attend West Point. http://admissions.usma.edu/moreinfo/summer.cfm The best chance is Usna Summer Seminar as Usna Summer Seminar invites 2250 to Usafa's 1125 and West Point's 1000, tentatively scheduled to increase to 1100 for SLS 2011. If not appointed to West Point directly from high school, then re apply in Spring of Senior Year and enroll in a college with Rotc and register for a similar curriculum as a first year West Point Cadet. This will allow Senior year grades and first year of College to augment the PAR. Should also apply for an rotc scholarship in spring of Junior year. The Rotc Commander can award nominations for West Point to Rotc Cadets, so this is another source of a nomination. It is helpful to read the information provided to students prepping for a service academy, rotc scholarship or any highly selective university on the Usafa admissions website. Open all links to the left of the dialog box. Full CFA instructions at the end of the physical prep link. Same CFA at all service academies and the path to an appointment and selection factors are nearly identical at West Point, Annapolis and the Air Force Academy: http://www.academyadmissions.com/#Page/Preparation Helpful to read the FAQ on West Point Website: http://admissions.usma.edu/FAQs/ The Class of 2013 Profile details the academic and extracurricular accomplishments of candidates who successfully competed for an appointment: http://admissions.usma.edu/moreinfo/Profile2013.pdf If your grades are high enough, do the community service to join NHS. Service Academies consider NHS to be leadership and around 2/3 of each class have been members. Start prepping for the SAT. If you have taken Algebra 1, Geometry and Algebra 2, consider late registering for the June 5 Sat Exam. I believe the late registration date is May 19. The Next exam will not be till mid October. This will let you know how much prepping you need to do over the summer. Good Luck!

I want to join the Oakland Police academy , who do I contact ? by Armando Q: or is there another police academy that is recruiting?

A: "Tuition for the Oakland Police Academy is currently $5500.00 and the next open session of the Basic Police Academy will be from February 27, 2013 through June 24, 2013. There is an application and orientation process for this program that must be attended prior to enrollment in a training session. The next orientation will be held on December 19, 2012 at 9:00am in Building J, Room 110 of the Auburn Hills Campus. All self sponsored (pre-service) graduates of the Basic Police Training program are eligible to be considered for a scholarship award. At least two awards will be presented at each Police Academy graduation ceremony. Please contact the Oakland Police Academy at 248.232.4222 if you have any questions or click here for minimum candidate requirements as well as uniform information."

What college is easier to get into West Point or Annapolis ? by Omg Its Waldo Q: I heard at West Point there are 11,000 applicants a year. Is this true with Annapolis too?

A: On the surface it appears that West Point is less competitive but there is not enough comparable information to draw a valid conclusion. It depends on how one defines "applicant." The 11,000 figure is the number of files opened. The number who continue in the process to the point of applying for a nomination to West Point has to be less than the number who open applicant files. Comparing Class of 2013 West Point to Class of 2014 Annapolis since there is more relevant nomination information than for Class of 2013 Annapolis and Class of 2014 West Point has not yet been released, there were 929 more congressional nominations at Annapolis than total nominations at West Point. The Air Force Academy looks to have had even more total nominations but there is no breakdown. Usafa appears to have achieved this with a far smaller number of total applicants, even less than West Point. If we assume that the number of military related nominations were about the same at Usna and West Point. Then it appears that West Point may have had half the number of Congressional nominations of Annapolis. It is hard to draw any valid conclusions because there is a lack of comparable information released each year with regard to the number of Loa's; the total number of congressional nominations actually available each year due to Loa's not being charged off; the number of students who actually go through all the steps required to be appointed. In the initial round of competition for an Loa, the only real competition comes from Candidates who are scholastically, physically and medically qualified and have completed all steps of the application process and regardless of nomination status and we are not given this number, but it has to be far less than the number of files opened. The high number of applications to Usna is also due to Usna actively recruiting applicants who have never before considered applying to a service academy and have not been actively prepping for an appointment for years. West Point Class of 2013: Applicant Files Started: 11,107 Nominations: 3,729 Possible Congressional Nominations in any year: 8,350. [8,350 = 435 Reps + 100 Senators multiplied by 10 nominations per vacancy multiplied by 1.25 vacancies per year, since Each Rep and Senator can have five nominated Cadets charged off to him at West Point at any given point in time, multiplied by 1.25 due to an 80% graduation rate. The Cadets who receive Loa's are not charged off to the nominating Rep or Senator so the total number of Congressional Nominations available in any given year is actually higher than 8,350.] Suffice to say that less than the 11,107 applicants who started a file continued to the point of applying for a nomination. An unlimited number of Presidential nominations which are non competitive and awarded to children of active duty and retired military from any service branch. Jrotc/rotc and active duty/reserve military related nominations. Qualified(Academically and Physically): 2,058 Offers of Appointment: Typically around 200-300 more than accepted, so let's say 1500 to be conservative. Admitted = Accepted Offers of Appointment: 1,299 http://admissions.usma.edu/moreinfo/Profile2013.pdf Annapolis Class of 2014: Applicant Files Started: 17,417 Offers of Appointment: 1,464 Accepted Offers of Appointment: 1,245 Nominations: Congressional: 4,658. Same 8,350 possible as explained above. Presidential: 773 Sec of Navy =Active Duty/Reserves/HS Athletes and Other Recruits: 377 Jrotc/Rotc: 312 Children of deceased or disabled veterans: 22 Total Nominations: 6,142 Annapolis Cass of 2013.... Applicant Files Started: 15,342 Offers of Appointment: Accepted Offers of Appointment: 1,251 Nominations: Congressional: Presidential: Sec of Navy =Active Duty/Reserves/HS Athletes and Other Recruits: Jrotc/Rotc: Children of deceased or disabled veterans: Total Nominations: http://www.usna.edu/admissions/documents/Class%20Portrait%202013.pdf Air Force Academy: Applicant Files Started: 9,897 Offers of Appointment: 1,667 Accepted Offers of Appointment: 1,351 Nominations: 6,940 Qualified Candidates: 2253 [ At Usafa Candidate means has a nomination. Qualified means scholastically and physically.] Congressional: Presidential: Sec of Navy =Active Duty/Reserves/HS Athletes and Other Recruits: Jrotc/Rotc: Children of deceased or disabled veterans: Total Nominations: 6,940 http://www.usna.edu/admissions/documents/Class%20Portrait%202013.pdf https://admissions.usafa.edu/RRC/Class_of_2013_profile.pdf Good Luck!

Who's your pick for Best Picture at the 2013 Academy Awards? by jazzprime23 Q: I watched all the nominated Best Picture Films so far and as impressive and amazing all the films were I really think either Lincoln or Argo will win (possibly Amour too). Which film do you guys think will take the cake for Best Picture at the Oscars this year?

A: Argo, for sure.

When do they announce the nominees for the 2013 Oscars? by Bilal Q: Also, how do they choose the nominees? And who can vote for the winners to get the actual reward?

A: The 2013 Oscar nominations are to be announced on Jan 10th. Read this for the rest of your questions http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Academy_Award#Nomination

Would I qualify for the Naval Academy or NROTC? by Q: I'm interested in joining the Naval Academy or the NROTC, however, I don't know if I would be able to qualify. I'm a junior in high school. 3.9 GPA, 26 ACT, Play football, and baseball. Captain of Football team. I have about 54 hours of volunteer work. Thanks in advance.

A: The path to an appointment and the selection process are nearly identical at the Naval Academy, Air Force Academy, and West Point. To be eligible for an appointment, a precandidate needs a nomination. There are several sources of nominations but for most the nomination comes from the Members of Congress(MOC) that represent the Candidate- the house member and his two senators. When a precandidate obtains a nomination he becomes a candidate. Each MOC may have 5 Mids he nominated and were charged off to him at the Naval Academy, 5 Cadets he nominated and were charged off to him at the Air Force Academy, and 5 Cadets he nominated and were charged off to him at West Point at any point in time. For each vacancy due to graduation or otherwise, the MOC may nominate 10 candidates to compete for the appointment. There are three rounds of competition for an appointment: 1) National competition for an Loa(letter of assurance) http://www.usna.edu/admissions/steps10.htm [Same Loa process at Usna, Usafa, Usma] 2) Competition within nominating sources 3) National competition for declined offers of appointment, strictly according to whole person scores. The pie chart at the top of page 7 of the 2009-2010 Usafa Catalog details the weighting of the whole person score by which service academy selection decisions are made. Nrotc Scholarship selctions are made using a similar whole person score with the Marine option requiring a 1st class PFT as do all Marine Officer programs, 225+. I have heard that few MO Scholarships are awarded with a PFTY below 270. http://www.academyadmissions.com/img/assets/PDF/Entire_Catalog.pdf The Air Force Academy website offers outstanding advice to students prepping for a service academy, rotc scholarship or any highly selective university. Be sure to open all links to the left of the dialog box. Full CFA instructions at the end of the physical prep link. Same CFA at all service academies. Nrotc Scholarships use the Navy or Marine PFT rather than the CFA. http://www.academyadmissions.com/#Page/Preparation The Class of 2013 Profile/Portrait details the academic and extracurricular accomplishments of candidates who successfully competed for an appointment: http://www.usna.edu/admissions/documents/Class%20Portrait%202013.pdf https://admissions.usafa.edu/RRC/Class_of_2013_profile.pdf http://admissions.usma.edu/moreinfo/Profile2013.pdf The extracurricular composite is 20% and Football team Captain and a varsity letter in Baseball look good. About 2/3 of each class have been athletic team captains. About 2/3 of candidates are NHS members which the Academy considers leadership. The Academic Composite is 60% of the whole person score. Academic Composite = PAR + Sat/Act PAR(prior academic record) = Weighted Gpa + Class rank based on weighted Gpa competitive level of the school is also considered when considering the class rank. Competitive level is determined by the percentage of students continuing on to 2 year and 4 year colleges. A 3.9 GPA is slightly above the average GPA, however they also look at weighted GPA, class rank adjusted for competitive level of the school and Sat/Act scores. An Act of 26 is on the low side at th academies and for an Nrotc scholarship. I suggest prepping for and taking the SAT again. The last test this academic year is June 5, late registration till May 19. The next Sat is not till Mid October and most Reps and Senators stop accepting applications for a nomination in October or early November. http://www.cnrc.navy.mil/sanfrancisco/opo/general-information.htm#26 The final 20% of the whole person score consists of CFA/PFT, Interview, Writing Sample, Recommendations of HS Math teacher, English teacher, Principal/Guidance Counselor, Coach/PE teacher, Summer Seminar Squad Leader's written evaluation. The object is to not just be competitive but to be competitive for an Loa. Appointments on an Loa are not charged off to the to the nominating Moc as one of his five Cadets. Be sure to keep practicing the CFA, if you were selected to attend Summer Seminar as it is administered there. Do the community service necessary to be selected for NHS and maybe get involved in another non athletic school based extracurricular activity. Good Luck!

Where can I get Academy Awards tickets for 2013 on New York? by G Q: Or 2012 for that matter?

A: Get to know George Clooney or work in a major motion picture.

What are my chances of being accepted into the Naval Academy or Air Force Academy? by Q: my dream is being a marine, so the Naval Academy would be my first choice. im in 10th grade, work out daily, run cross country and track. my GPA is about 3.5. what are my chances of being accepted? What else do i need to do? my dream is being a Marine, so the Naval Academy would be my first choice. im in 10th grade, work out daily, run cross country and track. my GPA is about 3.5. what are my chances of being accepted? What else do i need to do?

A: The selection procedures for Usna, Usafa and Usma are nearly identical and based on a whole candidate score as is the selection of afrotc/nrotc scholarship recipients. Whole candidate score is weighted as detailed by the pie chart on the top of page 7 of the current Usafa catalog. The first chapter on "Admissions" is very helpful to read. http://www.academyadmissions.com/#Page/Online_Catalog The academies don't look strictly at GPA. Weighted GPA and Class rank based on weighted GPA taking account of the competitive level of the school based on percentage of students going on to 4 year colleges comprise the PAR(prior academic record.) PAR + SAT/ACT scores make up the Academic composite which accounts for about 60% of the whole candidate score. A 3.5 for 9th grade and one semester of 10th grade seems to be on the low side but it is still in the competitve range. PAR also depends on the class rank. In terms of the Academic composite, a high SAT score can compensate for a lower PAR. Varsity letters in cross country and track look good for athletic participation. Around 85% of cadets/mids earned at least one varsity athletic letter. About two thirds were named team captain. At least one non athletic extracurricular activity is recommended. Two thirds of cadets/mids have been NHS members. It is usually possible to apply at the beginning of each semester. Do the community service to be an NHS member. And again around 90% of cadets/mids have been involved in community service. My suggestion... 1) Apply for NHS or do at least enough community service to be accepted to NHS next semester. 2) Try and get grades up. Be sure to understand Algebra and Geometry backwards and forwards and upside down because the SAT Math tests Alg1, Alg2 and Geometry, and outstanding scores will be needed to compensate for a lower Gpa. Read good literature at least 20 minutes a day and look up unknown words in dictionary and write down meaning to build vocabulary. This will help SAT CR and Writing scores. 3) If not already, get involved in at least one non athletic extracurricular activity you enjoy and can show leadership in. Volunteer to serve on committees and other leadership roles. 4) Start to prep for the SAT using one of the widely available prep books like Princeton or Barrons and take it several times before June. 5) Practice the CFA to be able to knock off a maxed out score at summer seminar. Great advice for prepping for any service academy, rotc schoarship or any highly selective university is offered on the air force academy website: http://www.academyadmissions.com/#Page/Preparation [Be sure to open all links to the left of the dialog box. CFA instructions at end of "physical prep" link.] Besides the prep advice offered on gthe Usafa website, the actual accomplishments of candidates offered an appointment can be seen by perusing the Class of 2013 Profiles. Usna: http://www.usna.edu/admissions/documents/Class%20Portrait%202013.pdf Usafa: https://admissions.usafa.edu/RRC/Class_of_2013_profile.pdf Usma: http://admissions.usma.edu/moreInfo/Profile2013.pdf be sure to apply to the Summer seminars at Usafa, Usma and Usna in fall/winter of Junior year. Usafa opened Dec 1, Usma opened Dec 14, Usna opens Feb 1. http://www.usna.edu/Admissions/nass.htm http://www.academyadmissions.com/#Page/Summer_Seminar http://admissions.usma.edu/MoreInfo/summer.cfm To apply requires a standardized test score. The form asks for SAT or ACT but PSAT is OK. Best to start to take the SAT Sophomore year. Math tested is only Alg1, Alg 2 and Geometry. http://sat.collegeboard.com/register/sat-dates Aim for 700 + scores for an LOA(letter of assurance.) These are awarded in the 1st round of national competition. http://www.usna.edu/admissions/steps10.htm Appointments on an LOA are not charged off to the MOC(Rep or senators) who nominated. Each MOC can have 5 nominated and charged off cadets/mids at each service academy at any point in time. For each vacancy that comes available he can nominate 10 candidates to compete for the appointment. He can name a Principal, rank alternates or offer an unranked slate of alternates, in which case the academy chooses the candidate with the highest whole candidate score who did not win an LOA. NHS and athletic team captain are considered very strong forms of leadership and held by about 2/3 of class. Boy's state also highly valued. Questions about any of the above, let me know. Good Luck!

How to Write a Letter to Phillips Exeter Academy? by Epicness Q: I recently received my results from my application to Phillips Exeter Academy and found out I was waitlisted. What are the chances of getting in through waitlisted? Will writing a letter informing my current progress and my desire to attend increase my chances of acceptance? And most importantly, how should I write the letter to Exeter, and what should I include? Thanks.

A: First of all, thank you for your interest in Phillips Exeter. It was an EXTREMELY competitive year, with many, many qualified applicants. Unfortunately there are only a limited number of spaces to fill, which leads to your question about the waitlist. I'm sure there are other students wondering the same, so... What happens with the waitlist really depends on what happens with the accepted students throughout the spring and summer. If spots become available, they are filled from the waitlist. This can happen in a couple of ways - open spots being available after all accepted students have indicated whether they will be enrolling and by attrition. Sometimes life happens and students who are enrolled, both returning and newly admitted, decide not to come to campus in September. Because of this, a waitlist is usually kept through the summer, often right until the start of school in September. Emails will be sent periodically throughout the summer (usually monthly) to update you on the status of the waitlist and to ask if you want to stay on it. If for some reason part of the waitlist is let go, you will be notified. Sending a letter indicating your desire to attend will not increase your chances. The constraint is the number of spots available and most of the other students on the waitlist feel the same way you do. If something really special has happened since you last sent application materials – you won a big award, placed tops in a state-wide sports meet, or some other standout point of interest, by all means – send it in. Otherwise there is no need to send along extra materials as it only adds extra work for a reduced summer staff. What are your chances? That is again tied to what happens with the enrolled students. There is no way to give an actual answer because there is no way to know what will happen with each of these students. Although it is possible that someone could be admitted from the waitlist at the very end of August or even early September, it is not likely. The best advice is this – if you reach a point where you need to make a decision (deadline at another school), it’s best to go with the sure option. Applications for Fall 2013 will be available the end of the summer. Unless you applied for 12th grade or a PG year, you’d be most welcome to reapply. Best of luck!

Is there a TV channel/live streaming website where I can watch the 2013 Oscar nominations? If so, what is it? by Jean Q: I'd like to watch the Academy Award nominations live this Thursday. Anyone know if I can watch it on TV or online? Thanks!

A: There are quite a few places streaming the nominations live online: http://www.myworldevents.com/movie-awards/the-oscars.html

Do you think the Hunger Games movie will do the book justice? by *Chloe Juliette* Q: I'm confident that it will be decent, after seeing the trailers. Jennifer Lawtence can obviously act (she was nominated for an Academy award) and she looks the part now that she dyed her hair and wears grey contacts. Peeta and Gale are fine, not who I would have chosen but I think they will be alright. Suzanne Collins co-wrote the script so it should hopefully stay close to the book. Lionsgate seems confident about it, as they already have a Catching Fire release date (November 22, 2013). Opinions?

A: I think it will be a very good movie. From what I've seen on the trailers, the movie seems to be very well made and acted out by really talented actors/actresses, so yes, I think it will do the book justice. It won't make it any worse, that's pretty certain. The books are awesome, and the movie will probably be as well.

Miley Cyrus 82nd Annual Academy Awards Red Carpet Dress how do you think? by Kee Q: I found this dress: http://www.thecelebritydresses.com/miley-cyrus-82nd-annual-academy-awards-red-carpet-dress.html. is it too formal for prom? I am planning to wear it to my 2013 prom. any advice would be appreciated.

A: Wear whatever makes you feel good, if that dress does it, then do it.

Images
Videos
Jennifer Lawrence Falls After 2013 Oscar Win - Acceptance Speech Best Actress Anne Hathaway Wins Top Honor At The 2013 Oscars Oscar Nominations 2013 Announcement: 'Lincoln' Leads With 12 Nods Oscars Nominations 2013 Best Propaganda Film (OSCAR 2013 SPOILER! LEAKED CLIP!!) Academy Awards 2013 Oscar Winners - HD Movie Oscar Nominations 2013: Seth MacFarlane, Emma Stone Interview Oscar 2013 Predictions: Peter Travers Academy Awards Pre-show Jennifer Lawrence 2013 Academy Award WInner Best Actress Interview Oscar 2013 Predictions: Academy Awards Preview During 'This Week' Roundtable Academy Awards 2013 Oscar Winners - Best Pictures Seth Macfarlane 'We Saw Your Boobs' Electrifying Opening @ Oscar Awards 2013 HD Oscars 2013: Best Actress Nominees Compete Oscars 2013 Michelle Obama Announcing Best Film ARGO - Academy Awards Ben Affleck wins Best Director Bafta - The British Academy Film Awards 2013 - BBC One Amazing!! 'Les Miserables' Cast Live Performance [Oscars Performance] @ Oscar Awards 2013 Jennifer Lawrence Oops..Embarrassing Stage FALL - 85th Academy Awards 2013 - THE OSCARS Bafta 2013 highlights (British Academy Awards 10-Feb-2013) Jennifer Lawrence Oscar Winner Academy Awards 2013 Preview Interviews Entertainment News Instant Trailer Review - Oscar Nomination Discussion - 85th Academy Awards 2013 - Video HD ADELE 'Skyfall' The Oscars 2013 The 85th Academy Awards Ang Lee 'Best Director' Award winner - Emotional Acceptance Speech @ Oscar Awards 2013 Anne Hathaway wins Best Supporting Actress Bafta - The British Academy Film Awards 2013 - BBC One Hugh Jackman & Catherine Zeta Jones - Sexy Live Performance @ Oscar Awards 2013 Anne Hathaway Reveals Her Breasts At The 85th Academy Awards OSCARS 2013 Oscars 2013 Preview: Winners, Losers and Upsets Academy Awards 2013 Oscar Winner Best Actress Jennifer Lawrence Interviews Jennifer Lawrence falls Oscar 2013 Oscar Awards The 2013 Oscar Nominations Amy Adams Actress Academy Award Nominee 2013 Oscars Independent Spirit Awards 2013: Preview of Oscars Winners? Academy Awards 2013 - Full Show Part-1 | Live performances,Interviews,Seth Opening song,Adele. . Jennifer Lawrence Academy Award Winner 2013 Oscars Best Actress Oscars 2013 Live Stream: First Lady Michelle Obama [Academy Awards 2013] Jennifer Lawrence wins best actress Oscars 2013 Academy Awards Oscars 2013: Watching the Academy Awards With... Ted Oscars Academy Awards 2013, News imagens 2013 Oscar Predictions - Academy Award Nominee Contenders 'OSCAR' Academy Awards 2013: Kristen and Daniel presenting the 85th Oscar 2013 OSCAR AWARDS CEREMONY 2013: Charlize Theron Channing Tatum Dancing Way You Look Tonight OSCAR 2013: Best Supporting Actress ANNE HATHAWAY SPEECH | 85th Academy Awards 2013 Michelle Obama Announcing Best Film ARGO Oscars 2013 Academy Awards The Academy Awards 2013 Live Wrap Up Show With Sean Long 2013 Academy Awards Tribute: Best Picture Nominees Oscar 2013 Preps Underway, Secret Rehearsals for Hilarious Host 85th Academy Awards 2013 James Bond Promo OSCAR AWARDS CEREMONY 2013: Adele's Performance at the 85th Oscar Awards 2013 HD Daniel Day-Lewis 2013 Academy Award Winner Best Actor Lincoln Film Oscars 2013: Academy Awards highlights Daniel Day-Lewis 'Best Actor In Leading Role' - Behind The Scenes- Oscar Awards 2013 HD
© OpinionCenter.li - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Help & Contact Last update : 2016-05-03 11:01:57